Reviews for Plants vs Zombies Game of the Year Edition

90

Super fun!!

martinni | March 17, 2014 | See all martinni's reviews »

A friend recommended me this game some time ago, and i ended up buying it; looked fun and everything... Why not? One day i pick it up to play it, and man!... I loved it!! Absolutely loved it! I was addicted from the very first day, and just like that I ended up playing 65+ hours of it. And i may still play it again.

It's super fun, it's challenging, it's a must have!

84

Still a lot of fun.

gforcesa | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

Well the developers did take their time with the sequel but it was worth the wait.I personally really like how they made this game.Just like the first game you have to complete levels in order to unlock new plants to use.The levels are pretty fun when i found out that you can use power ups to squish,pinch and electrecute zombies but those power ups come at a price.I'm playing the game on my android and it's a lot of fun and i recommend you buy it if you enjoyed the first game.

90

A classic tower defence game

QuotedTurnip | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all QuotedTurnip's reviews »

I haven't yet anyone who's played this and hasn't grown fond of it. Its cute veneer will reel you in and not let very easily and is a bargain to boot.

It follows the basic principles of the genre but with its own spin on the bloated number of games that feature zombies these days; the learning curve isn't too steep, the music adds to the atmosphere but is unobtrusive and the sound effects aren't likely to annoy you quickly, which is difficult to find these days!

There are plenty of modes that supplement the main adventure, my personal favourite being Survival - it's a good way to test out strategies using different plant combinations to see what works best against specific zombie types in order to boost your score/time.

Getting all of the achievements on Steam will certainly take some time and it will prove itself value for money several times over.

81

Lots of fun

DanoJS | July 8, 2013 | See all DanoJS's reviews »

Plants vs Zombies is a classic Popcap game. There are so many approaches to each level that it just doesn't get boring. The number of different plants to unlock also really helps with this. The high score based mini games are also fun. The levels increase in difficulty to the extent that the garden is overrun with zombies and chaos.

In short, if you are looking for a simple yet fun game then you won't be disappointed.

100

One of the best zombie games out there

Neohoodman | Feb. 28, 2013 | See all Neohoodman's reviews »

Plants vs zombies is a great twist on the tower defense genre. Popcap managed to take zombies and tower defense and out came this gem of a game.

Using all kinds of plants with all sorts of abilities and attacks, there are millions of approaches to each level. It never manages to get boring; each world introduces a new gimmick which changes the way you play. Thanks to all the extra modes, replay value is amazingly good and you'll keep playing long after you finished the main game.

A good mix of humor, great art and fun gameplay make this a must buy

82

Great little game with some strategy

DonVercetti | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

Why wouldn’t you get ‘Plants vs Zombies’? Shootdown some zombies with your peashooters! There’s even a store system with ingame earning currency where you can buy new plants and such. Plus you have a merchant named Crazy Dave, which is just a hilarious guy. Funny how people find this game easy, If you play this game more and you really like it. Try out the Survival and try to complete the beat the 20 flag achievement. Took me some hard effort! This game isn’t expensive at all, and just a great way to spend some spare time in. And if you’re not to big of a fan of defeating zombies itself, you can just spend your time on your own collection of plants or spend some coins on the Tree of Wisdom!

63

Tooooooooooooooo simple...

abelfs | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

A curious idea with a fine sense of humour. However, it is very simplistic in all of its aspects. Basically you'll have to protect your house from a plague of zombies using every plant you've got for attacking and defending. The variety of plants is amazing, however, you can finish the game using the same type of plants...

85

A tower defense game pretty much anyone will like

MarkDeejay | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

What a charming tower defense title. The graphics are detailed and awesomely cute. Same goes for the sounds. And for such a low price you really get a lot of gameplay. There's just so much to do; puzzles, zen, adventure, mini-games, you name it. The game also has quite the zombie and plant collection, adding a lot of (strategic) depth to this already wonderful game. I'm not going to say anything else about it. You really have to experience it yourself.

84

Pure fun, nothing more

sanyi777 | Aug. 6, 2012 | See all sanyi777's reviews »

Plants vs Zombies is a game with simple graphics where your goal is, stop the zombies from eating your brain. Of course you will get some help to do that. You can use various plants to protect you such as peashooters, cherry bombs, etc. If you like fun games, which's only goal is entertain you this game would be perfect for you.

75

Simple, yet addictive.

Cynaris | July 30, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

Popcap really nailed this one. I would call this a mix of tower defense and chess. You are in control of the flowers, and must stop the invading zombie waves, with the power of sunshine and sunflowers, and plenty other worthy addition to a garden. You gain this sun energy, and use it to plant more plants, obstacles, to defeat the waves and emerge victorious. The game sounds simple, but can offer a great deal of strategy.

Visuals are lovely, and music is catchy.

90

Addictive tower defence

CJV | July 27, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

The zombies are coming to eat your brains and the only thing that stands between you and them is your garden. But don't worry, your plants will not let them pass. This is the premise of Plants vs. Zombies, a casual tower defence filled with humour. The soundtrack it's great, the graphics are lovely and the game mechanics are really simple and addictive. You have about nine columns each with six squares, and you must plant your defences in that squares to defence yourself from the incoming zombie horde. With a lot of variety of plants and various zombies which require different strategies to defeat, this is an amazingly addictive and fun game. With a lot of fun mini-games and various game modes this is a game that everyone should experience, even people who are not into tower defence games.

80

Fun without limits

IganX | July 24, 2012 | See all IganX's reviews »

A modern day PC classic, this game grants the player many hours of fun and entertainment in a game which having a simple concept, can be quite complex. Try it and you wont regret it.