Reviews for ArcaniA DNS

75

A good action RPG

Lekes | Jan. 21, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

I had avoided the game for all the bad review he got so when i finally decided that i would give it a try anyway i was really surprised to find an action rpg that delivers. Sure it's not gothic as we used to play, but graphics are awesome and fights are more dynamics, even if you have to crank up the difficulty. I appreciated the loot system too, even if i wish we could equip some more, i dont really care for the realism when my backpack is full with weapons or plants or whatever :) Sure the story is far from the best, many npcs looks like they came from an army of clones, but that didn't keep me to enjoy the game. So i'd say, if you are a die hard gothic fan and wont enjoy anything else who wear that name, the game is not for you. But if you are open mind and loolking for a fun action rpg, you should give it a try.

45

Where is the real Gothic 4?

xydanus | Jan. 21, 2013 | See all xydanus's reviews »

I did expect Arcania to be fantastic game, when i first saw few trailers. Then the game was released and given bad reviews. Well... I gave it a try and noticed those reviews were right.

You are in island and of course want to marry some girl. So you must do few quests to get her fathers approval. This is kinda tutorial island.

First I notice that Arcania is heavy. I needed to upgrade my GPU (HD3870x2) before it was playable. Even when I did lower settings, game did not run any better. Graphics did look good in some way (rain is pretty) but still it is nothing like in Two Worlds II. Character voice overs are terrible and animations are not better than in Gothic 3. Combat is clumsy but it could be worse. World is open as it was in Gothic games, but still I did not get same feeling.

I would play many other game over this. Morrowind, Oblivion, Skyrim, Risen 1&2, Gothic 3 (not Forgotten Gods), Two Worlds II and Witcher 1&2. They all are better games than this.

70

Decent RPG, but sadly no Gothic

crazybear86 | Oct. 26, 2012 | See all crazybear86's reviews »

Arcania is the 4th part of the Gothic series. As the name already implies the game sadly has nearly nothing to do with its predessors. We get a new protagonist, a new area and a story which is more or less completely detached from the first three gothic games.

The pros of Arcania are the pretty good graphics (like in the first parts the whole world seems to be handcrafted and not generated like in oblivion), the sound (music as well as voice acting) is gothic-like pretty good, the world looks pretty interesting and fun to explore and in a break from tradition the game is actually pretty bug-free. The cons on the other side are the pretty dull story, the stupid combat system (permanent left clicks like in Gothic 3) and the horrible skill system.

But don't get me wrong - Arcania is not a bad game - I actually had fun playing it - but there are so many factors which got totally screwed compared to the great first three parts, that I feel kind of sad. Still it is somehow enjoyable.

70

If you don't expect it to be a Gothic game , it's alright.

fable2 | Sept. 18, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

Played all Gothic series, this is definitely not Gothic. before you start you must understand that this has nothing to do with Gothic series but the story line.

Pros: after the last patch, almost bug-less (I got some issues with the water). easy and lite. you get to meet all the good guys from the series(but the former hero). good graphics. designed for entry level RPG players. You don't have to have high end hardware.

Cons: Most of the NPC's has the same face. Too easy, the hard level suppose to be to normal level. Most of the potions are useless. it's not really a sand box game (open world). There is no sign for the former nameless hero in the story line. Designed for entry level RPG players Lock picking is way too easy. You can steal as much as you want. no one will stop you.

63

If you love Gothic you will be disappointed

panz3r88 | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Arcania is not a bad action/gdr , but if you compare it with the previous titles in the Gothic series, in particular the first two, you will be really disappointed. One of the main weak point of this title is the protagonist, that has not the charisma of the nameless hero of the previous chapters. In Arcania many element that contributed to make Gothic a great action/gdr are removed: the skill tree is really simplified and also the combat system, for this reason you can consider Arcania more an action than a gdr, while in the previous tiltles it was the contrary. If you have never tried action gdr this game can be a good starting point, but if you have played the previous Gothic titles it's better to avoid Arcania

81

A good RPG, but not of Gothic standards

Cooberstooge | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

While Arcania has gotten quite a bad reputation for being everything a good game of the Gothic series is not, if you can look past the faults, there's a nice RPG here to be had.

The game looks great, with areas near the ocean being a special treat. Arcania is one to push your machine, but it runs well whilst doing so. Sounds are also well-done, with the voice acting seeming more serious this time around - perhaps it is just me, but I've always found the Gothic voice acting pretty cheesy, but thankfully not this time.

Fighting is nice and solid, with a well laid-out control scheme. The animations all flow together nicely, and there's always lots of movement on screen, even when you're not in a battle. I did run into some lag during larger battles, but not near enough to be immersion breaking. The fighting feels more in-depth this time around, like you're actually a part of it.

If you know what it is you're getting yourself into, and can forget all the advances of past games in the series, Arcania is a decent world to spend several hours in, especially at this price.

50

This is not Gothic!!!

maciej2601 | Aug. 22, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

RPG action game in which next takes on the nameless hero and save the world. The production tells the adventures of a simple boy he embarks on a great adventure. When we travel the more fun locations, tasks performed, fight enemies and collect more and better items. All of this is maintained in the atmosphere straight from the previous parts of the Gothic series ... But it is not gothic but the first two it was something I remember going through it a few times and to ArcaniA somehow can not be drawn

61

It's OK, but...

sanyi777 | Aug. 6, 2012 | See all sanyi777's reviews »

"ArcaniA is a Gothic game" said the developers, I don't know why. Okay, the game mechanics really like Gothic 3 but the game isn't worthy to call it Gothic. The graphics is fine and the gameplay is ok too, but the story and the combat system makes ArcaniA bad. I'm very sorry about it, it had a good start but it bacame worse and worse.

70

Fine RPG

IganX | July 22, 2012 | See all IganX's reviews »

Having an open world and fast-paced action gameplay, merged with pretty decent graphics and many quests, this game doesn't create anything different than what many others have already made. Fun for many hours and entertaining, its a decent game overall, though it wont live up to previous of the saga.

50

Generic

jeyko | July 8, 2012 | See all jeyko's reviews »

Arcania is the fourth game of the Gothic series, if you didn't already know that. While Arcania's graphics are excellent, the gameplay has been simplified a lot. Most of the Gothic series' key features, that actually distinguished the games from other RPGs are either not here, or greatly simplified. In conclusion, Arcania is a generic ARPG. And not a Gothic game in any way.