Reviews for Far Cry 3 Deluxe Edition

80

Good sanbox

Demilisz | March 19, 2014 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

Like it's preccedessor, Far Cry 3 is sandbox FPS with large island to explore and many things to do (hunting, side missions, simple traveling and sightseeing). Story are not great, but is rather interesting as character is not typical Rambo like one man army, but rather a simple city boy who ends up in hostile enviroment. You can sneak around and pick enemies one by one or try frontal assault and while sneaking is a bit better it is not the only possible solution. Graphics of course isn't as great as on first trailer but is good enough. There are some flaws like having too much money rather quickly (common problem for genre), but overall game is worth buying.

92

A huge, emergent open world playground at your fingertips

Ebo | March 16, 2014 | See all Ebo's reviews »

Far Cry 3 takes what worked in Far Cry 1 and 2 and strips out everything that didn't (like those stupid instantly respawning outposts from Far Cry 2).

The story is one that makes sense this time around and you can actually follow, so big thumbs up for that. But forget the story, you'll get lost in the amazing world, hunting animals, climbing towers, liberating outposts and pretty much having a lot of fun in the vastness of the two islands offered to you by the game.

Far Cry 3 is an amazing achievement, one of the best games of 2012, if not the best, a must have for any gamer.

If you're contemplating which version to get, I'd say definitely jump on the Deluxe Edition, it has some cool bonus content that's worth the little extra you have to pay.

100

A Must have - Worth every penny!!

fishey334 | March 5, 2014 | See all fishey334's reviews »

I adore the FARCRY franchise I had played every one since and what I especially loved about this is the story line and the dynamic campaign such that the way you carry out missions and base captures actually has an effect upon the whole experience. I love stealth games and how you can make the AI go nuts and never show yourself. I loved the animals in cages at bases and how you could use them and how you could use alarms to create a death pile up but they could be a pain in the butt literally some times whilst trying to carry out something but I guess thats what Murphys Law is all about.

In addition the AI voice is funny in the way they refer to the powerup tatoos.

97

Game of the year 2012

KingMassive | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all KingMassive's reviews »

This game was simply the best game of 2012, it is an example of what a game can be. It has two huge detailed to roam around, it has lots of guns, great graphics, a great bad guy, addictive gameplay, lots of stuff to do and you can decide the way you want to play. Its only faults are the main character and his friends and a few plot points, but you can easily forgive those. And the DLC that comes with this edition is something that you don't really need, but it won't hurt.

So if you like action games, old school action movies and don't wanna go to bed, get this now. You won't regret it.

94

Far Cry: What could I say?

ccroatian | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all ccroatian's reviews »

This is indeed a big step from Far Cry 2, but not so big from Far Cry. This game is awesome of course, but the question what I am struggling with is: What is wrong in it? Is it perfect? The answer depends on the person who is playing it. My personal opinion is that this game just doing what I expexted from it or even more. I recommend to anyone who like a true fps and story driven game in an open world.

92

Fantastic game, pre-ordered and dont regret it.

ncorbin | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all ncorbin's reviews »

The game itself is simply great, its a blend of the more open world farcry 1 and taking away all the annoying parts that ruined farcry 2. The story line is great, the game is fantastically immersing I played this for 43 hours before completing just the single player. The only reasons this didn't get 100/100 is for a few things. 1) The boss fights are just scripts 2) there is no replayability in single player 3) having to use uplay by force (as with every ubisoft title) These are very small downsides but with the blood dragon dlc and co-op campaign you cant go wrong with a easy 60 hours of gameplay.

75

Many steps forward, but a few steps back

sunnz123 | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all sunnz123's reviews »

+ This is a very solid game, no doubt and does many things well and you never feel like you have nothing to you. It is content packed and the freedom to play how you want is second to none. Not only will you be spending a lot of hours playing this game the first time but you will find yourself replaying the game simply to change your playstyle.

The world feels alive, has some awesome characters and the gameplay is very well done, from shooting, crafting, vehicles and hunting.


I was a big fan of FC2 so the exclusion of weapon degradation is missing ( I felt that made the game dynamic and is missing, nothing like having your weapon explode resulting in you having to pick up the nearest low quality AK and use that). Also things like money is something you wont have problems with and you may find yourself with the best gear within 4 or 5 hours of play, which does in a sense make the game feel a little unbalanced. Some key battles are mishandled and the story in its self isn't that great.

The AI and general combat doesn't feel as hard or intense as is got in FC2 either, especially since being sneaky is a lot easier now ( this could be a plus). While the location looks great, I feel it got a bit too repetitive early on.

At the end of the day, it was a very good experience and would defiantly recommend it to anyway but if you are one of the few who loved FC2, expect a little disappointment.

90

Massive step up from Far Cry 2

nicfusc | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all nicfusc's reviews »

After playing Far Cry 2 and being fairly underwhelmed, I was skeptical to buy Far Cry 3. After hearing a lot of positive reviews I thought I would give it a chance. I was glad I did. Story is awesome, bad guy is awesome, upgrades are awesome and the game is overall awesome. The open world layout is well laid out and easy to navigate even though its large. Plenty of side missions and objectives to help you unlock new items, weapons and upgrades to aid you in the main story mode.

80

Best bad guy ever.

SuperZorro | May 25, 2013 | See all SuperZorro's reviews »

Really good engrosing story, I really recommend this game. And the bad guy is just perfect.

83

This game is AWESOME!

TheDeathKiller | May 7, 2013 | See all TheDeathKiller's reviews »

I have always been a big fan of open world games, and this one takes it to a whole new level. The graphics/scenery are beautiful, the story is good, the weapons are great, the hunting is a blast, and there are plenty of "side missions" to keep you interested in-between the main missions. Also, the compound bow in the game is awesome. You can use it for hunting and for stealth attacks. I used it 80% of the game.

I can't think of anything negative to say about the game. I will be playing it through again in the future.

95

GOTY 2012

bradysam | April 25, 2013 | See all bradysam's reviews »

This was definitely GOTY for me in 2012. The characters were well realized, the story was excellent with a few twists and turns along the way and you actually ended up caring about what happened to Jason Brody and his friends. Most importantly though the game play is superb. The combat is fast, exciting and fun. The exploration is excellent and always rewards you. There are also plenty of collectibles to find for bonus XP to keep you occupied for a long time. If you like shooters even remotely you should pick up this game!

95

An Experience...

zhack075 | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all zhack075's reviews »

I liked far cry 2 even if it was kind of boring sometimes. In fact, I didn't expect anything from Far Cry 3, I thought "great, another ubi shooter... not bad, not good"... I was wrong.

First of all, Graphics are amazing. Body awareness is nice, character animation too. Diving into water is amazing. There is some graphic bug sometimes but compares to the beauty and the size of the map, I don't really care about that. There is a really great actor's perfomance in this game. Characters feel really alive.

Gameplay is awesome. Weapon's feeling is really great ! Playing stealth is really great too. Compares to Far cry 2 where killing someone with silencer or machete leads to alarm, here you can clean up a camp without any gunshots easily. The only survival skills you'll learn is crafting seringes of items with plants or animal skin. Driving is quite pleaseant. The way you have to survive in this living world is amazing. Predator will attack you, some animals defend their territory. There are little details like that which makes this world astonishing. Morevover the AI is really nice !

Multiplayer is good, not excellent, just good and basic.

Pros : - Very Colorful, Beautiful, huge and Living open world. - You're free to do whatever you want ! - Great characters and actor performance. - IA is nice ! - Weapons and takedown's feeling - Many many many things to do !

Cons : - Weapons unlock is too easy and really fast. - Capturing an outpost considerably reduces chances of meeting an enemy patrol but gives you missions to do... Cruel Dilema. - Multiplayer could have been awesome but unfortunately it is really basics. - Uplay

Really one of the (many) best game realeased in 2012 and an excellent surprise for me.

95

Game of the year 2012!

Geforcer | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all Geforcer's reviews »

When I heard about Far Cry 3 coming out, I was a bit sceptical. Usually great games get sequels that disappoint. Could I be more wrong... :)

In the beginning of the game, you start as a weak, a bit whiney guy that gets kidnaped and is about to get executed. Quickly you escape, but for what cost? On this island, nothing is as it seems and nothing is easy. He has to man-up, harden, develop skills and do missions for various dangerous people on the island, so he could find and rescue his brothers and friends. Story, maybe looks a bit unoriginal at first, but later it develops in a great one with lots of twists and action.

Gameplay is very good, I was a bit surprised by all that you could do on the island. Drive cars, hunt various animals so you can upgrade your equipment and carry more items, unlock and buy many weapons, liberate camps, take over transmision towers, and much much more. You can even swim and dive, but watch out! There are many predators in the water, as on the land.

In the end, I my opinion, this game deserves the title of "Game Of The Year". And I recommend it to all the gamers that love open world FPS games. You won't be disappointed.

90

Fantastic Surprise

lucifon | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all lucifon's reviews »

After some horrible design decisions with Far Cry 2 it's safe to say my expectations were dialed back a notch. That said Far cry 3 has absolutely blown them away. Easily one of the best games all year.

Gone are the annoyances of 2 - no respawning checkpoints, weapons breaking, malaria etc. In its place is a playground of fun. Not to mention the game looks absolutely stunning if you've got the machine to handle it.

80

Great Game with need of fixing

kladnik | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all kladnik's reviews »

First I must say that the SP is completely stunning! Very nice gameplay and everything. But for the MP they still need to fix a lot of things, but still great though!

93

An amazing journey

Aemony | Nov. 30, 2012 | See all Aemony's reviews »

Far Cry 3 feels like a reinvigorating addition to the first-person genre. The story campaign itself by far triumphs everything else I've played this year, including Dishonored. The characters feel real and the narrative is great and emotional. I loved the journey of the main character, from a normal guy to a mighty warrior drunk on his own power over life and death.

Ultimately, the game is brought down by the world it is set in, and the design choices to limit player backpack and wallet hinders genuine exploration of the vast and beautiful world. This is no living and breathing world like in Skyrim, but acts as a mere setpiece for the ever surprising story. The side missions is also somewhat of a disappointment, in the end they're only fillers not even remotely required to fully maximize the skill trees of the player.

But my enjoyment of the story was great, and I found myself struggling to stop playing the story missions at night. It's great that they've incorporated the fire element more into the story than in Far Cry 2, and I found myself laughing like a maniac along with the main character when we first got our hands on a flamethrower.

Ultimately, coop and multiplayer might seem like tacked on elements to the game, but I'm more than satisfied with the singleplayer element alone. It was great, it provided me with a story that felt more real than anything else I've played this year, and it even managed to make me second-guess myself towards the end of the journey.

Any fan of immersive and interesting journeys should definitely give Far Cry 3 a look.