Reviews for Red Faction Armageddon

67

Quite enjoyable, especially with a friend!

Fooughhy | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all Fooughhy's reviews »

This is a game where I have not payed any attention to the story, since I've basically played 2-3 hours alone, and then I started playing it co-op.

This is a game(-series) which takes destructibility to the most extreme ever seen in videogames. Anything except the actual terrain is completely destructible which makes the co-op experience very fun since you can choose to help your friend or mess with them. This makes it hard (for me, atleast) to focus on the narrative which takes place, mostly, while you are able to control the character. So you will end up running around and investigate/destroy the environment instead of listening.

But I thought the game was a fun experience overall, and can't really pinpoint any flaws in the game's design. And remember that this is not a review which accounts for the story, since I didn't pay any attention to it. That is why I can't give it a higher rating.

80

Play, fight, destroy

Unbenannte | Jan. 22, 2014 | See all Unbenannte's reviews »

If you like DeadSpace kind of games, then you will like this one. Amazing graphics, you get to interact with almost everything, and by that I mean that you can destroy a lot of things. Its best than some other 3rd person shooters out there. You can have a nice time playing the Story. Mostly I would recommend this game to people that wants to crush some stuff, have some fun, shoot guns in a 3d perspective, and even over all that, people that likes the atmosphere that games can make, this one is a 10/10 in this last point.

I use this game when i'm having bad days and I want to hammer some stuff.

Hope this helps.

75

Somewhat generic third person action romp…but it’s fun!

TheImpZA | Nov. 28, 2013 | See all TheImpZA's reviews »

You play as Darius Mason. You screw up. You fight aliens. If you’re looking for deep character interaction, look somewhere else. This is all space military with big, burly guys (and overly sexualised girls) shouting and running and shooting and exploding. The only time the main character displays any kind of emotion is near the end of the story, but even that is underplayed because KILL ALL THE ALIENS!

This game has one of the most impressive destructive engines that I’ve ever seen. Wow! If this is achievable with current gen, then I can’t wait for ‘next-gen’. Is there’s a wall between you and progress? Smash it down with your warhammer. You can’t stop progress, move on soldier! Is a cowardly enemy is hiding in a building? Get your plasma cannon and blow it up (and watch to fall to the ground in thousands of lovely pieces). The destruction engine is so well done. But wait, there’s more! You can rebuild the things you destroy as well, and blow it up again. It’s just so much fun.

The gunplay is also very satisfying. There’s a good variety; you have the bog-standard guns for the people that get afraid when they don’t have an assault rifle or shotgun or something, but where it really shines is its take on some unique weapons. There’s the dual-wielded Banshee Pistols, the Plasma Beam (which melts enemies and the environment), the Warmaul (you whack people…in the face), the Plasma Cannon (shoots flaming balls of plasma), the Nano Rifle (the nanites eat whatever you shoot it at), the Rail Driver, the Singularity Cannon (it makes black holes) and finally, the Magnet Gun. There are also upgrades and you have four powers at your disposal; a “force push”, a shield barrier thing, a super-buff mode and a power that suspends all the enemies near you in the air for easy pickings.

So cool that it gets its own paragraph, the Magnet Gun is the best thing about RF: Armageddon. It’s basically a mixture between the Portal and Gravity guns. The power of magnetism comes into full destructive fruition with this gun. 1. Shoot magnet 1 at the wall of a building. 2. Shoot magnet 2 onto an alien. 3. Watch them collide and splat thanks to the hilarious physics engine 4. Profit? The possibilities are endless. This is the gun that the game was made for. Without the fully destructible environments, it wouldn't work half as well as it does. Good job Volition.

Why is there no FoV slider? If you get sick/nauseous easily when playing games with a low FoV, then you will not enjoy this from the start. Ah, but there is good news you see. Head on over to PCGamingWiki for a quick fix that makes everything better. The odd thing about this is that it’s an excellent PC port. There’s full DX11 options and all those other wonderful things that make the game look really pretty, so why couldn't you take 10 minutes to include a bloody FoV slider? If you can manually set it in the config file, it really wouldn't have been hard to make it an option in the settings menu.

They definitely could've worked on making feel less like Red Gears of Faction War 25. Not overly generic, but it needed a little bit more “something”. The destructive engine and semi-unique guns are fun to play with, but towards the end I was just waiting for it to end. It was getting repetitive and there’s was a distinct lack of new guns and enemies towards the final boss fight. Also the plot is a little bit thin…and has a couple of holes. Overall though, it’s good action-y fun. It’s simple, but it’s good at what it does. There’s also a few co-op modes and some challengers, but I never played those. I recommend you pick this us if you’re into this genre. Chances are you already have it from one of the numerous bundles that it’s been a part of.

80

Destruction!

CyberspyXD | Oct. 21, 2013 | See all CyberspyXD's reviews »

The real reason almost everyone loves Red Faction is its destruction. This series might be the only one that lets you collapse a building on top of peoples heads and have full control over where you want to go. Front entrance just not doing it for you? Break through a wall and go in from the side its limitless what you can do here.

Armageddon is sure to please fans of the originals (Not guerrilla though) and it brings tools and weapons that are sure to please fans like the magnet gun and Mr. Toots!.

Overall it plays the same as guerrilla so if you were a fan of that just come in expecting a non open world experience that's a bit more linear then guerrilla and you will enjoy.

82

Kill everything destroy all

Gojko | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

Red Faction: Armageddon takes place fifty years after the events of the previous part. Surface of Mars is destroyed and residents were forced to return to the underworld, Increased population forced the drilling new tunnels that eventually reached the point where there were dormant entity. Player will have to face a dangerous stranger who attacked the inhabitants of Mars.

It's average shooter with slightly bad map design. What actually makes the game interesting as weapons and means of destruction.

Graphic is average fro today standards, and sound is pretty good.

If you try this game you will not regret.

82

Interesting action game.

Bigshrimp | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all Bigshrimp's reviews »

Red Faction Armageddon is simply a fun game overall. The engine they use for this allows for some awesome destruction. You can destroy almost anything in the game.

The graphics are well done and the carnage that ensues is great to the core. The story is a tad cliche but it doesn't ruin the game. The weapons are mostly interesting as well. I enjoyed the game's single player and the DLC is kind of short but sweet.

Give it a shot, you will most likely enjoy it. 1 and a half thumbs up.

85

Amazing destruction!

Lekes | Jan. 24, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Red Faction: Armageddon does exactly what it says on the box. It's fun! Just like its predecessor, Red Faction: Guerrilla, we're given a very destructible world. Even if this one is totally linear compared to the last installment, it's still every bit as fun. The real reason this game hits the spot for me is because the physics and world construction and reconstruction works so well. The magnet gun is gimmicky, gets a bit old later on in the game, but it's certainly useful for mayhem and destruction. Decent story, fun weapons, good animations and graphics, incredible physics, it's certainly above the average. Red Faction: Armageddon gets a 8.5/10 for me, it's nothing spectacular, but it wasn't claiming that it was in the first place. If it weren't for the physics and amazing destruction, this would be just another run of the mill 3rd person shooter.

75

Good and funny game

Cavalieroscuro | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

I taken this game thanks to Humble THQ Bundle. I really haven't any hope in this (I'm not a Red Faction player, I only played the first a little but I haven't finished it) but...it was a funny game. The plot is nothing special (stop the alien: this is the entire story) but I had a lot of fun making indiscriminate destruction. You can literally destroy anything: bridge, stairs, some walls. And...you can rebuild them too if you need a cover. There are a lots of weapons and some nice powers (but for me, playing on Insane, they were useless), plus the graphic is very good. The game is around ten hours long and there is also a multiplayer part. The DLC, Path of War, is very nice too: there are only four mission for an additional hour of gameplay (basically, more of the same) but you can drive a tank on it (you can't do it on vanilla game). Buy it if you wanna play a funny game.

70

Red Faction: Armageddon is pure destructive fun!

fable2 | Oct. 30, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

I'll start off by saying that this is not like Guerilla. But that doesn't mean that it can't be a great game as well. Instead of being an open world game like Guerilla was, your plunged into the dark sewers and tunnels of Mars. Another new thing in this game is that the enemies are now bugs for the majority such as Creepers. They're all very fun to kill with the variety of different weapons such as the rocket launcher, assault riffle, banshees, and the unicorn Mr. Toots that farts rainbows and pixy dust. The completely destructible environments add a boat load of fun as well. Shooting down giant buildings and staircases is a blast mainly because you get to watch your enemy helplessly fall to it's death. The next and final thing I'd like to say about this game is basically the graphics. They aren't stunning graphics like Crysis 2, but the graphics have a more cartoonish look to it that I enjoy a lot.

Overall a game that I'd highly recommend playing.

NOTE: Infestation mode is also fun

86

Highly original shooter

Cooberstooge | Aug. 26, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Seeing as how Red Faction Armageddon is labeled as an FPS, one would assume that's all there is to it. Buyers will find something vastly different, though.

With RF:A, you have choices. An alien stands in front of you - do you shoot it, throw it into a building, melt it, or throw a building into the alien? The choice is yours. Tackling each level differently and limiting yourself to one weapon only is hilariously fun, and the destruction you can cause is off the charts.

The storyline is your typical underdog takes on the corrupt world and saves it from the evil aliens kind of thing, but it still manages to feel fresh. There's tons of stuff to see and blow up, and truly original vehicles to control. The characters are awesome, and completely suit the style of the game. The world reeks of Total Recall originality.

The multiplayer component is awesome, and still very much alive. Think Alien Swarm in an over the shoulder perspective, and you'll get the general idea.

Upon completing the campaign, the player will unlock what is quite possibly the coolest weapon in the known universe: Mr. Toots, a magical unicorn that shoots death rays out his pooper. Why did Volition put that in the game? Who knows, but you can re-play the campaign with him and even jump into online matches with the little bugger.

80

Not What I Expected, but...

WalrusKing171 | Aug. 23, 2012 | See all WalrusKing171's reviews »

The game had great destructive environments. Red Faction: Gorillaz was a good game. If I had to compare the two, Red Faction wins by a yard. The game play is fun though, smashing buildings and playing C4 is quite satisfying. The unicorn gun was solid though. If only the game had the fun element that was in Gorillaz it wouldve been the perfect game. The graphics were nice, but the heart of Gorillaz wasnt there. Over all decent 3rd person shooter.

66

Totally different

danteveli | Aug. 18, 2012 | See all danteveli's reviews »

Red Faction started as an FPP title with impressive environment destruction. Then it transformed to sandbox with destruction of stuff all around you. With Armageddon we go underground on linear tpp action game with some interesting physics manipulation. The shift is the biggest problem of this product. Game is not as impressive as previous parts that had many things going for them. This one is a bit to generic for its own good. Red Faction Armageddon has interesting story where we learn why people decided to live underground on Mars and whats going on with aliens an how mining revolution turned out into mess. It has it moments but sometimes fail to deliver. Graphics are pretty ok but without open world its a bit blend and unimpressive. Shooting is cool and action sequences are thing I liked. I thing the biggest problem here is the burden of title that got us to expect much more from this one.

74

Decent TPS

Cynaris | Aug. 17, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

Red Faction Armageddon is not a bad game, don't think it is, it's just not the average Red Faction game you'd expect. Of course the destruction remains, and so does the interesting choice of weapons, however the whole package is a lot more linear, the story isn't too great, and overall you don't get the freedom with destruction you did before. Still an enjoyable experience with quite serviceable graphics, sounds and voideovers, but nothing out of the ordinary. Variety comes with some mech sequences, but overall it's a fairly standard third-person shooter.

70

Could've been the perfect game.

arkantos | Aug. 16, 2012 | See all arkantos's reviews »

Always wanted to destroy the world that sorround you ? Never wanted to visit Mars ? Well this game is made for you, a mix of action with an amazing story and smart AI, be ready cause they won't die easy, you will also have a big arsenal of weapons with all they're upgrades, be ready to face a lot of enemies, something you wouldn't even expect, something from outer world, only thing this game lack is "Open World" content as the previous one (Guerrila) but it will keep you busy for a few.

78

Good game , similar to the predecessors

panz3r88 | Aug. 15, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Red Faction Guerrilla is a third person action shooter similar to its predecessor,Red Faction Guerrilla. The key element of this game is the ability to destroy all buildings in a realistic way with all the weapons the game give you.The best parts of the game are the one where you must demolish building and you need to find the weak points of the structure to destroy it with a few shoot .
This element allow to create a fun and original gameplay. An other element added to Armageddon is the nanoforge weapon:while in Guerrilla this weapon was the most powerful because it was able to vaporize everything, in this title you can upgrade it and use it in many different ways and even to rebuilt things, so you can create defenses with it. The story is quite boring, so you will concentrate on the gameplay. You can also try this original gameplay in multiplayer and have fun in some cooperative modes where with other players you must defend yourself from hordes of enemies

75

Disappointing but decent

Darkslayer16 | Aug. 15, 2012 | See all Darkslayer16's reviews »

Red Faction Armageddon is a decent 3rd person shooter but is disappointing in comparison to RFG. The gunplay and controls are fine, but they stripped out all the open world exploration and side missions / random destruction and turned it into a linear 3rd person shooter with like 4 types of enemies. They also removed the competitive multiplayer and replaced it with a 4 player wave based survival. The game is still fun if if you don't go in expecting RFG but most people would agree it's not worth it's current price and should be bought during a sale.

62

The guns are good, but it isn't its predecessor.

das_regal | Aug. 15, 2012 | See all das_regal's reviews »

Red Faction Guerrilla was a truly incredible game that masterfully combined open world exploration elements, destructible environments, and Grand Theft Auto like mission structure into something quite different. The end product was unlike anything I'd ever seen before.

It had both strong multiplayer and singleplayer elements. I was eagerly awaiting the sequel... Then along came Armageddon; the game's name does a fairly good job of explaining what it was for the series. Volition has shelved the IP in the aftermath of its poor sales, and for good reason.

They made a competent shooter, but in the process gutted the competitive multiplayer for an overly simplistic horde mode and the open world for a series of linear shoot-fests with trite vehicle portions. The game fails in many of the ways that Red Faction Guerrilla was a resounding success with how it does away with exploration, tactical demolition, and freedom.

Story was never the strong point of the Red Faction series, and by attempting to focus the game more on it through a linear structure, they ended up emphasizing one something that belonged in the distant background the way it was in Guerrilla.

The shooting and destruction mechanics are still top notch however, and the handy nano forge is a blast to play with. Unfortunately you won't be able to do much that's actually enjoyable with these tools, as your creative abilities are restricted by the "point on a line" progression.

They should've followed Guerrilla's successful blueprint in the creation of its sequel instead of returning to the formula from the first two Red Faction entries, which largely failed to garner critical acclaim the way Guerrilla did.