Reviews for Europa Universalis II

60

One of my favorites only some issues

conscript900 | May 10, 2014 | See all conscript900's reviews »

I loved this game for many years the only problem is i either get no audio or flickering screens and cant seem to find anyone who knows how to contact sanyone to fix it. still great game just be careful as you might find it lkackling badly.

77

A grand strategy.

Zakofficial | Sept. 19, 2013 | See all Zakofficial's reviews »

After completed each tutorial, and having a few hours of game-play; I still knew nary a thing of what I was meant to be doing. This game may appear to be complex in the first time you would play it, although after playing it for a while; I've became very acquainted with it. I've led France to destroy most of England, and I've led Austria to its unfortunate downfall.

I reckon it would be most difficult to find a better game series for such historical accuracy and detailed empire management, not even my favourite series "Civilization" can compare to this. Notwithstanding, there are some controlled parts of the game wherein you cannot change; for example: as France, I was not able to colonise all of Australia; just the southernmost regions. This is awfully frustrating at times, especially if you want to conquer most of the world, yet it is understandable; it is meant for historical accuracy.

And to summarise: I think that this game is well worth its price; I'm pleased with my purchase. I haven't looked at modifications to the game yet; I'll do that some time soon.

94

Excellent Game!

Angelos79 | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all Angelos79's reviews »

The last "simple" installment in the EU series, before it went too complex. Obviously EU3 and 4 have many mechanisms that are still absent here, but this is the last title simple enough to allow fast entry to this way of gaming, while being immensely improved from its predecessor. It is a necessary into for all those new to the series and really enjoyable!

96

An old one with memorable gameplay

bala1201 | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all bala1201's reviews »

Among other features the most important thing this game can give you is freedom of gameplay. You can build up your empire as you like it and a lot of options help you personalise it, like religion, diplomacy with neighbours, trade, military. You can even discover the New World.

80

Build an empire even on old computer!

mahon | July 25, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

The second Europa Universalis was a big step foward from the previous incarnation of the game. Now it may seem a bit aged, and with easy access to Europa Universalis III and even collection versions including its expansions, you might think there's no use getting Europa Universalis II. But don't be tricked into this untrue assumption.

Europa Universalis II is simpler and thus easier to get into, and it will run well even on old computers, so if you have an old machine and would like to play one of the best grand strategy games, running anything from a little province to a huge empire on its path to word domination, Europa Universalis II may be the choice to go with. And even if your adventure with this great series started with Europa Universalis III, it may be good to check its conceptual parent to see where it came from.

89

One of the best paradox titles

rslancer | July 19, 2013 | See all rslancer's reviews »

This game is great. I really enjoyed this game. It has many different aspects: economy, warfare, research, building, trade, colonization. It kind of dabbles a bit in all. Overall it does well in all of them too. I especially enjoyed playing spain or england and colonizing the americas. The tradeing system is probably the weakest. It has a weird send your merchants to a market and over time they get outcompeted and thrown out and you have to keep doing it. Its kind of a hassle but could be worse. Definitely one of the best games I've played. Highly Recommend!

93

Fantastic old-school game

DaiMonPaul | Jan. 21, 2013 | See all DaiMonPaul's reviews »

I can't praise EU2 highly enough, as it was my first real introduction to Paradox games and the Europa Universalis series. I must have played this game for over 200 hours over the years, and it really is that great, if you enjoy grand strategy games. Essentially, you are thrown into an historical sandbox, able to play any country in the world for a period of over 300 years. You can choose to expand militarily, diplomatically, economically, or by colonizing Africa, Asia, and the New World; all are viable options, and no two games (even as the same country, playing the same style) end up the same. There are a number of excellent mods, as well, especially the AGCEEP mod, which adds a huge number of historical events, leaders, and flavor.

Unfortunately, this game has started to show its age. After playing (and loving) EU3, I simply can't go back to the old-school board-game look. Some still like this game better than its sequel, though, so your experience may be different than mine. Either way, this is a game that belongs in the collection of any strategy gamer.

92

Geat game

fearon | April 11, 2011 | See all fearon's reviews »

Europa Universalis 2 is classic game. The real mother for all latest Paradox products. It's giant, it has lot of historical events, it's complex and it's still living. Even now - when there is sequel and lot of spin-offs, EU2 has giant army of fans. EU has lot of modification, addons and tons of addicting gameplay that will prove you, that this is the diamond you must have in your collection.

100

doesn't get better than that

pazmacats | April 8, 2011 | See all pazmacats's reviews »

EU2 is one of those games that are special. It is the cornerstone of Paradox Entertainment, a company that is famous now and which got famous solely because of this ONE game. I have spent countless hours modding, reading and writing AAR, reading wiki and playing the game with dozens of different countries.

EU2 is basically EU3 with a) better graphics b) faster engine c) more history d) better gameplay (less tedious)

EU2 got released, patched, modded, patched again, modded again, overhauled, discussed, glorified and re-rereleased (as "For the glory") and I hope someone will have a shrine built for it at some point.

gameplay: THe game takes you from the early 15th century through times of religious troubles to the times of exploration of the new world to the age of colonialism and finally to the age of nationalism and revolution (early 19th century) it is real time and you can pause the game by pressing "pause" and by setting "auto-pause"-triggers.

You are successful by fighting the right wars at the right time and by having a general idea about the direction you wish to your country to take: Do you want to stay small and progressive? Or do you want to launch a holy war against the heretics? Or do you want to explore and get rich by getting hold of key trading centers? Or do you want to colonize and conquer the natives of the new world?

You have fun by reading every dialog box in the game and making "your" choices (historical vs. ahistorical). The game is fun to powergame (pick a one province minor and conquer the world (hard but possible!)), it is also fun to roleplay (make sweden a colonial power, or go crazy and conquer north africa with the portuguese, or try to get insanely rich as venice, etc.) It is also fun to play because of the music (I hope it's still there) and the general immersiveness.

Bottomline: There is no better game than EU2. There is only games which are newer. (Like "For the glory" which is EU2+some extra punch)