Reviews for Bang Bang Racing

85

Fantastic little gem

ncorbin | Sept. 7, 2013 | See all ncorbin's reviews »

I love this game, it is like the old micro-machines games but without the weapons, unfortunately it is very short (about 6 hours) but for the money you cant go wrong, highly recommended!

72

Game for kids.

drafek | June 28, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This game isn't aggressive not that this is a bad thing, I just like racing games to be aggressive. The graphics are done well, sometimes load errors but that doesn't get annoying. The sound is a little soft, it would be better if it was harder. The gameplay is nice. The controls are hard on a laptop but easy on a pc. Great game 7/10

76

Mini racer

willfosnot | June 4, 2013 | See all willfosnot's reviews »

With so many racing games (from sims to arcade to multiplayer) - where does this game fit in? Well do you remember racing your remote controlled car in the basement - - that is what this game feels like. The cars are mini - so this game is not trying to be like a sim with realistic physics. Also different is the racing perspective, this is more of an isometric view of the race track. It is good for a couple of hours on entertainment. Another side bonus it the split-screen local player mode (the kids can play each other just like they would on an xbox).

90

Micro Cars Weeee

DizzitY | May 24, 2013 | See all DizzitY's reviews »

Well this game is real fun if you love micro racing games. Nice selection of cars to win and race, along with paint jobs. This Dev makes great games that have come from the XBLA. For the money i enjoyed every bit of it.

76

A simple little racing game, and fun... for a while

Azrael360 | May 11, 2013 | See all Azrael360's reviews »

Bang Bang Racing is much better than it seems, but not by much. It is a simple racing game, with nice and colorful graphics and tight controls. I played it with an Xbox 360 controller, and the game is fully compatible with it. At first is very easy, with simple tracks and not too challenging, but don’t be mislead, these cars looks cute but their aggressive AI won’t let you win easily. In fact, once you reach the races with the fastest cars, prepare yourself to curse, because you will be crashed a lot by these pilots, especially in the very tight curves at high speeds, making almost impossible to get in the better positions if you make a few mistakes during the race.

Graphically, the game looks clean. Although sometimes you’ll see some quick glitches, like white polygons appearing on screen while taking a turn, but these are very, very fast, like a flash effect and doesn’t affect the gameplay or the driving. Also, there are zero graphics options to set and only two resolutions to choose: 1024x768 (for 4:3 aspect monitors) and 1366x768 (for 16:9 aspect monitors).

Sound, and especially the music are very generic, so don’t expect something fancy here. Interesting though, the music tracks are in MP3 format, and can be easily replaced.

Overall, is a nice little racing game that surely will bring you a few hours of joy, but once you finish with it, there’s not much else to do.

59

Top-down racing lite

mattimc | May 9, 2013 | See all mattimc's reviews »

BBR is a cheery vanilla top-down track racer in the style of the Amiga's Supercars, with bright graphics and slick menus but very inoffensive gameplay: think simple tracks, simple AI, little impression of speed, and automatically regenerating nitros. Other reviewers report that the split-screen multiplayer is fun, and it's great to see--just wish it was attached to a much more complex game.

90

Short but fun!

Mixalot | April 22, 2013 | See all Mixalot's reviews »

Reminded me a lot of the old micromachines game on the ps1. Though some of the descriptions of how to get the skins for the cars not really work with what you are supposed to do, it is still a fun way to waste your time. I wish my steelseries wheel wasnt dead, i think it wouldve been a lot more fun, because i played it on a laptop first, that sucked bad, and later on my computer, which has a 7970 (although that is intergalactically overkill for this game) and ran the game a lot better. The graphics are really cute and the effects are nice. I guess if you want something to like play while you are waiting on soloQ or just want to have some fun, its really worth it. Maybe not 10 dollars, it's quite a short game, but maybe like 4-5 dollars. Great game though, 9/10 would bang if it was a girl.

75

Fun, fast, short single player...

Lekes | Feb. 13, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

If you ever played the 'Super Sprint' arcade games of the 80s, you likely enjoy Bang Bang Racing. The game embodies a lot of what made the former racers so addictive (in short bursts, admittedly) and intense. The game features up to 4-player local (split-screen) racing in most modes (championships / cups, where unlockables can be opened), which is a real plus for a PC port--a platform notorious for stripped content / functionality when it comes to local multiplayer. The only negatives can be attributed to the unlockables (cars / skins / tracks) that are a tad onerous to acquire (given their basic nature) and that the player begins the game with only the barest of thus choices. But, overall, this is a very good title for a game of its type and, due to its relentless nature, reasonably challenging, even for adult players.

82

Micromachines!

DukePaul | Jan. 3, 2013 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

This game remembers me the old Micromachines games or at least It is fun as those, the gameplay is totally arcade with accurate controls to move your car very smoothly around the curves, the circuits are very well done with nice graphics.

The only bad thing is the absence of online multiplayer but at least it has splitscreen for four players.

For this cheap price, it is worth it, Bang Bang Racing is different and offers a different perspective of the genre.

74

simple game, but fun

DeaD | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all DeaD's reviews »

In my honest opinion this game is great. It isn't a simulator, but it does well, what it is: a simple, yet entertaining racing game. Graphics are great, physics are ok, and the fun is guaranteed. I'm not a fan of this genre, but when i played it, it just kept me in front of the computer. How does it do that? The answer is simple: it doesn't want much, but does what it has to at it's best. Only one thing may be needed: online multiplayer. Instead it offers couch multi (4 player split-screen). Maps can be quite difficult to sometimes, but after a while you’ll get used to it. So what are you waiting for? Race on!

92

Great Game if you have the computer for it.

MrHillBilly | Nov. 25, 2012 | See all MrHillBilly's reviews »

This is a great game if you have enough computer for it. One of the funnest over view games I have ever played. Only a couple of tracks but they change the courses so it feels different. 4 classes of cars keeps it interesting. Only thing that would make it better is multi-player.

85

Great game!

Raven | Aug. 1, 2012 | See all Raven's reviews »

When I first bought the game, I was a bit sceptic about it. It's been a really long time that I played this kind of games. Started the game, choose the Carieer mode, car, track and started the race. Oh, boy, was I surprised! The game is fantastic! Great feel of steering and speed. Tracks are nicely designed and interesting. And best of all - it can be played in a long forgotten game mode - SPLIT-SCREEN with 2 players! BIG recommendation to all!

75

FUN GUARANTEED

cristiano171 | June 27, 2012 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

Really like arcade style racing games, especially those that have several different categories of vehicles and let the player go gradually evolving. Remember that each class of vehicles in Bang Bang Racing will feature five vehicles, and each will have different levels of speed, nitro, strength and maneuverability. The cars may also receive various skins, which must be unlocked. Games like this are great because they can play without requiring the player's attention to detail, and technical information that it often is not interested in learning / mastering. Racing games like Bang Bang, Blur, PGR4 and many other races that turn into something more fun and unpretentious, often are lacking in the market.

65

Redone far too many times?

Devil_Mish | June 25, 2012 | See all Devil_Mish's reviews »

This game is good, don't get me wrong. It just seems like it's abit of a copy of alot of games that are already out there... Except one thing... 4 player split screen. You'd be surprised how many developers miss this out every single time and that's 4 player split screen on PC, for some reason people just dont think to do it on pc, but It's brilliant that bang bang racing does! Get a few friends together and get ready for one hell of a ride, however if you're looking for a single player experience then maybe... just maybe this isn't the game for you? Unless ofcourse you love racing games... Then race away my friends!