Reviews for Saints Row 2

90

Great Sandbox Game let down by a bad port (that a game mods fix)

ADUAN | July 24, 2013 | See all ADUAN's reviews »

Let's get it out of the way first: The PC port for Saints Row 2 is bad, with overly sensitive controls and bad rendering all around. However, the Saints Row 2 Powertools as well as the Gentlemen of the Row mod manages to fix most of this problems. Once that is out of the way, the game is an absolute blast to play. With so many things to do in the game, from the main storyline to the side missions and diversions, to just exploring the City of Stillwater, I found this game to be a blast to play. I would definitely recommend anyone who enjoys GTA sandbox games to get this game.

90

Absolute crazy fun

Xiphora | July 1, 2013 | See all Xiphora's reviews »

Saints Row 2 is a very good open world game. Its setting of the city of Stilwater is large and takes players hours upon hours to explore. Saints Row 2's story and side activities are also fun and put players in hilarious and crazy scenarios. On top of its over-the-top moments, Saints Row 2 has an impressive story with some very dramatic moments. Saints Row 2 has a lot to offer. It has lots of different weapons, crazy fast driving, a lot of side activities to do, a good 20 hour story, and a huge, interesting world to explore. Whether your a fan of open world or sandbox games, humor, over-the-top action, or dark storytelling like in Grand Theft Auto, you'll want to consider picking up Saints Row 2.

88

More crazy than GTA

jackyboi1014 | June 17, 2013 | See all jackyboi1014's reviews »

I have finished Saints Row 2, twice now on the PC. I agree with many users that the game has some technical flaws in it control system. But all in all I loved it (mind you I did resort to using a 360 controller). The game offers a few things that GTA doesn't, hence why it is getting my support.

I love the fact that you are able to store you cars / helicopters / planes / boats, I also love the fact you can customize your cars to suite you style. A feature GTA does not offer to my knowledge. And the list of side missions and diversions is huge.

I have encountered at least one new diversion every time I play. I would defiantly recommend this game to anyone that has a platform that can support it, and if you can ... get a 360 controller. Makes life in still water a breeze.

100

The Greatest Open World Game I've Played!

thegaminglyfe | June 10, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

This game is amazing! The world is huge and feels alive. Each part of the world is different from the other. You'll see the change driving down the street. There are missions which don't get very repetitive because they involve you doing really fun things like flying in helicopters to blow buildings up. The side missions are the best part of this game. There are so many like septic truck (shooting sewage at people), Crowd Control (Protecting a celebrity in the most outrageous ways, throwing them into trains etc.), Fight Club and Hitman. These aren't all of them. these are just my favorite to do. The co-op is super fun causing chaos and mayhem throughout the city. There are even co-op mini games like chasing the other person down in a helicopter called cat and mouse. The soundtrack is amazing, there are lots of radio stations hosted by real life celebrities. For example, one of the radio stations, generation x is hosted by Veteran Child, voiced by Neil Patrick Harris! As for the PC problems, thats why we have mods, to fix the problems in the game. Get the mod called gentlemen of the row and everything will be fixed.

100

The Best Thing Since San Andreas.

florindo | May 14, 2013 | See all florindo's reviews »

Many will tell you bad things about this game, a bad port, bad graphics, etcetera. Yet, it is vastly superior to SR3 and GTA 4, the city is just huge, there lots of missions, the side activities, oh! every since GTA SA I've never had so much fun doing random stuff, or just walking around trying to discover unlockables.

Get a mate and fire up some coop, I guarantee that you both will be laughing all over the place in one of the best online coop experiences out there.

As for the stability problems, google the 'gentleman of the row' mod and you will find several fixes to most of the game's problems.

Oh, and the sound track, best thing since the legendary Vice City's, so there is little or no reason to get this asap!

80

Good game bad port

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all Jray264's reviews »

I played Saints Row 2 after I played the third one and I have to say that I preferred 2 over 3. The amount of customization is staggering and the story is engaging and interesting. The game manages to be humorous and serious at the same time. One moment I was walking around with my pimp cane that doubled as a shotgun, and the next I was killing one of the main antagonist in a very vindictive and cringe worthy fashion. It's a heck of a time and everyone should play it. Just not on the PC. This is a terrible port of an amazing game.

80

One of the best open world sandbox games I've ever played

Scorpy | Dec. 28, 2012 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Saints Row 2 set the bar for open world sandbox games. The amount of customization, story and activities was mind boggling when it came out. Its graphics, although not amazing, were still great and its soundtrack and voice acting top notch. Is it still just as great?

Yes. If you can get past the terrible port, you'll find a great gem of a game. In my opinion, Saints Row 2 is much better than 3 or 1. It has the crazy, offbeat vibe of 3 but with the heart, story and (relative) maturity of 1. You won't be slapping people with dildo bats but you will be driving a septic tank and shooting people with excrement.

Pick this up at all costs if you absolutely love open world sandbox games. If you liked 3, you will like this for sure, probably even moreso.

60

Poor PC port

nerull7 | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all nerull7's reviews »

PC port is terrible, I had to run this game on low graphics that game looks like GTA3 but my computer is able to run GTA4 without any problem. Beside terrible PC port game is good. It is not GTA clone because game is making jokes of everything. SR is about having great fun time, it is not about some nearly realistic story like GTA. You should buy this game on another platform or buy SR3 which is good PC port.

74

Great game.

Darder | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Darder's reviews »

IF you were looking for the official rival of GTA, this is it . I personally enjoyed Saints Row 2 more than GTA. This one is better than the third one, as it has a deeper story line. It really surprised me in terms of backstory and main campaign. A good game, with alot of fun minigames!

65

Terrible (but fixable) port of a great game.

Lunk | Oct. 1, 2012 | See all Lunk's reviews »

Ok, let's get the unpleasant stuff out of the way first: this port is bad. Really, really bad. There are a number of critical flaws that render it nearly unplayable in its original state on many hardware configurations, leading to rampant crashing, the game running at hyper-speed, and a host of other issues. Fortunately, the mod community did a much better job than the developers, and there are fixes for most of these issues if you're willing to take a few minutes to configure them. Once I got it running with a couple of unofficial patches, I had very few issues.

The game itself is a blast. It was recommended to me as "what GTA would be like if it didn't take itself so seriously" and I think that's probably true. I haven't played any of the GTA games since the first few, and even when I did I spent most of the time goofing off and completely ignoring the missions. This felt like an updated version of that, with the addition of story elements that complement the kind of random mayhem that make games like this fun rather than discouraging it. The voice cast is a treat, and completing the main story should last you 25+ hours.

In short, I don't give the developer a lot of credit, but it's worth fixing the issues it shipped with to get a really wonderful game.

70

diamond in the rough

schroff | Sept. 15, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

This predecessor of Saints Row the Third was a different animal and had more in common with San Andreas. It has immense customization options - Third doesn't come close. It even has a sensible story .. "The Boss" of Third is a lieutenant in this one and he/she works up the ranks in the usual gangster fashion with humour thrown in but not reliant on high-school kid worthy jokes or dildo bats or fart jars. Pretty good but it has the dubious honour of being an example of how NOT to port to the PC.

81

A crazy sandbox

Chack | Sept. 15, 2012 | See all Chack's reviews »

Saints Row will probably be compared with the GTA saga, but they don't have that much in common, just that it's a sandbox in a city, and you do things that you normally do in GTA when you are not in a mission, but this game is even crazier. For the prize I'll say go for it, it even has co-op, so you can play with some friends. The bad thing is that it is a bad port, so there could be a few PCs that can't run the game so well.

86

Good GTA clone

Zinzun | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

If you love GTA, you will love this.This is more "destructive", but the gameplay is very similar. You will lough a lot, for sure.

89

Crazy game!

maciej2601 | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

Saints Row 2 is a continuation issued in 2006 action game by Volition studio. The player takes the role of one of the active member in the city of Stilwater gangs and ordered him to perform a number of fact-finding missions such as on illegal car races and eliminating competition. In comparison with the original creators significantly increased the area to explore, introduced many new vehicles and took care of extensive customization options for the appearance of the characters.

86

Sandbox heaven

Cooberstooge | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Saints Row 2 totally blew everything I knew about sandbox games away. The style, wackiness, and content in this game is unbelievable. Volition really outdid themselves with this one, and even though the third party port job to PC is pretty poor, the love of the original developers still shines through.

Ever wanted to splatter an entire city with poop? How about racing around on an ATV, while you're on fire? Surf on a car? Commit insurance fraud by playing in traffic? If you answered "Yes!", or even "Say WHAT?" to any of the above, this game is for you. The amount of crazy things to do is mind-blowing, and completely forgetting what the heck the purpose of the main story is will happen often. I've sank 50 hours into this since buying it, and I'm nowhere near done yet - this is totally worth the purchase price.

With that said, there are problems with the game. For me personally, it runs a little faster than it should, but I've gotten used to it. Others have run into resolution and start problems, but there are solutions for most things by this point. I still recommend buying it anyways, there's just so much fun to be had in it.

80

Fun and unique sandbox game.

thewhitewolf | Aug. 27, 2012 | See all thewhitewolf's reviews »

Spend lots of hours on this game because its just a nice way to sit and relax while driving and shooting people, and also completing lots of crazy missions that will make you smile. Not only the main missions, but the side missions are also fun to do, especially if you bring a friend by playing the cooperative mode. Its definitely worth it to try this crazy game out, you won't be disappointed!

80

Crazy GTA-like game

CJV | Aug. 21, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

Saints Row 2 is an open world game in which you play as a gangster trying to get the saints row gang to the top of the hierarchy. It's a GTA clone that is quite worth it, with an humorous story and a great world to explore with a lot of fun things to do. Recommended.

70

Great game, Bad Port, be careful.

kairegister | Aug. 18, 2012 | See all kairegister's reviews »

Saints Row 2 is a fantastic sandbox game, offers a neat story in both humorous and serious ways. Offers lot to do no matter how stupid. The Saints Row fights 3 gangs in this one, and you can do them in any order. Before doing missions, you need to earn "Respect" which you do by finishing missions such as massive destructions, races, taxi drive-bys, and much more. The only bad part is, this game works very very poorly for many. Often held as the worst port of all time for PC. The game may crash constantly, run twice as fast as it should be, and many other problems.

76

Crazy and fun free roaming

panz3r88 | Aug. 17, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Saints Row 2 is the first title of the series released for the PC. It's a free roaming game where there are many things to do. In the main missions you must defeat the other gangs to take control of the city. The game is very long because there are a lot of side missions and collectibles to get. In this mission you can drive many different type of vehicles(cars and helycopters) and use various weapons. During your playthrough you will see many crazy and funny events and you will hardly be bored. You can also have fun with other players and play the mission in cooperative mode. The main problem of the game is the bad optimization of the graphic engine: sometimes you can see slowdowns and freezings even on powerful machines

85

Great game

Gh0st233 | Aug. 16, 2012 | See all Gh0st233's reviews »

Saints Row 2 is, indeed, a great game. It's whacky, it's cool, it's filled with crazy moments and characters, and it's totally worth it. Saints Row 2 is an open-world GTA-like game. It is fairly lengthy and the missions are pretty fun. The game has some replay value, and it's great to play on co-op with friends.

SR2 is definitely worth playing and checking out. Also, unlike it's sequel, it doesn't have tons of money-milking DLC.