Reviews for The Book of Unwritten Tales - Standard Edition

83

A P&C I Actually Enjoyed

mushclone298 | Oct. 8, 2014 | See all mushclone298's reviews »

Story 22/25 Graphics 21/25 Sound 20/25 Gameplay 20/25

I generally hate P&Cs, by hate,I mean dreadfully seriously LOATHE them. I don't know why. When I do play them I usually enjoy the story and hate the gameplay (loathe it), so maybe I'm just impatient. It doesn't have the MOST convoluted, highly unlikely plot in a game, but who cares, this game is really funny and I just loved it. The graphic style really plays in with the fairly lack of seriousness. The sound ... uhm ... was nice ... I guess. Voice acting was good. Anyway, this game really made me want to figure stuff out on my own and some things were fairly logical to figure out, but I did have to refer to a guide a number of times as I also generally suck at these games and can almost never do something exactly how it needs to go. Anyway, good game, funny, get it on sale, shut up and go away.

95

This will be a classic in my book

rconstantinegmg | Nov. 7, 2013 | See all rconstantinegmg's reviews »

I hadn't played an adventure game since the '90s. I honestly didn't know if I would still like them or not, but I had fond memories of games like the King's Quest series and those from Lucas Arts. All of the games I choose, I try to choose for the story. This one did not disappoint.

The art is great, the music is too. The characters are very likable - maybe even loveable. The comedy is appropriate and effective. I definitely laughed out loud a few times. The puzzles aren't overly convoluted; you can figure them out.

I would really like a sequel (with the same characters) if they can keep up the quality of the story and puzzles.

My only complaint would be that I would have liked more fast travel options. A few spots can get tedious walking back and forth between places.

Still, this is an instant classic. Well done. Well done.

90

Charming adventure game

Desidiosus | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all Desidiosus's reviews »

The Book of Unwritten Tales is a 3D point-and-click adventure game set in a fantasy world. The game consists of 5 fairly lengthy chapters, although the last chapter was very short compared to the others. The page says the game has about 20 hours of gameplay, but it only took me about 11 hours, but I would consider myself to be an adventure game veteran.

The graphics are pre-rendered in 16:10 aspect ratio, which means that on other aspect ratios there will be black bars on the sides. I have a 16:9 monitor so there were a bit over 1 cm wide black bars on each side of the screen. Aside from that minor issue the graphics are good and the environment looks very detailed.

The story is good, although it's a pretty standard fantasy story. You must find a powerful artifact and not let the evil forces get it. The somewhat silly world and the charming characters make the story a lot better. For example there are 2 NPCs playing a fantasy RPG, in which they must fill tax forms and do other mundane real life tasks. The dialogue is also pretty funny and contains several nods to other games like the Monkey Island series.

I found the puzzles to be easy and simple. I never really had to look for any items as you could get almost all of them on the first time you entered that area. The interactable hotspots disappeared once you no longer needed them or if you had interacted with them for a couple of times. You also had to interact with everything once before you could pick it up, which I learned pretty quickly. That basically meant that all the hotspots remaining after going through them all would be used in a puzzle. The inventory system made everything even simpler as the game showed a text when you could combine two items.

The game is fully voice acted and I thought the voice acting was pretty good. The music wasn't that great, but it was often barely noticeable. There are subtitles available in the game, but they don't show during the few cutscenes the game have.

95

A game that will make you laugh when you're on a lazy day

Traldera | June 21, 2013 | See all Traldera's reviews »

This game is quite simply one of my biggest regrets, but only because I waited so long to buy it. Its a parody of fantasy in general, but concentrates mainly on WoW, which it tears to pieces in humorous galore!. The game itself is a simple point and click. Its not fancy, but its doesn't need to be. As I said, this is for your lazy days, when you want to be entertained rather than entertaining yourself. As much as I'd like to give you some of the epic quotes from this game, I dont want to ruin the surprises, all I'll say is make sure you click on things more than once if you can - that's where most of the gems are hidden!

88

Hidden gem

barniman | March 28, 2013 | See all barniman's reviews »

This is truly a hidden gem among modern point&click adventure, a must for fans of the genre. The first thing that grabbed my attention was the graphics, it's absolutely gorgeous, which is not something i was used to with this genre, since most of the classics were released in the '90s. But luckily it's not just nice to look at, but actually great to play. The puzzles are interesting and although not too hard occasionallyyou'll get stuck for a couple of minutes (or more). The story is basically a mockery of other fantasy films/games/comics and they managed to do it in a really humorous way. If you're looking for a serious adventure this is definitely not for you, but other than that give it a shot, the game is a fun distraction.

90

Nice

captainstark | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

This is a fantastic classic adventure number with spectacular presentation and very few flaws. Among these would be a few visual and sound glitches namely desynced audio and animations that don't fit well with the background, and the often mentioned lack of pre-rendered cut-scenes after the beginning. The script is funny throughout, each of the environments are simply marvelous and the characters well-designed with great voice-acting (although they could use better textures and lighting to fit in better). This is a game that you should own and that you should use to try to get new gamers into classic adventure gaming.

85

Definitely one of the best Adventure games in the last years.

fable2 | Jan. 2, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

The Book Of Unwritten Tales is an amazing game.

The story is very well done and keeps you going and interested all the time till the end although the end let you with a bitter taste, I think is the only "bad" thing in the game.

Voice acting is just fantastic, you meet a lot of characters through out the game and every one of them is perform better than the other, the dialogs are even better, funny but not too much and there are lot of references to games, movies etc just great.

The puzzles are well done, just logical puzzles sometimes very easy others not too much but never impossible, finally a game that doesn't use a jigsaw puzzle!!!!!!

The music is great too.

I haven't played and enjoyed a game like this since maybe grim fandango.

And its like 15 to 16 hours long so nothing short here just hours of fun =)

90

Great adventure

lucasart | Dec. 27, 2012 | See all lucasart's reviews »

In terms of writing The Book of Unwritten Tales is a breath of fresh air reminiscent of the best productions Lucas, dazzling with jokes and situations very funny. Also notable is the overall longevity of about twenty hours, which varies according to the player's ability to solve puzzles, of course, but that goes beyond many of the recent representatives of the genus. In short, the purists and romantics will be pleased. The only complaint might be with the complete lack of innovation, but at the end of the game structure is solid and works well.

93

An adventure gem

oginer | Nov. 21, 2012 | See all oginer's reviews »

One of the bests point-and-click adventure games of the lasts years. The story is interesting and keeps you wanting more, visually it's gorgeous, with very good voice acting and outstanding music. The humour is great too, reminding me of the good old days of Lucas Arts games. In this case the game makes fun specially of RPG games.

The only downside is that the game is too easy. If you're an experienced player of these kind of games you'll finish it without much effort, and even for a non-experienced player it's quite easy. It has some nice puzzles, though, even if they're not hard.

Overall an excellent game. It'll keep you entertained for hours.

85

A wonderful point and click adventure

Cynaris | Aug. 13, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

The Book of Unwritten Tales is a budget german point and click gem, with such an entertaining story, you could almost feel like it has a soul. The game pokes fun at almost any RPG possible, and their clichéd natura with truly clever writing, great voice acting, especially compared to it's price. The game is gorgeous, pleasant to look at, and serves hours and hours of enjoyment. The downside is that the challenge isn't exactly there, it is a fairly easy game to play, and considering it's somewhat supposed to make you think, it hardly does. With it's puzzles anyway.

Regardless, it is a charming and lovely game well worth the pricetag.