Reviews for Dark Sector

64

A console port that while good, is also bad.

BlockAgent | June 11, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

Dark Sector is a game that is brutally unforgiving from the very start. Within the first 10 minutes of playing it, you will fight a boss, swarms of 20 bad guys all raining down gunfire on you at one, and seemingly endless hordes of monsters spawning very close all around you. I found it to be very difficult. The human bad guys are the usual whack-a-mole type though. To make it even harder, the controls are terrible. You character doesn't always do what you are telling him to with your fingers. Sometimes he will flip out from behind cover into a thousand bullets. Things such as switching between weapons become an unnecessary challenge. During my playing of the game, no matter what screen resolution I set the game to, I could never get the game image to fit my normal 1080p screen. It cuts off the outer edge which cuts off your ammo count display etc. The plot in Dark Sector is very thin. Alot of the time you are just going through the very linear levels killing bad guy after bad guy not sure of why they are attacking you, what is your end objective, etc.

So now for the good. The graphics are pretty good, considering the game came out for consoles in 2010, and the theme of the game has a unique twist on it. Having the bladed glaive is a nice fresh feature, but in my opinion is oversold in the game's trailer. I ended up using the guns more as they felt more effective against enemies and were plentiful.

So the game is good for a few reasons, but bad for other reasons, hence the score of 64/100.

75

Sleeper Hit

Autocyclist | March 7, 2014 | See all Autocyclist's reviews »

While the game leaves a lot to be desired, it's premise is very strong: You're a dude. With a glaive. Who throws it at things.

Blitz your way through an almost post-apocalyptic, radioactive horror show, throwing your glaive to and fro. Throw it through environmental hazards. Throw it through enemies. Throw it through everything that gets in your line of sight. It'll zap, it'll burst with flame, it'll burst with blood. It'll be pretty cool.

The most important, and probably most overlooked aspect of this game is its multiplayer. If you get a chance to give this a whirl with friends (pun very much intended), you'll certainly not regret it.

72

Brutal and satisfying

darkyhbk | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Dark Sector is an entertaining third person shooter, where you find yourself in a sci-fi world, up against a number of human and mutant foes. The weapons you can use are diverse, and you can upgrade both them and your special abilities to help you in combat. You also get a kind of metal boomerang, which is quite useful both in combat, for stunning enemies for instance, and in solving puzzles where you need to flip switches from a distance. While combat is generally good and entertaining, offering some brutal executions and tense firefights, the puzzles, most based on flipping switches at the right time or in the right order- are tedious and boring. The story is not too great, and although the setting is decently designed, none of the characters stand out, and the journals you find scattered along levels don't really add much substance to it. The graphics are nice enough, sporting a number of good effects and decent physics models, while the sound is OK - not bad, not good. All in all, this short game can give you a number of satisfying moments if you can get past the frustrating ones.

80

A strange, but fun game.

xXObyzouthXx | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all xXObyzouthXx's reviews »

While Dark sector may not be the best in third person shooters, It is still a very fun game to play through. The glaive is fun to use and can get brutal (if you are in to that). While not having many more characteristics that make this game stand out, it is still worth buying and trying out if it ever goes on sale!

80

Underrated game that needed more attention

azninja30 | July 19, 2013 | See all azninja30's reviews »

Dark Sector was a game that I came upon by random and I enjoyed very much, however the story gets to be dull the more it progresses, but the gamplay mechanics were very satisfying, and fun to play around with.

87

Brutal, Addicting Fun but Boring by the End

thegaminglyfe | June 20, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Dark Sector is a fantastic game. The action is kind of like Gears of War with a supernatural twist to it. To summarize it, theres a mastermind enemy who has a very dangerous virus so he can start biological warfare, your character gets exposed to it and starts to get more supernatural abilities and a cool thing called a glaive grows onto him. The glaive is kind of like a metal blade on your characters hand. When you first get it and learn to use it, you can't do much with the glaive. Just slice people and throw it. But as you progress through the game you get to do really cool things like use the glaive to absorb elements and use them against enemies. My favorite is one called the afterburner, to summarize your camera follows the glaive when you throw it in slow motion and you can control it. Dark Sector has pretty good graphics and mediocre sound. The story is pretty generic and doesn't engage you very much. The gameplay is where it is really great. But the problem is that by the end when you have most of the abilities the game gets a bit stale and repetitive. If you can handle the brutality, blood and gore, I recommend this to any action fan. You will have lots of fun with it.

81

a good game even if not original

Neapolis47 | June 11, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

You will begin your mission in the role of Hayden Tenno, a secret agent with the aim of stopping Mezner, a mad scientist bent on spreading a virus of his own creation, capable of turning people and animals into bloodthirsty zombies. Our right arm, covered with a substance very similar to the metal, it will be able to summon a rotating blade similar to a boomerang: wherever he'll get you, made ​​his career, inevitably it will come back in our hand. From here on, the gameplay will revolve entirely around the use of the glaive, although there is the possibility to take up more and more powerful firearms, the use of the glaive remains the most satisfactory and elegant to mow the enemies, and master it will be a great pleasure. The weapon will prove to be much more versatile than it seems: in addition to launching it, we can use it in combat, or as a grappling hook to capture weapons and objects at a distance, including weapons of enemies. The use of the glaive however, does not end there: hitting specific targets you can charge it with elements such as fire, electricity and ice, making it even more deadly. This possibility will however present almost exclusively when you need to solve some simple puzzles. Dark Sector is an interesting mix of different styles and genres, the developers have taken some key elements from several masterpieces of the genre come out in recent years, this title is therefore able to accommodate different types of player

76

Who are those people and why... Oh, glaive-slaughter, what fun!

Harbinger_87 | May 24, 2013 | See all Harbinger_87's reviews »

Story in videogames is always a quite touchy subject, but it's a rare occasion to see this particular element handled as sloppily as "Dark Sector" does. There is a story somewhere in here, but it plays out as if every second page of the script got lost somewhere and the rest didn't fare that well either. Seriously, it was aproximately after two thirds of the game that I learned the name of the main character. And when the plot twists came left and right in the last levels of the game, the only thing I could ask myself was "Who are those people and what are they talking about?". Nevertheless, "Dark Sector" is a good game. It has a great artistic design and still looks quite nice, despite the age of the game. On top of that, it sports a very solid shooting-engine that takes cues from the awesome "Resident Evil 4", although - like many other games copying the "Resident Evil 4"-formula - it doesn't quite grasp the puzzly quality the aforementioned archetype of mdern "Let's shoot ugly things in the face in style"-games pulled off so nicely. The cover-mechanic works, the guns feel quite nice, everything on a very solid base here. And then the glaive comes into play. Remember "Turok 2"? Remember that sawblade you could use to cut off a dinosaur's arms and legs? Remember how fun it was to do that? Well quadruple that fun and you get the glaive. Not only is it constantly hilarious to decapitate foes in the most brutal maner, the soon acquired ability to directly control the thrown glaive makes it all the more cool. Yes, "Dark Sector" might be a one-trick-pony, but it's one trick is far more entertaining than it had any right to be. So if you don't care about story that much and just want to have a bloody good time, "Dark Sector" provides.

75

An underrated game that's surprisingly fun

Ganerumo | May 21, 2013 | See all Ganerumo's reviews »

Take resident evil 4. Take away the well known license, add more fluid controls and make it much, MUCH harder. There's dark sector in a nutshell.

Now for the more indepth part. The game starts in a very similar way to RE4 - the character looks a lot like Leon, it plays a lot like RE4, even the way you hold your gun resembles RE4. Then very early in the game, everything just takes a huge twist and takes a whole new direction, and the game reveals its true identity and turns out to be an extremely fun game. The best part about the whole thing is really the glaive mechanics and the dismemberment system that comes with it. The fact you get it very early on just makes it extremely fun from the get go, which is a virtue way too many games don't have.

And the best part ? It's cheap as chips. Just go buy it, it's totally worth its five pounds.

80

Another unfairly-overlooked game that I enjoyed a lot.

Sarkames | May 18, 2013 | See all Sarkames's reviews »

I hadn't even heard of this game until a friend brought it over back in 2008 or so and showed me how to play and I immediately asked him if I could borrow it. Then I played through the entire story and even had an attempt at multiplayer and had a blast. The multplayer has always suffered from lack of traffic, so even on the Xbox that's not worth fussing about nowadays,

The game starts a bit slow and feels like a generic version of Resident Evil before the actual game begins, but the story is dark and creepy and the game immediately puts you into scenarios where you feel very mortal and have to struggle to survive. There're several tough enemies that you're forced to fight at certain intervals and they can definitely be tough if you don't know what you're doing.

It's difficult to explain most of the game's mechanics without spoiling a lot since there's a constant and very refreshing evolutionary mechanic that the game follows that keeps things less stale.

To put things into perspective, the game feels like an amalgamation between the more recent Batman games (Glaive = Batarang), Resident Evil titles with it's general over-the-shoulder style and similar to almost any game that has ridiculous bosses to fight against that aren't always obvious on how to defeat.

I enjoyed the game immensely and couldn't help but buy it on here to re-experience the game and play through the story again. Definitely worth the value I got it at.

70

Combat can be pretty fun with the glaive

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Lekes's reviews »

At first, this seemed like a game for me. But after playing for an hour or so, I started to slowly get more and more frustrated with the game play and direction of the game. The Story? hell if I know, there is zero direction in this game. Not to mention no map, radar, or chatty radio friend to lead you along. With no specific mission other that "keep moving forward, kill everything in sight" the game story completely lacks from there. In one section of the game, you meet a lady that is presumably a bad guy, after a brief cut scene a one minute timer starts with you being attacked by zombie/mutants. After killing all the mutants, the timer doesn't stop. I proceed to try and push every button in the room, look for a bomb to defuse, throw my glaive at everything in sight only to just fall over dead after the timer ran out. No explosion, no cut scene, just 3, 2, 1 You're Dead. EXTREMELY frustrating... Outside of that, the game play is good. Combat can be pretty fun with the glaive and guns at your disposal. This on is rent worthy in my book.

78

Dark Sector - review

carlyle | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Dark Sector, without offering anything original, can mix with craft elements from different games: a shot of Resident Evil 4, behind the protagonist ¾, and the mechanics of Gears of War, complete with a race button interaction with the seabed and melee. The distinctive element is generated by the rotating blade arm of the protagonist, which can be launched to decapitate and mow their opponents and that, over the stage, is enhanced with some exciting capabilities. So as to become a real projectile remote, driveable thanks to a camera that follows him closely as he flies through the bottom, with the action that is slow to mo 'bullet time, enhancing the impact of the blades on the flesh of soldiers and monsters that you parry the path of the hero. In Dark Sector, the device of blade has allowed developers to place even the slight hints of environmental puzzle, since, throwing on items such as ice, fire and electricity, this assumes the characteristics, ghiacciandosi, or infuocandosi charging current, enabling it to increase damage inflicted on enemies and activate switches or gas sources that operate doors or gates that block the way. The engine tacked to move Dark Sector is very reminiscent of the Unreal Engine 3 and the results are comparable to those obtained from Epic with Gears of War, with the proper proportions of course

70

Definitively Fun

emmajoker | Oct. 19, 2012 | See all emmajoker's reviews »

Dark Sector is a TPS with a mechanic like Resident Evil 4, but with several improvementssuch as the ability to cover, shoot and move and the best part, use the "glaive" a melee weapon but with a long attack range like a boomerang that will give you hours and hours of fun. The game freckle on repetitiveness and has a few bugs regarding their graphics. The range of enemies comes from simple Russian soldiers to zombies and mutants. Besides having missions where small mechs are controlled by the player. The story is a bit bad and full of cliches.

88

A truly original concept

Cooberstooge | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

I've liked Dark Sector ever since it came out. There's just something so refreshing about it - sure, combat with a knife is pretty common, but the thing Hayden uses cuts through literally everything. The constant battle both without and within is truly immersive, and you can really feel for him and what it must be like knowing your body is not your own anymore, and instead some weird new tool to learn.

Combat is fast and incredibly visceral, and the top-notch graphics only add to the draw you in quality of the whole production. The sound is great, and what music there is completely suits the various moods in the game. All the fighting moves are very fluid, and there's only barely detectable animation changes during fights.

All in all, Dark Sector is a game I wholeheartedly recommend, and is definitely one to try if you're sick of the so common-feeling melee combat in many of the games today.

67

Darkness!

maciej2601 | Aug. 12, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

Dark Sector is a pretty enjoyable third person shooter! I liked especially the main character throwing blade! Dark Sector to like.

72

Good action game

panz3r88 | Aug. 1, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Dark Sector is a linear third person action game. You must go from point A to point B in each level and kill all the enemies. You can use conventional weapons or a special bladed weapon called glaive that you acquire when Hayden, the protagonist is infected by the virus. You can upgrade and evolve this weapon and you can use it to solve simple puzzles and kill enemies. Dark Sector is a conventional third person shooter: it's fun but short and too easy to finish.

70

A poor port of a good game

gecko92 | July 13, 2012 | See all gecko92's reviews »

The game itself is very good and features engaging battles and an interesting story. The graphics are dated but not that bad, and the 360 controller is supported.

The main problem of the game is that it's a poor port: the support for widescreen resolutions is broken (16:9 or 16:10 resolutions cut the image vertically and makes the FOV look strange), so if you want to play it properly you better use 4:3 resolutions. Another problem I had with the game is that it resets the settings every time i start the game.

If you can look past these problems, you will enjoy this third-person shooter.

82

Hopefully have consequences

kalil | May 22, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

The Good: The effect on slow camera when you throw the punch. The blood and the curiosity to cut enemies. Excellent environmental and the sound of guns. Scenarios vary greatly. The Bad: Very short game ... q do not vary so many enemies .. The graphics could be better ... Small variety of weapons ....

In summary it is recommended ... but there are better games such as Gears of War

75

Great Idea, poor execution

faraany3k | Aug. 26, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

Dark Sector when I first saw its trailers, really blew me off. It was one of the first games this gen to use the UNREAL 3 engine. Game had some great looking graphics and interesting gameplay mechanics. But eventually when I had the chance of playing it myself. It was a big big disappointment.

Dark Sector is a cover based third person shooter where instead of using traditional weapons, game had an interesting mechanic of Boomerang, a glaive. Glaive is like a giant cutter that is controllable in flight. We are suppose to throw it at enemies from afar while controlling its speed and trajectory. There are many different types of glaive modifications aswell which gave it additional abilities. This new mechanic introduced an interesting twist into the generic TPS genre. But the whole idea fell flat rather quickly. While using glaive is fun for opening minutes or so, it becomes apparent really quickly that whole game is nothing but an uninspiring effort. Level design is bland as it gets. All we see are rectangular halls with little or no change. We are fighting the same old enemies from the start till finish with slightly different colored jumpsuits. A story that appeared to be interesting at the start just doesn't live up to the standards and become a generic 'defeating the evil enemy' plot. Boss fights are a joke. A game that had so much potential, its a shame it disappoints a lot. Its a decent TPS with serviceable cover mechanics. The game is no way broken, but after your play you might end up being disappointed. At its current low price, do check it out for boomerang mechanic alone.

60

Alright

Quizn0s | Aug. 14, 2011 | See all Quizn0s's reviews »

Dark Sector is a pretty average third person shooter. The gun fights are quite similar to Gears of War, but not as fun. The puzzle sections are very easy. The story is meh. What makes this game stand out is the main weapon, a bladed boomerang. With it, you can chop off heads, imbue it with fire or lightning, and grab weapons and ammo from far away. You probably won't really use those weapons, though, because they're boring to shoot. Still, it's satisfying to throw the boomerang and chop three guys in half.

75

A good and often overlooked tps game.

Rzepak01 | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all Rzepak01's reviews »

One could say that this is your standard third person action game fare and while that is true, the game is still worthwhile especially because of its main feature, the glaive. The glaive is a boomerang like weapon that is used for both combat and puzzles. Its a deadly both in melee combat and when using it to chop off heads from far away. It can be upgraded over the course of the game to give it abilities. One of the more satysfying ones is a homing attack where the players controls the glaive as it mows down multiple enemies before returning to the character. The glaive can take on the powers of various elements to make it even deadlier and for solving the environmental puzzles. Generally its all about imbuing the weapon with the right element (fire, ice, electricity) to overcome an obstacle that is blocking further progress. The games story is nothing special, which is good because its presentation is also a bit lackluster. The graphics are very good though and so is the sound design. A very nice touch is an almost nonexistant HUD. The games length is around 5 or 6 hours so the standard for modern action games.

80

Dunno why people trashed this game...

SaadKhawaja | July 31, 2011 | See all SaadKhawaja's reviews »

Absolutely fantastic game with a boomerang that can do serious damage, puzzles, third person shooting that worked very very well and storyline that keeps you guessing this game is totally worth it. I give it a solid 8/10.

25

Mediocre

B1000 | July 30, 2011 | See all B1000's reviews »

Dark Sector is simply a forgettable title. Filled with muddy bland levels and poor game design. The selling part of this game was the boomerang blade weapon. Yet after the first 30 minutes of gameplay - the use of the blade becomes repetitive and dull. Worth picking up only if you want a short game to finish in a few hours.

65

Fun, but...

Muzicjohn | June 21, 2011 | See all Muzicjohn's reviews »

Idea with this funny throwable blade is cool, but this game was too bloody for me. This is solid action game, nothing addictive or genius, but it isn't boring neither. If you are not vulnerable to blood, you will enjoy it!

83

Awesome game, why i never heard of it?

grandmaster_b | June 18, 2011 | See all grandmaster_b's reviews »

I expected a sluggish console port with mediocre gameplay. But wow! This is an awesome game! The controls are perfect (i changed some keys tho) the graphics are very good and so is the sound. The story may be confusing but the great atmosphere makes up for that.

It reminds me a lot of Resident Evil 5 but with a twist, i cant even decide which i like better. The gameplay has variety and is just plain fun, sometimes brutal and scary but that's not a bad thing in my opinion.

86

Unique experience

Res | June 12, 2011 | See all Res's reviews »

The story and gameplay was dashingly thrilling and my favorite thing about it was the blade you were able to use. You could control the blade with the aim of your mouse and use it to kill your enemies in a dynamic and challenging way. The story points of the game were weak and the graphical quality was great. Overall it was an experience not to be missed for the price its at.

70

Dark Sector

GAMEKINGZ | June 1, 2011 | See all GAMEKINGZ's reviews »

When i played this game for the first time , i had a lot of critic on this game.

  1. it doesnt support widescreen.
  2. due the widescreen bug , the graphics are stretched.

Well the game was playable , and the gameplay + concept is really graet , never seen it before. I really like the special ability to use your triknife and throwing it away to anything :D.

70

Not a threat to other big names in the genre.

GAMERamble | May 26, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

Meet black-ops agent Hayden Tenno, not a very pleasant fellow with a bit of a psychotic past. Hayden’s latest mission takes him to a former eastern bloc nation for some covert stuff but things don’t quite go according to plan and he’s infected with a mutating biological compound. OF course this being a videogame, Hayden does not die but instead gains incredible powers, in this case a huge, three-bladed weapon called a “glaive” which can be thrown at enemies. Much like some nightmarish boomerang the glaive always returns to Hayden after each throw and most of the game revolves around this mechanic.

Visually and gameplay wise this game has a very Gears Of War style look and feel to it. Although running on its own propriety “Evolution” Engine instead of the now customary Unreal Engine favored by most games in this genre (3rd Person Shooter), Dark Sector doesn’t really stand out from the pack. The graphics is very stylish and moody but often marred by repetitive textures or clipping issues. There is some nice lighting and special effects but you will often find yourself stumbling through the dark with just your flashlight offering some illumination. There are a few standout levels like the trek through a crumbling graveyard at night but the ten chapters felt a bit samey looking for my taste.

One thing there’s no shortage of in this game is blood so if you are the squeamish type then you should probably avoid this title. Decapitations or even amputating enemies is par for the course and the game even has a few gory “finishing” moves with which to take out stunned foes. Enemies aren’t in short supply either but sadly ammunition is and to ad insult to injury all enemy weapons in the game can only be used for a few seconds before they self destruct. This means you’ll have to rely a lot on your glaive which unfortunately feels somewhat underpowered or melee combat which is pathetic. The game becomes very frustrating later on due to these factors so consider yourself warned.

This being a console port the usual array of “issues” rear their ugly heads. The game will auto save when it sees fit even if that is in the middle of a messy fight. If you like to save wherever you want I’m afraid you are out of luck. At least the checkpoints are fairly spaced. The controls are stolen straight from Gears Of War and work well for the most past but dodging involves some finger cramping key combinations and a careful avoidance of the dreaded “Windows” key. Remapping the keys causes the game to sulk and crash every now and then plus playing with a gamepad felt way too slow and cumbersome.

What I liked about the game was the glaive related puzzles that break up the action. Early on you gain the ability to control the glaives flight path in first person view which is not only nice for rooting out enemies behind cover but also for hitting switches otherwise inaccessible. Your glaive can also be powered by hitting fire, electricity or ice with it which makes for some cool puzzles.

The story left me somewhat cold and Hayden is not a very likeable lead but his actions are explained later in the game which redeems him somewhat. The black market aspect of the game, accessed via conveniently placed manholes, allows you to upgrade weapons or buy new ones but the shortage of cash limited this feature a bit. The boss fights were pretty spectacular and rarely straightforward which is nice.

The audio in the game is quite good and a few of the levels are genuinely creepy due to the excellent sound effects. The voice acting is decent and Hayden is voiced by quite a famous actor. Despite its Gears Of War similarities Dark Sector feels like a game better suited on console than computer. I had fun playing it but it falls far short of greatness in many areas and there are lots of small things that just sour the whole experience.

If you can live with the dodgy controls and uneven difficulty level then give DS a try. The game has a decent length and many cool touches but just don’t expect a triple A title.

65

It was alright, I guess

Ichiro | May 9, 2011 | See all Ichiro's reviews »

I bought this to try it out when it was on sale at GMG. I figured that since it was cheap, I could just give it a shot, beat it, and then just turn it in.

Well I did just that, and my result revolves around it being, not really "mediocre," but not really something to go "WOW!" over, either. It deserves at most a solid 65. It lacks replayability, and the controls were only OK. Gameplay wasn't anything new, and a bit too scripted.

Storyline was somewhat bland as well, but at least it followed through.

It's okay if it's cheap and you want to give it a shot for some hours out of boredom, but apart from that, nothing more.

40

I've expected something better

adasikow | May 6, 2011 | See all adasikow's reviews »

After reading some positive reviews I decided to buy this game and I'm very disappointed. Gameplay is boring, plot is in my opinion weird and not interesting. Graphics is not good at all, especially animations which are awful. Even a blade this is the main attraction doesn't help this game. Dark Sector simply doesn't give any fun. I would never compare it to Gears of War which is definitely better.

75

Another third person shooter? Or is it?

xtrench | April 13, 2011 | See all xtrench's reviews »

Dark Sector is a third person shooter with the added advantage of introducing a throwable glaive. At first the glaive appears to be a gimmick but after getting used to using it, you'll find yourself relying on it a lot and enjoying the different ways of using it. This game is unremarkable but while playing it, it will provide with a decent entertainment. In the end you won't recall much about it but you will enjoy it while it lasts.

55

Gears of War clone

matesko_ | April 11, 2011 | See all matesko_'s reviews »

Short review, beacuse there is nothing much to say. Dark Sector is just another third person shooter with cover system. Yes, there is one "twist" - throwing blade, but it gives fun for a short time. Audio/video is weak, story is about nothing... You can play it, if you are fan of action games, but it won't be great expierence.

60

I expected better game

LESZ3u | April 11, 2011 | See all LESZ3u's reviews »

Game can give us a little fun, but in fact it's really boring for me. Frankly, I don't know why, because I like Gears of War. There's nice grapihic & sound, great idea with blade, but somehow I can't get into it. Maybe it's because strange storyline, too dark climate (imo) and bad AI? Anyway - game isn't bad, but there's a lot better games to play on that prize.

73

Cheap an good game

neir45 | April 11, 2011 | See all neir45's reviews »

It is not very big hit. Graphic looks good but game have low system requirement. Coolest thing in this game is the blade. You can freezing , burning and cut enemies blade. You can use standard weapon gun etc but only for while because you are mutant and weapons destroys in your hand. Game have some bugs but is still very good.

60

Worth playing but don't expect a classic.

GAMERamble | April 11, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

Meet black-ops agent Hayden Tenno, not a very pleasant fellow with a bit of a psychotic past. Hayden’s latest mission takes him to a former eastern bloc nation for some covert stuff but things don’t quite go according to plan and he’s infected with a mutating biological compound. Of course this being a videogame, Hayden does not die but instead gains incredible powers, in this case a huge, three-bladed weapon called a “glaive” which can be thrown at enemies. Much like some nightmarish boomerang the glaive always returns to Hayden after each throw and most of the game revolves around this mechanic.

Visually and gameplay wise this game has a very Gears Of War style look and feel to it. Although running on its own propriety “Evolution” Engine instead of the now customary Unreal Engine favored by most games in this genre (3rd Person Shooter), Dark Sector doesn’t really stand out from the pack. The graphics is very stylish and moody but often marred by repetitive textures or clipping issues. There is some nice lighting and special effects but you will often find yourself stumbling through the dark with just your flashlight offering some illumination. There are a few standout levels like the trek through a crumbling graveyard at night but the ten chapters felt a bit samey looking for my taste.

One thing there’s no shortage of in this game is blood so if you are the squeamish type then you should probably avoid this title. Decapitations or even amputating enemies is par for the course and the game even has a few gory “finishing” moves with which to take out stunned foes. Enemies aren’t in short supply either but sadly ammunition is and to ad insult to injury all enemy weapons in the game can only be used for a few seconds before they self destruct. This means you’ll have to rely a lot on your glaive which unfortunately feels somewhat underpowered or melee combat which is pathetic. The game becomes very frustrating later on due to these factors so consider yourself warned.

This being a console port the usual array of “issues” rear their ugly heads. The game will auto save when it sees fit even if that is in the middle of a messy fight. If you like to save wherever you want I’m afraid you are out of luck. At least the checkpoints are fairly spaced. The controls are stolen straight from Gears Of War and work well for the most past but dodging involves some finger cramping key combinations and a careful avoidance of the dreaded “Windows” key. Remapping the keys causes the game to sulk and crash every now and then plus playing with a gamepad felt way too slow and cumbersome.

What I liked about the game was the glaive related puzzles that break up the action. Early on you gain the ability to control the glaives flight path in first person view which is not only nice for rooting out enemies behind cover but also for hitting switches otherwise inaccessible. Your glaive can also be powered by hitting fire, electricity or ice with it which makes for some cool puzzles.

The story left me somewhat cold and Hayden is not a very likeable lead but his actions are explained later in the game which redeems him somewhat. The black market aspect of the game, accessed via conveniently placed manholes, allows you to upgrade weapons or buy new ones but the shortage of cash limited this feature a bit. The boss fights were pretty spectacular and rarely straightforward which is nice.

The audio in the game is quite good and a few of the levels are genuinely creepy due to the excellent sound effects. The voice acting is decent and Hayden is voiced by quite a famous actor. Despite its Gears Of War similarities Dark Sector feels like a game better suited on console than computer. I had fun playing it but it falls far short of greatness in many areas and there are lots of small things that just sour the whole experience.

If you can live with the dodgy controls and uneven difficulty level then give DS a try. The game has a decent length and many cool touches but just don’t expect a triple A title.

80

Better than Gears of war

nurz | April 9, 2011 | See all nurz's reviews »

It's maybe original point of view but for me Dark sector was better than GoW. Playing this one gave me much more fun and i really enjoyed it. Nice graphics, original blade for exterminating enemies and great playability. My score - 8/10.

54

Just another action game

fearon | April 8, 2011 | See all fearon's reviews »

I didn't excepted much form this game. You can look on few screenshots and you know everything. It's another cheap action game, low-budged clone of Gears of war. But is it a crap? Absolutely not! It's only a quite good game, without any original concept. Yes - there is a throwing blade, but it can't offer much more fun. If you desperately look for a action game, you can play Dark Sector.

60

Avarage Action Again!

kmpt | April 7, 2011 | See all kmpt's reviews »

Those three simple worlds describe this game perfectly. If you are looking for something new in 'action' genre you won't find it here, but the game is still playable.

Storyline isn't superb (some insane man + mutation + our agent with 'super' powers), enemies aren't the clever ones (at least they know how to take cover), graphic & sound are fine but do not expect any fireworks...
What I liked the most about this game is weaponry, um... maby thats bad word. There are many guns you can buy in black market but killing with traditional heaters is boring. Isn't it better to cut off your's enemy head than just shoot him in normal way? Sounds fun? With your bladed glaive you can cut off your enemy's limb, burn, freeze or paralyze him. It's really enjoyable and looks good with slow-motion... Dark Sector isn't a masterpiece but it can bring you few hours of good fun.

65

Cheap alternative to Prototype

keeveek | April 4, 2011 | See all keeveek's reviews »

It's not as good as the title mentioned above, but it's still fun to play. It looks good (pixel shader 3.0) and runs also on notebooks! As soon as you get the throwing blade - the real fun starts.

You may use your blade to freeze or to burn your enemies, you may steer it manually and chop their heads off!

Of course, you may use some conventional weapons if you want or if you don't have any other choice, but then you realize that the throwing blade is the only good feature in this game. Enemies are rather dumb and cover mechanism is kinda lame. But it's still pretty fun to play.