Reviews for Dead Island

70

Pretty good

Neonberry | Dec. 22, 2013 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

Dead Island holds no surprises. If I say it is a zombie-survival game with RPG elements, you can pretty much imagine what it is all about. You are stranded on a zombie infested island as one of the four characters and have to fight your way through the hordes of infected to complete certain missions. You salvage, kill, salvage, kill, assemble weapons and kill some more. Each character has unique skills and specializations for different classes of weapons and I would say the skill trees are pretty well made. The real fun is the multiplayer component - you can join other players at any time if they are close to your progress - which makes the slaughter more interesting - and a great deal easier. If you like the genre and have a few friends to play with (or are willing to join mostly unresponsive fellow players who will kind of just mind their own business) the game will ensure you hours of fun, but don't expect anythg revolutionary.

78

Awesome game

Thousandforms | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all Thousandforms's reviews »

Personally I think the story is pretty good, not sure what everyone else is complaining about!

I prefer it to some of the other zombie games I've've seen as, well, it isn't so scary haha, well it does make me jump at times and I've not completed it yet but still... its pretty big and fun to explore and loot everything, levels upgrades and guns its all pretty immersive!

I have only played it single player, unlike most others it seems, as I'm only recently getting back into computer games. but it's really good! it does take time to do properly though with single player as you cant just go 'zombie bashing' like everyone says, not unless you have a weapon way above your average skill level. With single player it's more about baiting and using the terrain to your advantage, and sometimes just pegging it. it's a shame there aren't more options to sneak in it really. The weapons are awesome-especially the mods! Guns are pretty cool but the lack of ammo capacity sucks.

I bought it for £4 in the sale and it's definitely worth a lot more than that!

88

Bashing Zombies

Confuddled | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all Confuddled's reviews »

Brought this game when it first came out, have to say enjoyed from start to finish but found it a lot better with coop players Can get a little boring playing solo but you can have so much fun just running around the open map and kicking and smashing zombies to bits Worth a play though if you can pick it up cheap in the sale, You can pick up lots of different weapons and upgrade them

90

ZOMBIES

rjb789 | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This game is so much fun, I can't even describe some of the hilarious moments I have experienced whilst playing this game on my own and with friends in the brillinat multi player integration. The majority of your time spent playing Dead Island will consist of either smashing the various types of zombies heads in with the brilliant and varied types of weapons that you can either craft or find around the huge and beautiful island that Dead Island is set on. The graphics, although not great, are good enough to make your zombie slaying experience feel realistic and gritty. This game is a must buy for any zombie enthusiast or for anyone who just wants to bash in zombies with a cricket bat

70

Decent

Vitharr | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all Vitharr's reviews »

This game is great for playing with groups of people. Whilst it does have some bug they don ruin the game, some of them are actually rather amusing. The graphics are decent, the game play is decent. Its by no means the best game you will ever play, but it certainly isn't bad.

70

Killing zombies with friends is fun!

BEEFSTEW | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all BEEFSTEW's reviews »

This is a game I recommend playing with at least one other friend the whole way through as playing by yourself is nothing more than a chore. The melee combat and crafting system is fun and there are skill trees to progress your character any way you want. The classes are individual in their traits each being more efficient in either blunt weapons, knives, guns or throwing weapons, even though each character can use whatever weapons they like! You constantly feel the progression of leveling and it keeps your mind from the mediocre at best story line, the terrible voice acting and common bugs (some of my best memories are of the bugs). Guns are underwhelming but with mods like electric bullets they prove to have some worth. In summary, the story is pants and you will encounter bugs, but with friends there is plenty fun to be had smashing zombies to bits.

70

Only fun with friends.

mooreo1 | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all mooreo1's reviews »

This game is a buggy mess that has a one button smamming combat and a generic story line. While on the multiplayer you can have fun just running around smashing zombies heads open. Good but only if your friends have it.

68

Good

xSh4d0wXx | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all xSh4d0wXx's reviews »

This game is good to play with mates and it does have some good RPG elements. The thing that lets this game down is the bugs. The graphics are really good too.

82

Great game

tomdoughnut | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

This game is great fun, especially online with a group of friends. You can level up, buy different skills for your character and explore the game as it's free roam. It's a lot of fun and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves zombies.

95

A masterpiece - Romero would be proud

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

If this was a George Romero film, it would make billions in the box office; and as a game it really is amazing. The story is fluid and concise - it makes very clear sense; and has a dramatic feel that can get pretty intense at moments. The combat and enemy damage is truly remarkable. When you 'club' a zombie with something blunt, like a pipe, you have a chance to bruise the skin, break the skin, or break the bone. With something sharp, like a knife, you can break the skin, break the muscle tissue, or remove the limb. You can see a lot of work has gone into the zombies and their limbs, as there is such intricate detail when putting them out of their misery. My main concern with the game is that the boss fight is pretty poor. I'm not going to ruin the story, but let's just say that the boss is a little bit easy. Apart from that, this is a wonderful experience - in an apocalyptic, blood surged way.

80

Great

ysk1985 | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all ysk1985's reviews »

This game is amazing but you will get the most out of it with friends. The island is beautiful and the graphics and atmosphere really make it feel like you are stuck on an island with zombies. The story isn't too great but killing the zombies and the leveling system makes you strive for more. This game is funny as you try out your different skills on the zombies, and there are different parts where you can hack away at the zombies.