Reviews for Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition

90

You're going to die. A lot.

insane11 | June 5, 2014 | See all insane11's reviews »

The control scheme, setting, tone, difficulty, music, atmosphere, graphics, art direction, flow, story, exploration, sequence breaking, combat, and everything else were just so well done. It's not a game that has some defining single feature, but rather the culmination of so many well done ones that it comes out defining itself.

Maybe I was forewarned a little too much. But when people accused it of being insanely hard, it turned on my cautious side and put me on edge the whole game, which probably led it to being a lot easier than it should have. I really only found it challenging, but not nightmarish. Almost all my deaths were fair and my fault. Taking a break usually fixed any minor frustration I received. It really isn't the rage inducing experience others make it out to be.

And that's exactly the reason why each and every one of you who enjoys video games for the challenge, or likes action RPGs in general should give this a good hard try. It's not for everyone, but for the people it is for, it's one of the best things created.

90

Bad port, but the game itself is amazing

SASteve | May 5, 2014 | See all SASteve's reviews »

One thing first: You shouldn’t play this game without a controller, it is a very bad port and it runs like crap. Get off to a flying start , are we? Don’t get me wrong, the game is not bad, but the port is just horrifying, if you are going to play this game, I suggest using dsfix (google it) in order to fix some port related problems. And also this game is excruciatingly hard and has no difficulty setting. Now that we thrown the technical part out of the window, let’s talk about the game, I’m not going to give you spoilers, so stay calm. The combat in this game is very complex and it might be unforgiving if this is your first time around. There are certain mechanics (parrying) that require precision and might be really hard to get the hang of them. The environments are amazing, the world is huge and without loading screens which gives you the sense of immersion in that dying world. Most people might say that this game is a parade of boss-fights without a story, which is not true, the game is not telling a story at all, but it allows you to discover it by yourself. The fact that there are very few cut scenes and NPCs gives the feeling that you are alone. The major NPCs have their own story-line which you can follow if you want to learn more about them and about the world. Also, you can watch lore videos on Youtube for more details that might have slipped you. The community plays a huge role in this game, they can help you or kill you, which goes well with the atmosphere of the game, you’ll never know what’s in an undead’s head. I'll give it this mark because it's a really great game, but keep in mind the fact that is not a good port. Personally I think it deserves the money!

Praise the sun!

100

You die, you rage but it's worth it

RotoMaster | April 2, 2014 | See all RotoMaster's reviews »

This game is hard and you die alot but it's the best game i have ever played. The combat is so great and the lore is the best i have ever seen.

95

Astounding

Arteus | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all Arteus's reviews »

For me, buying this game was simply a matter of curiosity. I had heard good things about it and I couldn't really ignore the fact that the devs had brought it to PC after an outcry from the community.

This is now my favorite game of all time. No other game has challenged me this much without being outright unfair. The combat is slow, deliberate and tense while the story is indirect and requires heavy interpretation that will differ from player to player. I managed to complete the game a good half-dozen times over multiple characters and every playthrough was as fun as the last; keep in mind that I rarely beat games and when I do I generally drop them afterwards. This title hooked me from the very start and I still jump on from time to time for a few boss fights, speedrun attempts and PVP action.

The only thing that really detracts from the game is the quality of the port, that is, there isn't any. The developers admitted it wouldn't be a good port and they weren't lying. Thankfully, the use of Durante's DSfix can have the game up and running with very few issues, just be sure to play with a gamepad unless you're feeling masochistic.

90

Game I've put the most hours in

JBails | Jan. 5, 2014 | See all JBails's reviews »

Aside from the deep story that you can make for yourself, as well as the rich world, this game has one of the best combat systems I've ever seen. The only thing that detracts from the game is the occasional poor level design which may cause you to fall off and die. While there are some issues with the PC port, they are easily fixed using the downloadable DSFix.ini.

82

You will die

MPixels | Nov. 16, 2013 | See all MPixels's reviews »

This game is set to hard mode. There is no option or point in lowering the difficulty as the difficulty is in the nature of the game. In Elder Scrolls, you climb a tower to find a shiny box of loot. In Dark Souls, you climb a tower to find a colossal brute ready to crush you to a pulp. The aim of the game is to gain levels and skills in order to combat such giants, twin gargoyles, undead dragons and all manner of beasts. Around every corner is a new peril ready to kill you. This is a game that strips you of any feeling of power so that every single victory is a triumph. If you can get past the difficulty, it is an enjoyable game. But you will die. A lot.

80

Unforgiving, Uncompromising

AlisterCat | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all AlisterCat's reviews »

This is not a casual game. In a move that is very unlike me I bought the game for the Xbox 360 when it originally came out and was not prepared for what this game holds as a core philosophy behind its gameplay. You will die. A lot. It's hard, and likes to trick you. You might not think that sounds like a lot of fun but once you give it a chance you might be surprised.

Dark Souls asks you to play in a very different way than you are used to with the majority of modern games. Playing slowly, guarded and constantly being fearful of your environment is essential to getting through the game. Once you adjust to the pacing and demands of the gameplay you'll start to have a great time. This game also has great art direction, enemy designs and a good looking world just don't expect a whole lot of story or narrative guiding you through the game. I'm still working my way through the PC version but if you're looking for something different give this a shot.

90

YOU DIED

Noodlesocks | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all Noodlesocks's reviews »

Get used to it. It's going to be happening a lot. In a time when developers feel their players need their hand held at every step of the way, Dark Souls pulls no punches when it throws you into the deep end of a snake pit.

This game is hard and it will punish you for every little mistake you make and is not afraid of throwing everything at you without mercy... Which makes every little success genuinely rewarding.

As with many games, it is not without it's flaws. It is - in it's rawest form - a straight port of the console versions. Controls are overly complicated if you are trying to use a mouse and keyboard so picking up a controller is definitely recommended. Graphically the game certainly does it's part but the resolution only goes as high as 1024x768. Any resolution you use above that is simply a stretched rendition.

Still, if you don't let these issues bother you, the game is still one of the most challenging and genuinely rewarding games of recent years. Just 'prepare to die' and you will do fine.

90

A game that everyone should try at least once.

Chtarlight | Oct. 18, 2013 | See all Chtarlight's reviews »

Many of those who played it said that it was hard. It is but not impossible, just unforgiving. But on the other hand completing many of the challenges that this game has to offer make Dark Souls an unbelievable experience. On the dak side : GFWL and a not very polished PC port. But with a few clicks almost every bug can be solved.

92

Highly Recommended

Joe_Crow | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all Joe_Crow's reviews »

I've already clocked 40 hours into Dark Souls and have no intention of stopping any time soon. Dark Souls is the most rewarding game I have played in a long time. It's brutal difficulty, while making progress slow, is refreshing, and forces you to think before you act.

Replaying areas rarely feels like a grind, thanks to the deep combat system. This isn't a hack and slash game. Expect to have to learn the moves and patterns of each enemy before you're able to defeat them.

Story is almost non-existent unless you choose to speak to the various NPCs that populate the Lordran. The scarcity of any human companions gives the game a lonely and dark feel; this however, makes finding a bonfire (which allows you to save) or a human NPC all the more rewarding. The game is beautiful. Lordran is a varied world and is completely interconnected.

The PC port is not the best version of the game, with various control and graphical issues. With a couple of mods though, the game runs smoothly.

If you're looking for an deep, engrossing and challenging experience, I highly recommend Dark Souls.

95

Fantastic game

miktheghost | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all miktheghost's reviews »

A bit difficult to get the hang of initially, but don't fret you will soon be demolishing furious monstrosities in your quest across Lordran. Many have criticized the port as unplayable and recommend installing mods to fix the problem. However, i managed to play the game just fine in it's default glory. Overall, punishing but rewarding.

90

One of the best game of the past years

Yahmig | July 7, 2013 | See all Yahmig's reviews »

"Prepare to die". This game doesn't lie about this part. Dark souls is a hard game, this is true, but it is far from unfair. What makes Dark souls a brilliant game is that the difficulty is perfectly balanced.

You need to be constantly aware of your environment to survive, and this awareness is rewarded by the many hidden treasures. Many weapons can be found throughout the game : spears, swords, curved swords, bows and wands among many others. Each of these weapons has it own playstyle, some are slow and crush your ennemy's armor, some are fast and cut the flesh open. You can choose a weapon that suits your playstyle the most because each of them has a unique set of moves.

The campaign is long (50 to 90 hours for a first playtrough), with a "New game+" option ( you can start a new campaign with the same character and every monster of the game will be harder to defeat). You can also start a new campaign with an other character thanks to the many different playstyles you can try.

Dark souls is a game you NEED to play if you're tired of these games telling you exactly what to do and how to play. Say goodbye to all those stupid tips that pop on the screen, or those GPS arrows showing you the way. Nobody need those things. You will learn by yourself while playing and this is much more rewarding

90

Shoddy port, great game

Holyjoely | June 12, 2013 | See all Holyjoely's reviews »

Dark Souls is genuinely one of the best games that I have played this generation. It has a captivating (if somewhat cryptic) story that is as prevalent or as limited as you want it to be. Dark Souls rewards exploring, it rewards reading item descriptions, not by giving you an item or experience, but by giving you another small piece of story as you try to piece together the vast, mysterious world.

The combat in Dark Souls is the best in any RPG that I have played. The feel of the weapons is spot on. A katana feels light and quick, although the weight is still noticeable, whereas a greatsword crafted from the tale of a huge dragon is understandably slow and clunky. Combat is difficult but satisfying, there's no button-mashing combat style as there is in games like Skyrim, you need to time your blows, parry attacks and riposte and dodge out of the way or you're going to die quickly.

Dark Souls in notoriously difficult, but I urge you to try it, and give it at least 3-4 hours before passing judgement on it. The game is hard, but the game is also fair. If you die, it's your fault, you did something wrong, and it feels that way. Never in the 50+ hours that I have put in to this game so far have I felt that I died unjustly. That said, this game isn't for everyone. You need patience, and you need to be willing to spend a lot of time figuring things out and learning from your mistakes. But if this game does appeal to you, it will be one of the greatest gaming experiences you can have.

The PC port is very poor. Using the keyboard and mouse makes the game almost unplayable, the 3D resolution of the game is extremely low making it look unbearably blurry on any larger screen resolutions and the framerate is very unstable. However, these problems can be fixed by installing a mod called "DSFix", and I highly recommend that you install this mod before playing.

Another issue with the port is the use of Games For Windows Live. Some people will have no issues with this, but there is a multitude of people that experience issues, particularly with connecting to the Live network when trying to play Dark Souls. There are no fixes for these issues, so if you have had issues with GFWL in the past, don't expect Dark Souls to be playing online with GFWL without a significant amount of tweaking and searching.

All in all though, you should definitely give this game a try, even with the port issues it is well worthy of your time.

90

Great

Kaminda | June 7, 2013 | See all Kaminda's reviews »

Amazing immersive gameplay and fun for hours. The port is questionable but there are fixes for almost any problem you have on the Nexus. Just buy it.

90

One of the best RPGs available

Seadeen | June 7, 2013 | See all Seadeen's reviews »

Dark Souls is one of the few games that you can play hours after hours and still discover new things even when you're an experienced player. There is a huge amount of content, but be aware that it is not an easy game, you will need patience and skills to explore Lordran ! Even though this PC port is not really good, one simple fix made by a fan can really improve your experience.

You should buy this game if you are looking for a hardcore game that will not guide you, with a deep story (you've got to look for it, but it's worth it), and an excellent replay value.

89

Love it or hate it

captainstark | June 7, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

Once you get past the beginning where people pretend to be new to the game keep on killing you, you're going to love the game. You'll learn the game through dying again and again.

90

Amazing and Awesome Game that you must play.

Luckmuche | June 5, 2013 | See all Luckmuche's reviews »

Sequel of Demon's Soul of PS3, Dark Souls bring you in a cruel world that just want to...destroy you and your little poor body ! Fan of RPG, Hardcore gaming and Action ? It is the game that you have to play now, on PC eventually just for greenmangaming...

100

Amazing game!

Shykon | May 24, 2013 | See all Shykon's reviews »

This game is amazing, super fun and challenging. The new challenges & PvP really add to the game.

BUY BUY BUY IT!!!!

98

Amazing game but questionable port quality

Profoundly_Mad | May 2, 2013 | See all Profoundly_Mad's reviews »

Lets get this out of the way first, the port isn't the best. It isn't particularly crash prone or anything but the internal resolution is locked to be the same as the consoles and mouse and keyboard support is very basic and a controller is the preferred way to play the game. However there are mods which fix these problems. What you get after these issues are resolved is one of the most engrossing and satisfyingly difficult games in recent years.

The game is very replayable and you'll often try out different playstyles in subsequent playthroughs as the difficulty ramps up each time you beat the game. Word of warning however, the game isn't very forgiving for newcomers. You will be punished for any mistakes you make, but the satisfaction of finally beating a difficult boss you had trouble with makes it worth it.

88

Amazing game, once you fixed it yourself!

Thorandor | Feb. 2, 2013 | See all Thorandor's reviews »

Dark Souls is a weird game - not because some say it is a crappy port, no, it is because it can get frustratingly difficult and at the same so brilliantly rewarding! On many occasions have I ground my teeth, shouted at the screen, threw the controller onto the floor or just plain walked away to get a breather, followed by a little happy dance or a triumphing shout once I mastered a particular enemy.

The game itself as it is released will require you to do a bit of work yourself to get it looking nice (coming back to the crappy port part), namely you will need to get hold of the DSfix (current version is 2.0.1). This will allow you to play the game at your preferred resolution at maximum settings, using DoF, AA, and even texture mods if you like.

Overall, the game is great if you fancy a challenge, especially the newly added areas and boss monsters are worth a try, and many set pieces within the game have a "wow" factor, underlined with an amazing soundtrack. Oh yes, controller is recommended!

85

Great Game, Crappy Port

wraith2k4 | Sept. 28, 2012 | See all wraith2k4's reviews »

After I saw Demon's Souls, I knew this is a MUST on PC (how much hardcore can you get?) But it only got released on PS3. After the Dark Souls multi-platform announcement, I was almost sure this would get released on PC some day. My wish came through, but at a cost: it was just a port, not optimized for PC. Don't expect hi-res textures, because you won't get any. It's nearly impossible to play with a keyboard and mouse, and controls are displayed as fi playing with a gamepad. Modding helps though, it really boosts graphical performances. All that aside, what you will get is an awesome action-RPG, that's only for hardcore players will nerves of steel. Also, prepare to die, because you will. A LOT.

89

Awesome game

Killoran | Sept. 22, 2012 | See all Killoran's reviews »

Badly ported but easily fixed by user mods. originally bought on Xbox but traded it in before I got past boss as I found it too difficult. Decided to give it another chance on PC and i loved it, it was a welcome challenge to other games that are far too easy only thing that let me down is the ending it was rather lame after all the effort to get there. On my second play though now and still enjoying it and finding it challenging.

72

Mixed Feelings

ThomasG101 | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all ThomasG101's reviews »

I'm not really sure where to start with this one so I think i'll start positive. This game is frustratingly fun, no matter how many times you die you NEED to keep going. The world looks great and feels far more dangerous than any game I have ever played before, the enemy's get progressively harder as you progress but there is nothing stopping you from running into them early on and getting absolutely hammered by them. I can't really describe it but it is an amazing way to play and keeps you constantly on edge. There are plently of weapons and spells to keep combat from getting boring (even when you're on your 100th attempt) and the story progresses while keeping you interested. The new content is great (I played the game on xbox before PC) and adds to the game without interfering with the main story.

On to the bad. There isn't much but despite by beaming review so far it does bring down my rating of the game. This game is too hard for me and there is no way to turn down the difficulty. I got to a point where I couldn't continue and must have spent about 10 hours on one part before I gave up (though I was very late in the story). I don't see myself as an inexperienced gamer so a word of caution to all people thinking of getting it, you need to have patience. I have no doubt though that in a few weeks i'll probably have another crack at it.