Reviews for Guild Wars 2: Heroic Edition

82

A different game

Azraeil | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all Azraeil's reviews »

I started playing this game on a trial, since then i got hooked to it. What makes Guild wars 2 different then others games ,what the reason you want to play it and perhaps why you should actually buy it Let start with the good about the game : 1. The game doesn't have a subscription base, you buy it ones and you play forever. You may say but there are other games like this free to play. I will tell you the shop from those game make you abandon faster then you think. Guild wars 2 has a shop but it pure cosmetic, you don't need half of the item listed. In case you want to buy something you can convert the gold that you collect into gem, and gold is easy to be made. 2. Crafting system is different then other games, in here you need to discover recipe in order to level faster, not to mention you get xp from it which allows you to level. 3. Personal quest which are the most interesting part of the game, allow you to create your own hero and the decision that you made influence the game and brings you different quest,. 4. The quest from this game don't need for you to go to the npc and talk with it. If you are near the zone where the npc is, you automatically take the quest. If you finish it you don't need to speak with a npc, this allows you to not consume time. 5.Exploration brings you rewards, gear and not to mention you get xp from it. 6.Living story are events for 2 weeks where you will face different challenge from defeating a boss to find some objects. 7. Auction house on the game is server link, and you can sell anywhere you are, you don't need to visit a capital in order to sell your items. What is different from others is that you can post the item that you want , and in case a sellers agrees with your price you get your items 8, Banks have a special deposit for the crafting materials, you can send it directly from your inventory, without of need to visit it. 9, In case you are more PVP then PVE, the game has a special feature where you can join a battleground and be 80 directly with full pvp gear and skills. And so on....

The bad about the game :

  1. After you are 80, you get bored fast especially after you get your exotic gear.
  2. If you are not into PVP, and not good in instance, the only way for you to obtain gear is from champion runs.
  3. Living story is bad if you miss it since you will not understand what will happen in the next patch or you will miss some great rewards.
  4. 5 slots for characters is to limited especially since you have 8 classes and you can't play with all of them

80

Better then most of MMO's out there

Vlady | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all Vlady's reviews »

Beautiful looking game that has some of the best mechanics in the entire mmorpg genre. The best thing about it is that it lacks most of the tedium and busy work that is so typical for these types of games. It works in such a way that it is impossible to kill steal, ninja loot, steal resources etc. thus the griefing and frustration is minimal. Also, there is no monthly subscription so you can play at your own pace as you see fit. It does get a little stale as you get closer to the end game, but that is the problem that I have with all mmorpgs in general. Overall a very enjoyable experience with nice customization options and class variety. It doesn't require you to put your real life on hold like some other similar games and can almost be played and enjoyed as single player game.

85

Something for everyone

Dario1902 | Dec. 6, 2013 | See all Dario1902's reviews »

Guild wars 2 is really something different than other mmorpgs out there. First account I bought was in January, I encountered "problem" at the beginning not being able to pick race/profession because all seemed awesome.

Picking first profession I started playing game and the more I played the more I was amazed. Since I came from different type of mmo (World of Warcraft) I was sceptical how will this work with so "little" skills I have to use. As I played I learned everything, from blast combos, questing, activities and all that on my own so when we talk about learning curve this game has very beneficial learning curve for new players. When I first time encountered World boss (pretty early in game around lvl 15) I had goose bumps, because one moment I was doing some caravan escort with other players in starting zone not expecting anything to happen, next moment you see something HUGEEEE appearing and we are all running there, literally there was 50-80 ppl doing the world boss event.

Game is really amazing, although at some point you will feel bored since there is no actual end game content everyone is used to in other mmos. Game constantly gets updated and most of all, game developers actually read feedback from their users making game better.

Like all games this one is not perfect either, there are things that can be annoying, depending on play style, since recently arena net made some changes making this game less casual as they promoted it.

Bottom line is, there is plenty of stuff to do and get you involved, from amazing PVE content to legendary WwWwW fights that involve over hundred people and of course competitive PvP in arena that everyone is familiar with, this game will definitely keep you occupied for more than 1000 hours of gameplay, I know it did me.

85

A lovely MMO

Jossuda | Nov. 6, 2013 | See all Jossuda's reviews »

Guild Wars 2 is a stunning and interesting MMO and for me, it's one of the best MMO-s out there. The visuals and audio is magnificent and i just loved the colors and music, that this game has. The storyline is quite good and has lots of interesting and not so typical missions and objectives so luckily it doesn't get repetitive. For me, the best part is the WvWvW. Me and my friends spent hours in there. Just capturing towers and supply camps and defending castles. In WvWvW the combat shines, the boons start playing a role and dodging becomes an important part of the game. You can have very long battles and fight a long time and it just doesn't tire you. The reason why i like Guild Wars is because it is different, isn't a monthly subscription and is a fun experience. For me, Guild Wars is a shining and fun MMo

65

A disappointment

Thoosa | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all Thoosa's reviews »

I bought this game right when it came out, back in I guess it was September last year. Honestly, I am still regretting the money i spent on it. The game was over - hyped and I was watching everything I could about it. I was really really pumped to get into it, so I installed it and... Well, personally, I thought it was mediocre at best. I was through many MMOs in the past, spent a few years in WoW, a year or so in LoTRO and even in SWTOR. But I only spent a few days in GW2, trying to find out what was almost everyone seeing in it. Where was the revolutional combat ? I mean, it was not appealing at all to me. Sure, there are no monthly subscription fees, but what to do in a game that bores you to death ? Everything I have seen in it was done better before. Maybe it got better after the initial release, but I probably will not be able to force myself to get back into it.

80

Quite a fun game.

JetShredz | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all JetShredz's reviews »

I have been playing Guild Wars 2 since it's release, the game is still enjoyable. The best part of the game is the use of dynamic events throughout the playable areas. In one area, you protect a convoy, another you're fighting a dragon. It's an amazing sight seeing you and at least 100 more people taking on a dragon during the same dynamic event. Not to mention that there are monthly events going on, sadly they have dipped in quality since Halloween which was without a doubt, my favourite event in an MMO game. Give Guild Wars 2 a try.

70

Doesnt meet expectations

Iluminatro | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all Iluminatro's reviews »

This game is beautiful, the effects and the world are beautifully designed. Visually its stunning and the music and sounds are of high quality.

The game offers many features and the combat is more action heavy than normal MMOs but it still doesnt reach the likes of TERA for example. Still its good fun to play and the classes differ greatly, each with its own set of skills.

Throughout the story you make choices that impact and lead the story along the way. This makes for a great variety for every new character and deepends your immersion within the game.

However, in my opinion this game gets boring really quickly after one character and the initial fun wears off quickly. It was hyped really hard before it came out, but cant meet those expectations in the long run.

80

Thoroughly in-depth MMO

IHaveFangs | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all IHaveFangs's reviews »

Guild Wars 2 is a perfect MMO that will easily sap the hours away from your life. Grinding isn't as bad as it was in Guild Wars 1, whereby new challenges are set and the levelling system doesn't necessarily determine how powerful your character is. With plenty of side quests combined with the main quest- players will always have something to do.

Overall the game is excellent, having purchased it from day one, I still continue to play today.

90

The best MMO yet

KingMassive | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all KingMassive's reviews »

I played WoW for little over two years, I played SWTOR for 7 months and then I started playing this. Guild Wars 2 mixes the best parts of WoW and SWTOR together and adds tons of stuff that the other MMO's don't have and is still easy to get in to. The game also looks nice and plays nice.

If you like MMO's but are bored of how much they are the same in the end, get this and you won't be disappointed.

Also, no monthly subscription and everything is still unlocked. And the biggest character customization in any MMO ever.

85

Strange MMO

simodeso | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

This MMO is not like the others, it's more funny. Why? Because you don't have to go back to complete quests, is focused a lot in achievements and dungeons, and you can play it only few hours of week (no exp bonus if you are not logged out near cities ecc.) If the game cost too much for you and you can't decide if you want buy it or not, i hope this review will help you buy it, because it deserve your money. It so well made and graphic may be a problem for you pc (very large aerea's) but a normal pc can figure it out without any problem .

78

Good, but not perfect.

Miyasashi | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Miyasashi's reviews »

After months of waiting I got a good deal on GMG and went online right after downloading.

I´ve leveled up my necromancer up to level 80 and it was a pretty enjoyable experience, what worries me though is the lack of difficulty in dungeons and no real raids at the moment.

Hopefully in the future they will work on this, despite it it´s a pretty fun game to play once in a while.

95

The casual Marmite MMO....and i LOVE it!

Traldera | July 8, 2013 | See all Traldera's reviews »

This game has divided the gaming community on whether they think it is a good concept or not. Most MMOs have questlines following a particular structure, gear grinds, and very difficult end games that take months to clear. GW2 has taken the alternative approach of a completely open world, with no quests (but there is something similar), no gear grind, and no 'proper' end game.

The game is currently undergoing a change - Arenanet have decided that they are making enough profits from the game to not require any paid for expansions. All content will now be released free of charge, on a 2 weekly rota. Whilst these patches are not huge, they are enough to suite the casual play style this game was created for. The idea of this is that rather than feeling like you have to log in every spare hour you have, such as with other MMOs, you can log in for a few hours a week, and have enough new content to fill your time. If that isn't enough, the original game world contains enough content to take around 300 hours to complete per character, plus dungeons, plus the unique server vs server PvP mode - a bit like pvp raiding.

The game has a solidly built engine, which is still receiving optimizations. I have a mid/high end PC and can manage 35fps in all areas at max settings. Due to the painting/drawn art style of the game, even if the graphics are turned down you will still be in awe of the graphics of this game, all you really lose is some of the sparkly particle effects.

All in all this is a very solid game, aimed at those that want something that doesn't require a full time commitment. If you have other commitments in your life, this game is 100% for you. If you are a little short on money and cannot afford a subscription, this game may also be for you. However, if you are looking for a game that provides a huge time sink and requires grinding the same thing over and over then I'm afraid this wont be for you and you should look elsewhere.

97

Weekend was enough to make me buy it

pomstazlesa | July 6, 2013 | See all pomstazlesa's reviews »

I tried this game durning weekend and it was awesome! Love the quest system when you dont have to go back to finish quest and dynamic near-by-you events are really great. Makes the game feel much more lively.

75

Decent for a while

Paracelsus | July 1, 2013 | See all Paracelsus's reviews »

Just doesn't seem to have enough to keep you hooked. The WvW could be interesting but mostly seems to come down to zergs, and the dungeons are..ehhhh. It's pretty good if you only want to play every so often though

95

Definitely one of the best games I've ever played

notmyid | June 26, 2013 | See all notmyid's reviews »

So well made, such detail and the events keep coming as of today! The team is so dedicated and is always making improvements. Pay once, it's such a great game! Though, I played it for about two months until my heart was content with the results, I'm max level and have great gear. Time for another game :) GW2 is a beautifullly crafted MMORPG, I'd recommend it to anybody.

90

A new experience

Zanfy02 | June 26, 2013 | See all Zanfy02's reviews »

Guild Wars 2 is definitely a new way to see how MMO works. Innovative and full of creative constructs, this game sets you up to a new level of gaming intelligence.

86

Fun for a while.

Kaminda | June 5, 2013 | See all Kaminda's reviews »

I had a lot of fun playing Guild wars 2, well for at least 3 months as the game lacks really any interesting endgame content although I think that this can be somewhat excused as it is not a monthly subscription game.

The game looks amazing, maybe not technically but it has a large range of stunning landscapes with tonnes of massive monsters roaming them.

I don't think that Guild wars has really revolutionized MMOs like people have been saying, but it's definitely a step in the right direction and definitely worth the price.

76

3 Months of epic gameplay

thepog1 | June 3, 2013 | See all thepog1's reviews »

As the title says, I have played this game solidly for 3 months and has been the first and only MMO that has been able to actually grab me and make me play past the initial starter area.

Guild Wars 2 has taken an overused format and reworked it to make it familiar to anyone who is used to MMORPG games but different enough so MMORPG haters can play this game happily too.

The game, while on the rails for the first 10-15 levels, allows you to go where you want and do as you wish throughout with a huge variety of options for levelling. A player can get from 1-80 with nothing but crafting should you have that temperament. You can do nothing but grind if you wish or helps locals by completing heart quests.

A great game and with no subscription why NOT buy it?

90

Pay onces and Play free

wolferatus | May 7, 2013 | See all wolferatus's reviews »

I played the Beta and bought GW2, if you like MMOGs or RPGs you will like this game, but its not so good like GW1 and the AddOns. But the publisher are still trying to add new thinks and new challenges, so you have always somethink to do! If ou dont like MMOG`s with monthly Paymant, buy this game, you will enjoy it and its not like F2P games that you have to buy thinks on the item store, you can do this game easy without purchasing! You can play when ever you like and the servers run very well, you finde always peoples to play and you can enjoy this game s PVP or PVE.

95

Great MMO

redlady360 | May 1, 2013 | See all redlady360's reviews »

Now I've played a few MMO's and got bored of them quickly because in general they are all pretty much the same just with different names and settings. However for me Guild Wars 2 is a lot better than other MMO's as it is different in my opinion.

You can get far on your own in the game but its fun to team with others helping each other on your main story quests or any other quests. Another bonus is if you're doing the same story quests you can either repeat them or accept that you've done the mission, which helps if you don't really want to repeat the same mission again.

If you're the sort who likes exploring every corner of a map then you'll enjoy doing so on Guild wars 2 (I myself have enjoyed it) as the areas are detailed and nice places to discover.

I have yet to play PvP but plan to do so later on as at the moment I am quite content exploring, defeating monsters and generally levelling up. But if you have friends who like playing MMO's then it (as it was for me) hopefully should be fun to play with each other.

89

One of the best MMOs lately

Razzon | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all Razzon's reviews »

Guild Wars 2 takes place 250 years after the first one, but you don't need to play the first one to understand the story in GW2.

The art style of this game is amazing, you will find everything from snowy mountains to tropical beaches. The combat system is refreshing you can move while casting, every character is unique in something (Thief has no cooldowns, elementalists can switch between stances etc.).

The dynamic events are fun, but they will get repetitive after some time. The good thing is that ArenaNet constantly keeps adding new events.

PvP is fun, although it's best played with a group of friends, communication is key in arena pvp and world versus world, too.

The things I was disappointed in is after completing every zone, doing every dungeon there is not much else to do. Sure, you can grind dungeons for gear, but that's not what I was looking for when I got this game. Also the voice acting is horrible for the majority of the characters.

All in all, you can get out of this game 200 hours at least, so it's definitely worth the money.

100

The best MMO

Stebsis | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Oh man, where do I start with this one? There's so much to do in the game. I've never been that interested in MMO's. I've tried Star Wars The Old Republic, World of Warcraft, Maple Story, even the original Guild Wars and tons of others subscription and f2p titles, but none of them clicked. I didn't really care about Guild Wars 2 either until I saw a review explaining all the things about it, and I was hooked. Bought this and been playing it for some 4-5 months now and my god is it good on so many levels.

There are no your basic healer or tank class, you can specialize in something like that, but you're never given like a specific role to play in battle, everyone tries support each other and beat the enemy as a team, which I like. Everyone gets their own loot too, which is really nice, but too often you get really good stuff that you just cannot use because of class restriction. There should be a focus in the loot that gives mostly stuff that your class can use, it's frustrating when beating down this monstrous giant dragon - and they are big, Skyrim dragons seem like babies compared to them - and then you rush to the big chest where everyone gets their share... and everything's crap or you cannot use the best stuff.

Graphically the game is really beautiful, there are many wow moments in the design, huge mountains, big cities brimming with life, beautiful riversides etc. they're pleasure to the eyes and it's fun to just stay there a while, listening the awesome soundtrack, looking around, and just take it all in.

Combat is really fun, I've played as Mesmer and Ranger, and they're really fun characters to play both with melee and ranged attacks that I like to switch between. Classes have distinct looks and all gear you make look different depending on the class.

Crafting is also a big part of the game if you want the best gear and especially if you want to survive and go solo. You chop down trees and mine ore to get necessary stuff to create all kinds of stuff, you can even cook which early on is a great way to stack up some quick exp.

I really urge you to join a guild, it's fun and they can really help you with ingredients and if you're not that skilled in some crafting skill, someone from guild might be and you don't have to raise your crafting skills all the way up if you don't have the time and/or resources.

Questing is one of the best parts what really got me hooked. There're no typical unimaginative kill/fetch quests where you go kill something and come back to get the reward. You just wander around in the area of the quest, look up what you have to do, go do one of many, many different things, maybe kill, maybe gather, maybe mix some ingredients together to create some kind of potion you have to use to something, and when you've done it enough you get rewarded automatically, you don't need to go back and talk to people before doing almost anything. And talking about rewards, the game rewards you from everything you do, go to a new area, find points of interest, find vistas, do a jumping puzzle, kill enemies, find hidden area, just everything gives you reason to do them.

There's just so much to do, there's PvP which I haven't touched, I prefer PvE. There's also World vs World where 3 servers battle against each other in huge map. There's a gigantic world to explore, 3 massive dragons to kill, hundreds of quests, a bit dull main story and a lot more. If you're like me and don't really like MMO's, give GW2 a try if you're a least bit interested, it just might turn your head around.

90

Good MMO

Lirks | Jan. 18, 2013 | See all Lirks's reviews »

Personal Story 2.5/5:

This is probably the most disappointing aspect of Guild Wars 2. The story, at first, seems fun and somewhat engaging (appropriate for the early levels), but later changes for the worst as it devolves into a disastrous journey to kill Zhaitan, the undead Elder Dragon. Not only are characters wooden and dialogue cheesy, but for some reasons the writers thought killing off random characters left and right would evoke some sort of emotion -- instead, it ends up seemingly a pointless death, and rather unnecessary. There aren't many characters that will grab your attention, and the narrative needs some work. Cutscenes are lazy, and character facing character conversation scenes, while novel at first, eventually makes you realize how immersion breaking they really are. The choices you make... really don't matter too much in the end either.

Graphics and Sound 5/5

The atmosphere of the game is beautiful. Everything in the game feels like a piece of art. There is rarely a dull moment when it comes to the art direction of Guild Wars 2. The attention to detail is absolutely grand. The soundtrack is also equally stunning, composed by famous Jeremy Soule, known for his previous work in the Elder Scrolls Franchise and Guild Wars 1. The sound effects in the game are also grand and plentiful. The most notable track: Fear Not This Night.

Gameplay 5/5

The leveling experience is probably one of the best I've played in any MMO. Dynamic Events pop up left and right, each with their own unique context and story. The only problem is that dynamic events truly do not serve 100% as a placeholder for quests. This is where hearts come in. Hearts are basically quests without the text or the need to walk back and forth between NPC to accept the quest and turn it in. Exploration is one of the strongest points of the game. Jumping puzzles, and unique little discoveries are everywhere.

Instances 3/5

A mixed bag. Some of the dungeons are a lot of fun, while plenty of others are extremely mundane. Fractals of the Mists was also introduced as a new form of gear progression. Fear not, GW2 is still mainly about cosmetics. Ascended items aren't worth all the controversy. It provides a new goal to work for, and I believe Arenanet will continue to balance time and reward.

World v World v World 4/5

A lot of fun, but needs a better reward system (which is coming in February). You fight massive siege battles against 2 other servers. What is there not to like?

Structured PvP 3/5

Great fun, but only has a single mode. Capture points. Hot-join games may get stale over time, but they're great for trying out new builds before foraying into Tournament PvP. Right now this mode needs a lot of work, but once Arenanet implements the much needed infrastructure later this year, I have no doubt sPvP will continue to grow.

Overall:

4.5/5

Well worth the 60 dollar admission. You can get hundreds and hundreds of hours for no monthly fee. Regular monthly content updates continue to improve the game and add new ways for players to enjoy the game. Arenanet will continue to learn from their mistakes and further improve their game.

90

Great introduction for new MMO player

Takeshi_K | Dec. 25, 2012 | See all Takeshi_K's reviews »

I've only tried a few hours of TERA before sinking over 60 hours into GW2 and I was completely hooked for weeks. The dynamic events were exiting, the story was okay. At first it was getting new gear that motivated me to play it, then it was the amazing collaboration of players that just amazed me. And then finally the prospect of fighting epic monsters. Sadly, I've lost the interest for now though I plan to resume playing at some point.

88

Good game, but very different from GW1

oginer | Nov. 6, 2012 | See all oginer's reviews »

Being an old GW1 player, I feel this game lacks the depth of the original. It certainly has been made to cater a bigger audience. So if you come from GW1 (and liked it) you'll probably miss the skill system and all its complexities in build building.

The other downside is that combat is confusing, you specially notice this in PvP, where you can't really see what skills enemy players are using.

The structured PvP is very lacking (specially when compared to GW1 PvP at launch), with only 4 maps (only 3 of them used in tournaments) and 2 game modes (random 8v8 and automated tournaments).

But if you forget about those, you have a very polished game, with tons of details put into it. The best without any doubt is the exploration. Tyria is inmense, with lots of nice places to discover (and no quest/NPC makes you go there, you discover them by just exploring the maps for yourself).

66

Deeply DIsapointed

Killoran | Sept. 24, 2012 | See all Killoran's reviews »

After playing GW1 For 5 years i was looking forward to GW2 i bought 2x Digital Deluxe Edition of the guild wars website as soon as it was available at the cost of £130 (one copy for me one for the GF). I didn't play the betas as i didn't want to do all the same stuff over again when it was officially released.

You don't have side quests in GW2 you have a main quest around every 3 levels (12-15-18) instead of side quest you have "hearts" which are basically side quests which are just pick up certain things/kill certain things, some are easier to complete than others. some you will have to wait for a random event to happen to complete the heart. These random events I though would be a great idea and in videos about it they said "you will feel like you made a difference", well you don't. One person being there or not doesn't make much difference at all and the event will just happen again 5mins later if you were successful. this is all the PvE consists of basically and get very boring very quick.

The holy trinity of MMOs (tank+healer+CC) is done away with by GW2 instead you left with a mess of people playing there own way doing what they want and everyone dying over and over.. my first run in the first instance ended up with everyone in the group dying at least 6 times

The most enjoyable things in GW2 is the PVP the WvW is quite fun large groups of people sieging different size forts with siege equipment, or small groups going round attacking the easier targets of supply caravans and depots however the Que into the WvW take on average 2hrs on high population servers and low population servers don't stand a chance in WvW

The 5v5 PvP however where your automatically leveled up-to 80 and given all skills is the best part of the game a where teamwork is actually required for winning.

You will play with 100s of players on GW2 and never need to speak to any of them most you will say is "Thanks for the res"

90

A good mmorpg

Zinzun | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

I played the beta and this is a very wonderful mmorpg. Great graphic,nice story and...you don't pay a monthly fee. You buy the game, install it and play it. Stop. And in the future if you want you will buy DLCs, but you can enjoy the full game...simply buying it!

100

Most awesome MMO ever

Supernico00 | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all Supernico00's reviews »

Just ... awesome.

Don't really have anything else to say , just buy it already.