Reviews for Death Rally

83

Kill Duke. With guns gas guzzling.

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

The game knows its predecessor. I was waiting so much for this game when it was announced and oh the disappointment when I heard it was going to be only for tablets. But NOW IT IS ON PC, TOO! YES!

As fun as it ever was, you still have to race that. ONE. RACE.

Getting new cars and upgrading the one you have is intoxicating. Oh, and racing against Duke? It is as legendary as in the first one. You feel you have accomplished and mastered the game when you leave The King to eat your dust.

Hail to the New King, baby!

95

A great game that recalls better times!

kowen | July 16, 2013 | See all kowen's reviews »

Certainly, Death Rally fans will not be disappointed, (except for not being able to choose Duke Nukem character). For those unfamiliar with the series, this game is like "Micromachines", but more brutal. The good thing is that it has improved a lot over the old game, more weapons, more modes, but without losing the essence of the original 1996 game. The only downside is that everything is "upgrades", whereas in the original you could just buy things (cars, weapons, sabotage ...) while in this game you have to unlock achievements or improving absolutely everything (car, guns, objects ...), which turns the game into something repetitive ... but I like it anyway. Definitely a great remake (and multiplayer), I don't understand how he could have so little acceptance by the community. I love this game!

40

A dissapointment

Forceflow | June 6, 2013 | See all Forceflow's reviews »

Bought this game because I really liked Renegade Ops, but this is a bit of a different beast. I expected more from Remedy.

You're basicly racing around a circular track, and the one thing that immediately struck me was: these cars don't go very fast. You really don't have any sense of speed, even when using the nitro boost. Also, the default gun auto-fires, taking away the fun from combat from you. Combat mode also is just spinning around in circles trying to get a hit on your opponent, but not in a fun way.

In the graphics department, it's okay. Nothing too special there. The music was pretty good, uplifting rock, but got repeated waaay too often.

I'd recommmend you only buy this if it's at a bargain price. I bought it, played it for one hour, then removed it again. Just not having fun.

68

Racing with guns

megfosnot | June 4, 2013 | See all megfosnot's reviews »

Take a basic racing game and add guns.. does that make it better? Sometimes, but at other times it just feels like you are playing to earn upgrades, so that you get more cash for more upgrades - vicious cycle! The game looks great and runs great on most PCs (it's a nice re-make of a classic). Played from the same basic isometric camera angle, you can see lots of action while racing. This game is about racing the same tracks over and over to get upgrades - so if your looking for tons of varied tracks - look elsewhere.

78

Nice game

israel_hlc | March 1, 2013 | See all israel_hlc's reviews »

I gave this game a try when it was in a free weekend. I have to admit that it was harder to stop playing it than I expected.

The gameplay is very nice, with top-down view and the choice of winning races by speed, by blowing up your enemies or both of them. You earn money from the races and so you can buy new cars and upgrades for the cars you already own. As the races are short, you always feel like playing one more match, and so the game becomes very addictive.

The negative point is the multiplayer. The idea is great, where you could compete against other human players instead of the AI during the campaign. The problem is that the matchmaking is completely dull. During the free weekend (where supposedly there were more people playing) I could find an opponent in only a few times, but as the game kept trying to find more opponents to fill the race, the match delayed too much to begin and the opponents gave up on waiting. The game is worth a try. It’s a short game (I got it 99% complete with a few hours), but it is also a relatively cheap game, so in my opinion it is well priced.

82

Fun and addictive game

jpbuntinx | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all jpbuntinx's reviews »

I've recently purchased Death Rally and at first i thought "this'll be an ok game, based on the Death race franchise". But before i knew it, i've already played over 6 hours in 3 days, and i'm absolutely loving the game. Graphics are good, the combat is fun and intense, the music is awesome. ONly small downside : the multiplayer. If you don't have any Steam friends playing it online, good luck finding someone to race against.

65

Death Rally

RoKkie | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all RoKkie's reviews »

This is an "ok" game that is kind of like renegade ops but racing. It has pretty much the same controls and strangely supports 3D just like renegade ops. Its main stuck points are the controls not being customizable when using a 360 controller (but you can for keyboard...) and the UI. It is kind of a wonky jump the cursor around scheme on menus which gets sort of annoying. There is alot of gameplay (some would call it repetition) and plenty to upgrade, i really miss driving games that let you upgrade your car as you go, though it isnt like you buy new transmissions or port polishing or anything.

60

Pretty bad

captainstark | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

I was a HUGE fan of the 1996 version of the game. In fact, I install it and play it at least once every year..and after playing this game I think I will continue to do so. Don't get me wrong, this game is pretty fun and if you've never played the original you'll probably like it. I don't want to sound like an old person expecting to stick with the old school ways but this game was missing some key items. More voices, the only ones I heard (which were pretty good) were ''bad scary'' and some screaming. It could have also used more pictures to get to know the characters...maybe even a ladder like the old game. Where is DUKE!? The story also sucked, there were like 5 story races. It needs an update

75

Good remake, but it's too streamlined

Guardian412 | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

The original Death Rally was one of the games I played a lot back in the 90s and I waited this remake so much. The game itself is a great remake of the original one, and from this view I was satisfied. But unfortunately there is not so much improvement and the game became a bit too streamlined and the game balance is also not the best, especially if I compare it to the original one. And from this view I was a little disappointed. But Death Rally is still a fun game, especially if you don't want to think, just race and blow up your competition one by one with a machine gun barrage, mines or rockets, or if you want to relieve the old races, but with an up-to-date graphics and gameplay. It is a nostalgia game, mostly for veteran PC gamers, but if you haven't played Death Rally before, if you don't know the old one, I still say; give it a try. It's not expensive game, yet its still fun to play. Don't expect too much and you'll like it.

70

Brings back memories

Rochard | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all Rochard's reviews »

I remember playing the original game at a friends house getting my ass handed to me by his older brother who tried to explain to me how I had to balance new upgrades and gathering enough cash in the lower leagues to make sure I could afford new tires etc when upgrading my car. Oh, boy the memories!

The game runs great and feels great. It's a REAL nostalgia game and I'm not sure how it will sit with players completely new to Death Rally but as the game has an arcade feel to it, it's easy to drop in and drop out.

This new version has a lot more freedom than the old one which makes the race kind of scattered from time to time but it's up to you whether you want to blow your opponents to bits or win by speed and agility.

74

Death Rally - review

carlyle | Jan. 15, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Death Rally is an arcade racing game with a bird's eye view that allows you to enhance different aspects of a range of vehicles, weapons included. Each machine, heavy or light it is, can equip additional protection, missiles, anti-tank rifle and mines to take out your opponents before they get to the finish line. Between special modes and tracks overturned the title offers a good longevity despite the very simple structure. This game is very fun and suited to games very fast. Suffers from a certain repetitiveness bottom but all in all can enjoy.

55

Not so good as the original

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Lekes's reviews »

As a big fan of the 1996 PC Death Rally game, I was very disappointed with this iteration. Transitioning from the old title, you will immediately notice: The game plays at a much slower pace, narrower tracks, the camera is far closer to your car than before, hence you'll have trouble seeing upcoming turns, bad car handling even with an upgraded car. Even on a technical level, it won't let you turn, accelerate, shoot your secondary weapon at the same time. Instead you'll just go straight shooting and ram into a wall. Very short races, no more pedestrians to run over, our basic machine gun AUTO-SHOOTS? Now we are being noob friendly/streamlined? I regret buying this on sale and this game has hampered my view of Remedy. However, if you just stumbled upon this title and haven't played the original, drop everything you're doing now and go play it. It really is one of (if not) the best top down racer ever made.

70

Really nice casual game

daylightning | Nov. 26, 2012 | See all daylightning's reviews »

This is a really nice game for a causal player. Its easy, got several tracks and you can unlock several cars and weapons through the game. Tried using multilayer but unfortunately no players were found :( Still a nice games, i got on sale for 1.99 - 25% so you can´t really go wrong with that :D

87

A must buy for the fans of vehicular combat games

liquidsnake78 | Nov. 24, 2012 | See all liquidsnake78's reviews »

One of the best vehicular combat games on steam ,Although The controls are horrible so remap them before playing it , after a few races it should stabilize, the turning takes a bit of practice Grinding is fun in this game and required to understand the tracks as well as unlock weapons as well as new cars . once you have the missile and Deliverator , The real death rally begins and you start to win race and destroy the opponents easily. There a few bugs still , the game crashes after you defeat the final boss and the multiplayer is broken:( , i have requested the developers for fix no response yet. The game runs smoothly most of the times and sometimes stutters in the race. Sadly duke nukem is missing in this port :\ This game is worth it purchase it from gmg now since the price is low Fans of the Carmageddon series and older death rally fans will be happy

80

Good Racing Game

Sharptap | Nov. 22, 2012 | See all Sharptap's reviews »

I don´t like racing games. Let´s start the review like this. I never really enjoyed games with races because im no good at them. But then , death rally came and i started enjoying car game more. It´s just so fun , trying to destroy your enemies and it´s a bit challeging too. The gameplay is smooth , the soundtrack is not bad , the controls are very good and you will really like it. Just pray to not live in the same city as me . I will be dangerous , driving cars , just playing games like this. Nope , just kidding, This game is a must buy for all.

88

Fun remake

MadAdam81 | Nov. 22, 2012 | See all MadAdam81's reviews »

If you enjoyed the original, then this is a good remake. If you like your racing to have a cockpit view, with sim handling and no guns, then this isn't for you. However, if you like top down arcade shooting racers, then this is good fun, especially for it's low price.

70

Nice but doesn't offer much

UnH | Nov. 15, 2012 | See all UnH's reviews »

The game is really fun and addictive, but only in the beginng. After then it can get repetitive. Unfortunately, there are only few tracks to race on and in order to progress in the game and unlock everything you will have to repeat races on the same track. A lot. The amount of cars isn't huge either, there are only few of them. But apart from the lack of content game has this magical touch that keeps you glued to your screen. I couldn't finish until I unlocked everything there was to unlock. Racing is fun, blowing your opponents to pieces is pleasing and rewarding. I loved huntig for bosses and seeing their cars explode! Unfortunately, due to the lack of content I unlocked everything and beat the game in 7 hours, there is not much to do after that. But nonetheless I really liked this game

65

Decent

lachking | Nov. 9, 2012 | See all lachking's reviews »

Death Rally is a decent racing game. You race from a bird’s eye view across different tracks and challenges with the added element of shooting and dropping mines. You get money between missions to spend on repairing your car or upgrades such as armour. The visual style of the game is quite nice, with good use of colours, although there is not a large variety is environments. The sound effects on the other hand however, are not particularly outstanding with bland sounding bullet sounds and the like.

Although the basic concept of Death Rally is good, there are problems. There is not a large variety of tracks, and you will often race on the same track a lot. The controls are also quite difficult and frustrating, so expect to crash into walls often. The gun mechanics also do not work that well, as it actually encourages you to stay behind and shoot everyone, which is rather contradictory to the objective in a racing game.

All in all, Death Rally has some good concepts, but repetition and frustration will set in quickly

93

More violence on four wheels

cristiano171 | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

Death Rally was originally released for PC in 1996, and later won several versions for mobile platforms. The Death Rally is a completely redesigned version for the PC, with high definition graphics. The game also uses a new graphics engine, to deliver us even more beautiful graphics. Additionally, the camera and the controls were fully optimized for the PC, and the career mode has improved dramatically, including the unification of progress solo and multiplayer. The version of Death Rally for PC also features a new track, called "Savo" new and crazy combinations of weapons, achievements and control support. In mobile platforms, Death Rally has surpassed 11 million downloads, by the way. recommend!

70

Decent but repetitive

Darkslayer16 | Aug. 6, 2012 | See all Darkslayer16's reviews »

Death Rally is top down combat racing game that is fairly fun but gets repetitive. You can only equip 1 gun besides your main gun that you can't change, and the gameplay gets old. You are either doing short races on one of the few tracks or a boring deathmatch. If you like these types of games you won't be disappointed but it's not exactly a genre with little competition and at the current price it's not really worth it.

90

Arcade-y fun to the max

jeyko | Aug. 5, 2012 | See all jeyko's reviews »

Death Rally is an excellent remake of the remake of the great DOS game of the same name. The controls are tight; there are a ton of maps; the multiplayer co-op is really fun. I did have a couple of performance issues, but after a quick look at some forums I had the game running. If you even remotely like racing games, you will love Death Rally.

78

Speed Demons Remade!

DrHouse | Aug. 4, 2012 | See all DrHouse's reviews »

Yeah, the classic Speed Demons game from the 90's remade with today's standards. Really fun, and even funnier if you have friends to play with. The graphics are awesome, with some effects that will blown your mind. The sound is great, and it features voices from famous actors, like the one who portraits Duke Nukem. And the gameplay is awesome too, with well made controls and tons of bonuses that will make the matches even more dynamic. And it's really cheap. Go buy it now!

86

Awesome

ruready12 | Aug. 4, 2012 | See all ruready12's reviews »

This game is a pretty awesome game. There are tons of unlocks, polished, well made graphics, and amazingly addicting gameplay. The minimum system requirements for this game are suprisingly very low so any old computer can play this fine. Death Rally never gets repetitive and has many guest drivers to unlock such as Duke Nukem and John Gore. The only bad thing about this game is that there is probably going to be little to no people playing the multiplayer, but it is still a great singleplayer experience. I would recommend this game to any action fan looking for a fun twist on racing.