Reviews for Dead Island: Game of the Year (v1)

80

Better than itś reputation.

rocketsurgeon | March 12, 2013 | See all rocketsurgeon's reviews »

Dead Island has got a bit of a bad rap, and while it is true that it's a fair bit less open world than first impressions might suggest, and it is true that killing zombies gets a bit repetitive after you've dispatched the first couple hundred or so.

Still, it's a beautiful island, and the zombies look every bit as gory and icky as you could hope for, and driving a car feels good, if not entirely authentic.

Overall, there's fun to be had, both following the main story, and just puttering about the place and making your own fun.

Yeah, zombies spawn out of thin air, and yes, zombie games is a huge cop-out when it comes to the AI, since having the mobs shuffle about, persistently walking into parts of the environment etc can all be blamed on them being zombies, and not all that smart. But, you're playing a zombie game, not Skyrim, and I cannot, off-hand, think of a better representative of the genre than this game, warts and all.

78

Great Idea, Mediocre Gameplay

Xiphora | Feb. 14, 2013 | See all Xiphora's reviews »

Dead Island is quite the adventure. It's really addicting, and it creates that sort of atmosphere that you would normally see in a top notch game like Bioshock. The whole game's presentation is beautiful. On top of it all, it's an open world zombie game with RPG elements. I spent hours after hours in this addicting game. However, Dead Island has plenty room for improvement, mainly gameplay. The major emphasis on melee weapons is a great idea, and Dead Island definitely pulled it off. But the whole fighting mechanics brings down the enjoyable RPG elements that leaves the game dry for me. Overall Dead Island is a great experience, but I expect more from its upcoming sequel.

70

Repetitive but good for coop

nairume | Feb. 1, 2013 | See all nairume's reviews »

In concept, Techland's Dead Island is probably a zombie fan's dream game. An open world multiplayer RPG where you roam around a zombie infested paradise, looting and hacking your way to victory. There's loads of content, weapons, quests, and places to visit. The problem is that once you've played the game for a couple hours, you've basically seen most of what the game has to offer. The quests are incredibly repetitive, with most of them resulting to going from point A to point B, killing or finding something, and returning back to point A without little fanfare. As such, when players go off of the main quest to do side quests, it's really up to them to make their own fun, since the game doesn't go out of its way to provide it. That in mind, the game immediately becomes more fun as a coop title and should only be played as such.

90

Awesome zombie action

auronkast | Jan. 31, 2013 | See all auronkast's reviews »

I'll admit that I dislike Zombies, I saw all the classics and B listers but never really got into the whole frenzy around them. When Zombie games became a thing some years ago I was apathetic, earlier last year I got into Left 4 Dead to play with some friends more for them fun of the group activity than the game's theme itself though I learned to love versus mode.

One of my friends repeatedly insisted I get Dead Island, and I told him that the odds I like it would be very low considering no versus at all and the theme, boy was I wrong. The game's main characters and their backstories are not the stereotypes you'd expect in a zombie slasher to begin with, I ended up playing the struggling Rapper, a concept I can kinda relate to considering my struggling musical project, but the pissed off female bodyguard and the sportsman on drugs are equally interesting, Xian Mei is basically Chun-li but with a twist or two. Character charisma and story are a part of it even though the story concerns a standard zombie outbreak it's still engaging if you pay attention to the details like dialogue instead of just rushing through it all.

The gameplay is interesting it doesn't play like a straight fps where you have superhero resilience and stamina's an important component of it. You can throw melee objects, which will be your primary weapons for the most part of the game, advance your character with a simple but fun levelling system and eventually get guns which will be needed against raiders and gangs that formed to profit and try to survive at the other survivor's costs. Overall it's a fulfilling gaming experience and I highly recommend it.

74

Decent Zombie Game

DonVercetti | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

Lately the Zombie genre has exploded and we get new games thrown in our face from all angles. Dead Island is one that does it job quite well, The gameplay and experience is very fun. It has some minor glitches, but it's quite the zombie-smasher!

81

Better with friends

Scorpy | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Dead Island promises a bit more than it can deliver, but considering the scope it tries to achieve there is some leniency allowed here. The gameplay, at its core, is extremely repetitive and the quests are doubly so. Think of Borderlands with zombies, less variety, less guns and annoying features such as having to repair weapons and stock up on just about anything. It's a mix between survival horror and loot-filled rpg. This hybrid isn't such a bad thing, but Dead Island really shines in the co-op. Playing with a friend somehow makes this game a lot better even if it doesn't alter anything gameplay wise.

If you have a buddy to co-op with, the game's cheap price is great and you'll have a blast. If not, you may need to do a bit more research.

81

Excellent RPG Mechanics, Poor Battle System

ssjason | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all ssjason's reviews »

I am a huge fan of zombie games. I have finally gotten around to playing this in my backlog. I had to play through it since Riptide is coming soon. I like the whole level up aspect and the crafting system is cool. Tons of variety when it comes to weapons, but the battle system just feels off for me. Don't get me wrong, the game is still great. That is just the only drawback to it. You will have quite a few hours of gameplay with this. Of course like any RPG it starts off with the run here and get this quests. I have yet to check out the co-op yet. Still a solid game.

81

Buy this game, its really worth it

Daniel89x | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all Daniel89x's reviews »

Another zombie game that I enjoyed. Dead Island has; - a good story with hundreds of side-quests that u can play solo or with 1 to 3 other mates/players. - lots of weapons that u can repair, modify, upgrade - gain xp and level ur characters up to lvl 60 to unlock fighting/looting/etc abilities - nice graphics and bloody melee attacks - achievements and challanges to keep u goin' - endless loot :)

So if u are looking for an good adventure-action-rpg game with zombies that has co-op too, this is ur game

77

Decent zombie game

sYncz | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all sYncz's reviews »

Dead Island is a RPG/FPS zombie game where you can team up with up to three friends in CO-OP mode and go into dangerous zombie infested world to survive and do various quests. Every character has his/her own skill tree where you can spend skill points which you gain by leveling up your character. What I like about this game is that you mostly end up using melee weapons rather than shooting your way trough the zombies, the weapons have durability where by they could get to the point of breaking if not repaired properly, also they can be modified with some awesome mods. In the end I would pick this game over something like Left 4 Dead 2.

85

Love´d it!

Sacriligious | Jan. 1, 2013 | See all Sacriligious's reviews »

It is a very good game in my opinion. All the DLC´s worth the price, it´s HYPER realistic e a lot of fun! Totally worth it :)

87

Great zombie game

Lippe1989 | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

This is a great game. All of fans of zombie games will like for sure. It is not a horror survival game that will scare you. You will fight to survive and have fun at the same time. It is something like a Borderlands and Left 4 Dead. It is interesting. The principal characters and the support characters are also interesting. You will be able to follow the story that is good and algo will be able to accept the secondary missions. It has a lot of blood and will be able to hurt the zombies a lot. It is very very funny. You will have access to a lot of weapons and the better thing is to have access to a lot of them that will be on the ground. So, you never will be without a weapon. This kind of game needs it. It is possible to play with friends and it is very funny, I recommend. The characters are also different with different abilities and will grow up in differents ways.

80

A Good Zombie RPG

Narazumo | Dec. 28, 2012 | See all Narazumo's reviews »

This game does a lot of things right. It has visceral combat, a gorgeous setting, an ominous/dark atmosphere, and good survival game traits(limited items, deadly enemies, and terrible survival odds).

If you like zombie or adventure games this is one that should be in your library.

The only downside is flat characters. You never really care about any of them and the tedium of some of their quests wears on you after awhile.

75

Dead Island

Angeluzian | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all Angeluzian's reviews »

Dead island is a good game. a tropical island filled with zombies. The problem with this game is that it's so bad in single player. But it is a very good game if you play with friends, The crafting and it's interface could be improved, but other than that I see not much flaw as long as you play it in multi.

85

One of the best zombie game, though need some improvements

Darktronik | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all Darktronik's reviews »

After playing more than 30 hours in co-op with a friend of mine without taking a break (just for sleeping) i am able to say this game achieved its entertainment objectives.

You wont find that fast paced game like in left 4 dead. Here, techland tried and achieved to bring some realism. Its you and your melee weapons against deadly zombies. And its tough, but it is satisfying.

Well, nothing its perfect. After finishing the game, you wont be coming back again. There is little to see among the characters skill tree. DLCs dont add much either.

Its time to wait its sequel...and its coming.

80

A great zombie game and a good package overall.

archisbhatt | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all archisbhatt's reviews »

We all know the gaming industry has more zombie games than it bargained for. So as gamers it's for us to know which zombie game is actually fun to play and not just a simple "See zombie, shoot his brains out" game.

Dead Island has captured the essence of the zombie apocalypse. If you have given enough time to the campaign by not getting frustrated over their "Go here to there" quests, you'd fall in love.

It's obvious you're a survivor and you need to find a way out of the island fast, but this game doesn't simply rely on this. Through the campaign, you meet many other fellow survivors who need your help from time to time - And you can decide on whether to help them or not. Though these side quests of helping others can be boring, you'll get rewarded with cool stuff in the end - Which is always cool if you want to use it for your zombie killing ways.

The feature of modding your own weapons is satisfying and fun. Watching a zombie getting his entrails removed, electrocuted, burned, etc is what you should expect! However some weapons are too brittle and they need repair from time to time.

Banoi as an island has some beautiful tropical scenery, along with a city that resembles a dump. However the varied environments are a pleasant change which really helps over the game's repetitive nature.

A major flaw in the game would be the characterization. None of the characters in your squad aren't impressive enough. You wouldn't feel an emotional attachment to any character in the game as every character is either a coward seeking for help or someone who doesn't care if innocent survivors die.

Speaking of the DLC, it's good Deep Silver included them in an affordable GOTY edition since they weren't worth their full price. The Bloodbath Arena DLC is something that should have been included in the original game at the first place since it just pits you against waves of zombies in 4 sub-par maps. The Ryder White DLC is extremely short and it really doesn't offer anything more than show a FEW moments of the game's main campaign through the antagonist's perspective (They have even stripped the leveling up and upgrades feature). The Ripper DLC is the only thing I really had fun with as it does a good job in slicing those zombies.

Overall the game is extremely fun to play, and for the whole package there is no reason to think twice!

84

Fun zombies bashing.

julio77777 | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all julio77777's reviews »

This game follow in the footsteps of borderlands, but with survival element.

Storywise there is not much there, a resort island gets infested and is crawling with zombies and the occasionnal psychopaths and as a survivor you try to get the hell out. You have a choice beetween 4 characters each having their own area of expertise, but don't expect much backstory.

Gameplay is all this game is about, to survive you have access to a pretty wide array of weapons, from the club to guns, weapons have durability and while you can repair your most valuable weapons you will certainly have to drop broken weapons and swap for new ones, fortunately they are scatttered all over the island and you never find yourself in a situation where you end up empty handed. A note for guns : munitions are quite rare so if you excpect to shoot your way out of the island, think again. The RPG elements are a welcome addition with 3 skill trees for each characters. While the quests can be pretty dumb (like "we don't have enough food go get orange juice !") It's merely a pretext for you to kill more zombies and explore the island (which is actually much bigger than one would initially think).

This GOTY version includes Bloodbath arena, which is a survival mode where you must defeat wave after waves of zombies, pretty forgettable, but you do get xp and weapons that you can bring into the campaign. The second Rider White is a "incarnate the main villain" DLC where your can have fun with firearms. Not great but still a fun addition after having finished the game.

Graphics are good, and the game performs smoothly even with an old machine.

All in all a very fun game whether you play solo or with friends, a nice replay value with the four characters being different enough to enjoy another playthrough. Worth you money.

83

Fun game

oginer | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all oginer's reviews »

This game is quite fun to play, but I highly recommend to play with some friends, since co-op is when the game shines. Playing solo is ok, but it can get repetitive after a few hours into the game. There's a lot of exploration involved, but too much enemy respawn times makes exploration a bit tedious.

22

So much missed potential.

ZeeFreeman | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all ZeeFreeman's reviews »

I remember when I first heard of the game and saw some of the features they put in it. When I picked it up, I was excessively disappointed. The combat was way too easy (I killed the final boss in one hit, if that says anything), and the story was very shallow, as it tried to come off as depressive and a realistic interpretation, but some of the game mechanics (such as breaking arms of zombies) just broke that immersion. Altogether, I'd say it's a joke of a game and a mistake by Deep Silver. I'd say unless if you can get it for $1 or less, do not buy it.

83

Unique zombie smashing !!!

fadifdas | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all fadifdas's reviews »

it's really hard these days to see a zombie game standing out from the crowd,but Dead Island is a unique gem and mix of different genres in one game: a melee fps,rpg and sometimes a shooter.but Dead Island's main gameplay mechanic is melee.Sometimes your only way out of a zombie ambush is to use your melee weapons which are spread across the huge map of Dead island's map.The story is forgettable and uninteresting and you will find yourself more attached to the side quests and the zombie slashing than doing the main story quests and listening to the stereotype characters. Dead island really shines thanks to its huge world and addictive gameplay and diablo style looting.

82

Maybe too easy

Roob82 | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Roob82's reviews »

First, its a very good game, a nice catch with GMG offers, second good story, good gameplay, maybe a bit repetitive, third HUGE and FANTASTIC coop-multiplayer, but i think its a little bit easy. with hard mode it could have been a 90+ game

75

Not bad, but...

Raazak | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Raazak's reviews »

This game promises so much, but mostly fails to deliver.

First of all, it's not a shining example of a PC port. The story of the game isn't something that you will ever care about, and the cutscenes are something that you can easily skip because they do not add anything to the immersion. In fact, some of them seems so out of place, they detract from it.

Then we come to the core of the game - zombies. 95 out of 100 zombies you'll encounter are the same enemy type with different skin. The rest of them are a bit more challenging but when you do encounter them you can easily take them down with your special skill which is not worth spending on regular zombies. There's a quasi RPG character leveling, but the the fact that enemies level with you makes it redundant along side the skills being to vague or not useful in a vain attempt to make them interesting.

There are guns in the game, but you have barely any ammo until late game, and you need half a dozen bullets to take down one regular infected so it's not worthwhile to invest in gun skills. Infected tend no spawn out of nowhere, even if you're in a middle of an open area and you just cleared them out - if you turn your back they may appear out of nowhere, which is particularly annoying in urban areas (there are 'pockets' of the world they will spawn non-stop). Seriously, this was dumb in Doom 3, and it's dumb here.

Most of the quests are of 'go fetch' type which will make you tired of them pretty soon.

To make it not sound all bad, slashing the infected is fun, kicking then down, and ripping them a new one with your burning axe. World is also interesting to explore, though you find yourself wanting to take the shortest route possible because dealing with that much zombies can get tedious.

80

Amazing with 3 friend

Cavalieroscuro | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This game on solo is simply boring. Too many quests, a decent story...but nothing more. It's playing the game with three other friends that change the whole experience. Slashing zombies is very fun and each characters have specific abilities or bonus. Escape from Banoi using mace,katana or fire weapons, and if you can't find nothing which you like, you can always create your custom weapons. The game hasn't a difficulty level, and completing all the side-quests with a friend require me thirty hours. Buy it now because the price is very low, and join a multiplayer game to have fun!

60

Boring and Repetitive

MikeK47 | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all MikeK47's reviews »

I wanted to like Dead Island. I had been thinking of getting it for a long time and finally brought myself to get it. I played it with one of my friends since I heard you had to play co op and was very disappointed. At first the combat is fun but soon degrades to the same attacks over and over again. The same could be said for the missions. It seems there are only about 5 mission in the entire game and each group of survivors you meet have those same missions. My friend and I put 15 hours into this game and we have given up on it. The game does look great though. Unfortunately that is not enough to save it from it's other pitfalls.

95

Zombies everywere

metal_pt | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all metal_pt's reviews »

The zombies are for games what vampires are for tv series. When you think you are tired of all that zombie crap, you start playing Dead Island. Well, after you start you really can't stop. The game is thad good and that addictive. Great story, great multiplayer mode, great playability, well, great everything. I just think some more characters or a DIY character would be a great addon to the game. Perfect.

80

Great Game

zeruz | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all zeruz's reviews »

The combat system and the crafting weapons are what I like most, but it gets a little repetitive IMO. Has a great combination of dead and a paradisiac island, the multiplayer makes it worth it even more.

75

In for the gameplay, not for the story.

Coolicy | Dec. 3, 2012 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

Dead Island gives me mixed feelings. The gameplay is extremely fun, all swings and kicks feel powerful, but smartly balanced with a well-designed stamina bar. Each attack can be aimed at specific body parts, Sharp weapons can cause bleeding and chop limbs (and heads) off, whereas blunt weapons will break the bones. Enemy variants are gradually introduced as the story progresses, making combat very exciting. Throughout the game, whether you're high or low leveled, a few zombies can make the fight go south, making the combat extremely exhilarating when you make a mistake. And you will.

Finding weapons is also exciting, as well as modifying them to suit your dismembering needs. But the customization really only goes so far: fire, poison, and lightning damage, and that's it. The elemental enhancements are fun, useful, but get boring as you play more and more.

The story, however, takes a backseat in this game. It lacks interesting characters, allies, and protagonists, even the ending is extremely predictable. The voice acting in the game is terrible. I've even had a greater time playing with the VO off and just read the subtitles. The story feels like a B zombie movie, if you're just in it for the gore (or in this case, the combat) then this game is definitely for you.

And of course, this game is, quite obviously, designed for coop play. You don't even need a full party of 4, just having one buddy at your side makes a big difference. The game is constantly on sale these days anyway, definitely snag one (and some for your friends too?) at a discounted price. For $10 (which it's on GMG now) it is definitely a good buy. I don't regret buying this game at all, just make sure you know what you want and what this game offers.

82

Dead Island review

carlyle | Nov. 25, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Dead Island is a first-person action game that takes elements from the FPS and RPG from a rather balanced, the main point of contact with the FPS is the first person, RPG elements instead permeate the rest of the game beyond the combat system, the vast insistence on exploration and development of the characters as well as the care of weapons and their careful management. FPS, RPG with another characteristic: free roaming. D.I is a game designed to be enjoyed in multiplayer, or otherwise at any time by providing the ability to switch from single to multiplayer

73

Amazing game

rstokes | Nov. 25, 2012 | See all rstokes's reviews »

Great hack and slash RPG set in a zombie infested resort island. The story is rather shallow and the weapon variety could be better but the game is just so much fun you wont mind too much wading thru an awful story. The DLC's add a few extra hours of gameplay, one being an arena style battle, the other being a shooting oriented chapter while you play as rider white (the dude on the radio guilding the game). Overall its worth your time and money

74

Dead Island is a great game, even thought it has it's flaws.

fable2 | Nov. 24, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

Dead Island is all about killing lots of zombies with tons of all sort of weapons. The main focus is on melee weapons, however firearms do exist too. Right at the start of the game you will need to pick a class type. There are four different characters that are available to play as, each with her/his own advantages and disadvantages. For example, there is a guy named Sam B, who will deliver more damage to the zombies but he is also slower and consumes more stamina points; or you can choose Xian, which is a faster character that delivers less damage to the enemy, but with a stamina boost. There is, also, a good character upgrade system in this game, and it forces you to choose carefully how you spend your XP points, since your decision to upgrade your character in a way can change how the game plays. The skill trees have lots of variety that adds value to the game. There are lots of different types of zombies and some areas encourage you to play them in co-op, since they can be really challenging while playing solo. There is a 4 player co-op option with the possibility of dropping inn/out at any time. It's a really fun addition to the game! It's fun to use all sort of weapons and you can even combine different "junk" and create interesting, more powerful, weapons to use on the zombies. You will not fight only zombies though, there are survivals that will try to take advantage of the zombie apocalypse and will try to kill you. This is the part where you will need to use guns; and it's also the week part of the game. The survivals AI is awful. they will stop all of a sudden and shoot straight at you, almost begging for the bullet to the head. However they will attack usually in big numbers, and each shot will take a lot of damage from your character. But guns are the week part of the game. Another problem with the game is the story. It is extremaly weak, and there is an awful plot that doesn't make any sense. The voice acting is also bad. The rest is great; beautiful landscape, impressive melee game play, and 20 hrs. to enjoy in this game means a lot.

70

Fine Game

Aldren | July 27, 2012 | See all Aldren's reviews »

Having so many zombie-games nowadays makes Dead Island stand out less, but still, its a nice game overall. Its strong points are its amazing graphics and "realistic" gameplay, its somewhat varied quests and its great amount of weapons. As main drawbacks, I would point out the lack of customization, or the dull story that the game follows. After so many patches, the game still has some bugs, and the character movement in multiplayer is quite weird, but still, the game has some potential and can give you hours of fun.

90

Amazing experience!

jeyko | July 4, 2012 | See all jeyko's reviews »

Dead Island is definitely one of my favourite games of 2011. Its history is messed up. Announced in E3 2006, it was in development for 5 years and after a long wait, it's finally been released. The game is situated in a huge island in the middle of nowhere. And apparently it's full of zombies. At a first glance, it would sound like a survival FPS game, but it's not. It's an RPG centered around combat. It's just satisfying to cut of the walking dead's limbs. The other survivors are located in quests hubs. You also have skills, levels, DPS on every weapon. Talking about weapons, there are A LOT of weapons. You can even combine them, and upgrade most of them. The voice acting is stellar, and even though the textures don't look that good, the game is gorgeous. The story may not be the best, but that is not what the game focuses on. It focuses on coop, and it is brilliant. It is amazingly fun to team up with friends against hordes and hordes of undead.

40

Not worth it

Gh0st233 | July 4, 2012 | See all Gh0st233's reviews »

Dead Island: GOTY includes the main game, the Bloodbath Arena DLC, the Ryder White dlc and the "Ripper" blueprint.

Dead Island itself is a great game. I've had tons of fun with it, and it's definitely worth checking out. I'd recommend it to anyone who fancies slashing zombies in tiny bits, or even running them over with your armored impenetrable truck, or simply zombies. Especially with these sales around, it can't be a bad purchase.

Let's start with the DLCs. Bloodbath Arena is, in essence, a survival mode that COULD HAVE been in the game, in the first place, but for some reason, it wasn't. It has no story elements behind it, and it is just plain boring. Also, when you die, it takes 10% of your money, just like in the actual game. That could have been changed a bit, because you're most likely going to die a lot in the arena, especially the harder ones. Definitely worth 10$, or 5$, or 3$ for that matter.

Ryder White DLC does actually have a little story behind it. It follows a character that played a big role in the original game, and explains his story a bit more. But it is, just like the first DLC, repetitive and awfully linear. And even if you, for some reason, like games and DLCs linear, then you're about to be dissapointed. It's very, very short. And for 10$, it is DEFINITELY not worth it. I wouldn't pay anything for it, honestly.

The Ripper weapon mod was free to pre-orders, and the weapon itself is quite nice and the materials are very easy to come by, but you shouldn't pay extra for one weapon mod that can be used on, what, 3 types of weapons?

I'd recommend getting the original Dead Island, without the GOTY edition or any DLCs, if it's cheaper, on a sale, as it is highly worth 10-15$.