Reviews for Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (EU)

92

My favourite title of all time!

Ma3a | July 25, 2014 | See all Ma3a's reviews »

The first thing I heard about this game was: You'll get no refund if it is too hard for you. I didn't deter from the game and oh boy I do not regret!

The first moments of the game I'll remember forever. Equipped with only a sword and little armor you walk upstairs to a great castle crowded by skeleton warriors. The accurate fighting mechanisms of the game made and make fighting so enjoyable you won't hardly stop.

What makes this game so great are two things: 1. The motivation you gain in exploring the wonderful world of Lordran. There is this gigantic castle, there are valleys, a swamp, a dark abyss and many many other places so memorable you dream of them after you played the game. 2. The leveling system: You earn souls by killing enemies. Souls are the overall currency in this game. You purchase weapons, armor and other stuff but you also level up with them. When you die, your souls drop where you died and you have one chance to pick them up, otherwise there are lost forever. This mechanic is the perfect motivation. You always have to calculate the risk and reward of moving forward. And if you defeated the next boss, it could probably happen that your neighbours can hear you screaming out of joy.

A great game, I can't do nothing else than to recommend it to everyone!

90

Prepare to have fun

McHawk | June 27, 2014 | See all McHawk's reviews »

Amazing, funny, pitiless. Three words to describe this wonderful action RPG from From Software :D

Many people find this game so hard that they put it aside, while many other simply love this game. It is a matter of mind. If you like mysterious atmospheres, its unbelievable various combat gameplay, wonderful graphics (but you will need a mod to get them,cause vanilla game has bad visual options ), you can be able to get through Dark Souls and its 1000 ways to die. Otherwise, you will find tons of frustration and you will put this game away.

One last thing : i really appreciated the soundtrack, and the lack of music throughout all the game, except for final bosses and some important events.

70

Good, but sadly overrated.

Mandemon | March 17, 2014 | See all Mandemon's reviews »

Game is, simply put, overrated. It is not a bad game, but it's overrated.

Remember this while reading. First of all, the much spoken difficult comes less from the game offering great challenges, but more from trial and error gameplay, clunky controls and numerous bad design choices. If this game had come from any of the big companies, Bethesda for example, none of these design choices would have been accepted and game would have been panned to the ground.

For example, simple pause menu. Sometimes, I have to leave my game. Yet, the game lacks the very simple option of pausing the game. This is the first black mark. It really should have been there. I can't expect life to stop everything it has until I am done with whatever fight I am stuck in at the moment. This could have simply been nothing but a screen with "Paused" on it.

PC port is... bad. Options menu does not really exist, having almost nothing in it. No rebindable keys and graphics options are non-existant. Combine inability to adjust the graphics beyond resolution with random slowdowns the game suffers, especially in the Blighttown even when nothing is happening on the screen.

Now, the controls. Like I said earlier, they are clunky. Too many actions are assigned to a single button when using the controlled and m/k control scheme? Horrible. Now, on controller, which unfortunately is the only way to play really, jumping, rolling and running are all assigned to the same button. Yes, you heard that right. All three, different actions, on the same button. Expect to end up jumping when you don't want to or rolling when you don't want to.

Also, that famous difficult? Largely fake. Bonfires are far and between and each time you die, enemies respawn. This itself would not be that bad, except that due to distances involved, this means fighting through all the enemies again, which gets really boring really fast. Combine this with clunky controls and you soon realize that you aren't dying to the enemies, but to the game.

Thankfully, bosses and mini-bosses don't respawn. However, even if you don't die and find a new bonfire, enemies still respawn. Not to mention surprise deaths that you can't expect unless you have memories the level through numerous deaths.

For some reason, crossbows and magic spells lack manual aim, which is only available to bows. This would, once again, not be so bad if not for the bad lock-on feature. It works on too short ranges, you can see the enemy far, far ahead of you... but unless you are using a bow, you can't hit him be

Story is... non-existant. There is lore there, yes, but it's largely hidden and leaves large gaps in it. Story is mostly mere speculations by the players, not something that is in the game.

Now, what is good in the game? Well, the lore is interesting, what little it is told. Maps are big. They look good. Combat has weight, even if somewhat clunky and simply once you get down on it. Enemy design is creative.

In the end, it's not a bad game and occasionally it can be quite great, but overall... it's not as good as everyone likes to pretend. It has tons of issues and the port is, quite frankly bad. If you can get it on a sale, get it. If you can't, well, consider do you like dying again and again and again to same little things, only making tiny amount of progress which for no other reason than to die again.

95

Fear not death

Bloodish | Dec. 9, 2013 | See all Bloodish's reviews »

This game is so hard. But the joy of progressing, be it beating that area with those annoying mobs, finding a new bonfire or killing that tough, tough boss that you've died to so many times, is just SO satisfying. This will take hours of your time to beat. You will be frustrated, you will have to check online for solutions and you will DIE. But it's worth it, if you ask me. The variety in monsters and bosses (of which there are a lot!) is great, and makes every area seem different. The animations are well done, and so is the scenery and with a very simple graphics mod, the visuels are also very pleasing over all.

Although, after praising this game i must say that this is an awful pc port made by the developers. The controls are still just indicated by the xbox controllers buttons, and the camera is horrible to control with a mouse. It's overall a mess if you play it with mouse and keyboard. BUT if you plug in a controller and set it up, the game plays just fine.

All in all, i would definitely recommend this game. Especially if you're looking for a gaming challenge that you won't beat so easily.

95

Die, die better, then triumph!

Kopok | Nov. 20, 2013 | See all Kopok's reviews »

Finally a really challenging game! And the incredible thing is that the more you die, the more you want to get back and die again until you are able to perform the perfect fight.

You can actually feel you are becoming stronger while playing and dying again and again. Not only because you get new skill points and equipment, but because yourself as a player get better. Each time you fail, you learn enemy patterns, when to counter, when to dodge, and when you finally win (if you ever do) you can be proud of yourself and not of a new bigger sword.

The beginning can feel weird if you too are used to be taken by the hand and shown what you have to do. Yet, by now, plenty of internet guides can help you when you are desperate.

Finally, a word about the level design. It is huge! The world is really vast but there is no big wasteland that artificially enlarge it. Every place is filled with enemies and various secrets, and dozens of paths connects almost everything to everything.

One warning yet, Dark Souls is really destined to gamer. You will need perseverance and time to get to the end.

100

Oh boy!

taskaidomi6 | Nov. 16, 2013 | See all taskaidomi6's reviews »

My friend introduced me to this game, he told me that it's gonna be a hard game and I'll get killed a lot, and of course I died a lot. The game is really challenging and requires a lot of thinking. The graphics look great, even though the PC version has FPS problems but it can be fixed with a mod. All of the boss fights are epic, has a lot of RPG elements and a medieval setting. There are tons of ways to play the game and every run of the game feels great! I definitely reccomend this game to every RPG lover!

93

One of the best RPG

Alfa8789 | Oct. 23, 2013 | See all Alfa8789's reviews »

Terrible port, but an otherwise amazing game. The user-created graphical mod that's been going around is a big help in making the game more enjoyable on PC, but it's a shame FromSoft could not provide this feature on launch. Keyboard/mouse support is a bit iffy, but if you use a controller everything plays great.

The game itself is just incredible, reminiscent of the punishing difficulty and open exploration of classic metroidvania-style games. The story is deep and intriguing, but not handed to you on a silver platter; it must be discovered and pieced together by the player. Prepare to Die !

98

Prepare to die.

SkyorZX | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all SkyorZX's reviews »

Do you like rol games? Dark Souls is a game with a dark ambientation, a good history and a great open world. But... what makes this game awesome? The difficulty.

The first time you play this game, maybe you want throw the controller/keyboard and the mouse trough the window. The first boss maybe seems easy, but the next is a challenge.

Talking about the graphics, the game has a magical world with a touch of darkness, the design of the enemies are pretty good, for example, Queelag.

About the time for finish the first game, 50-80 hours, depends of your skill, the new game + makes the game more difficult but you have all your items of the last game.

100

100 Times better than Skyrim

simodeso | July 29, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

Do you like skyrim? Well throw out of your windows that game and buy this one! There are tons of RPG that are the same as skyrim.. Dark souls is something Totally new. Prepare to Die.. yes in dark souls you will die a lot. it's a mechanic of the game, i think it is perfect. You have to play it to understand what i'm meaning right now, so give it a try :) it doesn't cost a lot, for the amount of hours of gameplay that it gives. There is also a bit of online mode that it's funny (pvp).

92

Challenging but always fair

MarkDeejay | June 19, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

Dark Souls is not a game for everyone. It will torture you, punish you and laugh at you, all at the same. But it will never be unfair. It will always play by the rules. Any mistakes you make are entirely your own. This game is hard. Maybe not all the time, depending on your build, but you will die. Not once, not twice. Hundreds of time. And you'll probably keep playing. Because the world of Dark Souls is something that needs to be experienced. I've rarely seen a world this detailed and this well executed. It reminded me a bit of a Metroidvania game, where instead of searching for upgrades you decide what to upgrade, thanks to the souls you'll collect from killed enemies. Before moving on to that part let me say that the textures in this game are simply amazing. As I said, souls allow you to upgrade your character. But only at a bonfire. If you get killed before reaching a bonfire, you lose your souls. You'll resurrect as an undead (again) and get another chance at collecting your lost souls. But the enemies will have respawned and if you die again before reaching them, you'll never be able to recover them. It's tough and frustrating. Enemies will attack you from all sides, there's danger everywhere. You have to remember when and how your enemy attacks, detect their patterns. With humanity you can become human again. This allows you to summon NPC's or friends. These allies are extremely helpful in tough situations. The only consequence of being human is the fact that other players can invade your world. This is frustrating if you haven't saved at a bonfire or/and the other player is simply too strong. Defeat them and you'll gain plenty of souls, though. It's a choice you have to make, but just remember that humanity is hard to come by, especially in the beginning, so summoning someone isn't always the proper solution. As of today I still haven't finished the game. It should take you at least 80 hours to beat, and that's a first playthrough. You'll never be able to see, do and collect all the stuff you want in your first playthrough. It's simply impossible. There's so much to take into account. Dark Souls is a brilliant game that only the strong will be able to finish. It's one of my personal goals, although I doubt I'll ever be able to finish it. It requires a lot of dedication. If you're one of those persons I strongly suggest you play this game. You'll not be disappointed.

(Use the Dsfix to improve the graphics and performance of the game. Don't start your first game without it.)

85

Difficult but rewarding!

DanielZo0 | June 10, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Assuming you are playing with a controller (first time I've ever hooked my xbox controller up to my PC but totally worth it) -The controls feel great. -The graphics are good once modded. -The gameplay is solid, not once did I die and think, "Well that was unfair." -Combat has weight and strategy. -The world is dark medieval fantasy at its best. -Boss fights are grand, epic, challenging, and rewarding once taken down. -Armor is interesting. -Weapons look neat and feel distinct. -Difficulty is just right. -Death is an expected teaching mechanic. -You are punished for making bad decisions but through those decisions you come up with new ideas. -This game punishes you with death for making bad decisions but it rewards you for playing smart. -Each encounter is consistent, deliberate, and gives the player plenty of opportunity to make the right decisions.

At the end of the day, Dark Souls delivers the same experience as consoles but with some extra content, a faster framerate, cheaper price point, and the potential to pickup a mod for higher resolution textures.

Play this with a USB controller, my xbox controller had no issues syncing up for this game. I highly recommend people play this game on any system they can get their hands on. Just make sure your have a controller if you get the PC version.

85

Dark Souls - review

Neapolis47 | June 8, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

Dark Souls takes us into a world of obscurity and out of darkness, a place where evil never sleeps and where there are the most dangerous threats. The storyline Dark Souls is very different from that of the usual RPG, with a narrative reduced to a minimum, to give more space to the real game and action. Exploring the game world you will discover the bonfire, around which you can sit to rest. These fires act as Checkpoint, progress in Dark Souls, shows a slow and steady, in some cases many repetitive. Of course, every time you return to base camp you can spend the souls accumulated to increase their level, and then the performance will improve as a result, but to move forward we must also do the utmost attention, and optimize their resources. To proceed, then, we need to get to Grinding, however, who is endowed with good will, the progression is well marked, thanks to the presence of many Mid-Boss that can be eliminated once and for all. Unfortunately the porting on PC was done in haste with problems related to resolution, texture poorly defined, and a framerate too low.

92

a REAL challenge

Zeronium | June 4, 2013 | See all Zeronium's reviews »

Dark Souls is all about trial and error. Game tells you next to nothing and puts you up against hordes of evil and sees how you do against them and I can assure you, you won't do well. Dark Souls offers countless hours of gameplay and even though it might be a bit frustrating to die that 100th time to a boss you have no idea how to beat, no other game grants you with the amount of satisfaction for beating that boss in the end like Dark Souls does. Gameplay is unfair, but also very rewarding in the end. Learning is big part of the game as you have no idea where to go or what to do, but that's all part of the fun. I enjoyed Dark Souls for a solid 90 hours and it's the best 90 hours I ever spend. Countless of deahts, but very rewarding moments.

94

Prepare to Die

SeverinMK | May 31, 2013 | See all SeverinMK's reviews »

The sub-title of this game is not a lie, you will die in this game - very often. This game throws you into a harsh, crude world without any help, without a map and only a vague description of what you have to do, and that's awesome. Unlike other games, this game gives you nothing but a simple tutorial, after that you're pretty much on your own. Because of that, the beginning is very difficult but after you learn the basic, when you have to block and when to dodge, which enemie is weak to what etc you can handle yourself pretty well. The areas of the game are all very pretty and there's a lot of variety, from a undead city to a hell like underground town or a dark forest. The story is mostly told by minor dialogues, you might even find some small details in item descriptions. The best thing about this game must be the brilliant combat system, it's easy to get into but hard to master, there are 4 main skills in this game, intelligence (for magic) faith (for miracles) strength (for big weapons) and dexterity (for small/sharp weapons and bows) which give a lot of variety on gameplay depending on what you choose.

The only downside is the bad PC port, I highly recommend getting a gamepad and DSfix before playing, other than that this game is amazing!

95

This game is easy to pick up but demands time

Lluvia4D | May 20, 2013 | See all Lluvia4D's reviews »

The combat system is amazing. Simple but immensely deep and satisfying. Even the lowest ranking enemies will cut you to bits if you rush in or lose concentration. The world or Lordran is beautiful in a dark way. It's history and lore revealed only to those who seek it.

As a game, it's great. It is addictive as anything and very satisfying, but it does cross that line from being a game to feeling almost like a commitment. Too much for me

90

Hard fun

Stebsis | Feb. 13, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

As everyone already knows and everybody is talking about it when mentioning Dark Souls, it is hard, even the name says it: "Prepare to Die Edition". It really is, so if you don't like to challenge yourself to the extreme and make you really learn the game, Dark Souls isn't for you.

You get to create your character from many interesting choises, like knight, archer, mage and couple other interesting ones. Your class determines what you're good at and what kind of armor and weapons you carry.

You're an undead sent to prison but you get out of there and you just go to slay monsters. There isn't really a story here to interrupt your journey, and it's just good.

When you kill foes you get souls which are used to level up your character at bonfires, which also work as your save/check point. It's a real relief to find a bonfire when you've been walking down a big dungeon fighting really tough foes not knowing when you might die. But after you light the fire, all enemies, except the bosses, respawn. This is a gamble move if you're not sure you can return the same way or you don't know what lies ahead. And if you die, you lose all your hard earned souls, but you can get them back if you return to the place where you died, but beware, if you die a second time without getting your souls back, you lose them forever. This adds tension and gives your death real weight as the souls are your currency in this world.

Combat is tight, but nearly impossible on mouse and keyboard, you need a controller. This isn't a hack and slash, you need to time your moves and one fatal mistake can deplete almost all your health as your foes sometimes are hard hitters and quick on their feet.

Dark Souls isn't a game for everyone, but it's a game that gaming world needs. It isn't afraid to give you real challenge and really make you work for the progress. Dark Souls is a game that at least any old school gamer should try, and newer gamers too as it shows what many games these days lack, real challenge.

87

A challenging game

panz3r88 | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Dark Souls Prepare to Die is really a great action game if you like great challenges. The main aspect of the game are the high difficulty and the fact that you will die e lot of time. Death is necessary to understand how to beat the enemy the next time you will meet him. This mechanism can became frustrating if you are not patient, but after some time you will find amazing the good combat system based on counterattacks and very hard combats. The weak point of Dark Souls is that the PC conversion is really bad and you need to find in some internet site some mods to increase the resolution(stuck to the low 1024x768) and have more than 30FPS

85

Funny Deaths

abelfs | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

This game is just that amazing. Don't be scared by its difficulty, in the beginning the game will feel really unforgiving, but actually it's just you who isn't used to it yet, every time you die you don't blame the game, you blame yourself because it's usually your own fault (except those instant death traps moments). The game had a rocky start on the pc since the creators did a terrible port, but luckily on the news page is a link to a modder who fixed all the graphical problems, I would also recommend setting the keys to your own preferences or using a controller since the default system will have you dying each 3 minutes or less (guaranteed).

100

Masterpiece

Antix | Jan. 9, 2013 | See all Antix's reviews »

Dark Souls is a challenging and rewarding action-RPG. It makes you explore its richly detailed world and learn through your mistakes to overcome the odds. Excellent art direction and terrific atmosphere throughout the whole game. There are some technical issues with slowdowns here and there and the PC port needs some extra effort to untap its potential, but don't let that deter you from playing Dark Souls because this game is dark fantasy at its best and nothing short of a masterpiece.

If you get this game, make sure you download the DSFix made by Durante so that game will support any resolution, and also make sure you have a gamepad.

90

One of the best games of 2011

Takeshi_K | Dec. 27, 2012 | See all Takeshi_K's reviews »

Dark Souls is hard. It will beat you to the ground and stomp all over your dead body. But it is through that defeat that you will become victorious in the end. It's trial-and-error, it's very hard in the beginning before you get used to the combat mechanics and various gameplay options. However, the feeling of accomplishment is really amazing. Few games will make your hands sweat during this age of gaming, and even fewer will make you look like a complete maniac when you do beat one of the game's bosses. Additionally, the game is crazy addictive. You'll put the game away for a few hours and before you know it you'll be wanting to go back in. The PC port is decent. For singleplayer at least I've only had a few issues. It's quite laggy in some places. It probably helps with a proper gaming rig. Also, I did get disconnected from GFWL once, but I returned to where I had been disconnected once I launched the game again.

85

Hard but not impossible

TronLight | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all TronLight's reviews »

Many knows Dark Souls just because of all the "It's impossible!" viral thing, but that's just one of the aspect of the game. I really want to say, if you're curious about the game, but you think you will not be able to play it because of the difficulty, you're totally wrong. Yes, the game it's difficult, but not as much as people are saying. It's all about understanding the game's pace, basically, if you rush it, you die. Many times. You need to take your time, at least at the beginning, and once you undestand the game, it'll become, not easy, just not frustrating. That said, Dark Souls is an awesome game, the art it's simply superb, the atmosphere really gets to you. Many could say that it doesn't have a story, but it does, it's just told in an unconvetional way, and it's very interesting with an awesome lore, but just like the gameplay, they don't help you, instead, you have to put together all the pieces, if you pay attention, talking with an NPC, reading an object description, exploring the world, all makes sense in the universe of the game. On a last note, avoid summoning anyone to beat a boss, just, like I said, understand it, learn the moves patterns, don't give up and you'll beat everyone.

90

Great atmosphere and the feeling of being on an adventure

kdaniean | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all kdaniean's reviews »

The graphics are good, and there's really nothing to complain about. The design is absolutely perfect for the gloomy ambitions and dark fantasy scheme.You're character have great animations, just like in Demon's Souls. It is equally powerful to see him swing his heaviest weapon, as it is fun to see him fail to accelerate a non-magical wand. There are plenty of huge bosses.

This game is great above all, the great atmosphere and the feeling of being on an adventure. When challenges are at the right level, so is the feeling of success unbeatable, and the desire to return to the former hunting grounds awakened. But to be thrown back to the campfire, only to embark with the same enemies in the same castle hallways ... There is more work than play. For me, Dark Souls a double-edged sword with a positive sign. What's left is a split me.

This game is really hard, but i still enjoy it. Also i recommend using a xbox 360 Controller

80

Flawed but good

Leotime0 | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all Leotime0's reviews »

The game requires mods to work properly and a controller is heavily recommended as the controls on kb+m are broken, besides that its great.

96

Hardcore returns!

Zinzun | Aug. 24, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

Spiritual sequel of the PS3 exclusive Demon's Souls,Dark Souls is a truly bloody hardcore rpg. Learn the enemy pattern attacks,prepare to dodge,balance yourself with the best equipment without being "heavy", or approce the way of Magic (Miracles and various spell). For some bosses you will need the help of a friend,so summon him and proceed to the next area. If you die,is your fault,so learn to play the game. With about 60 hours on the first play,and an additional ten hours from the DLC,Dark Souls is an old style game,that require skill and patience to be managed.Buy and play it but....do it with a 360 pad,because keyboard support is horrible. The resolution can be rendered up thanks to a community mod just released,so the 1024x768 resolution is not a problem.

95

One of the Best Game!

Xibalba | Aug. 23, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

One of the best game ever i have played. Greatest design of levels,armors, weapons,npc and monster/bosses, minimalist plot with a deep lore. With the pc version you will have PVP online matchmaking system for coop too, drawback for me is the Games for Windows Live

95

Greatest Hardcore-RPG of the last few years

IganX | July 22, 2012 | See all IganX's reviews »

Intense action, gorgeous graphics, fantastic animations, interesting story, original enemies, this game has everything to get to be a classic of gaming. Though being hard at first, once you progress through the game and learn the mechanics you will die less, but prepare to be frustrated at first. The only drawback is being a port from console to PC by a company which doesn't develop PC software, it may have some points which could have been developed better. Still, its a great game.