Reviews for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Dawnguard (NA)

80

I am a player who has played Skyrim for nearly 200 hours.

zhuwa | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all zhuwa's reviews »

Dawnguard in essence expands the content of Skyrim. Basically, there are more locations, more quests, more types of enemies, more skills to be learnt and more items. It does not dramatically change how the game is played.

I recommend this DLC for any player who enjoys Skyrim and is looking for more content to the game or even just looking for an excuse to go back into Skyrim. I have played Skyrim for nearly 200 hours and actually thought I was done with Skyrim. Dawnguard was the reason I reinstalled the game, and I realized I am far from done! One thing I must say however is that if you did not like Skyrim too much to start with, for example you’ve only played a couple of hours and stopped playing anymore, Dawnguard will most likely not change your opinion.

As for the DLC itself, the new locations are beautiful and diverse. Some textures may look similar to those in the main game, but the places are quite different and importantly, feel different. In fact, that is one of the reasons which I felt Dawnguard was worth the money. Another reason is that the main story of Dawnguard has been gripping from the start. I personally felt that, supported by better voice acting and more interesting characters, the Dawnguard main plot is one of the most interesting quests in Skyrim.

Finally, while I think Dawnguard is worth buying, the full price might be hard to justify. I recommend picking this up when it is on some sort of discount.

PS: My review of Dawnguard is based on Skyrim version 1.8.151.0.7 (November 2012). That said, I believe future patches to Skyrim or Dawnguard will make the game even better.

70

Great if your expectations are not high

schroff | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

This DLC, or expansion as Beth likes to refer to it, is primarily about Vampires. Totally awesome if you like to play as one of them but I wanted to be part of the Dawnguard instead ... hunt the critters! :D The add on has its bugs as has been documented but there are community patches on the Workshop (Beth is busy turning the game into the Sims). The price is high, use a coupon or wait for a drop and then you'll get great value for your money .. it will play for around 10-12 hours so if you play both sides of the story and don't go rushing at every thing just to finish stuff then it will last long enough. Worth the purchase for the "complete experience".

85

Dawnguard is decent!

Sandoooooo | Sept. 6, 2012 | See all Sandoooooo's reviews »

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Dawnguard is a great DLC, but I expected more. If you've spent hundred of hours playing in Skyrim, then this DLC is for you.

However, it's better for you to wait for a price drop because it's a bit overpriced.

The idea of combining vampires and werewolves is nice. This DLC is very fun and entertaining and will keep you excited for what will happen next. It contains large area filled with locations to explore.

70

Not worth its price, but alright.

thewhitewolf | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all thewhitewolf's reviews »

This DLC is exactly what it is, content that adds new stuff to the game, new locations, new quests, weapons, etc. But for its price it is totally not worth it, since we have seen most of this in the original game, Skyrim. Yeah its nice to have a bit of new stuff and a bit more quests, but for 20 $ ? Hell, no. It doesn't feel much different like the earlier oblivion DLC, Shivering Isles, that was just mind blowing,big and it felt like a full game itself. This dlc is fun, but it doesn't provide as much fun as you could have buying another full game for 20 $.

15

DLC/Game Add-on vs. Expansions

wulf2468 | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all wulf2468's reviews »

Expansions used to contain tons of content that took longer than a few hours to beat AND they were priced at a reasonable price. Now we get DLC and game add-ons. They cost anywhere from the same and upwards of 3 times the price of an expansion. The content you actually get... barely anything at all. This game add-on is one of those. It isn't worth the cost.

89

Excellent Addition!

xpostalx | Aug. 16, 2012 | See all xpostalx's reviews »

The depth and effort put into making this shows, it may not be worth $20 on its own but on sale or in a bundle grab it for sure.!

79

Great, but a bit overpriced

Evilshallwin | Aug. 11, 2012 | See all Evilshallwin's reviews »

This expansion adds some content, but overall, it only lasts about 10-20 hours if you do everything possible. This pack only really brought a few new locations (which was the main anticipation of buyers) and an Oblivion expansion that brought more than this was priced at $10.

This expansion does not bring enough for the price, but if you're a diehard Skyrim fan, I urge you to buy it. It's a fun addition to your game.

91

Awesome

jeyko | Aug. 6, 2012 | See all jeyko's reviews »

The long awaited Dawnguard DLC/mini-expansion is finally out with a bunch of new features and locations; It doesn't dissapoint. You have the choice of either being a redguard or a vampire. Vampires get to be vampires and redguards get crossbows. But here's my biggest complaint - the content will last you around 8 hours and there aren't a lot of new locations(which I anticipated the most) I think 20 dollars is too much for the ammount of stuff you get, but if it's on a discount it's a definite buy.