Reviews for Worms Ultimate Mayhem

73

Not the best, but still good

eduardXD | Aug. 25, 2014 | See all eduardXD's reviews »

Worms Ultimate Mayhem is the evolution of the franchise from 2D to 3D. The game is not as good as it was Worms Armageddon or Worms World Party, but still being a good game. In this release developers strove to offer a better story in the campaign and other game modes (like siege, fortress, etc...). I recommend this game for those who want more worms experience in other game types. But do not expect so much fun as the first games.

70

Worms in 3D are good, but 2D are much better.

Furrek | June 13, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

The most thing I like in this one is how they tried to move 2D Worms on next stage. That was a time when 3D games were better and better, so I guess Team 17 tried to make their own game in 3D world. How did it go? In my opinion, not bad. Sure, Worms in 2D are god-like, and it's hard to beat something so great. Sadly, Worms in 3D didn't managed to do that, just look at new Worms games - all of them are 2D. So about Worms Ultimate Mayhem, it's a nice experience. You have much more freedom, exploring worms arenas are fun in 3D, using your favorite weapons from past games are also so much fun. Destroying the map, making your own maps or castles, are nice to spent time in. Playing with friends is also enjoyable, if you are playing for pure fun. I can't imagine playing this in serious matches, but that's my opinion. If you are curious how Worms would work in 3D, there is your answer. It's not a bad game, and it sure is kind of different from other Worms games.

40

A new take on worms

childrop | May 15, 2014 | See all childrop's reviews »

If you enjoy all the other worms games, than this isn't much different. If your new to the series than i can't recommend you starting with this game. I personally love this game but i know many people who prefer the 2-D games to it.

80

Lots of fun!

amnv | Dec. 9, 2013 | See all amnv's reviews »

This game has very good visuals, animations, and sound. The gameplay is, well, worms! Explosions, sheep, exploding sheep... Tons of fun to play with friends as you try to dominate their army of worms on an excellent 3D battlefield. Lots of weapons, landscapes, and everything else you've come to expect from worms. It's easy to play, and fun too. The only problem is it's a little easier and slightly less competitive than its 2D predecessors. Many of the old tricks don't work and it's a little easy to score kills. Thankfully, all new gameplay modifiers are thrown in to make the game just a little more hectic. Faster movement, larger explosions, and super melee are just a few of the changes you can make to form your own custom worms experience. A good buy for sure!

77

Great 3-D Worms Gameplay!

amc215 | July 7, 2013 | See all amc215's reviews »

Worms: Ultimate Mayhem is a souped-up, re-vamped, high-definition re-imagining of Worms 3D and Worms 4: Mayhem, bringing both games together in one incredibly over-stuffed, over-the-top package. The game includes 60 missions, 38 weapons and 12 graphical themes, as well as full online play for up to four players.

78

Quite a solid game, Had lots of fun.

DonVercetti | Feb. 2, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

The Worms franchise is of course more famous with it's 2D graphics and gameplay. Worms Ultimate Mayhem comes with a whole new twist to it, and in my opinion quite a good one. The now 3D worms are placed in a 3D world that's completely demolishable. Even if you're just a fan of the 2D series, this is one you really have to check out!

57

3D and Worms....I'm not convinced

jpbuntinx | Jan. 28, 2013 | See all jpbuntinx's reviews »

First off, the good : It's Worms! who doesn't like Worms! It's mayhem, shooting, exploding sheep, funny noises, everything we came to discover & love about the franchise. However, and now comes the bad part, the Worms game aren't known for 3D Graphics. I'm still struggling with it as we speak. And if it doesn't look right, it'll influence your "like" of the game. Try a demo before purchasing is the best advice i can give you.

68

Worms in 3D, very different from 2D

kairegister | Sept. 14, 2012 | See all kairegister's reviews »

The main problem with Worms being in 3D is it makes it incredibly less competitive. There's no "Hiding underground" by digging with a blowtorch and other silly things. However one thing it does right is being more fun and more silly, more ridiculous stuff can happen here. If you're a fan of the series for fun and silliness, I would recommend giving it a shot. Wouldn't recommend for your first Worms title.

70

A good 3D Worms game!

jeyko | July 2, 2012 | See all jeyko's reviews »

First off, I loved Armageddon, and hated the 3D Worms. And Ultimate Mayhem fixes everything about the 3D ones that I did not like. If you have not played Worms before,the basics are that you control a bunch of worms with all kinds of absurd weaponry, ranging from Bazookas to Super Sheep to Holy Grenades. The goal is to kill all of your enemy team's worms. Even though quick game and multiplayer are my favourite modes, the campaign is still there. It is directly ripped from Worms 4 and Worms 3D, just with better graphics. Therefore if you already own Worms 4 or 3D, there is not that much need to buy Ultimate Mayhem. But if you are new to the 3D Worms games, or Worms overall, you should definitely buy this. It is not better than Armageddon(or any of the 2D Worms) but it is still an awesome game!

65

Not bad... but stick to the 2D ones...

Devil_Mish | July 2, 2012 | See all Devil_Mish's reviews »

Granted this game is not bad by any stretch of the imagination, infact it gets really good once you really get into the customisation and the controls, but that's just why it doesn't do it for me, When I was younger I could just pick up any 2d worms game and play away for hours... But in 3d with crazy good looking graphics it just doesn't do it for me...

Personally if you're thinking of buying a worms title in my opinion, you should go with the nostalgia feel of worms reloaded, that game is amazing!