Reviews for Sonic Adventure™ 2

70

Great Game, Awful PC Port

combodombie | March 5, 2014 | See all combodombie's reviews »

Sonic Adventure 2 is a great game. It has awesome music, a very good story, and (most of the time) great gameplay.

However, DON'T GET THE PC VERSION. Why? Well, the controls are incredibly confusing to understand, the game runs like CRAP (I have a stable computer that can run most of my game library at about 30-60 FPS), with a horrible frame rate. If you want to get the game, just get the Gamecube, Dreamcast, Xbox Live or PSN versions instead.

70

Pretty Fun, but Be Warned

faerie241 | Nov. 28, 2013 | See all faerie241's reviews »

I do like this game quite a bit. Sonic is a cute little speed ball as he always is, and the level design is ingenious. The biggest issue with this game is the controls. This is a really poor PC port from the standpoint of actually controlling sonic. The buttons are different from any other standard PC game, and to make matters worse, they do not give keyboard button prompts, only controller prompts. This game is fun, but only if you are willing to fork out money to buy yourself a controller.

95

old yet great but not quite perfect

lemeure | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all lemeure's reviews »

This game has a few flaws like often clipping through geometry, or other minor bugs, but still stands as one of the best 3d sonic games. A great title, it has a decent story with missions repayable for differing goals, finish in a certain time, get 100 rings as fast as you can, etc. it give a lot for those who like to 100% a game. this is the game that introduces shadow the hedgehog as well as introducing rouge the bat. if you like the newer sonic games or had this game on the dreamcast or gamecube, get it. it does it justice.

76

A Timeless Classic

taythib | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all taythib's reviews »

Back in the late 90s, many games were making their transitions to 3D, and Sonic Adventure 2 was the the second attempt at Sonic's foray into this rather new territory. Playing as classic Sonic characters such as Tails, Knuckles, and of course, Sonic, and also newer playable characters such as Shadow the Hedgehog, Rouge the Bat, and Robotnik, you progress through quite an interesting story. Sonic and Shadow's levels are by far the best constructed, containing nonstop fast-moving platforming and a memorable soundtrack. The games flaws are really in the other 6 characters' levels, which consists of run-and-gun and treasure hunting and bogs down the game as a whole due to a poor camera and controls. In the end, the enjoyment of the platforming levels far exceeds the flaws and makes for a quite fun game.

92

Fantastic!

beclauss | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all beclauss's reviews »

Back in the old days, I didn't have a dreamcast or gamecube, despite me wanting to play this gane. Now that it is FINALLY on PC, I can play now, and I don't regret buying this game at all. I recommend this game to ANY sonic fan out there!

78

Great game for a Classic remake

cordin | Sept. 1, 2013 | See all cordin's reviews »

This game is great for it split good and bad storyline, but robot missions, this game gives you the back story to shadow, The ultimate life form. as you play through this game you are going to have a great time with the sonic/shadow levels, the controls are fine, but the stability of the PC version is slightly below par, but its still worth a try. have fun.

100

My god, the nostalgia.

Garacaius | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all Garacaius's reviews »

This was the last good sonic game for a while, and while graphically it's a little dated it's still a fun play. And the music is great.

85

nostalgic

Xillion | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

Sonic Adventure 2 is a really great game. You get play as both sonic and shadow. It was great on the gamecube and now its a lot better on PC. If you ever want that nostalgic feeling, i recommend you get this!

81

Throwback to the Past

M1ghtyMan | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all M1ghtyMan's reviews »

I suppose nostalgia more than anything else made me purchase this game for PC and I have to say, i'm quite glad I did. Sure it's not perfect, perhaps it doesn't hold up amazingly well, but it's still a great, fun timewaster and a throwback to the heyday of Sonic that I will always cherish.

82

If you love Sonic, you'll love this game

lucaswrite | Aug. 3, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

I'm a diehard fan of the Sonic series, and I absolutely admire this game. If you've never played a Sonic game, you might not see what's so special about this certain title. Back in the days of the Gamecube and PS2 you would've loved it, but now it just doesn't hold up the same. But to people who enjoyed it then, or have enjoyed Sonic, it certainly does. The music is amazing, and the levels are creative. Some levels are quite annoying and get really repetitive though, but it's not nearly as bad as Sonic 06 or Sonic Unleashed. Check this Sonic game out, it's probably one of the top 3 Sonic games of all time.

67

Classics aren't perfect

ogmonicker | June 19, 2013 | See all ogmonicker's reviews »

At the time of its release, this game was hailed by many as the pinnacle of the Sonic series, and to this day, this remains true to many fan's opinions. Unfortunately, after being ported to the PC over a decade after its release, one might realize the game was not so perfect after all. Iffy controls, poor sound effects, and a laughable script with corny voice acting all bring this game down.

Had Sega decided to make an HD remake and added multiplayer, rather than make a lazy port, I would actually recommend this game to others. However, because they didn't, I'll just say this: get it only if you wish to relive your childhood.

76

Quite Good!

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Can't say too much about it. Still a awesome game, but with the same issue of bugs it has in SA1 for PSN/XBLA, Shadow NA voice acting still terrible and from the rest of NA voice acting as well (rather the JP VA but still not so good because I can't hear anything they say when the BG Music is too loud). There's probably some people would to kill my but I hate the Escape from the City music die. I prefer Live 'n Learn uses phoenix down. I think nowadays I like Sonic because his character, not from his games anymore. Sorry, but it's true. Anyway, go have fun and play it.

80

A great 3d sonic game.

ultrapwnd | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all ultrapwnd's reviews »

Sonic adventure 2 is one of the best 3d sonic games to date, The story is that Dr. Eggman has discovered a secret weapon "Project Shadow" or as we later find out Spoiler Alert!(Sorta) Shadow the hedgehog, the story can get kind of convoluted for a sonic game but still is definitely fun. There are 3 Diffirent gameplay modes, Running as Shadow or Sonic, the funnest of the 3, Digging for emeralds as Rouge or Knuckles and Shooting as Eggman or Tails. Shooting and Digging can get boring at times but still are able to keep you entertained. The game is not without it's faults though. It does feel a bit aged, albeit not as much as Sonic adventure. If you want to revisit a great game for your childhood, or are playing this for the first time, I recommend Sonic adventure 2

75

A nice Sonic

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Even if it isn't good as the first one, Sonic Adventures 2 DX is a good Sonic game. You can still use different characters, there is a new feature to raise your own pet (but...is not good, is not what fans want from a Sonic game), there are competitive modes to take a pause from the singleplayer game...yes, there are some mistakes and the porting is not one of the best Sega did recently, but this is still a good and honest game.

74

Overrated, but still decent

DeweyDTruman | Jan. 20, 2013 | See all DeweyDTruman's reviews »

The Adventure games always get this reputation of being the last good titles the blue blur had until Sonic Unleashed in 2008, but personally I feel this is overrating what they are. Neither of them are particularly amazing, and honestly are held up on tent poles for being the first rather than being the best. That said, they are still playable, and I'd be lying if I said 95% of the appeal was anything but the chao garden, which has always been the best part regardless.

90

The day Sonic died

Scorpy | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Until Sonic Generations (with the exception of Sonic Colors), Sonic had never been the same. Sonic Adventure 2 perfected the 3D Sonic formula, and put every game after it to shame. From the great music, to the impressive graphics and gameplay, Sonic Adventure 2 really shines.

Pick it up as soon as you can. The voice acting is bad in a good way and it just has so much charm.

99

Why haven't you bought this game already?

999flame | Jan. 3, 2013 | See all 999flame's reviews »

Honestly, Sonic Adventure 2 is one of the only reasons I held onto my Dreamcast for so long, the game is just FANTASTIC. You'll be pretty hard put to find a negative review of the game anywhere on the internet, that I can assure you. The game is almost 100% perfect.

90

The last great Sonic game until Generations

Lippe1989 | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

As the title says, Sonic Adventure 2 is the last great Sonic game until this recent Sonic Generations. We have a lot of criticism about the 3D Sonic games. I completely agree with it, but it is not all that way. The main problem is after the Sonic Adventure 2 we had a lot of bad Sonic 3D games and even the 2D era not the same as before. But Sonic Adventure 2 are different. The gameplay is very interesting. If you compare with the ultimate Sonic Generations will notice that it is not so different. The mechanics is similar (of course that the last one is more polished). You will basically fight with a enemy. Sonic x Shadow; Eggman x Tails (as pilots of a robots); Knuckles x Rouge, for example. The other interesting thing is that you can play in the two sides: as Sonic and its team or Dr. Eggman and his team. It is a amazing game, a classic from SEGA, from Dreamcast and it deserves to be played!

95

One of the best Dreamcast games

antonioli84 | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

Sonic is Sonic. We all know. But we also know that Sonic franchise has its problems. Maybe Sonic Adventure 2 was the last great Sonic game until the very good Sonic Generations. Sonic Adventure 1, Sonic Adventure 2 and Sonic Generations were the best 3D thing that SEGA did about the franchise. But what is special about this game? So, first of all I can say that is different from the first one, Sonic Adventure 1. The first one gave you a freedom to go around the places and choose when start to run. Adventure 2 also gives us the opportunity to play with other characters but not only it: you can choose to play with Sonic and its friends side or with Dr. Eggman and the others villains. So, depends on what you choose you will challenge the other side with the corresponding character. For exemple, if you choose Sonic you will face Shadow in a race. If you choose Knuckles you will face Rouge exploring the scenario to find the pieces of emerald. The game also has a multiplayer that works like I said. If you are or not a big fan of Sonic you must buy and play this game. It is an obligation.

95

One of the Best

Dsc | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all Dsc's reviews »

Sonic Adventure 2 was easily one of the best games on the Dreamcast, and the Gamecube as well once it was ported over. I spent many many hours of my life playing this game.

The gameplay of the game is fantastic. The Sonic/Shadow levels give a nice feeling of speed. The Tails/Eggman levels play just like E101-GAMMA's levels from Sonic Adventure, though improved in every way. The Knuckles/Rouge levels have you on a fun little scavenger hunt for fragments of the Master Emerald, though some levels have you hunt other items.

The real gem, in my opinion, is the Chao Garden. Growing up, the Chao Garden is where I spent most of my time. The Chao Garden is basically a virtual pet garden where you care for little balls of adorable called the Chao. During normal gameplay you come across animals and little energy vials that you can give to your chao to change their appearance and stats. Chao stats affect how well they preform in the Chao Olympics minigames which are a lot of fun to watch. Honestly, I think the game deserves an amazing rating on the Chao Garden alone.

Now, as much as I love this game, it does have its problems. Odd Camera angles can throw you off a bit, which is most noticeable on the Tails/Eggman levels, and while you're flying around as Knuckles/Rouge.

Also, the voice acting for the most part is laughably bad.

91

Best Sonic Game

Abomb7894 | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all Abomb7894's reviews »

This game was my child hood. When I saw it came to the PC, I was go happy to purchase it, as I lost my memory card for my Game cube. In all honesty, if you're not a Sonic fan, you probably won't like it. When I actually watch the story and plot, I find so many things laughable. But hey, I love the game play and especially the chao garden. As far as the game play goes, it is a direct port. It runs fine on my computer, if I remember correctly I had a few instances where it dropped in FPS, but I doubt it was the game. The controls on a keyboard aren't too bad, I get used to them. A controller is probably definitely better for game play. It definitely takes some time to beat,180 emblems. If you can get multi player with a friend, it adds a whole other dimension of fun. For $10, buy it. Good game, good price.

90

Not just Sonic

kairegister | Nov. 30, 2012 | See all kairegister's reviews »

Sonic Adventure 2 is more than just playing Sonic going fast and jumping around. You also play as Tails and Robotnik, who controls a big machine that shoots things and flies a little. You also play as Knuckles and Rouge to find hidden treasure.

There's one more thing, the Chao Garden. As you play the game and collect rings, you can raise a cute creature call "Chao", and play games with them like race and karate. You'd be surprised how much you will enjoy these Chao.

100

Amazing, not much more can be said

stormx360 | Nov. 29, 2012 | See all stormx360's reviews »

Released originally on the Dreamcast, it still stands today as one of my favorite games of all time, There are multiple characters (each with very varied gameplay), three single player stories (although they do overlap a bit) I couldn't praise it more. The only downside is its basically only playable if you have a controller. The port is decent too, although you will need to enable v-sync or the game will run too fast.

90

Best sonic 3D game

Sharptap | Nov. 22, 2012 | See all Sharptap's reviews »

I first played this game on Dreamcast and i really loved it like i loved the other sonic games.The graphics are good like any other dreamcast game , the controls ... Well they are not very good but you can change that. The soundtrack is great since the first level , the gameplay is one of the best , it really gives you the sense of speed and it feels very good. Must buy for everyone.

88

The best of Sonic in 3D

panz3r88 | Nov. 22, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Sonic Adventure 2 represents with its predecessor one of the best 3D Sonic game ever made. Basically this is Sonic Adventure with a good story, many new characters and game modes. There are basically 3 different type of levels: with character like Sonic you will face the classical levels where you must go from the beginning to the end to the level as fast as you can using all Sonic abilities. With character like Tails the levels are full of enemies and object to destroy. In the end there are levels where you must find some objects in order to proceed, like in a treasure hunt. Other game mode include the possibility to replay each stage and boss battle and a kart racing mode, very funny. Sonic Adventure 2 is really a good platform and a must buy for Sonic fan-

92

Works great. Nothing new but nothing ruined!

chrissomerry | Nov. 21, 2012 | See all chrissomerry's reviews »

This is pretty much a straight port of the original game. So, nothing particularly special happening here. What is good though is that the game supports widescreen, all sorts of useful resolutions, saves automatically, has achievements, and ultimately doesn't cut anything (although battle mode has to be bought separately, so I can't test how well that works yet).

For people who missed out when this was on Dreamcast and Gamecube, now's a good chance to get it like myself.

In addition, this Sonic game has great handling compared to other 3D titles, and alongside Sonic Adventure, but even more so than it, stands as a classic Sonic game. Perhaps, when the current dislike towards the Hedgehog in Blue due to some missteps dissipates, this game will help bring the credibility of the 3D Sonic games up to compare with the more favourably seen 2D Sonic games.

100

The sonic game that made me play all sonic games.

meowish | Nov. 19, 2012 | See all meowish's reviews »

And I got disappointed by all sonic games I played (But not all were bad just disappointing), except for generations and colors! This is BY FAAAR the best sonic game I played and the game that made me a sonic fan. Could take more than 250 hours to complete the game 100% and not to mention that the multiplayer is TONS of fun!

88

Awesome sonic game!

CJV | Nov. 19, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

I remember playing this on a dreamcast, oh good old memories. It was a time where sonic still was expected with some excitement, before the series went downhill. Now it seems to be right on track with Sonic Generations but Sonic Adventure 2 was the last good sonic 3D game before that. It probably didn't age that well but I'm still going to play it and enjoy the hell out of it!

90

Last great Sonic game I played

sweetcuppincake | Sept. 28, 2012 | See all sweetcuppincake's reviews »

The music, the speed, the tiny chao garden... This was a great game when I played it on Game Cube. Having lost contact with Sonic after selling my Genesis, this was my reunion with the series. It was fantastic. Very different from the 2d sidescrolling of the the earlier games, this game expanded greatly on the Sonic formula. There are 6 playable characters and 3 modes of play. For instance, Sonic and Shadow both do the fast thing: running, grinding rails, and performing combo attacks to cross large gaps. Bottom line: this game is fun. While the earlier Sonic games were pretty bare-bones when it came to story, Adventure 2 actually has a fairly decent storyline. With the great gameplay and awesome(ly silly) music, this game is unquestionably at the top of the list of Sonic games. And I didn't even tell you about raising your own chao.

90

A good 3D Sonic game.

jeyko | Aug. 8, 2012 | See all jeyko's reviews »

Firstly, I played this on Dreamcast. I did not like other Sonic 3D games, but Sonic Adventure 2 blew me away and is still to day one of my favourite platformers ever. It's just so addictive - I have completed it about 3-4 times already. The controls are tight; the graphics are fairly good for a Dreamcast and the thing which other Sonic games tend to get wrong - the feeling of speed - is just right in this one. Get it when it comes out on GMG!!!