Reviews for Jet Set Radio

55

Only For Fans Who Played It

Azrael360 | July 22, 2014 | See all Azrael360's reviews »

To be honest, it was more entertaining back then when it was originally released, because you knew that with the limitations of the hardware of that time, this was an acceptable game. Now, it's a slow clunky mess filled with nostalgia and weird humor. I guess is still fun for the gamers that played the game back then, but for the rest of us, it is not. It's slow, the animations are very basic, the controls are bad and visually it's kind of ugly with saturated colors and annoying music, but still, some nostalgic fans still love it. The PC version feels like an emulated game instead of a remake or improved version.

Not recommended if you didn't play the original, or you'll be disappointed.

90

Amazing port of an amazing game

xAFBx | June 9, 2014 | See all xAFBx's reviews »

(play with a controller, keyboard will ruin the experience)

I may be blinded by nostalgia, because Dreamcast was and is one of my favorite consoles and memories. But this is an amazingly fun game. the soundtrack is a 10/10 for sure, crazy songs i never heard before growing up but I always loved them and they really set the atmosphere. The camera will make you really mad at times and be your worst enemy. but this game is so much fun and a great game to just pick up and kill time with. I'd recommend it to anyone for sure.

I give it a 90 based on just, fun. not the story, controls, camera, etc. Just plain fun, don't read too deep into it :)

85

Very fun game to play!

Zazutuu | June 6, 2014 | See all Zazutuu's reviews »

Jet Set Radio is a great game.The soundtrack fits the game really well,and the gameplay makes the game.The graphics are not that bad considering that it is a pretty old game.You can even make your own graffities.Since it is that cheap i really recommend it for the ammount of fun and the soundtrack.

78

Cooler than a popsicle in December

taigatsu | Feb. 4, 2014 | See all taigatsu's reviews »

When it first came out, Jet Set Radio stood out from the crowd. Even though it's core gameplay seems like a mostly straightforward platforming / score attack style game, the most significant thing that it has to offer is style for miles. Every last detail in the game, from the music, levels and character design, contribute to a self confident vision of a so hip alternate Tokyo where cool rules the streets. The conviction of its setting has so much appeal that is still attractive even today, and the (at the time) revolutionary use of cel-shading means that it holds up remarkably well.

It comes from an earlier era of console gaming, so the camera and controls can be a bit cumbersome, while the challenge level can grow a bit tedious and frustrating, as you are forced to memorize levels to learn the optimal path for each. Once you are in the groove of playing, it becomes easier to overlook these shortcomings and enjoy an experience that has never really been attempted since.

80

An excellent port of a great, yet flawed Dreamcast game!

rockepidemic | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all rockepidemic's reviews »

Jet Set Radio was once of those games that I would always recall while looking fondly upon the Dreamcast era. It featured highly stylized graphics that weren't anywhere near as widespread during that era, and a fantastic, yet varied soundtrack that simply fit the game in every possible way.

That is not to say that the game is without flaws. Returning to it after many years was an excellent reminder of how much of a difference there is in modern games when it comes to the camera and overall controls. And that is not to say that Jet Set Radio has bad controls, by any means. Simply that time and experience has changed our expectations significantly. I felt as thought the sense of speed and rhythm almost feels foreign, and as some of the other reviews have noted, the camera can (and occasionally will) decide to be your worst enemy.

Even so, these are issues with the way that that game was designed, so much as the way that it has been updated. The point being: If you haven't had the opportunity to play Jet Set Radio, give it a try. And even if you have played it before: The game has held up reasonably well over the years, and is worth giving another try.

80

Very nice game

SebaOnePL | Oct. 12, 2013 | See all SebaOnePL's reviews »

Jet Set Radio is a trip back in time when on the market was present the Dreamcast console. I am very glad that after all these years, we got the PC version. With specific graphics even today the game looks nice and can be enjoyed. By the way, does not require a powerful graphics card. The gameplay is quite simple but satisfying. Jet Set Radio works well when I visit my sister and her children, and we can play together. Those who played Jet Set Radio on the Dreamcast I do not have to convince to purchase and any other person I recommend to check this very cool game. A big plus is also a low price.

90

A good classic from the Dreamcast

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

I never played Jet Set Radio on the Dreamcast before, but I have heard of how good it was, so when I got this game during a sale, I had to try it out...and I really does live up to its praise.

The cel-shaded graphics is something that you don't see quite a lot in modern games today, and its look very good even by modern standards.

The gameplay is also quite fun, as you go around Tokyo-to spraying graffiti while avoiding the police, you feel the rush of adrenaline as you complete that last graffiti tag.

The soundtrack is superb, the original tunes by Hideki Nakamura, as well the various other songs fit the game very well, and they are fun to listen to by themselves.

The only complaint I would have is the camera can be wonky at some parts, but overall I had fun with it.

89

Great game hindered by annoying camera and controls

brandoshido | July 5, 2013 | See all brandoshido's reviews »

I know the headline reads negatively but let me say outright that I LOVE THIS GAME. The tutorial walks you through everything you need to know, but even the tutorial is tough. Your skater feels incredibly floaty, and that camera is so gravely bad when you need it the most.

However, I still enjoy this game. The characters are fun to play, the soundtrack is just awesome and perfect for the mood of the game. The graphics still hold up pretty well even 10+ years later. So much of the game is just unique and refreshing. Creating your own pictures to tag on spots in the game worlds can take up a lot of time, and it's nice to have the creative control over it.

Play this game with a controller of some type, keyboard and mouse is something detestable.

65

Nostalgia can only blind for so long..

Sivisx | June 20, 2013 | See all Sivisx's reviews »

The formally known Jet Grind Radio was released way back when on the system that never was. Shadowed by the glory of its' nearly flawless ball of nostalgia that is its' sequel it is hard to want to say anything bad about the series in the whole. That being said I'd rather put this in a hole.

Jet Set Radio Future had some iffs about it, but it was fun and left a deep fissure in your memory with its' upbeat soundtrack and colourful scenarios. This has that as well but where this fell flat on its' cel shaded face its' sequel stood proudly with it's inline skate upon the back of the head of this atrocity.

I won't talk about how great JSRF is anymore, only say that I paid $86.45 for it used at a pawn shop. Instead I will give you my impression of picking this up after so many years.

Gleed was I when I saw this on Android, buying it up mere seconds after it hit the Play store only to find that to this day it is broken and SEGA gives no cares if I can ever play it. Instead I noticed this priced at the same and bought it, now paying for the same game twice. After changing the game files in order for it to run, and downloading a program to slow the fps to a normal speed I jumped right into misery. Only in the second-ish level I am faced with the worst gut wrenching jump to be made in all of creation. Even with all the not-so-generous time given to complete all tags I fail more times worth mentioning before embarrassment settles in. Frustrated but propelled by nostalgia I continue and eventually get passed the jump and complete the stage only to have the game crash without saving making my entire struggle null and pointless.

With all this said the only feeling I get while playing this is the urge to shut it off and play it's much more rounded sequel. Forever may this lay casted in it's shadow like the shadow of a fly on a piece of dung.

...Til SEGA ultimately releases JSRF for PC and everything else because they are a money hungry monster with dead eyes that failed at everything before and suckel at the on the little success they once had.

80

Great Game

kalil | June 8, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Jet Set Radio skates exactly the same as it did back in the day, and smooth, speedy and streamlined skating complements the (at the time) unique art style the game pushed forward. With the return of the original funk-electro-j-pop soundtrack, plus free Gamerpics and 30 achievements, this is a fantastic package of an already fantastic game.

90

My go to game

brewce34 | May 29, 2013 | See all brewce34's reviews »

Man this game is sooo fun to look at. The cel shaded graphics in HD look better than any other cel shaded game I have played. This along with its distinctive urban Asian punk aesthetic made me fall in love. The character design, level design, and soundtrack all work together incredibly well, this game really is a work of art.

But if its style doesn't intrigue you there is still plenty of fun to be had. Like I mentioned before the level design is on point. I always distracted from the main objective of graffiti-ing over graffiti and explore the level looking for secrets, hidden rails, and jumps. The only downside to the gameplay is that you might find it repetitive as it seems like 90% of the time your objective is to graffiti all the tagged spots throughout the level. Occasionally it's something new for example: chasing down a rival gang and having to spray them 10 times each. Or when a new member is available to join your gang, you have to match their moves like a HORSE game in order to unlock them.

I highly recommend using a game-pad, although the game is still playable without it can get frustrating not having complete control. I played the first 2 hours or so keyboard and mouse and it took a couple attempts to beat some of the levels. Anyways for 9.99 you should be getting your moneys worth, just check out a few videos to see if the aesthetic suits you well.

95

Played it on Dreamcast and still playing it now on PC

bulbipop | May 27, 2013 | See all bulbipop's reviews »

An original gameplay but a little hard to master, graphics still nice (one of the first game in cel-shading !), a lot of achievement to unlock, even if some are a little weird (« Start game for the first time » ).

There are also some bonuses over the Dreamcast version like a making of or some songs from Jet Set Radio Future. And about the music... Jet Set Radio has the best Original Sound Track ever made ! And about that there's even a song about Super Mario Bros inside haha. In short JST is really a must have !

85

Coming from somebody who played JSRF first..

Sarkames | May 18, 2013 | See all Sarkames's reviews »

I never got a chance to play the Dreamcast version and I always wanted to after playing JSRF on the original Xbox, but since I played the second one first their were definitely some notable improvements (in my opinion) that weren't existent in the original.

Now, I've played this for about 3-4 hours in total on Steam and.. it's a lot harder than I thought it'd be. The controls are a bit iffy as one would assume from a classic game, but on top of that it's just Japanese-tier difficulty at times. For example, I played the optional tutorial all the way through and they start you off with simple things like.. how to jump, and how to speed up slightly when you first start moving, then 5 minutes later you're doing insane tricks off the wall and flying through the air to get enough momentum to perfectly string together a series of grinds just to get a trick multiplier that ends up being +50, which means you can't mess up and touch the ground once. Took me about 20 minutes to finish the tutorial and I came in thinking i'd have some leftover experience from JSRF, but the game made me look silly, lol. I even ragequit the last time I played this because the level I was playing was ridiculously challenging at one point. Let's just say it involves a really tiny string and the camera in this game isn't the friendliest for landing on those and I ran short on time.

ANYWAY, the occasional difficult moments aside, I've enjoyed every mission so far and I've even recorded gameplay for my friends and significant other to watch because I've always seen this series as the kind of game I wanted to show people so they'd either be freaked out by how bizarre it is or pick it up and play like I did.

To put things into perspective.. the game isn't meant to have a great story and the controls/camera haven't aged well, but between the choice of characters, the graffiti-editing mechanic, the somewhat odd soundtrack and the crazy characters and storyline, it's definitely a great game. If anything else, I get a great laugh out of some of the absurdity.

I highly recommend use of a controller and to not take the game seriously. -85/100

85

Memories

Killy47 | May 11, 2013 | See all Killy47's reviews »

If you have ever played a jet set radio in the past and would like to go back to it's fun and colorfull world go ahead there's still plenty of fun to be haad. Plug a joystick and go back to your dreamcast cherished memories. The music is great, the gameplay is... well it's what you'd expect from a game of this era, and visually the game is still pleasing to the eyes. If you've never heard of Jet Set Radio, well, try it. It's not that expensive.

But really, get a pad first !

95

The Music!!

artropodo | Feb. 20, 2013 | See all artropodo's reviews »

Disclaimer: I don't played the Dreamcast version so i can't compare both edition.

You go around painting graffiti to represent your group, defend and take over rivals territory. The game is really simple, but not easy, the control can be difficult to master. You can create your own graffiti, as you progress you unlock new character that you can use with different attribute. On the graphics area, they are old true, but they still look good and interesting. But my favorite part of the game is the music, no matter how many time i have to repeat a level the music keep me entertain.

90

100% Stylish From Start to End

DeweyDTruman | Jan. 20, 2013 | See all DeweyDTruman's reviews »

I never played Jet Set Radio or it's sequel before this release, but it is truly a wonderful game. In a way it's a perfect encapsulation of everything late 90s. The music is very unique, and the graphics (being one of the first uses of cel-shading) even moreso. While the controls aren't perfect, it's still a truly fun game to play, just as long as you have a controller at hand.

70

Decent port but aged very badly

Scorpy | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Jet Set Radio was, at the time it came out, pretty unique. Its quirky story, in-your-face gameplay and strange gameplay made up for one of the oddest releases from gaming giant Sega.

The game was decent at best when it was released, but it certainly has not aged well. The graphics are certainly dated, but the art style just feels very strange. The port is decent, but it surely could have used a graphics revamping.

This is a bare-bones port, nothing new here. If you're a fan of the original, this will be a sure thing. Otherwise, you might want to do a bit of research.

95

Brilliant game, brings back memories

999flame | Jan. 3, 2013 | See all 999flame's reviews »

This game is truly fantastic. It can get a little difficult at times but other than that the game is an absolute gem to play and the soundtrack is brilliant to boot. One of my favourite games on the Dreamcast besides Sonic Adventure 1 and 2, a must buy!

78

Sega Fan Must Have

DonVercetti | Jan. 2, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

This is one of those hits from Sega, and in my opinion one of my favorites. Due to the fancy graphic style it doesn't age that quickly and this game always had a solid build, that's something games these days seem to have a problem getting hold of. I've spend alot of time in this title when I was way younger, I just recently got it from GMG and loved playing it on steam. It's a great port to pc!

80

A different game

Lippe1989 | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

It is a cool game of an era that people wanted to create something different.The game is interesting with a high level of challenges and good gameplay. The graphics are fantastics even nowadays because of the beautiful art. The gamplay consists of skate in someplaces and use the graffiti to do the objectives. But it is very difficult. You will have to do difficult movements and escape the place because of the the police that always will be after you. It is one of major classic from SEGA Dreamcast and that period of time. I thing that everyone who had the videogame played this game the same way as Sonic Adventure 1 and 2 and other games. So, if you want to play something different, something cool and miss games from other era, do this favor to yourself and buy this game. You will not regret.

70

Another classic from SEGA Dreamcast coming to PC

antonioli84 | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

Jet Set Radio is not a game that emphasizes on story or something like that. The focus are on action, but not something easy as we see nowadays. The movements are very difficult to do depending on the level we are. The mix from graffiti with skating are the main thing and the most interesting. The task of skate and at the same moment go to a wall and do the graffiti are very difficult most because you have to escape from policy. This is insane but I can say that is a good challenge. Most of nowadays games is easy in diffefent ways. They do not challenge us, except if you go on very ultra mega hard option. But it only put more enemies on battlefield or something like that. In Jet Set Radio you will be really challenged but it is a pleasure because the skate is very cool and the mechanics is still good even in 2012. I recommend this game a lot. It is cheap and you will not regret.

83

Gem from the Sega era

Damuel | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all Damuel's reviews »

Though this game is mainly a nostalgia trip, it's still pretty decent for anyone who likes this kind of genre. Imagine it as tony hawk (The good originals) but instead of doing tricks your goal is to reach all the areas you need to spray over.

The graphics aren't too bad, though it's obviously not going to look like something released today. The controls are a little floaty, it's not great with a keyboard and mouse, you'll want a controller/gamepad for this one.

But otherwise the music and sounds are great. If you were a fan of this on the Dreamcast then you'll probably want to pick this up.

85

Why are you reading this? You should be buying it!

stormx360 | Nov. 29, 2012 | See all stormx360's reviews »

Amazing game, that thanks to its cel-shaded art style does not really age visually, The complete soundtrack from the original Dreamcast release is there too, albit one or two songs, Controls however can be a bit flakey, so keep that in mind if you wish to purchase it.

95

Near Perfect Re-release

DanielR | Nov. 19, 2012 | See all DanielR's reviews »

It's an almost perfect conversion of the Dreamcast Classic, nearly all the songs are present and the cel-shaded graphics have aged well and that's good, because the higher resolution isn't that dramatic of an enhancement, also it would have been nice to see some improvement of the control scheme, it's possible to jump and end up grinding where you don't want to, or fail to grind where you intend to, It's most noticeable on Benten where there are walkways and wires where it's necessary to grind to reach tags, pursue rivals or escape the cops. In the other more "open" stages it's does not cause much trouble. Other than that the game is incredibly fun, and the option to make your own graffiti for use in-game is wonderful, just try to play with a gamepad to minimize control issues.

85

One of the best original games from SEGA.

DukePaul | Nov. 15, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

This game is about two things: Doing Graffitis and skating.

The cel shaded graphics gives the game an unique look, for a twelve year old game, It looks gorgeous thanks to HD textures., All the stages and characters are like a living cartoon.

In terms of gameplay this port is smooth, maybe the camera is a bit bad but you will learn to control it properly to move around.

The game has awesome songs, if you played this game in the Dreamcast you will start to remember how good the OST is, the variety is huge.

Also you will need a bit of skill at the beginning, the cops can be annoying to avoid if you are painting the grafitis in the walls but after a short time you will be a master for earn all the achievements.

For this price, it is a must buy.

80

Fast and funny games

Cavalieroscuro | Nov. 15, 2012 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Jet Set Radio hasn't a true story, but it's one of my favourite Dreamcast (before) and PC (now) game. Your goal is really simple: you must paint some graffiti among the city, doing trick skating away from the police, which will try to stop you. The first levels are easy,but then escaping and drawing will be a true challenge! The soundtrack of this game is really good and graphic is nice too see, with its cell shading style. Now the game is only 50% off,and you can use the 25% discount...take it and you will never regret!

70

Still a Great game but hasn't aged that well

fable2 | Oct. 3, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

I was highly anticipated for this HD remake of the Sega Dreamcast classic: Jet Set Radio. The graphics were polished, but was not impressive. I expected the game to look much nicer, and the camera fix button was highly annoying, especially because it is the same button used to spray paint the walls, and the camera was just flailing all over the place. The graphic design on the characters were very dull, and could have been improved, and the game could have used improvements to having tricks, like Jet Set Radio Future (which had everything right). But the goods of this game are:A very good classic soundtrack, Reliving the old days of a classic game on a modern console. If you are a true die hard fan of the game, pick it up, it is worth the 800 points, but if you are not, you will be disappointed.

82

Classic game play, beautiful graphics

das_regal | Oct. 2, 2012 | See all das_regal's reviews »

Jet Set Radio plays just like it used to. From the second you turn it on (assuming you have a controller in hand), the whole experience reminds you of days long past.

And yet despite how faithful this port is, it looks nothing like the original. Not all of the textures have been updated to high resolutions (some buildings still sport low res visuals for instance) but on the whole the graphics have been improved to the point that you will have no difficulty getting into this game even if you didn't play it before.

The game itself, for the uninitiated, is full of incredibly bizarre themes, Japanese humor, and whimsical fun. You perform tricks while skating, spray paint walls, and fight the power. This is all set in a semi-open world environment, which makes it just that much more fun.

I can recommend this game to anyone who's in it for the nostalgia factor, but other people probably want to check out a couple of videos first.

100

One of the best games ever

Sharptap | Sept. 24, 2012 | See all Sharptap's reviews »

I always loved this game, I used to play this on my dreamcast. I wasted hours playing this game and it never got old. When i saw that the game re-released i auto-buyed. And it still awesome. The music is still the same and the new textures are great. The visuals are still good for me and gameplay still is fun. Sometimes there are some bugs but they dont really annoy me. GOTY for me.

90

Still a classic

Cooberstooge | Sept. 23, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Sega has really cottoned onto something here, and they seem to be reading my mind when it comes to which of their old classics they should be releasing. Jet Set Radio ate through tons of hours way back when I was younger, and was the cause for many late marks on homework. The game's easy to pick up style, and unbeatable sense of fun, just make you want to keep playing and never stop.

The original game still manages to look good after all these years, and this remake just takes it to the next level. The HD textures are absolutely superb, and manage to maintain the unique style of the original without destroying it. The sounds are still there, although the disappearance of one track does sting a bit - the best ones are still in, though. The biggest change is of course the fan-made graffiti, much of which knocks the original stuff right out of the water.

Controls translate very well to the mouse and keyboard, unlike the majority of the AAA ports lately. Characters control well, and there's still a solid variety of people present to choose from. Tagging rival gang members still is the big highlight with this one, and just never gets old. Bug-wise, I've yet to have any crashes, although I did lag slightly during scenes of heavy action - not enough to be a game-breaker, but noticeable.

At a perfect price point, and with many hours of guaranteed fun, you really can't go wrong with a purchase of Jet Set Radio for pc - the classics never die, no matter what platform you play them on.

70

Classic but didn't age well

danteveli | Sept. 23, 2012 | See all danteveli's reviews »

Jet Set Radio is representative of that crazy time of arcade games on Dreamcast when Sega was still powerful and innovative. Rollerskating and graffiti are 2 main components of the game. We are in sad totalistic future Tokyo controlled by evil government and 2 mentioned elements are best way of opposition. On every level there are spots we have to tag and cans of paint to grab. We are limited by time, plus there are other spots to leave of mark. We move on roller-skates and can do simple tricks but its nowhere near Tony Hawk Pro Skater level. Gameplay is interesting but as with many arcade type titles it can get boring really fast. Graphic still looks good thanks to that comic book like style that aged quite well. Music is still fresh. Overall its cool port of Dreamcast game that just doesn't quite work in this age. Controls are not up to standards and there is not really much to do and everything is really repetitive. Still the nostalgia makes it worthy purchase with that price.

90

A little masterpiece

Zinzun | Sept. 23, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

This game is all about fun. You must fight against time and make graffiti,creating your own crew,unlocking other character etc. The difference between this and the Dreamcast version is that you must paint using your keyboard/pad the graffiti,is not automatic this time. If the police try to catch you...simply paint them and run away! Great title,with cell shading graphics ,a good price and great replay value.

75

Great game but aged poorly

Darkslayer16 | Sept. 22, 2012 | See all Darkslayer16's reviews »

It was a great game when it first came out and if you have good memories of it then you will still probably enjoy it, but if it's your first time playing it some of the mechanics can be annoying. The time restraint and camera would be the main things that didn't age well but the art style and music are still good.

90

Amazing

jeyko | Sept. 21, 2012 | See all jeyko's reviews »

Jet Set Radio is one of my favourite games ever. And it is finally out on PC. It's still as great as a remember. Also, just a tip: the game's a lot better to control with a controller. Almost all the music from the original is actually in the rerelease. The visuals are upscaled to whatever resolution you are playing on. The textures aren't all that amazing, but the game does not look bad in any way. I just love that a big company like Sega actually care about the PC market and would love to see more games being rereleased for this platform.