Reviews for The Cave

81

Thought out platformer

zipnox | June 6, 2014 | See all zipnox's reviews »

I was unsure of what to expect from The Cave, going through it with no expectations I was pleasantly suprised by a dark comical adventure that comes with a healthy dose of replayability.

The story drives the game forward, together with the platforming and puzzle mechanics this makes for a great experience with plenty of memorable moments. Short but sweet

If you get the chance to play this gem, don't hesitate to give it a try. I had a blast and I'm sure you will too.

88

2D is not dead yet.

Zazutuu | June 6, 2014 | See all Zazutuu's reviews »

The Cave is one of the best 2D games out there.You can control 3 of the 7 characters. Each character has its own story.The graphics look amazing and the humor in the game is awesome.You can control 1 character and that is not a good thing because sometimes you will have to control every character and move them to the required location.The puzzles are not that hard and I really enjoyed the game.

75

Another great game from Double Fine Productions

xarabas02 | April 6, 2014 | See all xarabas02's reviews »

If you still feel the need to play some more quality adventure games after Psychonauts or Costume Quest, then The Cave is definitely a game for you! It features seven playable characters with three to choose from at any moment so replay value is pretty good in that aspect. You will also be impressed with great level design and amazing soundtrack. Humor is also one of the other selling points about this game, but it's not like you would expect anything less from a game made by talented bunch of Double Fine.

80

There May Be Unforseen Consequences

CrimsonWizard | Jan. 31, 2014 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

The Cave is a Platform Adventure game starring seven (technically eight) characters who seek out the title dropping cave in their quest for their greatest desire, or perhaps redemption. The Double Fine team did an excellent job in keeping things ambiguous enough with the story to give The Cave some mystery and intrigue while still helping you understand the motivations and backstory of the characters you choose. The humorous wit of Ron Gilbert is in full effect here from the snarky comments from the narrator who voices the cavern itself, to the colorful supporting characters along the way.

In terms of gameplay, The Cave plays like a mix between LucasArts' classic adventure Maniac Mansion and Blizzard's (from long long ago) Lost Vikings. Both titles gives you a team of three characters to navigate puzzles using each hero's unique ability, using Maniac Mansion's humor while Lost Viking's level based structure and platform elements are used in lieu of one interconnected area you click around on. It's a good idea to mix, but The Cave doesn't do either particularly well with the platforming rather basic, the puzzles being decent, but nothing that's going to test your brain too hard, and it's overall a bit short.

It also pulls another page from Maniac Mansion that's hurts it a bit. Since you can only go through the adventure with three characters, you only get to see three of the interesting stories play out at a time. That means to really see everything, you need to play at least 3 times. One could argue that this is part of the reason the game is shorter, so that you can replay with the new characters to experience more of the stories. It's rather tedious though when only certain levels are changed for the characters, but others are completely the same as the first play-through. Also, the fact that each character has a unique ability is mostly wasted. Outside of their unique level, each character only really gets to use their special ability once or twice total in other stages. In contrast, other puzzle platformer games like Lost Vikings or the Trine games require constant teamwork to navigate each stage. While I'd argue that The Cave trumps both games in story, it's sorely lacking in terms of gameplay.

On a good note, one thing I can compare The Cave to with Trine is that this game looks really nice. Despite being in a cave, Double Fine did a great job making every area unique and adding little details to make their world stand out, adding to the mystery and the stories of the characters. While the music is forgettable ambiance, the voice work of The Cave's narrator is well done, really hitting you right at home when you've acted on something.

Overall, this game feels like a Double Fine game. What does that mean? It means that they've managed to build up a very unique world with great visuals, interesting characters with dark pasts, good voicework to add to the mood, and gameplay that sounds good on paper, but doesn't execute as well as you'd hope. It's not bad, and the sum of it's parts is great, but The Cave leaves me with the same feeling I had with recent titles the developer made like Costume Quest where I wanted to like it more than I did. It's no Psychonauts, but if you're looking at The Cave as an story experience with some simple puzzles to vary the pattern, then give it a go. If you're looking for a game though with meatier gameplay while still retaining some wit and fantastic graphics, try out Trine 1 and 2 instead.

92

Best platformer of 2013

gforcesa | Dec. 25, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

One of the best platformers i've played this year.In the beginning you have to choose a couple of characters to play as.in the entire game.Each character has a different ability and has their own story.The graphics are very enjoyable and the art of the levels is greatly done.When you complete the game you might want to go back and play it with different characters which will add a whole new experience to the game.Double Fine have made a great game and i recommend you try it out

85

Cave-alicious

TPCGorillaMunch | Nov. 23, 2013 | See all TPCGorillaMunch's reviews »

The Cave is a fun game in which the player chooses three characters to use from seven, with each character having a different ability. Using the three chosen characters the player must complete different puzzles, some can be quite difficult.

The game is reasonably short, however, can be replayed using different characters giving a different story and different levels unique to each character. The cave is quite dark and humorous and an enjoyable game that is worth playing.

The game is very fun played in single player but even better when played with a friend.

73

Surprisingly dark.

MSJ | Nov. 21, 2013 | See all MSJ's reviews »

Despite the art direction, the darker elements of the game is a pleasant surprise. Each of the characters you can play have their own backgrounds that gets revealed through both their own unique levels and the great comic panels you can find throughout the game. None of the stories also necessarily end with a poetic comeuppance too. The narrator can be annoying for some, I find his presence tend to liven thins up a bit.

The puzzles are mostly pretty simple to figure out, but the execution can be complicated due to the player having to manage three characters (but you can only control one at a time). The characters also have to be brought to a location individually, except at the start or end of certain sequences. Backtracking is thus a must, and it can get tedious. I must also complain that despite each character having a unique ability most of the time they are unused except in the aforementioned character-specific level.

It's a fairly short game, and you can replay it at least once to see all the unique character stories. It will satisfy your adventure game puzzle-solving itch, and the characters can be memorable, but in the end it is let down a bit by some of the design decisions.

85

Fun puzzle platformer

Fantus | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all Fantus's reviews »

I enjoy this game. I find the multiple characters that work well in different situations to be an interesting mechanic. And I feel it works well for a lot of the puzzles.

The game is realtively short, and provides minimal challenge. However, the atmosphere and overall impression the game leaves you with is well worth the price of admission.

If you are looking for a deep challenge to overcome, you might want to look elsewhere. But if you want a fun game experience, this should do just fine.

90

In loving memory of Maniac Mansion

el_pelado95 | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all el_pelado95's reviews »

Ron Gilbert is a genius. Double Fine is a exellent company. Of course, this game is a masterpiece.

The characters are just great. Each one haves his own story (someones really fun and others really sad) and his own abilities. You can only choose 3 at the moment, so you can play this game a lot of times and getting differents stories.

The best part if, obviusly, the Cave. The jokes are outstanding.

This is a cool game, just like the old adventure graphic games. You must play this game.

82

Fun, Entertaining, and Honestly not easy

jrod7405 | July 23, 2013 | See all jrod7405's reviews »

I seriously enjoy this game. I'm halfway through it and don't understand the critical comments. The only thing i don't like is that i wish the controls were just a wee bit tighter. Other than that, it's a lot of fun and I have trouble solving the puzzles sometimes ( 3rd mine cart took me awhile to figure out a critical step and twins mansion I was stumped until I gave up and got a hint that allowed me to finish the level ). It's not an awesome game,but it's a great time and I'll go replay to see the missing levels from the adventurer and knight. Is is Psychonauts, NOPE, but it's a good game and priced correctly. I got it for a a steal on a 75% off sale here at GMG and it's well worth the price.

80

Good adventure

Alfa8789 | July 8, 2013 | See all Alfa8789's reviews »

It's a good game. I think of it as a mix of an adventures games. The possibility of selecting 3 from 7 characters with distinct abilities is the main positive thing about the game, because it gives you a lot of possibilities. I just think the "Cave" humour could be a little less forced but it's very funny. For 3.74 € Reccomended !

89

Maybe not a new "Maniac Mansion" but still a shiny gem

feelingtheblank | July 5, 2013 | See all feelingtheblank's reviews »

Expectations are quite high if the topic is Ron Gilbert, the mastermind behind the adventure classics like Maniac Mansion, Monkey Island and Day of the Tentacle...

The Cave is his last piece of hilariousness. While it doesn't manage to make a room for itself along these grand classics, surely becomes a very precious gem in our current gaming climate.

Great concept, cool story full of sophisticated dark humour where you are going to explore your darkest desires, clever puzzles, hilarious dialogues, colourful and vivacious graphics, nice level designs, fun gameplay which combines platforming and adventure-esque gameplay, and really interesting back stories, personalities and special skills for each of 7 characters.

The Cave has its own problems however. Like having too much backtracking along some levels which hurts the replay value a bit. Also if you play the game alone you may find switching between characters a bit tiresome, since you are going to control 3 of the characters at the same time. The Cave really shines if you experience this adventure with some friends. But not having an online co-op feature is a serious downside unfortunately.

All in all the game is a great value and a must play if you enjoy puzzle-platformers with dark humour and interesting story which it has something to say. Even it's worth paying the full price.

82

Fun romp through a gorgeous world.

samlii | June 13, 2013 | See all samlii's reviews »

I love the art direction in this game, so whimsical and fun. However the over use of back tracking, and the strange non-existence of the non location characters bring this down a little. Don't get me wrong I love Ron Gilbert and I think his good points come through in this, I just don't think its as co-op friendly as they wanted it to be.

92

Fantastic and amazing

kalil | June 8, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Since the beginning of the game and we take our first laugh of many that will come later with his dramatic narrator (The Cave) telling the story of the different characters that each have a story and scenarios.

Gameplay: The game is fun and addictive with its mechanics. The keys to be used are simple: arrow keys, special Power (Q) and interaction with the environment (E). The game also we have prepared many puzzles that from the first minute of the game and thinking we have to do.

Technology: The physics of objects and very good graphics engine which makes it very smooth and optimized.

Graphics: In graphics is similar to "Trine 2" although you can not really enjoy the colorful aspects of the game as this presents an aspect-style Gothic Tim Burton but this remains to be good graphics.

Sound: The sound of things like the soundtrack is very good what you deep into the game.

Innovation: With a subject as aforesaid Gotham humorous touch as appropriate and great puzzles, all along I had never seen in another it does great, original game without any other game that compares in style.

81

Ron Gilbert is back!

Gwildor | June 4, 2013 | See all Gwildor's reviews »

The Cave is a great game and everyone that had a chance to play classic adventure games back in th 80s will immediately get it. It's part platforming, part puzzle solving, filled with dark (sometimes witty) humor. There are 7 characters, each with an unique perk and exclusive level. But I confess I was expecting (much) more. With such pedigree (I mean, this these guys are part of gaming royalty), I expected the Cave to deliver much more. By the end, I did not feel that much compelled to give another playthrough and, honestly, felt kind of disapointed with how the events are concluded. It felt lose, like something was missing. They should patch it, I don't know, give a free DLC or something. The Cave is not a complete game in my honest opinion. It's almost there... but not THERE yet

72

Replay value is not what it seems

mungchung | May 21, 2013 | See all mungchung's reviews »

I have played through this game 5 times and the game becomes more of a chore after multiple plays. Only thing driving me was experiencing all the characters story-lines. My first and second play thrus were very enjoyable and entertaining. It became repetitive and harder to sit and play after that. Each play thru is not random and is more of completing the character's story is a different order. So if you have a previously played character in your starting group, their story will always be the same but doing stuff differently I think can result in different endings. The experience is very unique and I think every fan of this genre should give it a try. But definitely pick it up during a sale if you are on a budget.

82

Worth the Trouble

bradleytown503 | May 4, 2013 | See all bradleytown503's reviews »

This game is really enjoyable. The stories are actually pretty hilarious, and the gameplay and puzzles are enough of a challenge to warrant replay.

Admittedly, playing this single player is the lesser of two possible experiences. Having to constantly switch between characters is a bit of a hassle. It is completely worth it, and the controls and graphics really help make it more manageable.

Multiplayer is the ideal way to play this game, and if you use controllers, having more than one can really help if you're a local multiplayer like myself.

All-in-all this game is fully worth picking up even to play alone, as the gimmick of having three characters becomes second-nature pretty quickly.

67

Bad game designs is it's demise

MDuh | May 4, 2013 | See all MDuh's reviews »

So What is the cave, well it’s a coop puzzle platformer made by double fine productions. Double fine is responsible for games like pyschonauts, brutal legends, costume quest and etc.

Gameplay: The game supports up to 3 players locally. So you start on the game by picking 3 of the 7 characters introduced at the start. You are greeted by the cave’s a charming voice, yes it is a talking cave. Each of the characters has their own dark and deep story behind them and also, a counter dark story if you chose to. So there’s replayability potential on this game, completionist rejoice! Basically the game asks you to uncover the secrets below the cave. Riddled by numerous puzzles and also levels on the character you picked to learn more about his storyline. Each of the characters has its own special abilities so there will be instances that you need a specific character to reach a part of a level, adding more replayability points for the game.

The puzzle in this game ranges from logical to annoying, most of the puzzles are designed to utilize all 3 characters in solving the puzzles. Sometimes it’s just a smooth breeze solving it, but also there are times where it is annoying enough that you wouldn’t expect to solve the puzzle in that manner. Another factor that adds to the annoyances on this game is the lack of split screen support. It was supposed to be a coop game but they purposedly lock the camera to a certain distance. If one of you ventured far enough on the camera, it will prevents you from doing so OR, the worst part is, it will move the camera focus the one guy. You can imagine how annoying that is for the other 2 players playing with you. Another annoyance on the game is it doesn’t have any AI. Yes, If you are playing it alone, you are required to control the 3 of characters 1 by 1. At least they should add a follow mechanic for the AI right? Since it is a platformer, you are guaranteed to jump a certain ledge 3 times, climb the stairs 3 times, swim to 1 point 3 times and etc. The lack of AI also means replaying the game becomes a hassle. But the main gripe for me in this game is the lack of inventory feature, you are only allowed to hold 1 item every character, so you are wondering, how this becomes an annoyance? Well, in some larger maps that involves puzzles, there are instances that you need to use an item and also need to station one of your characters to an area ready to press the button or pull a lever. If one of your character holding an item required to do a task in another end of the map, it becomes a chore to walk your character to the other side of the map to drop that item and bring back him again to that lever or button.

Gameplay score: 5.5/10

That’s all for gameplay, lets head to graphics.

Graphics and performance: The game has its own unique style and graphics on it, Graphic style is really good and I don’t seen any levels that is poorly made and designed graphically. The atmosphere of the game fits the game and story surprisingly well, they managed to fit a carnival, a castle, a forest and many more in the cave and it doesn’t look weird at all. The game has some performance issues though, fraps says that I’m running the game @ 60fps, but it doesn’t look like it, it feels and plays like a 30fps game. I’m not sure if the devs have already addressed this issue because I know at release, the game was locked at 30fps.

Graphics and performance score: 8/10

Sound and Dialogues: The fact that I didn't think about the sounds while I’m making the review means it’s good. If it didn’t bothered me at all, then it means it fits the atmosphere ad motif of the game really well. For dialogues, nothing much to say, the characters are mute, but the humorously good narrator makes dialogues fun to hear garnering a perfect score for this department.

Sound and Dialogues score: 10/10

Final verdict and Is it worth it?: The game was released in multiple platforms. But since it is a PC review, we are only concerned on PCs. The game was released on the steam platform on January 22 2013 and since then, the game has dropped below 5$ since the release of this review from nuuvem and gamersgate.

For what’s it worth, me and my sister finished one playthrough in around 4.5 hours, right exactly from the average time that howlongtobeat.com has posted. As I said earlier, there is replayability potential in the game. The game can be replayed up to 5 times to unlock all the story behind of each character. There are 14 stories to be unlocked 2 from each character branching out. It’s hard to replay the game though since it feels doing 3 of the 6 puzzles again becomes a major chore annoyance (the game has 6 levels, 3 of which is given regardless of the characters you chose, and 3 from each of the character). If you can tolerate the annoyances in the game and it’s repetition, then this will be a good buy for you.

For 15$, I think it’s a good experience playing the game and also with its unique atmosphere. but I suggest to get the game at least on 50% sale due to its design flaw and repetition. For that price, I think it’s worth it.

Final score(60:30:10 ratio): I give a 60:30:10 ratio for this game because gameplay is much more important for a platform puzzle game netting the game a final score of:

Overall Score: 6.7/10

85

Solid Fun

pswan77 | April 29, 2013 | See all pswan77's reviews »

I recommend it. The game is fun. It reminds me of a blend of Limbo and Trine. The puzzles aren't too hard, but there are some really good ones in there that had me stumped for a while. There are seven characters to choose from, but only three can be chosen for each run thru the game. To see the whole game, it will need to be finished at least twice. I did complete all the character-specific levels. The Scientist and the Time Traveler levels were my favorites. They were all good, though, except for possibly the level for The Monk and The Knight. They were too short and too easy. They were still ok, though. There are several sections that are a part of every run-through regardless of the characters chosen. The writing is funny and the voice acting is really well done. It took about 12 or so hours to see all of the game. The art style is cartoony and pleasant. The graphics are serviceable, but nothing special. The first time dynamite blew up, the explosion crashed the game. Other than that, it ran flawlessly at a smooth 60fps throughout. My biggest gripe with the game is the amount of back tracking. There is so much back-and-worth when trying to figure out the puzzles for the first time and climbing ropes takes forever. It's not a huge deal, but its something that's ever present. Overall, The Cave was a really enjoyable experience.

70

Good atmosphere

warnold | April 28, 2013 | See all warnold's reviews »

I've been waiting for this game as a fan of the point and click adventures by Ron Gilbert. The game's sense of humor, as well as the settings, and the overall atmosphere are great. However, without an inventory the puzzles tend to be a bit on the easy side. Another issue that others have mentioned as well is too much backtracking. It's no fun to run through a huge level for the 4th time to pick up that one item, then all the way back with it...

The game's built to encourage multiple playthroughs to get all character's stories and endings, but tbh I did not feel like starting over after my first playthrough.

Overall, not a bad game, if you pick it up for a few bucks.

70

Good for a Playthrough

canfortress | April 25, 2013 | See all canfortress's reviews »

The cave is an interesting game in it's own way, but quickly gets repetitive. The characters are great and their own individual stories are different and make the game a little more varied. Each character has different powers that help to alter how puzzles are solved. However, even though the game changes depending on what three characters you pick, there are still three levels that are always in the game that never change. Those three puzzles are the only things keeping from giving me this game a better score as they are the most boring and annoying of all the levels in the game. Another factor that lessens the appeal of the game is that The Cave (the voice) doesn't have too many comical remarks. There are a few good jokes sure, but nothing outstanding. The Cave is somewhat short, but it is well worth the price to at least playthrough the game once.

75

Enjoyable game worth the low price

Sealunar | April 20, 2013 | See all Sealunar's reviews »

If you're looking for some lighthearted fun at a low cost, the Cave is a great choice. While it doesn't exactly shine on the PC, it is definitely playable and worth your time. The stories for each of the characters are unique and can be quite challenging.

If the Cave has been piquing your interest, it's probably a good idea to pick it up.

70

Pleasant, but repetitive

Lunk | April 6, 2013 | See all Lunk's reviews »

The Cave is a Double Fine adventure game that has a lot to offer. It's funny, it's polished, and it has puzzles that do a good job of focusing on how to properly use the tools at your disposal rather than making you click everywhere just to find those tools as some games in the genre do. The problem is that despite being pretty quick (roughly 4 hours the first time through), it gets repetitive on several levels.

The puzzles themselves involve a whole lot of backtracking, sometimes forcing you to run the same long route two or three times even if you've figured out the optimal solution, and it can obviously take several more trips if you're trying to work out what to do. Making matters worse, you handle 3 characters and there's no way to issue movement commands to the two you're not actively controlling at the time. To get all three characters to the same spot means running there three times in a row. If you get far enough ahead of the others they'll eventually warp forward to you, but that usually only applies as you're moving from one puzzle hub to another. A simple follow/halt command system like the one found in (insert any game that's ever had an escort quest) would have gone a long way toward alleviating this.

Unfortunately, that's only the start of the repetition. At the start of the game, you choose 3 unique characters out of a selection of 7. Each character adds a unique mission focusing on their story and emphasizing their abilities; in total, the 3 missions from the 3 characters will make up roughly half of each play-through. These missions are, for the most part, very well done and tend to be the highlights of the game, but because of the 3 character limit you'll have to complete the game at least 3 times to see them all, and spend half of that time replaying the puzzles that are universally present that probably started to feel very familiar even before the first time you beat the game.

I get what Double Fine was going for here. A well made adventure game that truly offers a new adventure every time you play it could be really outstanding, and there's a lot of great content in this game. I just wish the game mechanics didn't make the process of getting to all of it feel like a chore.

80

Another adventure from Double Fine

barniman | March 28, 2013 | See all barniman's reviews »

This game is not your usual adventure game. It has lots and i do mean lots of platforming. First of all you have to choose three adventurers out of seven, you'll complete the game with them. They all have one specific area, that only they can enter. These ares are really clever and the puzzles in these places can be really challenging and these parts are really funny overall. Sadly the rest of the game is not that good and if you want to know all seven stories you have to play through the game three times, repeating most of the content three time, which was not a good idea. The game is not really long (4 or 5 hours tops), but at least it has some replaying value.

90

Quirky fun filled game.

orbyknorby | March 11, 2013 | See all orbyknorby's reviews »

it such a fun quick game that has a personality of it's own. I love adventure/puzzle games such as trine and this one is up there with that one. I highly recommended, it will not disappoint and it's quirkiness will have you counting it among your favorites in not time. The only downfall one might say is the lack of online co-op, but other than that for 15 bucks a great buy.

85

Funny experience

PhyxionUS1 | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all PhyxionUS1's reviews »

The Cave is a very entertaining downloadable adventure where it becomes clear that heart and soul were put into it. The humor, the clever game system, the fun puzzles and flawlessly finished visual presentation. Everything you want in a adventure game can be found in The Cave. Even though the game contains a handful of flaws, when you dive in for the full experience the game has to offer, you hardly notice them. Ron Gilbert, the godfather of Monkey Island, has done it again with Tim Schafer as creative producer, and it resulted in an amazing title that will put lots of smiles on your face, despite several smaller flaws.

85

Enjoyable adventure

Stebsis | Feb. 23, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

I adore Ron Gilbert, the guy who made this game. He created such classics like Maniac Mansion and Monkey Island, and I expected nothing less from this game, and I don't think it failed to meet those expectations.

You get to choose 3 characters from 7 available ones that you take with you as you ascend to the Cave, a talking sentient cave. All characters have their own personal, and quite horrible, stories to tell and they all have their own puzzle areas in the cave and different special abilities, like Knight who doesn't take fall damage, Time traveler can phase through walls and Adventurer has a grappling hook. All their powers come to use in the Cave and even more so in their personal areas.

3 characters to manage is a bit annoying though, because the other 2 rarely follow the character you control, forcing you to first take the first character where you want, take the second to the same place, and the third to the same place. You basically play every area 3 times and it gets annoying. The game is definitely designed for 3 players which you can play even on the same PC, no online support though, which is really nice touch that not many games especially on PC do this.

Puzzles are pretty good, some of them can get challenging but not unfair. They have a nice balance and they make you think. Platforming is the weakest part of the game, it's kind of bad. Characters sometimes feel a bit unresponsive and it's annoying to get up ledges all the time.

I really recommend the Cave for any adventure game fan, don't go into this expecting another great classic like Monkey Island, but The Cave is enjoyable adventure that has replay value as the character stories are quite fun.

90

Descent into The Cave

Guardian412 | Feb. 9, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

The Cave is an interesting little game, even if it seems a little short for the first playthrough, which will take about 4 hours. But for the game's luck it was designed for multiple playthrough, namely about three. The game is offering you seven characters to play with, three with each of the playthrough - and each of the character stories has two endings depending on your final choice - Redemption or Corruption, making the possible endings to fourteen in overall. As you descend into The Cave with your three characters, you'll learn their stories one by one, so as you've to live the key moments of their lives and solve the riddles you'll face each time. Other than the basic levels, each character has a character-specific level, which is making the different playthroughs different with each of them. The game is a platformer adventure game with fine and relatively hard puzzles at times, but none of them are illogical, nor impossible. You just have to use your mind, especially as there is no hint throughout the game at all, which reminds me for the golden era of computer games. The cute cartoonish artistic design, so as the storytelling is great and also funny. My only problem was the controls, namely the jumping feature. The game is offering you two different controls, keyboard+mouse or keyboard only, but somehow the keyboard only control is a bit sluggish when you have to jump, which is making the jumps a bit annoying at times. Other than that the game is great mix of Trine like platforming gameplay and puzzle solving and old fashioned adventure games. The replayability is also expanding the otherwise short playtime, and in this case the replayability is more than mandatory, as otherwise you won't learn the story of all seven characters. The Cave is a low budget, but so great indie-like game from Double Fine and if you love platformers, so as adventure games and storytelling, this game is a unique experience and a mandatory purchase.

81

Fun little game

Scorpy | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

The Cave, Double Fine Productions' most recent effort, is a budget title with a lot to offer. At only $15, The Cave offers quite a lot of content. Much akin to the old Maniac Mansion titles, The Cave is a 2.5D adventure exploration game, where the player takes control of 3 player-chosen characters, each with special abilities and powers.

The premise is fantastic and the execution is brilliant. It has the style that has come to be expected from Double Fine, and is a blast to play. One gripe however: the PC port is very shoddy. FPS lock makes it run slowly and there are features missing from the Wii U version.

Still, if you need to get it on PC, this is a great game to enjoy (preferably with friends in local co-op). For some reason it has no online co-op which should have been a no-brainer. Regardless, this is a fun and cheap little game.

85

A great adventure game.

fable2 | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

I'm enjoying the heck out of this game! I'm a long-time adventure fan and huge fan of Double Fine's titles. I'm a few hours in and so far I am not disappointed. I really like the idea of several different characters with their own back story and the execution, presentation and puzzles overall is brilliant. Only minor quibble is the control precision, but that's easily overlooked. I just wish they could make more frequent and larger scale games of this type. All in all, cool and very funny adventure game! Recommended.

72

Ok

Mikagee | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all Mikagee's reviews »

The game lacks in constant frame rates as moving onto different scenarios and parts of the level can cause frame rate drop, while i was playing it is noticable and sometimes annoying. There are many puzzles to do and Some are a lot tougher than others. There are many funny things aid by the characters which fits right into this style of game. The graphics are good though And characters look very detailed to fit into the game.

This game is a good buy if you like solving hard puzzles and have a very thoughtful and patient mind. You should definitely try this game out

88

a gem, minus the fps lock

soad667 | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all soad667's reviews »

A wonderful game as expected, coming from the father of all that is adventure gaming. There were a few fathers more, but you get the point. :P

It's a 2.5D sidescrolling platform adventure game, a combination you don't see every day. But platforming is minimal, your reflexes or jumping skills will be worthless here. You start at the entrance of a cave, having to choose a team of three between seven completely different characters. Then you enter the cave and start exploring, solving classic adventure puzzles, combining items you find around to do some actions or gain access to new areas. Trying not to spoil not even a single bit, cause discovering the crazy mysteries of the cave is the biggest part of the game.

Around the cave there are some "collectibles" which tell the background story of each character and they can only be "collected" by this specific character. And some areas require specific chars to be in the team, so if you wanna see everything in the cave and learn the secrets of all the chars, add some replay value in the mix.

Controls are simple and you can rebind them as you like, but sometimes you might feel they aren't that responsive or you are a bit floaty. And it's not their fault. You can blame the fps lock for that, makes the movement feel a bit jerky sometimes.

Overall it's a true gem, but this minor issue with the fps lock won't let it shine in all its glory. Except this, it's a game everyone should play.

90

Fun

captainstark | Jan. 24, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

I did my first play through in about three hours. I am now working on an additional play through to see the other levels since there appears to be common levels plus one unique level per character. So you'll have to play three times total to see all the levels as far as I am concerned. Some of the puzzles are definitely hard. I was stuck in the Adventurers puzzle for a while but managed to do it eventually. I like trying to beat these games as fast as possible though since it's really hard to search for answers online because it's still a new game. There's been a few puzzles I've almost given up on but I made it through, but when you do, boy does it feel great! I'd estimate you can beat all the levels in about eight hours (repeat levels on a successive play through are easier) unless you get really stuck somewhere.

80

A very successful mix of genres

lucasart | Jan. 24, 2013 | See all lucasart's reviews »

The Cave begins with the idea of mixing platforming and adventure, managing to create a mix fun and enjoyable. The key feature of this game is the ability to use 3 of 7 characters available, each one featuring characters with different abilities that give you the opportunity to deal in a different way various puzzles which is rich in the game. This leads to unlock different paths, making The Cave very replayable. Unlike DeathSpank, a very successful mix of genres.

89

Amazing!

Erik108 | Jan. 24, 2013 | See all Erik108's reviews »

3 people walk into a cave, and the adventure starts... What we have here is a great platform-exploration-humoristic title from the creator of Monkey Island Ron Gilbert. All I have to say is "My God!", I love the art of the scene, the superb voice of The Cave and the acting of the other characters, the good animations and the nice clean graphics. The controls are not so bad, but playing with a keyboard seems uncomfortable. The first run took me 5 hours, not much but you can play it at least twice, so the price is right! So, buy it, play it and enjoy it!

89

Great Game

Mikagee | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all Mikagee's reviews »

This game has great graphics and a good story line, for the price on gmg this game is def worth it. There are many puzzles and things to do in this adventure game. The side-scrolling platform gameplay mechanics fit the setting. The bad things though is the constant frame rates throughout the game. This distracted me while playing as when moving on to a new area will cause so gameplay and choppiness . There are many funny things characters say and there are 3 different characters to choose from.

I would definetly recommend this game who is interested in side scrolling platform games

80

A good title, but not a masterpiece

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

First of all, the ones of you were expecting another masterpiece as Monkey Island was (in fact both Ron Gilbert and Tim Schaefer are involved into The Cave development) will be disappointed. The Cave, first of all, is not strictly a point & click adventure, but it's a puzzle-solving adventure game (if you ever played Trine, well, the gameplay is pretty much the same): you will gain control of seven unique character, each with his unique puzzle area and background. Sadly, these characters are not well developed, because there are no dialogue at all (only The Cave speaks sometimes) between characters. You can, of course, play the game alone or in a cooperative mode with two other players (each will take control of one character), so there are a lot of possibility to explore nearby locations and solving puzzles, because choosing different character will gain access to different locations. The game, at least, is worth his price. The game is funny and solid (there are framerate issues at the moment, but they will fix them later with a patch for syre) and it's worth every single cent of his price, but this isn't a milestone as the fans expected.

95

Double Fine is Back!

DukePaul | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Ron Gilbert and his team are back to give us a fascinating adventure in a cave where you don't know the surprise it contains inside, items from all ages of time and a lot hilarious characters.

You will need to resolve the puzzles with 7 main characters but you can choose only three of them at the start of the game, this adds replay value if you want a different team each you play The Cave.

The animations and graphics are incredible, you will love all the characters because the art is impressive.

Also the game has Cooperative and think and resolve puzzles with a friend is very fun, you can beat the game in seven hours but you will play it again to try different combinations of characters.

This is one of the best games of Ron Gilbert.