Reviews for Galaxy on Fire 2™ Full HD

85

Fun game well worth the price

imasquare | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all imasquare's reviews »

We can often only hope to get many hours of enjoyment from a game when be put down our hard earned cash. My Steam stats for this is 18 hours of fun that I have enjoyed for the same price as a movie ticket admission and I can tell you I've often spent $20 and not even enjoyed a 90 minute movie.

I'm a freelancer fan and have played it through many times, and Galaxy on Fire 2 (GF2) HD definitely channels many aspects of that game. GF2 is a well polished game compared to some other recent 'attempts' by developers.

The controls and flight simulation are good, and the combat mechanics will keep you on your toes. The weapons are interesting and there are a variety of tactics that you can use.

The fact that it is a port from iOS does show through in aspects of it's simplicity in design, but the HD texture update keeps in relevant to the PC platform.

My only wish is that they were able to release the DLC for GF2 to extend the playability of GF2 beyond 18 hours. However I definitely think 18 hours is plenty of play time!

I'll put the Galaxy on Fire 3 on my to buy list when it comes out.

65

A good space game with arcade-style, but still limited.

SayEstLow | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all SayEstLow's reviews »

I bought this game while seeking for a Freelancer-like space game. Beside the fact that the game is not too deep nor has "next generation graphics", it's still fun to play and kind for the eyes.

But don't expect to live an oneiric experience through a lyric story.

70

A fun yet simple space sim.

xLordBelialx | June 28, 2013 | See all xLordBelialx's reviews »

Galaxy on Fire 2 HD is a port of the IOS game at high definition. It is a simple space sim reminiscent of the games of old that we space sim players love. Despite its great simplification, there are still trading aspects to the game, but the emphasis is on the combat. The game does look very nice, and space sims with this graphical quality have not been released lately. The game is very short however, and even taking the time to get the best ships and parts will not take you more than 20 or so hours on hard difficulty. There were 2 expansions on the IOS that are not present here and that is a shame as they greatly add to the quality of the experience. I believe there is still no plan to add this as dlc unfortunately.
If you love space sims, and can get this on sale I recommend it.

60

Good Concept, Questionable Execution

ghmoose | June 28, 2013 | See all ghmoose's reviews »

I really felt like this could've been very good but just didn't quite make it. I was tempted to give it a higher score because it's well done for a port of a mobile game. The menu interface does feel occasionally like it was made by somebody who has never used a PC, but it doesn't really creep into gameplay controls. The graphics are good, better than I was expecting given the game's origin. The game design is good as well, although it's nothing innovative it falls right into a Freelancer-style niche and makes itself at home. I'd prefer something more story-driven than this, but the more open-world style is also fun too.

Unfortunately, the gameplay is what it is. It's not terrible by any means, but it just doesn't feel good to me. Again, I think it's remarkable that it's as good as it is for a mobile port, but that's not really saying much. It just doesn't feel like I can do much. I've played a lot of space sim games over the years, and the feel is just too...disconnected. I don't feel like ability to pilot has any measurable affect on the outcome of a fight. I mean, yes, I was pulling the trigger and zeroing in on targets, but it just didn't feel like I mattered or that there was any room for me to get better.

Ultimately, that gameplay killed the game for me. I'm open to the design, but the combat core needs to be far more interesting for that kind of random and repetitive design to keep my interest. A much stronger story would've left me with a better opinion of the game with the combat as-is, but I would've preferred they tweaked the combat more and left the design as-is. That being said, it did kill a few hours for me and if you catch it on sale it's worth grabbing.

75

Controls are a little odd, but the game is great

Traldera | June 21, 2013 | See all Traldera's reviews »

This is one of those games that doesn't get the love it deserves. Its by no means an original ground breaking testament to small publications, but it definitely holds its own in the space exploration genre. The story, without giving anything away, results in you finding yourself in a universe of strange beings, trying to find a way home. This involves its fair share of reading, but that's not a bad thing as the dialogues themselves contain quite a bit of humor and are very entertaining. The mechanics of the game are probably its weakest aspect, but they aren't bad. Its a very simple control method, using the mouse to steer, doubling up as aiming. As I said in the title, its odd, but you do get used to it. The game as a whole is well worth the small price asked, its not a long game, but it will keep you entertained for the duration

65

Fun game for a while, excellent IOS port

Chauci | May 31, 2013 | See all Chauci's reviews »

This one had my attention when it was ported, after i got it on my ipad and i found the port to be excellent. The gameplay is fun and the classic starship sandbox adventure is back, with a vast amount of weapons and ships to be purchased. There is a lot to do in this before you get the best ship available. Despite these great points it is quite shallow and is not up to par with games like freelancer in complexity and depth, but it gives a modern take on the space sandbox game and is polished and well executed. And at that it delivers a fine sandbox experience for those who have such desires.

40

Big disappointment

albero78 | May 17, 2013 | See all albero78's reviews »

My opinion: I have bought this game looking for something not too ambitious but similar to Freelancer, which came out ages ago and everybody knows. After having played for a while this "Galaxy on Fire 2" I can say it is a disappointment: the graphics are really poor for a nowadays game. I know this comes from Ipad and it is not a AAA game, but they are nevertheless very disappointing. But more than that it is the interface that doesn't allow me to enjoy the game: interface has many loopholes and it is weak. Remember the easy way you could equip and upgrade your ship, selling products and set waypoints on the map in Freelancer? Well, forget about it.

Don't get fooled and skip this one.

60

Not bad for the price

FaPaThY | May 4, 2013 | See all FaPaThY's reviews »

I'm a big fan of space combat/trading sims, so when I saw this on sale for under $4, my interest was piqued.

The playable area is relatively large, there's a good selection of ships and weapons, lot of side missions, etc. Pretty standard stuff for this type of game and done competently well.

It all gets repetitive pretty fast though, because there are only a handful of side mission types and the combat basically devolves into holding down the strafe button, which lets you dodge pretty much all enemy fire, and circle strafing everything to death. The campaign is pretty standard affair too. It's short, forgettable and the voice acting ranges from sub-par to decent. There aren't really any moments that make you yell out, "Cool!" or anything.

The graphics, while pretty on the surface and look nice in screenshots, aren't really that impressive in motion. The universe just feels static and lifeless and simple things like planets not rotating or stars not twinkling are a bit distracting. The models themselves for ships and stuff look alright, but it takes more than just high res textures to make a game look really good.

As negative I seem about the game, I'll say it's definitely worth playing if you can get it on sale. Maybe if they ever decide to release the DLC/expansions, it'll be worth playing some more.

60

Great game, for a phone or handheld devices

linktoheaven | Jan. 11, 2013 | See all linktoheaven's reviews »

I had good time playing GoF1 on my Nokia 6230i, and after that Deep 3D and other games from Fish Labs. All in all this is a fine game but they didnt give their best when they ported it on PC, i mean sure it has good FPS and its not buggy (cant say same for most of pc ports in last few years), they added some stuff that was not on mobile version.

Bottom line is, its a great game and i cant wait to see Fish Labs new games but they could have improved a lot and added a lot more content for PC since its not limited as handheld devices and phones. I know its not fair that PC version has a lot more stuff then mobile ones and thats why i think they should stick to making phone games because they are damn good at it.

80

Good Game For PC and iOS

Sharptap | Nov. 23, 2012 | See all Sharptap's reviews »

I first played this game on the Iphone and i really liked it. I like games in space because it was my dream when i was a little kid, fight in space ( thank you Star Wars). So i actually buy a lot of those game i purchased this one. And i liked it. The graphics are very good , the models are perfect ( i loved the spaceships) The controls are actually very good and the overall game is very fun. You will like this game , on pc or on iOS , and since is pretty cheap , i recommend you to buy it.

70

A fun game that could have been great with a bit more depth.

fable2 | Oct. 31, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

Classic sandbox space combat game that is very reminiscent of Dark Star One, Tachyon the Fringe, etc. which are all based on the classic game Elite that came out way back in the 80's. Nothing groundbreaking here but the game is polished and fairly well-executed. BTW I LOVE these types of games and unlike FPS games the genre is not overcrowded. This is an iPad port, but the port is well done. I would have never guessed this game started out as on the iPad. the graphics are FANTASTIC. Not top of the line, but if the polygon count was a bit higher then the graphics would be on par with a modern AAA title. The space stations are a bit blocky, but the ship models look fine. Planets and background textures are fantastic, as are most of the special effects. Lighting is, for the most part, on par with Eve Online, X3, etc. * The ability to mine asteroids, trade, and run side missions is a welcome diversion from storyline quests. Storyline can be completed in only 6 hours or so. But, the sandbox play style extends the playability. Overall a nice diversion, but lack of difficulty makes the combat not as fun as Space Pirates and Zombies (SPAZ), although the graphics are much better, and the story and characters are slightly more developed.

100

Freelancer finally gets a re-boot

Cooberstooge | Sept. 6, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

It looks great, it plays well, and it's easy to get into - Galaxy on Fire 2 is all this and more. It may have been designed for the iPad, but it plays oh-so-well on PCs too. There's not really any obvious traces of its heritage either, aside from the main story being really only a little longer than five hours.

There's a story here, with some pretty funny dialogue and decent voice actors, but any time during or after it, you can just wander off and do your own thing. Trading, hunting pirates, collecting space junk, mining asteroids, or running passengers to distant worlds, it's all there for you to partake in. You can also upgrade the heck out of your ship, or even sell it outright and buy a new one.

Controls work great, and using the mouse to fly your ship, or even the keyboard keys, is pure joy. Fights are easy to handle, unless you're crazy and get into a scrap with far better armed and equipped opponents. Everything has been reworked just fine for the mouse and keyboard, and I've yet to need to modify the settings or layout.

Graphically, the game is, quite simply...WOW. It all looks so real, you'd like to climb through the screen and leap into the vastness of space. Ships look great, and battles are nice and pretty to look at, especially when you're in the midst of them. Stations are big and hulking, yet manage to look unbelievably tiny next to planets and other large objects.

Totally can recommend this one. Even at regular price.