Reviews for Sniper Ghost Warrior 2

55

Could be great

gnjev | July 20, 2014 | See all gnjev's reviews »

This game is quite decent . The story is not so great but i think that is not primary target of people who like this kind of games . It is all about sniping and shooting targets. And there goes plus for bullet camera and some nice kill animations . Main problem of this game are bugs. There is no single one mission without bug . Bugs almost make this game unplayable . Game is so glitchy. Multiplayer is more bugs free and it is very nice . But there is not a lot of players on servers . This game could be great but errors makes it average or above .

75

Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 review

DarkSparda | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all DarkSparda's reviews »

This is much more of a stealth game than its FPS brethren, which is neat, save for the fact that the game has already had a couple of egregiously spaced-out checkpoints. Last night I lost about 10 minutes of progress several times over, passing one outpost and dying at the next, only to restart before the first. With a game this unforgiving, the lack of a quick save option is annoying.The sniping is fun, as far as it goes, as long as you don't move too far outside of the prescribed way of doing things. In the first few scenarios, I covered a group of my special forces bros as they moved through a series of buildings. They'd call out targets, and I'd take them down. It was fun, if very linear so far the game has mostly felt like a shooting gallery, albeit an enjoyable one.When you're not escorting a group of teammates from on high, the sniping challenges get more interesting you're alone, and have to take out an outpost of dudes without any of them seeing the others go down. That means you'll have to think about the enemies' line-of-sight, and pick off dudes in the right order. The AI is hardly realistic whether or not they were immediately visible, I'd think a guy would notice if his entire team suddenly became dead. If you alert an enemy to your presence, his friends will also go on alert, but they'll mostly just sit still behind cover and wait for you to kill them. Occasionally, they'll rush your position, but mostly they'll just sit still. That said, the general setup of these scenarios is pretty fun, and lends a puzzle-like quality to the challenges.

77

Sniping at it's best

Freako | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all Freako's reviews »

I love the atmosphere and environment in this game. How the bullets travel from your barrel to your opponent's skull is great. You honestly won't get tired of it after seeing it again and again.

What's even more fun is when you play with your friends in co-op where you can teamwork together and plan strategic positions to get a better view on when and how to approach the enemy.

Definitely recommending this game for friends who likes sniping in FPS.

75

Fun but not quite there yet

waldemarmuhl | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all waldemarmuhl's reviews »

I want to like this game, it is trying to do something that I enjoy in some FPS games, making me thing about what to do next before doing it. A lot of FPS games lately have become about personal skill with regards to aim and movement abilities but Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 expects more from you, you need to play your next move, adjust for the various factors and then risk it and take action.

The game does that well apart from holding your hand a bit too much for my taste. The problem for me comes in that everything seems to be scripted, the A.I. seems mostly scripted and it takes away from the game's immersion.

They've improved on the first game greatly though by removing the frustrating run and gun missions and making it more true to it's name.

The game is built on the Cry Engine so the graphics are great and the environments you get to sneak around are done very well. Audio is what is to be expected from any modern title, nothing special but not lacking at all.

Fundamentally the game can do with less hand holding and pointing you to exactly what you need to do. Less linear environments and more choice in how to complete your mission with A.I. that can compensate for any changes.

If you enjoyed the first one you'll definitely love this one. Don't judge this sequel based on it's predecessor, it's a great improvement.

70

Good sequel

gforcesa | Jan. 1, 2014 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

Well i liked it better than the first game.The first game was buggy and just a disaster well at least for me.This game's levels are very well done thanks to the CryEngine 3.I didn't find the story interesting so i kept playing for gameplay which i really enjoyed.It does get repetitive at some points but it's an alright of a game.Considering it's 75 % off you can try it out, it's not bad.

68

Aims, shoots and hits, but it's not a clean kill

itsalwaysstunny | Sept. 10, 2013 | See all itsalwaysstunny's reviews »

Sniper missions always seem wedged into games, never truly reaching their potential. Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 is the first sniper game that I've truly felt like a 'watch dog', covering my team as they move from position to postion and dropping targets like a bad ass. Unfortunately, the plot then gets in the way and turns a great sniper game into just a game with snipers in it. The first two levels are awesome but the quality then drops away. The sniping IS great, but non sniping enthusiasts will find little to enjoy. However if, like me, you always play as a sniper, then Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 is a must play, even if it's not the clean kill it should have been.

83

Sniping has never been so fun!

sergebelanger22 | Sept. 3, 2013 | See all sergebelanger22's reviews »

I've waited for Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 so much. I really appreciated the previous one even if it had some little setbacks. Now, most of them have been fixed and it is a better game.

The main downside now is that the single player campaign is too short, as it is often the case in the shooters. At normal difficulty, it takes around 7 hours to complete if you do not look too much for the hidden objects. If you decide to find them, you can increase the length by few hours, but it adds nothing to your experience.

The other downside, that is also common with the shooters, is that there is absolutely nobody online. There were 2 servers when I connected, one being locked by a password and the other one was empty. So, if you buy it, be advised that you will have a single player only game unless you plan on playing with your friends.

There are not only cons, there are also a lot of pros about this game. First, the graphics. They simply look great. The game has been built with the Cry Engine 3. City Interactive is not recognized for great looking games, but this one is a great one.

The sound is also incredible. When you are hidden in the leaves, you hear the bees or flies and you really feel like they were just beside you. However, I had to use my headphones because with my speakers, the voice of my spotter was often too low so I did not hear him calling the shots.

The gameplay is perfect and shooting someone from over 300' is so satisfying. The enemies do not hear you from that distance as in the previous game. This has been fixed and this is good.

I cannot do something else than recommending this game. It is so much fun, and that is the primary goal of a video game in my opinion. So go and buy it!

90

Better than the first game.

bc10000 | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all bc10000's reviews »

So i decided to try out Sniper Ghost Warrior 2, after playing the first game of the series. I have to admit, they improved upon so many things in this sequel. Everything from visuals to game-play feels a lot better, and the story is a lot more interesting. I dont know why this game has bad reviews on Metacrit, but i assure you it's worth your money.

80

Fun Sniper

BasketCaseOIC | July 6, 2013 | See all BasketCaseOIC's reviews »

This release is a huge improvement over the original game. The first thing you will notice is the the improvement in the graphics. Cry Engine is pretty, and City Interactive did a decent job creating some pretty backdrops for the sniping. The cut scenes are a bit weak, with poor character animations - forgivable, but a little more work could have been done.

Speaking of sniping, that is exactly what you will be doing 99% of the time....and that's a very good thing. The run-and-gun nonsense of the first game is virtually non-existent in this release. The progression is linear, with a lot of hand holding regarding who and when to kill, but it still remains fun. I had a blast sneaking around the games environments. Its a nice break from the non-stop frantic action games out there.

The story is average, so surprise there. However, the pacing is good - mixing the right amount of sniping stealth and action. The only fault here is the game length. Its definitely a bit on the short side, but for a budget game, this isn't as much of an issue.

I haven't played multiplayer, but from the videos I've seen it appears serviceable. Pure sniping multiplayer has never appealed to me. Too much camping and one dimensional - just my opinion.

Definitely give this game a try, even if you were turned off by the first one.

70

satisfying.

CallmeTeh | June 10, 2013 | See all CallmeTeh's reviews »

A good game that whacks you into the middle of enemy areas and then says 'deal with it' making you choose how you wish to proceed. It's very satisfying to get a kill from miles away but in all honesty it's still just a modern shooter.

71

Decent sequel

Cavalieroscuro | June 1, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 is a far superior sequel of the first chapter. The graphis is really improved thanks to Cry Engine 2, but the plot is still...useless, the gameplay boring and repetitive. It's not a bad game, by the way, but it could be more good then this. If you want a really good sniper game, check Sniper Elite v.2 or its stand-alone zombie expansion, but if you liked the first chapter, you will enjoy this sequel too.

68

Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 is a good game of stealth ?

cristiano171 | May 20, 2013 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

The side Sniper Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 is also present in the way you deal with the targets. Fallen bodies can be found, and from there, alarms may sound and secure your position before you can get a rain of bullets fatal and frightening. Something very cool in game "snipers" is the time of the shooting. , Or even the actual trigger itself as well as the time at which the target is eliminated.

Sniper Elite V2 brought us that fantastic camera that follows the trajectory of the bullet and provides insight into Xray enemy's body, highlighting the damage caused by the projectile. But, unfortunately, more than Killcam Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 is nice, and there also has its moments, it is apparently more of the same.

Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2

I did not see any difference between this sequence and the killcam its predecessor. Pity, as this detail causes the player a huge satisfaction, and is able to make quite a lot of people strive to achieve "the perfect shot". And as we know, this also helps a lot in making this type of game to receive praise, is not it?

Conclusion

Sniper: Ghost Warrior 2 is a good game of stealth. Anyone looking for a good "sniper game" here surely have good fun times. It has its problems there, however. Problems which, although not as severe as those of its predecessor, can not be ignored. City Interactive tried again.

This time it was better. Much better. If the game is worth? Depends. If you are "sick fan" of the genre, and is able to forget little niggles such as, for example, low resolution textures (apart from the others I mentioned above), you can buy. Otherwise, you might want to wait for a good promotion. If possible, stick with the PC version. And again: "maybe in a sequence" City Interactive does not do better?

73

Getting there...

MarkDeejay | March 18, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

One thing is certain: Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 is certainly more enjoyable than its predecessor. But is it that much better if you look closer ? No, but there are a few things that have been improved. First of all, the game now runs on the CryEngine 3. It's definitely visible as the game looks more vibrant and detailed, but faces are still a bit low poly. And the environments, while they look frequently beautiful, are still not open. The game lets you walk in only one direction, so, like the first one, it's still linear. Not a big deal at all, but it would've been cooler if you had the chance to kill people from more than one location. Another improvement is that it's more stealthy. In the first one there were a few moments where you had to kill (waves of) enemies using regular weapons, which was a bit odd considering the fact that it's a sniper game and it's called Sniper Ghost Warrior. SGW2 fixes that problem. You still get to switch to your handgun, but there are no other weapons besides that one and your trusty sniper rifle. Firefights are more intense because of that. Now, intense might not be the right word for it, because they aren't really, but you get the feeling you're playing as a real sniper. And while kills aren't as satisfying as sniping someone in Sniper Elite V2 it still does a good job of mixing up the action with some slow motion bullet kills. Even if they're not that spectacular. The game consists of three acts, with several missions in each act. Missions will take somewhere between 10-30 minutes, and most of us will finish the game within 5,5 hours. It's not overly long and therefore stays enjoyable all the way through. If you're into sniper games, like me, SGW2 might be worth your time and money. It all depends on how much of a fan you are. Still, if I had to choose between this game and Sniper Elite V2, Sniper Elite would win without a doubt. That doesn't mean it's bad, but it does mean there's still room for improvement.

75

Not A Bad Sniper Game

ssjason | March 13, 2013 | See all ssjason's reviews »

This game is leaps and bounds above its predecessor. Not only is it built on Cry Engine 3 for beautiful graphics, but the story feels well rounded now. Although, it does feel a bit clunky at times controls are decent. By clunky I mean your AI spotter will do animations a few times before he actually jumps down from something or while he is sprinting he zig-zags all over the place. For the price it's not a bad game. If you are expecting something better than Sniper Elite V2 though, this game isn't for you.

73

Interesting sequal to the first Sniper: Ghost Warrior

Bigshrimp | March 12, 2013 | See all Bigshrimp's reviews »

I think it is a somewhat decent sequel. It has a significant improvement on the graphics, sound, and AI. The graphics engine is based on the CryEngine 3 from Crytek.

It seems after playing it for a few hours that you can see that they tried to listen to the fans of the first one. I think they did a good job with the menus this time as well as the sniper experience. It really gives you a better experience all around, even if it is linear throughout the game.

The multiplayer is a little buggy right now, but I am hopeful they will squash them bugs soon, I will give them some slack since the game was just released.

The only other issue that can be a sore subject is the game length, it is only 5 hours or so. So after you finish it, you will be wanting a more bug free experience in multiplayer. Still not a bad game if you compare it the first.