Reviews for Far Cry 3

100

The best game of the Far Cry series imo.

hateah | July 22, 2014 | See all hateah's reviews »

The graphics are just amazing,the swimming,the shooting and the quests. IT's like whole new different game from the other series, talking about improvement and graphics. It will offer you a whole new adventure-shooter game. You can feel the pressure in the start of the game when trying to run from the pirates through the jungle and once you are out of it, you are trying to save your friends,start searching them and stuff. Everything is improved from the previous versions,it looks so real, the swimming too, just everything. It has also very good game scenes which you won't regret watching. You can level up different skills,every skill is making a tattoo on your hand which you can see. Don't be afraid and grab that game while it's hot. You can spend all day in it, the game by itself is offering you a great experience of the surrounding you beautiful islands and animals and it just has everything that a shooter game like the far cry series has to have. If you are wondering if you should buy it or not, i hope with that review i made your decision much easier. It won't be waste of money,believe me.

95

One of the best fps ever

Gosen | June 14, 2014 | See all Gosen's reviews »

Surprisingly good plot, beautiful graphics, large islands, freedom and fauna in this game is combo I haven't seen in any game before. Shooting with guns, shooting with bow, planning attack on posts, hiding in a jungle, exploring, hunting, encounters with psychotic Vaas and two endings. This is new better Far Cry as you haven't seen before. Worth it's price, worth going to tropical Island for a trip and experience it for yourself. Great adventure, great game, just masterpiece. There is nothing bad in this game expect Ubisoft syndrome in variety of doable stuff. You won't forget and regret it.

99

The best of open world

Igotboomed | May 20, 2014 | See all Igotboomed's reviews »

One of them anyway, I've never seen such an amazing open world. To see many types of animals, some of which attack each other, watching little extras like a man / animal by the lake being attacked by a croc, the many collectables like relics, letters and flowers to gain skills and syringes to help you hunt, swim or combat. The voice acting between all characters are amazing and really get you involved in the story, the gameplay is really good to. Nice feel to the weapons, use of distraction and you have a choice throughout it to stealth or just take action. Not to mention coop missions. Anyway, this is very much worth it. I recommend it

70

A fun open world FPS with lots of content

zhuwa | May 19, 2014 | See all zhuwa's reviews »

Far cry 3 is an open world FPS that is extremely fun to play. It is set a very large island for you to explore and lots of outposts for you to assault in many different ways (frontal assault, stealth or even incite the wild life to help out). There are many types of quests, although eventually it feels a little repetitive.
However, I find that the story to be highly disconnected to the gameplay because it sets the protagonist up as scared and clueless but as soon as the exploration starts, he becomes instantly psychologically and physically combat ready. What’s worse is even though he could stab or shoot people or even set people on fire without issue, he will still find skinning an animal disgusting and make “ugh” sounds. I bought it on day one and got so put off by the story that I didn’t finish it until almost a year and a half later. Far cry 3 is worth playing, but not recommended at the full price. I actually recommend Far Cry 3 blood dragon, which is more refined without the pretentious story.

95

Far Cry's best of...

RakuPL_Markolf | May 14, 2014 | See all RakuPL_Markolf's reviews »

Crazy story, interesting main quests (especially the one with mushrooms ;)), extra quality graphics, living world... I could go on and on, but all it matters is that the gameplay follows everything in quality too. So reload your weapons gentleman and fell into this dangerous paradise.

95

Best game of 2012!

Zazutuu | April 16, 2014 | See all Zazutuu's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is a really good Open-World FPS.

I spent a LOT of time playing this game.The story is great and the game will keep you interested until the end.You are Jason Brody and together with your friends you all get captured by the pirates on the Rook Islands.

You have a huge playground and a lot of thing to do. Kill this, hunt that, collect this, go there, explore that, I think you know what I mean.

The sound is just...WOW... The man who is the voice of Vaas should really get an award for his performance. Besides the Single-Player you also have multiplayer, CO-OP and The Map Editor, all those things packed in one gorgeous game.

It is really worth its price and I really recommend it.

95

Absolutely Mad

poolton | March 19, 2014 | See all poolton's reviews »

violent and gory action that does get a bit repetitive but has quite a strong story line and a very strong levelling system. A game that has just about everything that you could every want in. Would recommend to absolutely anyone who's looking for something different

89

One of the best open world experience out there

meltinghero | Feb. 27, 2014 | See all meltinghero's reviews »

You play as Jason Brody, an average guy having a vacation on a mysterious island with his friends. You and your friends then get captured by pirates and thus begins the story of Far Cry 3.

The best thing about this game is the open world feature. I, myself am an open world lover and Far Cry 3 just nailed the spot. You can capture outpost, hunt animals, wrestle with crocodile and lots more. You also have various weapons at your disposal and you can customize them. You can almost feel as if you were shooting a real gun, the recoil and the impact as the bullets tear through your enemy is an amazing experience.

The car driving mechanics in this game is phenomenal, easily one of the best I have ever experienced, although you will have the strong urge of crashing your car after every trip. The story is pretty decent too and I enjoy it. The voice acting though, is amazing and you can feel the emotions of Jason as he is struggling through hell.

As like every game, there are downsides. The characters in this game are easily forgettable aside from Vaas and sadly, he is in only a small portion of the game. I would pay more to see him play a more major role in this game. The radio towers, which you are required to go through to get map vision, are extremely frustrating and repetitive. I would always sigh if I see one and grudgingly force myself through it.

Overall, Far Cry 3 is an extremely good game, defenitely worth it's price point. An open world experience you do not want to miss.

84

Very good and loads of fun

jackdude180 | Feb. 22, 2014 | See all jackdude180's reviews »

Despite being the worlds biggest ♥♥♥ hole to your girlfriend this game rocks!!! Fire works really well, and there perk system is probably my favorite out of all games I've played.by combining it with your tattoo's it makes it look so much more awesome and seeing it grow as you become more powerful is a really nice touch. A healthy range of weapons and beautiful tropical paradise with so much character. finding a reason not to explore the island is hard story lines a lot of fun and the characters you meet very interesting. I wont discuss it all in case I spoil stuff but do yourself a favor and get it 8/10 its worth it

87

Far Cry 3 - review

carlyle | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all carlyle's reviews »

The game's plot is taken directly from a movie series b, the consciousness of the protagonist is one of the strengths of the title : at the beginning Jason is afraid , afraid and reluctant , he just wants to find his friends and run away, then understands that there is something more going on and that has a clearly defined role in the fate of the island, in short, is the chosen one will have to make difficult choices that will mark him deeply. The game mechanics are therefore those of discovery, exploration and survival , of course, declined between main missions and "secondary" . This division is fully functional to the growth of the character. The ' artificial intelligence opponents offers a rate adequate challenge even though there have been cases where their routine comportali went into crisis by facilitating our task . The breakdown of enemies in different categories and their strong vision and hearing really work to complicate the dynamics of the action, and in this sense are the confirmation that the search approach " reasoned" is the real reason the game. Obviously we can not pretend nothing has happened and throw into action without thinking, but between snipers in raised positions , crazed bomber who throw petrol bombs , equipped with armored flame thrower , rifle in cover, you can really die in a matter of a fraction of a second. It is not simply to storm the outposts , in some circumstances we need to find and kill opponents without alerting details all the soldiers of the guard, in other stealth is total, and here , unfortunately, we have to put in mind that the lack of an internal map structures is almost expire Far Cry 3 in a repetitive trial and error to figure out where to go and there are also sections with a lot of small exploratory environmental puzzles to solve. Ultimately, a great game , to try

71

Overrated but still enjoyable

Sganotak | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all Sganotak's reviews »

Despite hating Farcry 2, I gave FC3 a chance after the universal praise it received. The game is definitely better than FC2 but it still suffers from some major flaws and bad game design choices

The best thing about Far Cry 3 are it's graphics. The game is pure eye candy. The flora and fauna of the island are so beautiful and feel so alive. The physics engine is impressive too and the in-game fires are so realistic and spread so naturally that you will be tempted to burn things up all the time

The gameplay is good and the shooting mechanics are solid. There's also weapon customization in the game and it is always fun to edit and upgrade your loadout depending on the situation

What's wrong with FC3 is that relies too much on the tropes and boring features found in Ubisoft's open world games. The side missions are a joke and are mostly like "kill a pirate with x weapon or hunt x animal with y weapon". This is unacceptable for a game of this age. There are also other activities like climbing radio towers to uncover the map (copy-pasted from Assassins Creed) or clearing outposts that get old quick. Finally the level up system that is presented with tribal tattoos on your arm is a failed attempt at adding RPG elements to the game and locks certain gameplay aspects behind it like cooking grenades or stealth takedowns, which should have been available to you from the beginning

The story is pretty weak and while it's pretty cool to play as a tourist gradually turning into a battle hardened warrior, Jason himself is a pretty unlikeable protagonist. The other characters of the game are forgettable too, except Vaas, brilliantly portrayed by Mark Mando, who unfortunately plays a smaller part than I'd like in the story

The competitive multiplayer is average but the 4 player Co-Op mode can be fun since it features a different story with new protagonists

The game also offers editing tools for creating maps

Farcry 3 may not have deserved the praise it got on release, but it is still an enjoyable shooter with impressive graphics and great shooting mechanics

88

Different

Mscigniew | Jan. 12, 2014 | See all Mscigniew's reviews »

When I first learned that FC3 takes place on an island I hoped its gonna be like the first FC,it aint,FC3 is still different but its an awesome game,presenting some features I never seen before in an FPS.Here you gonna have to hunt animals,to lvl up or upgrade your tools.You even gonna go through an initiation involving shrooms. The whole Island is very big and fun to explore,hunting part can at times be very challenging,theres a lot of random events on the way.Almost countless side quests,and the story is pretty unique,I do recommend it.

95

Best game I've played in a while

sirf | Jan. 7, 2014 | See all sirf's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is an excellent return to form after the mixed reception of its predecessor. The game features a ton of activities to do, beautiful graphics and an unforgettable story with an antagonist that will leave an indelible mark on you. The following is a summary of my experiences with the game:

The gameplay of Far Cry 3 is a joy. Gun battles are very satisfying while a stealthy approach can also be taken in most scenarios. As the game is set out in a large tropical area, you can approach enemies from any angle and really plan out your attack. Whether you decide to snipe enemies from afar using a silenced sniper rifle or run in 'gun blazing', almost every engagement will feel new and you will be forced to adapt accordingly. An example of this was when I went into an enemy base planning to quietly kill every one inside with my machete. I didn't notice that they had guard dogs, which attacked. I panicked and threw a grenade which ignited some explosive barrels causing a wild fire killing everything (including some wildlife). The wildlife in the game are not present exclusively for aesthetic purposes. Wildlife need to be hunted in order to upgrade your equipment. You also gain experience when killing which allows you to obtain new skills.

Far Cry 3 features amazing graphics. From a technical perspective, it is enjoyable to run around the area which features open grasslands and dense jungles that has streaks of sunlight shining through. The area is teeming with wildlife that actively hunt and avoid each other. Although the technical details on the wildlife (animations, AI etc) have room for improvement, they definitely add to the experience of the game.

Story: The story of Far Cry 3 was very memorable. Characters are believable with voice acting being top notch. There were twists that I didn't see coming and I was entertained from start to finish. As mentioned previously, the main antagonist of the game is one of the most memorable characters in recent years.

In conclusion, Far Cry 3 is a must buy if you're an FPS fan. It breaks the mold on conventional industry norms by adding meaningful RPG elements, an open approach to combat and an engaging story. I've spend over 100 hours playing this game and it certainly has been great value for money.

95

A GEM

MoNoTieace | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all MoNoTieace's reviews »

Far Cry series have always been known for it's huge open world mercenary gunning gameplay aspect. Far Cry 3 brings it on the next level. Amazing graphics that makes you want to stop at some point of game and just stare at the beauty of the huge open world the Dev have created. The story in the game is engaging. You play as Jason Brody, who has tag along with his friends on a mysterious island for holiday. But.. little do they know the danger lying ahead of them. The gameplay in the game is simply WOAH. The open world allows you to go around hunting animals (Even SHARKS!), crafting equipments, buying guns, activating radio towers, taking on side missions or simply just driving round the island exploring the map. The shooting mechanics in the game is good, smooth and responsive. The animation of the gun handling is smooth and the sound is simply solid.

A MUST BUY FOR OPEN WORLD LOVER

90

Such an amazing game

gforcesa | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

I think this is my favorite Far Cry game ever.The open world and its beauty is amazing.The story is,you play as Jason and you and your friends have come to this island to have a good time but not soon after it gets really bad.Jason and his friends have been kidnapped and you have to escape and save them.I really like the stealth system in this game.There are many outpost which if you take them and kill everyone you own it and you can access your weapons from that outpost.You can also hunt animals to craft things like syringes,weapon holsters,wallets to hold more money,rucksacks to carry more stuff and much more.You can play the game however you want,if you wish to stealth kill everyone you can use stealth weapons like a bow and your silenced weapons.There are also explosives,i really had fun placing some C4 on a road and waiting for some bandits to come by and blow them up.I really recommend you buy this game because it is worth every penny.Very fun and every second is worth it.

90

Open World FPS Adventure with an unforgettable antagonist

JetStreamJam | Dec. 22, 2013 | See all JetStreamJam's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is what I was looking for ever-since I played Skyrim. An Open world that allows you to wield guns and modern armaments while, also going back to basics in hunting in the wild. The game is well polished and has a good story to back it up. But the major clincher that made this game a true gem is its antagonist, Vaas. He is just crazy and you just feel the hatred when you see him in the game via the cut-scenes while the story unfolds. The voice actor who gave life to Vaas deserves recognition with the fine work he has made.

If you enjoyed Skyrim, you will definitely enjoy far cry 3. This is an RPG that has hunting simulation to go with it.

Well worth it!

88

Good

maddocks2379 | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all maddocks2379's reviews »

i havn't play any of the earlier series and i don't think that has really affected my enjoyment of this game, the graphics are good and ran well, the main story is interesting (the side missions are a bit rubbish and pointless) and nothing beats bow and arrow takedowns.

This reminded me a little of crysis 1, the sneaking in the jungle and approaching situations any way you wished but something just felt missing and im not sure what exactly, maybe it was the fact the enemy AI is awful or the repeating of the missions.

Good game but not amazing

99

Magnificent Game

parazitu91 | Dec. 7, 2013 | See all parazitu91's reviews »

The best FPS of 2012, a greate open world shooter that reminds me of the original Crysis with a vast and lively world, NPS perfect programmed predatory animals attack people and othe animals, a lots of mini-games and secondary missions, a lage map for a FPS category game.Now let's talk about teh storyline.......is perfect,a mixture of emotions and adrenaline,greate voice acting,few cutscenes, good soundtrack(besides stupid song by skrillex on the field marijuana misson I hate stupid dubshet muzic) and most important piece of the whole assembly THE BEST VILLAIN of the game industry from 2000....... VAAS MONTENEGRO simply is is among the best caracter of the game industry.Even if the game is multiplatform and sometimes it feels the influence of consol game industry crap game worth every penny even though I hate UBY this does not prevent me from recognizing a good game. ENJOY :)

99

Almost Perfect

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | See all Stuman31's reviews »

When i played Far Cry 2 I really enjoyed it, but there were a few issues with it that really detracted from the experiance. When someone assured me Far Cry 3 was Far Cry 2, but with all those issues corrected, i had to check it out. And it was fantastic. The look of it, the AI, the way you can clear through the map, and side challenges make this a complete gaming experiance. In single player i would say the least interesting part is the main story, which isnt to say the story is weak, just that the rest of the game is so strong. I clocked this game, including getting all the of 100 hidden relics - mainly just so i could keep playing the game. It is rare a game will get every aspect of itself so thoroughly correct as this did.

The one hold up i have with this game is Coop. What makes Far Cry 3 an amazing game is the free roam users choice approach. If you want to sit on a hill and slowly and carefully take out a camp, then you can go for broke. The idea of doing this coop sounds amazing. Having your friends help you in this would be great. However, coop is actually just a rail shooter. its just guns blazing. It is the exact opposite of everything that makes single player fun. For as much as i love this game, i cant even bring myself to bothering finish the coop. Almost perfect...almost

96

A wonderful FPS game with an amazing storyline

MisterRay97 | Nov. 24, 2013 | See all MisterRay97's reviews »

Far Cry 3 was one of the only FPS games that got me hooked. The graphics of the games are beautiful and the single-player campaign is long enough and has a good storyline. You play as Jason Brody, who has come along with his friends on a mysterious island for a holiday. The game starts perfectly and ends perfectly. All storyline elements are well made. The gameplay is good and has a good difficulty. The open world is awesome and lively. You can hunt animals, craft equipment, buy guns, activate radio towers, do side missions, drive around or just explore the map. I like the game's physics and car handling. The XP and upgrade system is well made. The game's storyline is simply amazing, it'll never feel boring. You'll enjoy the antagonist, Vaas. The multiplayer might be largely ignored but it isn't bad either. The multiplayer is great if you have some friends to play along.

Ubisoft and Far Cry put Battlefield and Call of Duty to shame. One of the best first-person shooter games ever made.

90

A superb open world fps.

TETfromLondon | Nov. 4, 2013 | See all TETfromLondon's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is an extraordinarily fun game with an interesting story and beautiful world. The island itself looks extraordinary, and hours can be spent exploring it. This game also has immensely satisfying gameplay, with an enormous variety of weapons to use. There are also exotic animals to hunt. This is in addition to a very satisfying campaign with some great characters (Vaas in particular). The multiplayer is also quite enjoyable, but it is not the focus of the game, and you will spend far more time immersing yourself in the single payer than the multiplayer. Topping this off is a very nice map editor which has a lot of fun in it for people who are creative. All in all, an excellent game.

95

Outstanding.

shak209 | Oct. 14, 2013 | See all shak209's reviews »

Before this game came out back in December 2012, it was my most anticipated game for over a year, and, I was so satisfied when I finally got to play it.

Story: The story is amazing. The game starts with Jason Brody, which is the main protagonist, his two brothers and friends going skydiving, but without knowing, they land on an unknown island which is run by pirates. Jason and his friends were caught by a group of pirates led by Vaas Montenegro, the main antagonist. Vaas kills Jason's older brother, Grant, after they escape and Jason is running for his life. Shortly after, he's being saved by Dennis, a member of the Rakyat. Jason's goal is that simple - to save his friends from Vaas.

Gameplay: The gameplay is great. It combines a first person shooter with a little bit of stealth gameplay, and an RPG mechanic which lets you gain XP and level up and expand your various skills. I love the hunting system, because hunting in this game is rewarding, as it is necessary to craft items like weapon holsters, wallets and arrow quivers. Oh, and speaking of quivers, one of the best things about this game is the bow, I found myself using it all the time, it is that fun.

The open world gameplay is one of the best. A good open world game gets you so immersed in the open world that you simply forget about the main mission, and I found myself doing that a lot. There's so much stuff to do - Capture pirate outposts, hunt, do various challenges, play poker or just simply explore the huge world.

Graphics: The game is stunningly beautiful, it just looks plain amazing. You can find yourself stopping everything that you're doing in the game and simply adoring the beauty of the island, it is gorgeous.

Verdict: One of the best games that I've ever played. Strong plot, soild open world gameplay and amazing graphics. You should definitely buy this game.

100

A Crazy Insane adventure worth having

TK4EVA47 | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all TK4EVA47's reviews »

Far Cry games are all known for their choice of giving you amazing freedom in giving you choice on how to do objectives given to you. Far Cry 3 not only does this in the best possible way but also gives you solid gameplay, a massive open-world, INSANE story and interesting characters. All of that, as well as great multiplayer and co-op, makes one of the best games of 2012. If you haven't got it, BUY IT NOW! From GMG for the low price of about £10!

89

The most interesting and complete characters

kapamaru91 | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all kapamaru91's reviews »

If the people of Ubisoft took the brave decision and gave straight character in Far Cry 3, with these untapped ideas, the result can be impressive. Unfortunately, they chose the easy way out of the Sandbox environment, adding quantity regardless of quality. We do not know what impact on a community game go for very high again and offers predictable solutions. We do however have our circle on taking the fetch quests in an indifferent environment, and take part in any race without opponents.

87

Far Cry 3 - review

balbo79 | Sept. 23, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is the latest chapter in the franchise at Ubisoft. After a second episode not much appreciated, the team decided to take a very different way. Far Cry 3 takes place on a tropical island, where the protagonist (Jason Brody) and his companions went there by mistake. You will find that the island is a hideout for pirates and smugglers, and our hero must improvised fighting for life and for the salvation of his friends. Far Cry 3 is a First Person Shooter with Free Roaming setting, characterized by a wide variety of options of approach: head-on collision and assaults silent alternate seamlessly. The wide variety of weapons allows you to turn into a predator exceptional, while the experience points earned in missions major and minor are used to unlock a variety of skills that increase your chances of survival. The sub-narrative is very nice, with her ​​doing this constantly hallucinating, and the gameplay is always fresh and fun. Stands the level design. Inevitable also a multiplayer mode with which to challenge friends.

95

Best open world FPS

rjb789 | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

Far Cry 3 had me at the start. When you wake up with Vass circling you, taunting, you immediately get a feeling of what the game will be about. Hunting down a madman whilst getting stronger and stronger and becoming unstoppable. Blowing up a pirate camp by sliding in and shooting up the alarms and proceeding to kill the pirates either stealthily or by firing lead into them, the choice is yours. The game looks amazing, the lush jungles are breathtaking and the beaches are brilliant too! Vass is one of the best video game characters of all time due to the great voice acting and motion tracking used in the game. The added idea of perks is a nice touch and helps you develop your play style. If you love open world shooters you need this game! It really is the best in its genre!

85

Far Cry 3

dewiroe | Sept. 15, 2013 | See all dewiroe's reviews »

What a joy to play, immerse yourself into a world that wants you dead, and then strive to defeat all possible outcomes of death, shoot some baddies, ravage some wildlife and women, and then chill out and go sky diving and swimming... A very good game, with a brilliant story, brilliant characters, a nice little adventure, well worth anyone's money, my only fault is why don't pirates respawn!?

94

Amazing

wr7734 | Aug. 29, 2013 | See all wr7734's reviews »

I have spent hours and hours playing this game. Why have I ? Because there are so many different things to do from skinning boars to creating your own medicine to use.. A must buy for people who liked Skyrim.

85

Fun

nemesis44uk | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all nemesis44uk's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is a vast improvement to the second game in the series and has one of the tensest and sweaty-palm inducing openings of any game. You escape your captor and have to make your way through their camp and to safety in the jungle. It sounds simple and in 99% of games, it usually is, but not here. A mixture of stealth and flat out running, with villains chasing you is a heart-pumping start.

The rest of the game (as far as I have played) doesn't take it much easier on you either. Clever AI opponents and random encounters with wildlife serve to complicate matters.

The game looks and sounds beautiful and there are usually many different ways you can approach the mission.

There are some down points, including the inexplicably stupid companion NPCs and the odd crafting mechanics going on, but FC3 is a step above the rest and is well worth seeking out, especially at GMG's prices. Recommended.

90

Great game

The_Hostage | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all The_Hostage's reviews »

A fantastic open world shooter which has tons to do and a bit of everything - arcade-y style shoot outs, quiet exploration, hunting, driving and killing, lots of killing. Lots of attention to detail and care has been put into this world and most of it's characters, but it's by no means perfect - you feel overpowered by the end, checkpoints & fall distance damage need adjusting, and the shift between story & free world is just as jarring as the tonal shifts in the story.
Don't get bogged down by the story - just enjoy your descent into insanity.

92

Amazing

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all DanJamesStone12's reviews »

I first got into the Farcry series a while back, when I played Farcry Predator on the Xbox 360... I was, at first, slightly unimpressed- but gradually it grew on me and I started to play the other Farcry games, only on PC.

Fairly recently, I downloaded Farcry 3 and I was pretty much blown away, the graphics and gameplay dynamics were just amazing, and I found the game to be relatively bug free.

So far, I've managed to rack up countless hours on this game, taking time to explore the island and appreciate the beauty of the Farcry world, collect plants and hunt animals.

Great graphics paired with a good storyline, it's a winner.

92

The sequel that the original Far Cry deserved!!

abelfs | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

One of the best games of 2012. It has lots of things to do. The kill secondary missions could get repetitive, though all the other optional stuff are very fun. I liked the crafting system a lot but i feel like it could have taken it a step further. The combat system is nice there are a lot of abilities you can unlock, making you feel like a truly predator in the second half of the game. There are lots of animal that you can hunt, and some of them are deadly as hell (like crocodiles or tigers). The story is surprising, but not because of the plot, but its characters (specially Vaas). Mix it all with superb visuals and you'll get one of the finest surprises of 2012.

100

Far Cry 3: a game, a legacy

08woodh1 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all 08woodh1's reviews »

OK. Let me start by making something blatantly clear. It is mind-numbingly obvious that some people will like this game, and others will not. A review is a matter of personal opinion, and in mine, this game is average. Let me explain why....

I loved Far Cry. The original was ground-breaking. You needed a freakishly good PC to even run the thing. I had to upgrade my GPU at the time just to play it. The best cash I've ever spent. The water, the foliage, the different tactics, the ludicrous plot twists etc made the game one of my favourite of all time.

Then the second Far Cry came along and changed the rules completely. A FPS RPG kinda game. Still brutal. Still needing a beast of a PC to run. Plot was ok. But what I didn't like was the whole 'sandbox' aspect of it. All of sudden you had to get 'missions' a la GTA or something similar. God knows why they felt the need to change it, but they did. Some loved the game, I never finished it. I got bored of travelling from A to B with the sole purpose of getting given another mission, coincidentally back where I was before.

So seeing the trailers for Far Cry 3, the first thing that struck me was the island. Back to basics perhaps? Well, kind of. The game is beautiful. The jungle, the caves, the beaches, the sea....oh the sea....wow. Like the original, the sea looks astonishing. And guess what? Just like the original, it is a monster to run. First game in two years I've not been able to run on high or ultra high settings. So you'd better have some nice new kit, or some top of the range pc from a 12-18 months ago or you'll struggle to get acceptable framerate.....

....but I digress. The game itself. Storyline and characters are great. Insane nutjobs that portray the despair of your predicament. Violence is high. Guns are great etc etc. So lot's of positives. BUT, and here's where it falls down for me. It is way too random. The intro scene is excellent. Kidnapped by brutal loons? Check. Escape with casualty of loved one? Check. Terrifying chase before sliding down into churning white water a la Arnie in predator? Check...... Pretty good till here, no?

Then all of sudden you're awake in a 'friendly' village, and the frenetic pace is just gone... You meet the 'others' (feels a bit like Lost, although in this case the 'others' are the good guys). They own shops that sell guns (yessssss). They teach you to harvest crops and plants from the jungles and fields and even rivers and sea to make medicine and other interesting stuff. They teach you to hunt wild animals for their pelt (so you can build bigger backpacks etc). You can pick up bounty hunter contracts, kill wild animals to complete challenges, and loads of other stuff.

Backpacks? Collecting plants? Really? Are you kidding me? Do I really feel like playing Far Cry 3 to make myself a bigger backpack, or to make myself an evironmentally friendly aspirin...?

But hey, masses and masses of things to do. Definitely value for money if that's your thing.

BUT, and here it is again....my opinion is that this is just yawnstakinly boring. I prefer a linear game like the original. You had to follow the plot. You could do it in your own way, but you had to keep following the plot. It kept it more exciting and more engrossing. I wanted to keep playing. In Far Cry 3, this is not the case. Its too big, too vague and in my opinion, too boring. I've not finished it, but the side missions just don't relate to the plot at all. I know that's nothing new, but in Far Cry 3 I don't see why I should bother doing them. They're thrown in to extend the length of the game obviously, but why not put the effort into the main plot instead? Don't get me wrong, it's a good game, but it's not what I wanted or expected from the franchise, and I was disappointed.

If you want a fast paced FPS like the original, this is not it. If you want something more like the second, but with more bells and whistles and generally more polished, then you'll probably love this.

95

Best Far Cry by far!

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

This is an amazing game. If you've played previous Far Cry games you'll immediately notice a big improvement. Everything about this game is awesome. You're put into a massive open world in which you can explore at your own leisure.You can hunt animals, play the great story or participate in one of the many great activities. This game is simply great and I highly recommend you purchase it.

75

The best open world FPS, but story is really bad

zonzon | July 29, 2013 | See all zonzon's reviews »

The greatest thing this game has is an open world setting and plenty of things to do in it. Shooting is nice and precise, and the stealth possibilities are way above others basic shooters. (multiple takedown, from up and below, etc...)

But the story is basically a satire of violent FPS games, where the main character is "godlike", by being able to eliminate every opposing force without common sense. What makes the character act like a killing machine is "the player himself", and if you get it right, yes, you are the subject of the satire.

You are forced, by the game, to kill. And in the end, you are a psychopath. But you were forced to kill, this is the game that turn you into a killing machine, not the will of the player. If you want to do a satire of this sort, don't laugh at the player by giving NO OTHER choice than the "wrong" choice.

The problem is that is also include extremely stupid NPC's (Buck is an "annoying piece of s*") And dumb storyline, with an antagonist that is as over the top as he is evil. Friends that are stupid and won't even listen to the main character, and are just here to be saved, they aren't grateful either.

To make it short, this is a really good FPS, the best open world FPS, but has a dull storyline, just wander around and do stuff, and ignore the story, you're gonna get disappointed otherwise.

88

far cry 3 review

Neapolis47 | July 22, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

Jason Brody and his companions are not normal guys, always looking for extreme adventures. Probably, however this time it went too far: come to Rook Island, are captured by the psychopath and fearsome pirate Vaas. Jason manages to escape and to find the strength to seek his friends, he decides to embark on the intricate way of the warrior. And 'this is the beginning of Far Cry 3, Ubisoft Montreal's new title. This new chapter in the saga, from the spectacular countryside and fast-paced, looks like an FPS RPG: in fact we can strengthen our character throughout the vventura with experience points that will be spent to buy skills. The title prepares itself as a great free roam: in fact we can wander around the island conquering radio towers, hunting and gathering herbs to enlarge our equipaggiamenteìo and supply us with care. Technically, the title has advantages and disadvantages: on the one hand there has been great attention to the representation of the island and the main characters, on the other there was not a brilliant attention to detail graphics combined with the presence of bugs, with some of which that force the player to repeat the check point. It 'also an online mode, but not entirely convincing.

90

Very very good game

simodeso | July 18, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

If you tried far cry 2 you know how it became boring after a few hours.. well this sequel doesn't!Awesome graphic/gameplay/and story.. some people doesn't like the story but i really enjoyed it! You can make choices for different endings it's worth every penny this AAA game. There is a crafting section (you have to hunt animals) and there are many sub quests to do. If i were in you i would buy this game very quickly.

95

Great ideas with great performance

reezon | July 7, 2013 | See all reezon's reviews »

This game is an absolute stunner. After dissapointing 2nd sequel this one is masterpiece. Great ideas are incorporated in this game from hunting to crafting your own gear. Story is not so great, but acting and characters are stunning. Graphics is also great with reasonable performance. Multiplayer is a bit boring but with some good ideas.

82

Great Open World Shooter

Payney | July 7, 2013 | See all Payney's reviews »

Lots of fun to play with an engaging plot to keep you interested. The story is interesting and easy to follow and the game gives you plenty to do if you do not feel like rushing the main story quest.

Feels less repetitive than Far Cry 2 did and has a more engaging antagonist.

The gameplay flows well even if you can soak up a few too many bullets and the healing animations and set phrases are limited. The introduction of an own choice leveling up system helps to add another element of free choice into the game and there is a good selection of weapons to use and different ways to play out objectives.

70

Loose Intrest

cammyk123 | July 6, 2013 | See all cammyk123's reviews »

Farcry 2 was an amazing game in my eyes although it did have it's faults and I thought Farcry 3 would be amazing. When I started playing the game I was really thrilled and always finding new things but after a while I became bored of it and it gets a bit repetitive. I would not pay full price for it, wait for the summer sale for it.

79

Welcome to the Jungle

TommyC7 | July 5, 2013 | See all TommyC7's reviews »

Far Cry 3 may not be smart or well written, but if approached in the right way, IS highly entertaining. I spent many an hour exploring the gorgeous jungle environments, getting my upgrades from challenges and hunting and being a silent assassin. There is great satisfaction to be found taking out an enemy outpost without being spotted, or just blowing everyone the hell up. You're given enough free reign to explore and experiment with your weapons and tactics to power yourself up enough to enjoy playing at a high level, especially on higher difficulties. I would recommended it as a dip in and dip out tittle as prolonged stints can put you off it.

80

You'll lose interest quick

Teabagjohn | July 3, 2013 | See all Teabagjohn's reviews »

  • Looks great
  • Shooting is fun
  • Exploring makes sense and is fun aswell
  • Gets boring after a few hours
  • Story is ok
  • Skills aren't important
  • Lots of grinding concerning the crafting

If I were you, I wouldn't pay more than 25$. I don't regret my purchase (40-50$ I think it was) but I lost motivation real quick. Wait for the summer sale ;)

94

This jungle was massive

Shoxy85 | June 11, 2013 | See all Shoxy85's reviews »

Having never played a Far Cry before I didn't have a clue what to expect when I got my hands on this. I was expecting it to be terrible as it was recommended to me by friends who like terrible games that I can't stand.

The game opens up with a video to show you the start of the story, about you and your friends being on an adventure holiday before it all went a tiny bit wrong. For a video only, it did have me entertained and really pulled me into the game to come. Which doesn't normally happen with opening videos, for me.

The story being that you play Jason Brody and along with 2 of your brothers and a couple of friends you get caught by what I can only presume are pirates.

You first get to play the game when you wake up in a cage with your brother in a camp full of all worlds of trouble. The graphics really blew me away! I know I was playing it on the PC and it's a lot to do with my computer but it just looked amazing. So many games try and just fail so badly to look so realistic.

Now I'm really into it!

You manage to get out of the cage and you get your Solid Snake stealth action on, slowly working your way out of the camp site before you finally escape and the game kicks on.

The main objective is to find as many of your friends as possible and along the way tracking down the man (and his boss) who imprisoned you and your friends and generally became quite the inconvenience to you.

But there are plenty of side-objectives to do as well. Including hunting and clearing campsites of enemies to give you more and more save locations. Although they got very repetitive after a while and sometimes just plain stupid. Nobody should ever be made to hunt and kill three leopards with a flamethrower!

With the game being set on two adjacent dessert islands you will find you have to share it with a whole host of creatures from goats to sharks to tigers! And if you're anything like me and like to take a vantage point before a mission to scout it out, then you'll find yourself jumping an awful lot when you're looking through your binoculars and bears or a tiger decide you look like their tea!

One part that really took me by surprise is how well they did with the vehicles (and there are plenty of them!) because they're all so easy to control without being just plain rubbish.

Apart from the hand-glider! I found jumping off the cliff and dying to be a more efficient way down a mountain as both methods seemed to have the same end result for me. I just floated to a slower death by taking the hand-glider into a tree or a mast.

You meet some absolute gems in the characters as part of the story. My personal favorites being Buck and Dr Earnhardt. I was laughing most times either of these appeared.

The game is pretty much set in two halves. Island one and then over to island two. Island one felt very easy and was great at getting you used to the whole game. Where island two seemed to get a lot more serious and you really needed to concentrate on that. But it didn't matter about concentrating because I just wanted to get done to see where the story was going to go next!

Almost every part of this game is brilliantly done. I really felt I was part of a story being told. The loading menus have an Alice In Wonderland association and I've never paid so much attention to any loading screens before. So even in those I was still giving the game my full attention.

Werdly it kind of reminded me of GTA. In that it's all open world, a million side missions to do and a story you only have to do, when you can be bothered to. And if you dont fancy any of that then you can always go and walk around the jungle stabbing wild boar! (Whatever floats your boat).

If you play this game for nothing else, play it for one of the last few missions where you're in a helicopter, manning the machine gun with Rise Of The Valkyries playing in the background!

Absolutely amazing!

84

Fun on a tropical island

Elghinnarisa | June 7, 2013 | See all Elghinnarisa's reviews »

This is one of the games that I liked a lot. I spent as much time as I could on this game when I bought it. It did feel a bit short and the story is a bit dicey. However it's a lot of fun to play. I would very much like to see more of the story, a longer story with more options. The multiplayer part is decent. Its fun to run around and shoot other players however it does feel a bit stiff and "slow". Not as fluid as other games perhaps. Well worth the money (which was 40 something bucks when i bought it) and i would recommend it to almost any person who likes FPS games.

85

Shooting at it's finest!

Plasros | June 3, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

The game starts off amazingly, and sets a tone that wows you and makes you feel like it'll carry on until the very end. Sadly, this only lasts until a quarter of the way through, when the narrative just becomes ludicrous and sloppy, and has you questioning whether or not the writers were also kidnapped alongside your friends. And since all of the mayhem, and the reason for inflicting it, is carried by the story, this is a major eyesore in what is otherwise a very fun, and intense open-world game. I won't spoil anything for you, but let's just say there were many times where I had to just turn my brain off and force myself not to think about what just happened. The characters, and much of the voice acting, however, are top notch. I could write more about the game here, but long Metacritic user reviews look like crap and nobody wants to read a wall of text. So should you play this game? Yes. Absolutely. Just make sure you don't think too hard about it, and also make sure you crank the difficulty all the way, because the game is far too easy even on the highest difficulty. Like a Michael Bay film, Far Cry 3 isn't going to win your heart and stimulate you intellectually, but with the right hardware and a bag of popcorn, it's still a pretty darn good time. And damn if it doesn't have one of the greatest intros to a shooter I've played.

89

Imroves on it's predecessor in almost every way

SeverinMK | June 1, 2013 | See all SeverinMK's reviews »

Long story short: this game is very good! The Gameplay is fun especially with the variety of melee takedowns, also your almost always given the option to either sneak or just mow through enemies with the lots and lots of weapons you can use in this game. Besides the decent main story line there are also a lot of side quest, hunting, collecting herbs or liberating outposts for example. The graphics look amazing though the performance could be a bit better. What I really like about the game though is the enviroment, not only does the island look great and offers a lot different places like old bunkers, temples, cliffs or simply beaches and villages, it also feels alive with civilians which do whatever they are doing, pirates who patrol the streets or the massive amount of wild animals you can find on the island. Definetly worth buying in my opinion.

95

An excellent remake of the farcry franchise.

Chauci | May 31, 2013 | See all Chauci's reviews »

Farcry to left something to be desired but the developers have clearly upped their game with this one. It lets you loose in a sandbox experience on a beautiful tropical island where you with the use of your skills can kill pirates with the use of both stealth and frontal assault. The story is very good and will leave you wanting for more everytime you are forced to leave the game for a time. The combat feels good and you will enjoy planning ways to best dispatch of a camp of pirates. It even has tons of stuff for you to do and they even released a patch, which allows you to repeat much of the games content.

90

A very enjoyable game which I highly recommend!

Cakefish | May 31, 2013 | See all Cakefish's reviews »

A very enjoyable game, easily one of 2012's best. The graphics are bright and colourful, with lots of tweakable settings to suit a wide variety of PC's. The tropical island setting looks wonderful and character models are especially well animated. The story is fairly simplistic, yet effective at driving the game forward - but only at the pace you choose - you have the freedom to go anywhere at anytime. Some of the most fun in the game is exploring and hunting for the many wild animals that populate the islands or storming an enemy outpost whichever way you see fit. This is a game which allows you to play whichever way you want. Vaas is a great villain and standout character, wonderfully realised and brilliantly insane - you love to hate him. This game rewards progression by enabling you to upgrade your skills and weapons. I have spent many tens of hours and not yet seen half of what this game offers, it is huge. Definitely worth the money of you like FPS's and/or open world games. Just a lot of fun to play!

91

Great game

mrthalax | May 28, 2013 | See all mrthalax's reviews »

Amazing game with fun game play and a enjoyable story, with some very good characters (mainly the enemies) and some not so good characters; but the missions are definitely the most fun bit about the story. The island is huge, beautiful and well detailed with lots to do. Definitely worth the money and is easily one of the best games to be released in 2012

93

Most fun shooter i played in a long time!

Obbag | May 24, 2013 | See all Obbag's reviews »

so until a few years ago i only played fps shooters but then got kind of bored with them and found that nearly none of them offered anything new. the last one i really enjoyed was deus ex and thats been out a while. when i first saw far cry 3 it seemed to me like it could be a lot of fun and i gotta say thats really what it is: fun. like extremely fun. the abilities you get after some time are great and the further you get into the game the more of a badass your charakter gets. you swim up to them and dreg them into the water, jump on one guy und instantly knife the other one down that stands next to him, etc. you can play it rambo style or take a more stealthy approach, you decide. a friend of mine made it his mission to beat the game only with a knife :) the only thing i find somehow forgettable and kinda blunt is the story: you and your friends get kidnapped on vacation, you get split up and find them one after the other. there is some well written dialogue and some cool characters but all in all its pretty basic stuff. but like i said the gameplay is top notch, many far cry 2s flews have been ironed out so get right into it! it is a must have for me :)

61

One step forward, one step back

Crispymerks | May 24, 2013 | See all Crispymerks's reviews »

I actually really enjoyed Far Cry 2 despite all it's flaws and I'd hoped that Far Cry 3 would keep the merits of Far Cry 2 and fix the problems. I am somewhat disappointed, for example they have more effective fast travel and shorter travel times but they seem to have taken a lot of life outside of the world. Random encounters with enemies are pretty much gone after you take a nearby outpost. I have around 15 hours in the game and I've had a handful of random firefights with enemies. The game has introduced animals which mix things up but most of them are incredibly easy to kill (for the player and enemies). It's true that they had to make FC3 more accessible than 2 however I think they've moved too far in the right direction and have passed the point where they should have stopped.

Still a good game but not fantastic, a one playthrough job.

90

A near perfect game.

Andstani | May 16, 2013 | See all Andstani's reviews »

I've never played Far Cry 1 or 2 but from what I heard I couldn't go wrong buying this game. I have to admit this is one of the most fun games I've played in a long time.

From the start its exciting and from the start you meet one of if not the greatest bad guys I have ever seen. Vaas. This man single handedly makes this game one of the best games I've played this year. His script is spectacular and extremely interesting from an outsiders point of view on this island.

The game play is spectacular, there are plenty of guns, upgrades and if your into it paint styles for them. I found myself using the Bow for 90% of the game not including the challenges where you have to use new weapons, which are great as well. Don't get me wrong the Bow isn't the best weapon there are many weapons that are just as good but that is whats good about this game, there is so many types of ways to play it, from running into outposts all guns blazing with your MG to using your silenced sniper to pick off the guards that are out of vision so that nobody finds the body. From Using flare guns to pull the most of the camps away while you combo a back stab into using the enemy knife to throw at another guard.

The Tatau system which is basically your talent points are great, you can earn all of them and some are of course more fun than others for example I found myself loving the grenade take down which let you stab a guard, pull the pin on their grenade and kick them into more guards. The amazing thing is this is still great for stealth game play as you can use it to scare / distract enemies.

My main problem with the game is also the Tatau. It's a main part of the story which in all honestly doesn't need to be there and this is where the game doesn't do too great. The story feels very forced in some parts just to have a reason for talent points.

Apart from the story which I understand a lot of people would want to be strong if they wanted to play this. I can honestly say buy it anyway, there is so much to do like collecting lost letters from the war, finding hidden relics and taking enemy outposts. Even just diving off mountains to wing suit around is fun. Honestly there isn't anything to do after you collect all that but it's worth the money while on sale for a few hours of great game play and visual amazement.

78

Great experience

sonarctica | May 14, 2013 | See all sonarctica's reviews »

Just not as good as Far Cry 1. It's a great and wonderful game with loads of stuff to do. It took me a while to finish this game because it felt repetitive from time to time which I got really bored of. It is still a good game and worth the money if you happen to have some laying around. It's much better than Far Cry 2 for sure so no need to worry about that.

92

Excellent game and the best of three

britishlad | May 13, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

This game is excellent! In terms of production values (graphics, music, voice acting etc) It ticks all the right boxes. Like the last game it's open-worlded and there's just so many things to do. The choice of weapons and size of the map makes the game even better, offering a wider variety of gameplay in comparison to Far Cry 2 and there are plenty of side missions.

But what really surprised me is that the developers looked at the flaws and problems with the last game and pretty fixed them! for example the last game had enemy soldiers respawning at the checkpoints and outposts everytime you passed them - In this sequel you can take over them and use as fast travel (It also unlocks more side missions)

Excellent game and the best of three in my opinion

92

A great game

victornavorski | May 10, 2013 | See all victornavorski's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is clearly the best of the franchise. It takes all the great things from Far Cry 2 (the size of the map, the exploration, the beauty of the environment, ...) and adds a correction to some of the most annoying features from the previous game, like the constant respawn of enemies at checkpoints.

In Far Cry 3, you will be alone on an island and will have to fight your way through a large number of enemies if you want to save your friends. Some locals with be there to help you, supplying you with quite a lot of weapons and a few vehicules. You will then be free to do whatever pleases you, rushing the main missions or exploring the island : a large number of sidequests will make sure you never feel bored. Attack and clean outposts, help villagers, repare radio towers, ... The choice is yours.

Stay vigilant ! One of the most interesting features in Far Cry 3 is hunting. You will soon find out that the island hosts a large (and sometimes threatening) wildlife. Dogs, buffalos, tigers or sharks, you will be able to track them, kill them, skin them, and craft some equipement that will help you for the rest of the game.

Chose your playstyle ! Be a soldier of fortune with an assault rifle, a sniper that kills from the other side of the valley, or simply a man with a powerful and silent bow and a machete. You will also be able to gain skills with your experience, allowing you to further customise your character.

So Far Cry 3 is clearly one of the best FPS of his generation. You will no doubt feel like you are the hero of the story, and that's probably the best thing about the game.

92

One of my favourite FPS Games.

mrpeters | May 9, 2013 | See all mrpeters's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is so far one of my favourite FPS games. You get free-roam, RPG elements, survival elements and a great story all in one package! There's also a decent Multi-Player part and a good co-op part (Have had great times with friends in the coop missions). I highly suggest getting this if you enjoy FPS games with free-roam and minor RPG elements. It's similar to Crysis 1 in the matter of weapon handling and free-roam, the car handling is however a bit sub-par compared to Crysis 1.

90

Excellent Game

dungeonseeker | May 9, 2013 | See all dungeonseeker's reviews »

Far Cry 3 provides players with a massive open world to explore along side the actual story driven side of the game, the story is excellent, well written and really fun (if a little unbelievable at times) but the main part of this game is the massive scope for exploration, you could spend literally hours wandering around and still be no where near exploring even a small percentage of the available space. If you love losing yourself in exploration then this is perfect for you.

95

Wonderful game!

PoussinJoyeux | May 3, 2013 | See all PoussinJoyeux's reviews »

This game takes the best of Far Cry 1 and Far Cry 2, removes the bad things (no more respawn!) and adds a very good story!

Graphics are very good, even on a non recent HW configuration (2.5 years old). There are many things to do it, in addition to the main quest and it will keep you busy for a while. I've finished the main quest and did most of the secondary objectives, but it still remains stuffs to do in it so I'll gladly return to the islands for that.

What is also very good from my point of view is that everywhere you go in the islands, you find stuffs to grab or ruins to explore. Game developpers/designers have done a very good job. So it's also a pleasure just to explore the island with no particular aim because you always find something to do in it.

Some characters such as Vaas but also some others (but I won't spoil the story here) are very well interpreted and as a consequence, it is nice to follow the story and watch the cinematics. To give you an idea: at the beginning, to have the much longer gameplay possible, I was doing all the secondary quests and without using fast travel (which allows you to go from a point to another in the island instantaneously). But after a while, I was so much in the story and wanted to know what would happen next that I used fast travels and put away secondary quests to progress on it (and you still can do secondary quests when the main story is complete).

And what is more important than everything (and which is typical of the Far Cry serie) is that you can reach objectives (such as liberating an outpost) with so many different ways that there is a high replay value.

So to summarize: very good game, I had not so much fun in a video game for a while!

100

Open-World Shooter Paradise

canis89 | April 28, 2013 | See all canis89's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is without a doubt a great open-world shooter game. If you have played Far Cry 2 and felt that it hasn't fully realized its potential, then Far Cry 3 is peak of the series. It has everything that Far Cry 2 lacked, and improved it.

Adding towards the big paradise islands that you can roam freely, the main selling point for me is the wild animals. You can hunt and be hunted by animals. Heck, I have even encountered a road block at the edge of a jungle, glittered with bodies from those who are stupid enough to get out of their car to engage in men versus komodos standout.

RPG elements have also been added. For those of you experience-maniac, now you can indeed gain experience points from killing your enemies,including the animals. You can also skin animals to make the accessories you need: bigger ammo pouch and shark-skin wallet to store more money!

Terminated from the last outing is the malaria, deteriorating guns and enemy outpost respawn. You are no more plagued by any disease while fighting pirates. But for the hardcores, you may miss the definitely the deterioating guns, well, I do. Once taken, now your outposts can be occupied by your friendly local guerrilas.

Finally, mod capabilities is still there and therefore create infinite replayability for the game. So, all in all, this is a game worth buying if you really like the genre of free-roam shooter. Definitely check it out if you want to command an army of komodos to raid a hostile outpost!

91

Just amazing

g0ran | April 24, 2013 | See all g0ran's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is a great FPS. It represents really a good improvement with respect to Far Cry 2: there are many side missions that add a good variety to the gameplay and a story is quite interesting with a NPC like Vaas. One of the best aspect of the game is the possibility to choose the best approach to complete the mission : you can try the stealth approach or try tthe direct approach. The single player missions are really good, the side missions are numerous but some of them can be repetitive after some time. There is also a good co-op multiplayer that increase the longevity of the game

94

The island will swallow you alive!

lFlapjackl | April 18, 2013 | See all lFlapjackl's reviews »

Best Far Cry game to date and the game is gorgeous! Best of both worlds, open world, great graphics, and amazing story. There should be countless hours of great fun, and with the editor, individuals can make their own maps for people to play through! This adds lots of replay that can add new story elements and hopefully mods in the future. On top of this, there is multiplayer and coop which adds lots of additional gameplay. The only thing that is missing is the ability to play the singleplayer online but at the same time coop does that for you by placing you on a new island to experience with friends! For me, this is the best game I have played in years and ranks up there with the best I have played. Don't wait, jump right in and experience the Rook Islands in all their glory!

96

My favorite game of 2012 by far

BurroCaralho | March 29, 2013 | See all BurroCaralho's reviews »

Hands down my favorite game of last year, the graphics are absolutely orgasmic (i never knew i could just stare at sunlight shining through a steel grate for so long), i was playing it on ultra and i've never seen a better game. The acting is excellent, the main protagonist Vaas though, excellent would be an understatement. He's perfectly cast, modeled and voiced. He is by far the best protagonist i've ever seen in a game or any movie, he's insane and unpredictable and that's what makes him terrifying. Despite him being terrifying though, i looked forward to every encounter with him in the story because i knew it'd be gold. Speaking of the story, it's equally as excellent. You go to a paradise island with your friends and after a bad turn, you wake up with Vaas' face in yours as a scared travel boy and grow into a flame throwing, sniping, Rambo warrior to save the day as the game progresses. I cannot recommend this game enough, even as someone who isn't a fan of FPS, this is a massive exception thanks to the story and characters. This is the exact kind of game that i got my gaming rig for and i'm so glad that i did. The only reason this doesn't get a full 100 is the crafting system, it often doesn't make sense in a logical way but despite that, it still gives you incentive to go off and explore the great looking map to find the things that you need.

94

One hell of a game

youknowwho77 | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all youknowwho77's reviews »

Tha game is really good. Actually I don't play much shooters, but this game, well, I liked it. The graphics are good, but as a DX10 player I would preffered a DX10 support. However, the game is still good. The story is so interesting, and well made, that you just like it from the start. The game has some great easter eggs and references, and I like that in a game. My personal favorite reference is that one from the start of the game: "Run Forest, run!". The gameplay mechanics are great, as they feel right in place. They have also added a crafting system which pushes you forward into the hunting. And finally, great voice acting. I mean, what will be the game without Vaas?

70

Could be better

PhyxionUS1 | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all PhyxionUS1's reviews »

The amazing thing about Far Cry 3 is that you really get the feeling of a tropical island. It might not be your pleasant holiday, but thanks to the immense world, the compelling story and the feeling of freedom, you delve completely in the world. The game is as complete as it can be and keeps you coming back to it thanks to a balanced alternation between action, suspense and easily spent hours without boredom. There are a couple of major issues with this game though, the co-op mode is disappointing and the poor artificial intelligence is a real shame on the other, but rather sublime, experience. It's by far better than Far Cry 2, but is still nowhere the quality of Far Cry 1.

95

amazing graphics; a huge step up from far cry 2

odude2500 | Feb. 14, 2013 | See all odude2500's reviews »

one of the best singleplayer game modes i've seen in ages; i wouldn't bother going on multiplayer though, as it is not as good as it seems. amazing storyline and missions/side missions. the jungle is a great and detailed version of a realistic jungle and there are vast areas to explore. the hunting and crafting is brilliant and the animals and foes are exciting and intense to fight. an extremely good game!

77

Over rated much?

georgecopos | Jan. 31, 2013 | See all georgecopos's reviews »

When you see only 9 and 10 for the pc version, you got to expect a full quality game, but the reality isnt like that. Farcry 3 promised a lot but didnt jumped very far from the dissapointment named Farcry2. Farcry2's main guilt was the fact it became very repetitive very shortly, in Farcry3 they tried to change that, they introduced a much more interesting story with action packed missions and some interesting characters, but in a huge world the main story isnt very small, the secondary missions although numerous they are identical, and with that the game starts smelling like Farcry2; and other than that, devs decided to introduce other boring and repetitive activities like picking plants and hunting which totally kills the immersion from the main story. Four years later from the second game, Farcry3 looses key elements which should be present in every fps, the game doesnt have a good physics like Farcry2 had, you can barelly destroy a fence and in a world full of vegetation, and there is barelly vegetation collision. The improvements are the much more improved map, the exploration feeling is of high level, the arsenal is diverse with many upgrades; another good thing is that the stealth works like it should so a gameplay based on stealth is very doable. Finally, Farcry3 probably will remain an incredible game in the memory of many, especially with a so high average note from metacritic, but in reality its an unpolished game, with many problems and a bunch of arcade elements that destroy what the game should have been; game isnt bad but its far from a masterpiece

91

This is how it's done

MarkDeejay | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

What a massive game this is. Huge islands to explore with just too many sidequests. You can just run/drive/fly around and do nothing or you can; hunt animals, craft items, free settlements, find relics and other secrets, take over radio towers, do some trials and a whole lot of other activities and (side)quests. It's seemingly endless and completing the entire game will take you probably well over 50 hours. Now that's some value right there. The graphics are just gorgeous, no matter what settings you use. You can't make this game look bad, you just can't. The animations and models are some of the best I've seen in a game. Wow. The same thing applies to the sounds and voice acting, which is brilliant and truly convincing. While doing the story and sidequests you'll earn XP to upgrade your skills. There are 3 skilltrees in total and the way you play the game is entirely up to you. The Shark skilltree will let you upgrade your assault and healing skills, while the Heron tree will help you with your sniper skills and speed and finally, the Spider tree will let you focus on your stealth and survival skills. There's no right way to play this. There are many ways to complete an objective. And that's what makes Far Cry 3 fun, but not necessarily unique. However, there aren't many FPS that give you this much freedom, while telling a realistic, focused, story at the same time. So I take my hat off to Ubisoft for creating this masterpiece. The commercial and critical success for this game is well deserved. Let this be a lesson - and example - for future first person shooters. Hooray for Far Cry 3 !

89

Amazing FPS

panz3r88 | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is a great FPS. It represents really a good improvement with respect to Far Cry 2: there are many side missions that add a good variety to the gameplay and a story is quite interesting with a NPC like Vaas. One of the best aspect of the game is the possibility to choose the best approach to complete the mission : you can try the stealth approach or try tthe direct approach. The single player missions are really good, the side missions are numerous but some of them can be repetitive after some time. There is also a good co-op multiplayer that increase the longevity of the game

95

Great FPS action

Stebsis | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Far Cry 3 definitely is an improvement over pretty bad FC2. I never really liked your standard military FPS games, I've always preferred open world setting and FC3 delivers. The island you can roam freely from about the get-go is just huge with tons of stuff to do even after finishing the game. You play as Jason Brody, who came to this island with some friends to just have good time, drink booze, skydive and all that stuff. When they're skydiving something goes wrong and they're captured by a man named Vaas, awesome, though a bit stupid villain at times because he has so many chances to kill Jason who clearly is a threat, but he doesn't. Well, Jason manages to get out and he starts a journey to find his brother, girlfriend and couple other friends who've been captured. Story isn't anything that original but it gets emotional and you really get to know Jason Brody. Early in the game you get this tattoo on your arm that lets you for some reason use all kinds of neat special skills. Not magic though, but stuff like when jumping on an enemy you can kill him instantly with your knife, or if you sneak up on enemy you can take his gun and shoot all the bad guys near you, or if you want to really make noise you can pull the pin out of enemy's grenade and push the guy in the middle of other enemies and they all blow up. In the end you really feel like a Rambo taking down maybe even ten soldiers in a matter of seconds without even firing your gun. Speaking of the guns, there're tons to choose from and all will affect your playstyle as you can sneak, go in guns blazing, snipe them from afar or trap them in a fiery blazes with your flamethrower, or combine all of them to create some nice havoc amongst your enemies. Graphics in the game are superb, the island is just a beautiful sight to behold. All the plants, water, trees, everything is just beautiful. FC3 gives you lots of choises how you approach combat, and it's really satisfying. Only really bad thing I can say is that when you've cleared all the enemy strongholds, there're no more bad guys to kill, they just disappear. Only story missions, if you still have them, and bounty quests have bad guys left and there's not infinite amount of them either, at some point your whole arsenal of guns becomes just meaningless. There're still tons of things about the game to discover, but great shooting, sneaking and exploring huge world are the reasons you want to play this.

82

Godly first person shooter, disappointing sequel

MalekTaktak | Jan. 21, 2013 | See all MalekTaktak's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is basically one of the most impressing shooters out there, taking extraordinarily immersive graphics and nice effects from FPS's like Crysis or Halo, an extremely huge, seemingly paradisiac but dangerous and hostile jungle island for the open world setting, loads of side-missions and minigames (which are mildly boring excuses to keep the player busy) carefully written characters like the main antogonist Vaas voiced by surprisingly well-performing actors, a captivating storyline and interesting plot topped with fun physic mechanics, fun vehicules and tons of fun enemies and not so innocent fun animals to slaugther.

This game took all of the missing/badly implemented aspects from Far Cry and Far Cry 2 and fixed/added these. Which was rather a successfully completed task.

However, it took all of the innovative and unique features like actual physical maps, decaying weapons, taking naps, owning personal weapons armories, catching diseases, having to cure these and scrapped all of them. It's what made Far Cry 2 stand out from the rest of the FPS's, and they removed it. Shame on you Ubisoft developing studios.

As if it weren't enough, they also fixed the stealth + combat far more than they should have, it was kind of broken in Far Cry 2, but it still felt challenging and cool to fight through those hordes of corrupt soldiers, taking cover, healing, trying to sneak up on them (if only the stabs killed soldiers without alerting the rest of the outpost..) In Far Cry 3, you can basically kill every artificial stupidity being in an outpost without raising the little finger. You can just stab everyone or even shoot the bandits before they ring the alarm and remain undetected.

Let's talk about the protagonist, Jason Brody, a 17 years old whiny little boy who goes eewie after killing his first few victims and everytime he skins an animal, and becomes an absolute hitman/assassin who can shoot any gun with zero recoil and 100% accuracy without even learning before, that was just handwaved by the whole 'tatau' religious cult perk system. In Far Cry 2, you had a whole character select screen with bad bottomed mercenaries. (who actually stay shut through the whole game like an FPS protagonist usually behaves) Who wants to play with an annoying whiny kid in such a perfectly chiseled world complete with vehicules and cool stuffs anyway?

The setting/characters, plus the multiplayer modes, PLUS the freakin' MAP EDITOR, compensate this somehow. But I'm still very disappointed.

95

Great game

RoundRogue | Jan. 18, 2013 | See all RoundRogue's reviews »

Got this game for Christmas and I have to admit, it's really good! The storyline is a bit clichéd in some places but there are a lot of awesome action moments to keep you on the edge of your seat, and there's loads of side-missions to enhance the playing experience. All in all, a great game!

90

In the Jungle the Mighty Jungle

ILoveIL | Jan. 8, 2013 | See all ILoveIL's reviews »

Chances are you will like this game. Its a beautiful open world FPS occurring in the jungle. The combat is fun: it knits together stealth and plain fighting very effectively. And combat isn't the only thing the game has to offer.

Alongside with the story, the game challenges you to capture enemy territory. It's a fun task requiring some planning. The driving feels surprisingly good. And there is the activity of finding chests which is quite useless and it's a pity. So if you take all of these into account you will get 30-40 hours of gaming. Not including the muliplayer and co-op that can add another 20-30 hours.

The graphics are astonishing, the sound is good and there are not notable complains about this game. The plot isn't bad at all especially comparing to other FPS.

65

Good game for FPS-fans

Syco9933 | Jan. 6, 2013 | See all Syco9933's reviews »

Far cry 3 is an FPS that offers direct assault with guns, Stealthy big knife, and far away longbow, And with all this 3 different skill trees. The gameplay is very fun, you can do main mission, side missions, hunt animals for the best items. One of the best parts is the Open world for me.

However, even if I enjoyed this game through the full story. I dont like the story, It always reminds me of crappy drama shows. And the action badass characters is the enemies which was a let down because you didnt see enough of them to hear thier awesome lines. The "Boss fights" are only chain quick time events which I hate. But I got used to it since it werent so many of them.

I liked to play the story but only to find out what happend, Except that I didnt like the story and that is a huge deal-breaker for me. So not one of the favorites.

If you gonna buy it, Do it for the gameplay and awesome graphics!

85

A good fps

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 5, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

The game is really similar to Far Cry 2, without the "boring" respawn thing. The plot, well, is nothing special, but for a sandbox it's not a great problem if it is funny to play. This is the case of Far Cry 3, if you focus only on single player part of the game.

90

Easily the best game of this year

owned2260 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all owned2260's reviews »

One of the best games of the year. Takes the best aspects from the original Far Cry, blends it with some elements from Assassin's Creed and also adds RPG elements. Fixes every problem I had with Far Cry 2, so no more having to worry about rusty weapons and malaria. The villains are very interesting, the best in my opinion being Buck and Vaas, although Jason and his friends are the epitome of bro (in a bad way). However, it can get monotonous doing some of the side activities such as the Wanted Dead.

92

Amazing game

Fresha | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Fresha's reviews »

Great graphics and a great gameplay add up to an overall awesome game. The story is a lot better than in Far Cry 2; in general Far Cry 3 does all the things better Far Cry 2 did bad. The weapons feel realistic and the game is packed with missions so you will never feel bored.

Apart from some bugs that aren't really annoying this game is pretty much perfect and I can encourage everybody to buy it!

98

A must-have!

Somakulary | Dec. 20, 2012 | See all Somakulary's reviews »

This game truly has everything, graphics, intense gameplay and an amazing story! If like me, you didn't like Far Cry 2, you will surely trip into this games' grasp. Buy it now!

90

Fun open world FPS

ToRrR | Dec. 15, 2012 | See all ToRrR's reviews »

This is a very fun game to play. The island is a fantastic setting and is a great place to explore. The main story to Far Cry 3 is awesome, a little dark in places but defiantly the main highlight of the game. The side missions are a little repetitive and become a chore once the novelty has worn off.

The graphics are very good for such a large map, yet there are slight issues with flickering enemies and I suffered a few crashes using DX11 settings and had to switch to DX9 (Nvidia GTX 570).

The actual gameplay is very fun, controls are responsive and you can choose between all out assault or a more stealthy approach (stealth kills are very satisfying and can be linked together).

Multiplayer is ok, however it is nothing new and has been done before many times. I'd only recommend purchasing this game for the single player story.

86

Tropical paradise

Xibalba | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

An amazing and stunning visuals and a funny gameplay The combat system allows you to play the game your own way, whether it be like rambo or a silent assassin, the open world reminds me of a GTA but in first person view

95

Great Experience

Sayoblade | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all Sayoblade's reviews »

One of the first games in a long while that made me feel something for the protagonist (and the antagonist... obviously :)) and all the characters in the world.

Not only did the story keep me interested but there's SO much to do around the world, killing, exploring, even hunting (which I'm usually against both digitally and analogy) are all really fun. You can set up your own goals and have fun 15 minute sessions, or sit for hours and really sink in.

GREAT game, great soundtrack, and I haven't even started on Co-op and MP. One of the best I've played in a LONG while.

95

Total Enjoyment

Edg3k | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Edg3k's reviews »

Just finished it today after getting it last week. Main story is fantastic, story is well paced and well put together, the odd quicktime events and important moments in the game are intense but not to difficult to get used to. At least 25-30hours of gameplay playing on normal if you do some of the other stuff as you go along. Big emphasis on exploration as the island is huge. Combat is fun but can get a little boring but its never easy, stealth works well, gunplay is pretty solid with shooting from cover and around corners now much easier then having a lean button on Q and E. If your on an AMD graphics card prepare to be bugged out, funny as its an AMD flagship game, if your on Nvidia update to the 310 beta drivers for a 30% performance boost as well as better HBAO compatibility. Only downside to the game is having to use Uplay to play it through. Set Uplay to offline mode to boost start up speed, no syncing or downloading, turn it on once a day to check for updates but after that best to leave it turned off.

All in all a fun experience with a gripping and intense story full of plot twists and interesting characters. If you buy one game for this Christmas it should be this.

One final thing, do NOT only play the main mission you will miss out on some great conversations if you do, the side quests while short are enjoyable and add to your character. Explore and enjoy the landscape your playing in

90

solid game, best FAR CRY so far

hugemouth | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all hugemouth's reviews »

Great game, one of the best open world game I ever played. Sadly it came out to late in order to get a game of the year nominee this year, could have won at list one. Fast travel is great but they managed to make it so fun to travel in the world that you often forget to use it. shooting is rock solid, movement is great, not a lot of bugs like in other open world games and the game is beautiful. go ahead and buy it!

90

Amazing but buggy

mgremont | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all mgremont's reviews »

I just finished Far Cry 3 and he's a very very good game.

I loved Far Cry and Far Cry 2, for me Far Cry 3 is the same as Far Cry 2 boring and redundant elements less.

The story of the game is nice without being either extremely sought, however we are entitled to some nice turnaround. The gameplay is excellent, weapons are very well made ​​and has good sound and are punchy. We can add silencer, laser pointer and other stuff to make them better.

Characters are also very good, vaas is impressive, some of friendly characters are really mad and fun but our character is a bit naive at the beginning of the game.

Far Cry 3 is also very beautifull but need lot of optimisation and some patch for the excellence. Since the start of the adventure i've experienced many bugs including textures (giant wall of dark buggy texture, dark polygones on characters, etc...) that's the only reproach i can make.

I finish 100% of the game in 20hours at normal mode (he is very easy) so the game had a good gametime for a FPS.

90

Truly amazing - a must buy!

999flame | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all 999flame's reviews »

I was a bit sceptical about picking this one up because I had heard one or two bad things about it, but boy was I wrong not to pick it up sooner. I've been playing it for the past few hours and I have to admit, it's truly amazing. The game is absolutely thrilling right from the get go, and so far it hasn't disappointed me at all. Also, another good thing is they removed the stupid malaria mechanic from Farcry 2. FINALLY!

97

Awesome open world FPS

oginer | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all oginer's reviews »

This game is just great, from start to finish. The graphics are outstanding, the atmosphere, the size of the island, a real masterpiece. There's tons of things to do on this game, from sidequests to hunting and crafting. The main storyline is interesting and has a very film feel.

There's a good amount of weapons, with good diversity, and the shooting feels very well. There's a stealth element in the game, so you can attack enemies from behind while they don't see you, this allows for a good amount of strategy.

It's a must have for anyone who calls himself a gamer.

90

Amazing Open world game, lots of fun Activities to do.

fable2 | Dec. 6, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

So, its Far Cry 3. Its everything in one game :). From the very beginning of the game I just never felt bore. I get to do so many side activities in the game that it makes me happy that the game will last long. Even the number of main mission is not low too (its 38). I get to capture enemy camps (either undetected with more xp or detected with brutal action). Lots of gun and if you can activate radio towers (its like Assassin Creed's area unlocking tower with birds eye view). By activating the towers you get high priced guns for free. So here you have choice too. You have to collect different plants or animal skins to get more storage for your health syringe, ammo, gun, grenades etc. So, you have to engage in this side activity too which is both fun and necessary. You have racing, knife throwing, shotgun or sniper shooting, poker and other different kinds of competition to earn xp and money. Oh, Far Cry 3 has everything isn't it? You have glider to get down quickly through air or use zip-line ropes and also you get wing suite later (like the one in Call of duty Black Ops 2).

Now a most interesting thing in FC3 is skill!! Yes, unlock new skills and play awesomely!!

No more wasting time, just get Far Cry 3 and play this amazing Action plus RPG game..

89

Amazing campaign , Multi is Lame

simonsix | Dec. 4, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is an amazing game. the story puts you on the edge of your seat from the second it starts. deep, skillfully scripted campaign is something every gamer should experience to enjoy The best blend of story and open-world action I’ve ever played. BUT, multiplayer is not so good. Lame lobby system, matchmaking is not good , laggy all the time.

91

what a playground...

soad667 | Dec. 2, 2012 | See all soad667's reviews »

The title of this review is what came to my mind after a couple of hours playing. Visuals are simply beautiful and the return to the tropical setting was a pleasant surprise. Known for quite a long, but still nothing beats when you see by yourself. The story seems a bit dumb to be honest, won't say more to avoid spoilers, but i found it the least interesting part of the game. If you love open world games, you're gonna love FC3. Unlocking everything piece by piece, crafting stuff, hunting animals for leathers, exploring such a beautiful island, upgrade some skills in the form of tattoos on your body, avoiding enemies (humans or not), setting ambushes. Always something will keep you busy, simply with exploring.

Haven't tried yet coop, but it's there, objective based and i have a feeling i'm gonna love this, seeing how the whole game plays out. Also, it runs pretty smooth for me, even in daylight during an ambush, i saw no frame drops or something.

Btw, two things i hated in FC2. Its AI and the way enemies kept respawning everywhere and in no time. The second half is not anymore. Once you get a place, it's yours. Enemies wandering and attacking, but in no way as annoying as it was before. AI in normal isn't the brightest one, but at least now it works as it's supposed to do, stealth etc.

In general, a great game. Two words: get it.

91

A new standard in single player gaming

Rikjs | Nov. 30, 2012 | See all Rikjs's reviews »

Good news everyone! Far Cry 3 is exactly what it promises to be, which is rare in itself.

Ubisoft have dropped the ridiculous DRM. Stealth actually works. No more magic checkpoints that respawn enemies ten seconds after you've cleared them. Wonderful.

Getting around the island is actually fun with vehicles like the ATV and hang glider to armoured jeep. You come across so much stuff, like cars broken down on the road or a tiger actually hunting buffalo. That brings me on to AI. If a bear stumbles across an outpost you're scouting, it might just charge in and maul everyone. If you start hunting buffalo with grenades, chances are you'll attract the attention of the local undesirables who will check it out. This is where we should be in terms of AI interacting with each other and the environment. You will be getting stalked by some nasty critter. It creates some great tension when you're creeping up on an outpost and you suddenly hear a beast creeping up to you. They tend to remain rather well hidden when hunting you, so you're never really sure when it's going to pounce.

As sadistic as this may sound, fire also spreads nicely. You have to be careful with that thing because you might be engulfed before you know it. It really does feel like a dangerous weapon. The crossbow is also great fun to use. Some other weapons are a bit too accurate, like the LMG can just fire all day without a problem.

Missions are nice and varied. You can take over pirate outposts for civs to move in and offer more jobs and adventures. There are radio towers that are a mini-game themselves where you have to find a way to the top to uncover more of the map. You can take part in races, intense delivery jobs, even a bit of poker and darts with throwing knives. Now I know delivery jobs don't sound like fun, but they give you a fun vehicle and any excuse to barrel down a hill on an ATV, skidding past hapless pirates with medical supplies on your back is good enough for me.

The story is actually quite good. It's not Lord of the Rings, but it's not "here's a bad guy, you're killing him because he spat on your surfboard". Vaas makes a great antagonist and the protagonist actually seems suitably affected by his capture, even if he can shoot an LMG within an hour of first holding a gun. These characters have depth to them and the voice acting is well done for the most part. There are some NPCs that have dodgy voices but none are main characters.

In closing. The best of Far Cry 1 + the best of Far Cry 2 + Skyrim's rich world * improvements to stealth - dodgy DRM - a few very minor console type controls in the inventory menu= Far Cry 3.

94

An Insane experience.

luimers18 | Nov. 28, 2012 | See all luimers18's reviews »

Far cry 1 had great gameplay, far cry 2 had a great world, far cry 3 has both and throws in enough insanity and story to make the other two be dwarfed.

The world is great and open, there is so much to do, and the story isn't sacrificed one bit by this. Vaas is one of the most concincing villains (He's up there with the Joker) and the atmosphere of it all is great.

The one thing I must note is that for a tourist you are one hell of a gun nut, this being the only element of the game I do not agree with. You start of as rambo, instead of working towards it. But this is in no way a deal breaker.

A must have.

85

Spectacular

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 22, 2012 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Far Cry 3 is such an amazing sequel to Far Cry 2, it has a great CO-OP mode and a breath taking island, the gameplay also being extremely fun and varied with a rather interesting story and one very special villain. The game looks gorgeous on PC at the highest settings and it's fairly well optimized.

If you liked FC2 you'll surely love this one.