Reviews for Kung Fu Strike: The Warrior's Rise

80

Nostalgia

JessePinkman | June 18, 2013 | See all JessePinkman's reviews »

Kung Fu Strike: The Warrior's Rise brings us a travel to the past. I have a really good memories from Beat' em up games like Street of Rage, Golden Axe, Captain Commando...The mechanic of the game is very simple: give punches and kicks to everybody. You can play alone or with a friend. The game has graphics very similar to Street Fighter, but with a chinese influence. Kung Fu Strike will be always a challenge because even on easy mode is so hard. But, on the other hand, it's very easy to dominate the controls and make amazing combos. If you like Beat' em up games, take it. You won't regret.

76

This is one of the best coop brawlers for the computer!

McDoenerKing | June 6, 2013 | See all McDoenerKing's reviews »

The gameplay is pretty simple you have two basic attacks, block, dodge roll and special attacks, but the execution is so flawlessly, that you will have great fun! It is just badass fighting lots of dudes and staying in the air because you keep stacking that combo for the whole level. The game isn't very innovative or has much variety, but what it does it does really well. I still keep playing it from time to time to unlock the last shop items and buying the last combo or just trying to beat some challenges I haven't beaten yet. It is quick and cheap fun so if you're in the mood to ruin some dudes day by fighting them grab this title and have a blast! For me this game has quick, but intense sessions and I never have the feeling that a session will be the last in the game. :)You can't go wrong at this price point with it.

80

A Fun Arcade Brawler. Bring a Friend!

videopower77 | Jan. 31, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

Fun game! Keyboard controls are actually better than expected (controller is a lot better) and you can play local co-op or multiplayer on the same keyboard with P1 using WSAD and P2 using the Arrow keys. Online play would have made this great but pick this up on sale if you like beat em ups.

The art style is similar to Street Fighter 4 and looks alright but the comic style cutscenes look awful. The game runs great and the combat is fluid.

You can change the resolution and other option settings in the Config.Exe file

82

Awesome, that simple

DeaD | Dec. 15, 2012 | See all DeaD's reviews »

For the record i must say, i’m not a „fan” of this genre. That means i did play some brawler games before, but never for a longer time. When i first saw this title, i thought this might just be it. And for me, it was. I really enjoyed the game, though at some parts it was a bit hard for me, even on easy. And for the first 10 times or so i couldn’t beat the final boss. After that i played the first levels on hard, and so on, until i got enough bravery to face that boss again, and managed to defeat her. So the game may be hard for first-time players, but it is highly delightsome. The graphics are good, or at least it is the right one for this game. The maps are nice, different, and so are the enemies (maybe they are not that nice[beware the teleporting-making itself doubled lady ]) I know how this game was rated most, but for me it was a pleasure to play this one. The controls are simple, yet the moves take some time to master. There is a local co-op which is great if you want to play through the game with a friend, although i’d be always open for playing multiplayer online. I’d say if you want a simple, still amusing brawler game, this one is perfect.

70

Great Beat 'em up

DukePaul | Nov. 12, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

This game recovers the classic gameplay from the Beat 'em ups of the 90s, easy controls but hard difficult.

The title offers fast combat with a lot of replayability, each level ranks you with a score and higher level abilities can be unlocked by achieving a higher score in that level, also you earn money for summon helpers in the battle.

After you beat the game, (10 hours or so) you have access to VS mode, with a friend is very fun but if you don't want fight each other, the game offers cooperative mode

It is a good option if you get the DLC also, if you are a hardcore player you will enjoy a lot the new challenges

76

Kung Fu Strike: The Warrior's Rise

maciej2601 | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

Kung Fu Strike: The Warrior's Rise to Side Scrolling fighting game, where you control a warrior pursuing the murderers of his father. We have to make dozens of levels located in different parts of ancient China. Title is distinguished by a unique graphic style modeled on Chinese calligraphy.

72

A pretty straightforward brawler

Cynaris | July 31, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

As the title says, this is a 3D brawler, with an ancient Chinese background. Your goals are simple really, fending off waves of enemies, while you are supposed to chain combos together. It can be fun, but repetitive at times, but from an indie developer, it is a nice attempt.

Visually it resembles Street Fighter 4 a lot, of course this still is a brawler, and not a classic 2D fighter.

You could do worse with your 7.99 in my opinion.

75

Simple, fun game

xgatto | July 31, 2012 | See all xgatto's reviews »

So the game is focused in one, and one thing only. Kung Fu fighting. And it does it very well, the game feels like an old school fighting game. It starts out pretty simple, punch, kick, dodge, but soon you'll find special enemies that will require you to make some combos to take them out. Also, as you advance in the game, you acquire new skills and equipment, or even some companions to help you for a while, that you need to use in your advantage, and help you make some crazy combo's. Pretty fun game to play for a while, the only bad thing I can say about it, is the fact that multiplayer is only local, and does not allow to play over the internet, having online coop wouldve been a blast to be honest. Still, totally worth 10 bucks.