Reviews for War of the Roses: Kingmaker

80

A great addition to the otherwise free game

Bloodish | Dec. 6, 2013 | See all Bloodish's reviews »

In itself, War of the Roses is a great game, but with this a whole lot of freedom and cosumization is added to the game. New weapons is also available by getting this pack. As for the gameplay, the game is great. The fighting mechanics work well, and it's very satisfying to defeat another player. Be it by sword, bow or any other weapon. All in all i would definitely recommend this game. It's great fun, especially when playing with friends. And if you are not sure whether or not you should get this game, try the free version out on steam.

80

York vs Lancaster

DeadEndRic | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all DeadEndRic's reviews »

The game is great in terms of realistic gameplay and atmosphere, just a bit hard to get used to. But after half an hour of playing (and not skipping the tutorial as always) you'll be out there swinging your greatsword cutting of heads, and executing the fallen!

The gameplay is simple, yet impressive, the graphics are great (a bit badly optimised, but that could be my PC.. most probably just my PC..) and I can't say anything bad about the sounds, but there could have been some more voice overs.

I really like medieval games, and this game got the potential. So if you like them to, go ahead and buy it!

73

There is no rose without thorns

MarcoCav | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

In War of the Roses the physics of the clashes is valid, the feeling of control over the character is almost always good and the skill of the player is important. Unfortunately, all these contents are filled into only two multiplayer modes, which are old and absolutely inappropriate to value horses, archers and infantry charges. In any case, the Fatshark title deserves a chance if you like physical combat and medieval atmosphere.

85

Great Game

Clippers745 | Sept. 7, 2013 | See all Clippers745's reviews »

War of the Roses was a refreshing return to fast paced medieval warfare, something I haven't had much fun with since Mount & Blade Warband. The sword play is fantastic, along with archery which is implemented well. Cavalry are a little overpowered at times, but I guess that is befitting of a large horse covered in armor with a knight sitting atop it.

Some may recommend Chivalry : Medieval Warfare as an alternative, but to me that seems as pointless as recommending Call of Duty to Battlefield players or vice versa, people like what they like. Each game has its pro's and con's, and personally I like WotR better due to my time spent in Warband.

The game however is fairly difficult to get into, but once you figure out the basics you can have a lot of fun experimenting with tanky knights or quick footmen, or just snipe away as a ranged character. If you expect to be good straight away however, you are probably going to have a bad time.

All things considered, its a great game.

77

War of the Roses - review

Neapolis47 | Aug. 22, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

War of the Roses is a simulator of medieval warfare - in the third person - modeled on the English conflict of the fifteenth century. The game offers a limited and evanescent tutorial, the multiplayer mode - the core product - the editor of your profile and the inevitable game settings. The gameplay in War of the Roses differs greatly depending on the type of weapon used, the archers when "shoot" offer a first person view with breath control, lunges and shots from above with the sword are managed by sudden movements of the mouse combined with the pressure of the left in order to give strength. Technically pleasant but not impressive, War of the Roses has a solid gameplay, deep and compelling that will thrill all lovers of the setting and the medieval battles.

75

Medieval mayhem

Veniu | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Veniu's reviews »

Right now on the market everybody compares almost any game to a Call of Duty series. Why are they doing that, even if the game has nothing to do with the Call of Duty?

True this game has alot of customization options, yes it has respawns and kind of similar gamemodes and maybe a CoD would look like this if it'd be set in medieval ages. Though its a completely different game!

The graphics (even on max) is just ok. Its nice for your eyes, not too shiny or too spiky (you know what I mean?) or candy-like. Its just fine, nothing outstanding though. I'd say it exactly matches the game.

Gameplay is something else, I love the idea of blocking from directions but even on "core" there shouldn't be any indicators telling you how to block. Also they should have add stamina to the game so there won't be any overpowered weapon users, that spam same attacks all the time. A group of those can be devastating...

I've also encountered a few bugs, like being stuck in a rock or flying around, floating into the textures. Or flying horses. This happens sometimes.

Weaponry, customization and all of that is a dream od medieval fan. You can customize even the steel of the blade or style of fighting. Never seen such customization! Its totally great.

Game is fun to play but some of the sounds are dull, archers seem to be pretty fresh (a real archer would hold a longbow for more than 10 seconds right?) but overall? It ain't that bad! After loads of updates, its finally balanced and only skill can guide you through the worst times in the battle. Or a group of mindless spamming friends...

78

Very good and satisfying execution (literally) LOL

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

I bought this game for $5.00 on Steam during a sale, and I have to say, it's one of the better games I've played. The game play is fun and fast-paced, and the class customization is very in-depth, going so far as to letting you choose your fighting style and how your blade is sharpened. There are a few downsides however. When you start, you'll probably get frustrated because of the players with full plate armor and two-hit swords, but when you unlock some good armor and a good weapon, it's really not a problem. Then there's the matter of nothing cheaper than 1,000 coins. What the developers did was put high prices on things that you unlock at level 5 so you'll buy in game coins for real money, on top of buying the game. I can understand doing that if it was a free-to-play game, but seeing as how it's regularly $30, I think it's ridiculous. On the upside, the coins aren't that much, so if you're having trouble with fully armored foes, there's a way past it. Honestly, the option of being able to buy coins made me want to unlock everything manually, and that feeling you get when you save up enough hard-earned coins to buy an armored horse or a perfectly balanced sword is exhilarating and it makes all the time you spent, winning or losing, well worth it. This game also rewards you for playing as a team and helping out your buddies. You get 200 points for an execution on a fallen teammate, but you get 250 points for bandaging your friends wounds, and 300 points for helping up a downed teammate. It encourages people to work together and travel in groups, and punishes those that walk around by themselves with a group of enemies around the corner or an arrow in the face. Overall, I think is a good buy for anyone that enjoyed Mount Blade or Chivalry: Medieval Warfare, and in the end, buying coins can be easily avoided if you're willing to put the time into the game.

65

Fun Undermined By Crashes

megiddo | June 24, 2013 | See all megiddo's reviews »

I've put more than 40 hours into War of the Roses unlocking perks and assembling builds. Customization is the definitely the game's strongest point. Players start off with a few pre-made sets to get them into the game and learning the combat. Players can unlock a few more slots as they gain gold through winning matches, obtaining objectives, and killing other opponents. Customizing your character is about unlocking the perks that enable the build you want to ranged, mounted, heavily armored, fast-running, fast-healing, two-handed, shielded -- There's a lot of options.

Players only have to unlock the various basic perks once for all characters, but as players get deeper into the various gear and armor trees, they'll have to re-buy certain blade edges, handle wood-types, and colors. Consequently, some players are more interested scoring kills than winning as a team and others leave matches as soon it's clear that their side can't win. Getting dominated by a better skilled, better balanced, or better geared team is not fun at all. It's like playing whack-a-mole as the mole. Players can spend real world money on everything unless it's an level unlock which can only be earned by playing. Keep in mind, buying better gear will not automatically make better player. Players still have to master combat.

Melee combat in WotR involves the blocking, parrying, and directional attacks you have in similar games like Chivalry: Medieval Warfare. However, unlike in Chivalry, the type of strike you make isn't determined by the button mapped to it. Every attack is primed by holding down LMB and every parry by holding down RMB. Players then move their mouse up, down, left, or right to prepare an overhead bash, stab, or lateral slash respectively. Release LMB to strike or keep holding it to charge up the attack for more damage. In contrast to Chivalry, where you have to keep your eye on the opponent's weapon to know where the attack is coming from, in WotR there are visual UI queues that clearly identify the direction of the incoming strike. There are no feints. The combat is challenging to master and not as crazily fast-paced and frenetic as Chivalry. This is not a bad thing; for one reason, it clear to tell when a player is defeated by their own mistake or because their opponent overpowered them.

I compare WotR to Chivarly because they're both multiplayer medieval melee games that were released weeks apart. Highlighting more differnces between the two games, WotR offers mounted combat and ranged combat that feels like an FPS. Running around with a crossbow and one-shotting a knight with a head is fun (along with the voiceover announcing it). Unfortunately, I've also experienced more gamebreaking bugginess with WotR than Chivalry. Random crashes to desktop are ridiculously frequent. Nevertheless, from update to update, I can see where they've fixed a couple of places where the devs have smashed bug that I emailed them about months ago. I'm also impressed by the free new maps and weapons that I've seen added to the game since I stared playing late last winter.

So the worst things about War of the Roses are the random crashes and the effects of the steep learning curve. Therefore the question is whether these negatives outweigh the positives. For me, the first month or so of playing was great until an update brought problems that were never resolved. After unsuccessfully trying to troubleshoot why my client was crashing to desktop in the middle of weapon swings, I quit playing WotR for about two months. I came back and the one crash I had been able to duplicate easily (that I put a ticket in to Paradox Support about) was fixed. I spent a few more minutes in the Training Battlegrounds to loosen up and wouldn't you know it; more crashes. I know the team at Fat Shark are still improving the game based on the updates, so I have some hope that they'll improve playability. But at this point, it's a decent game that's too frustrating to recommend.

90

Refreshing

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

This is an excellent game, with a steep learning curve. If you are more used to slower-paced games, this game will throw you off. If you are used to games that require little in terms of practice and skill, this game will throw you off. This is not your average multiplayer game, this is something unique and different.

Some claim that the controls are clunky and awkward and, you know what, they are. The point is that it's not something that takes away from the game; rather, it is just another element that you have to learn, adapt to and then master. We are all noobs to begin with and this game makes that painfully clear.

If you're a terribad, you're going to hate this game, because no matter what you do, others will seem to instantly kill you from miles away with a crossbow, mow you down with a horse and lance, crush your face with a hammer coming down on your helmet like the wrath of a severely irked deity... but if you decide to lift yourself above the masses and actually learn the mechanics, learn when to use the dagger, when to use the poleaxe, how the arrows drop off... then you will eventually be rewarded ten-fold, when you snipe that pesky mounted knight right off his horse at 200 yards.

83

Good (Hard) Combat Game

Wrayman | June 9, 2013 | See all Wrayman's reviews »

I am certainly a very big fan of the Mount & Blade series so I was looking forward to playing this game which concentrates completely on the combat. It's a great looking game with a variety of scenery from famous battles of the period. The game can be very hard to get a good score for new players giving it some challenge but once you've got into it and have mastered the combat mechanics you'll be able to compete in each game you play making it a much more enjoyable experience. There are a variety of exciting possibilities with the different game modes which keep the game from getting boring although you'll no doubt find your favourite modes and play them to death anyway! So overall I'd say that this game is worth a play especially for the price you can get it! Although don't expect to be able to jump in a game and win it from the start, it is not easy!

80

Medival game of paradox.

WildWest123 | June 7, 2013 | See all WildWest123's reviews »

Paradox and medival games is just a must have,true,this title is not as nearly as perfect as other titles released by the company,but still,the graphics and authenticy of the game are a thrill,even though it has flaws of balance and lacks singeplayer,I'd still recommend it.

76

Worth it, despite flaws

cevana | May 26, 2013 | See all cevana's reviews »

I want to head off the complaints I have with the game by saying first that I don't regret a cent I spent on it, or a minute I played it. It is completely unique. If you want a multiplayer game with some real level of customization, a Mount & Blade style combat, and an aspiration to realism, then this is the only game in town.

Unfortunately it has not quite lived up to its potential. Patches are constantly shifting the strength of armor, the hit-boxes and overall balance of of weapons, all while introducing new weapons into the mix. Balance is not the games strong suit, and get ready for a challenge if you want to use anything but a two-handed sword.

Nonetheless, the moments when you find a great duel or narrowly defy death while capturing a castle make the rest worth it. You can't have the experience anywhere else.

Pros: - Only game of its kind (Chivalry and WOTR are apples and oranges) - The potential hours you can spend only mastering one weapon, still mean a real big bang for your buck (plus new free content is often released)

Cons: - Terribly unbalanced weapons and armors - The learning curve is very high

85

Solid gameplay, decent balance, fun game

Coops07 | April 28, 2013 | See all Coops07's reviews »

Some folks say they prefer Chivalry to this game but I find myself playing this a lot more often as I find it to be more realistic and much more fun as a result. Almost every little aspect of physics you can think of is affected in combat, environment, weight, all play a part in combat. They are continually balancing and improving the game with new features so if you're looking for a great medieval multiplayer game, look no further than WotR.

85

Amazing Mechanics!

Hogman0012 | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all Hogman0012's reviews »

Chivalry is a medieval war-game that has many game modes. Capture the flag, team objective, team deathmatch, free for all, deathmatch, and many more! You can use catapults, big arrow launcher things (forget the name), battering rams, oil pots (poor over castle walls onto enemies), and much much more. The objective can be anything from defend a bay by taking down ships to burn and pillage the village. There is so much to do in this game and it is very fun. So many weapons to use and 4 classes, heavy armor, medium armor, light, and ranged. Each melee weapon has 3 different ways to attack and many other special weapons on the side such as flame pots, smoke, throwing weapons, shield, etc.

This game has hours upon hours of gameplay, get some friends to play along and you will love this game!

75

Enjoyable but could be better

DaJackel | Nov. 16, 2012 | See all DaJackel's reviews »

The game overall is quite a bit of fun and very enjoyable.

Unfortunately it could have been a lot better. Some of the issues I have, like lack of interesting game modes, are promised to be coming in future patches.

The other problem I have is the combat itself is a little floaty as the weapons do not have enough weight behind them. Really hoping this gets fixed in a future patch but even as it stands it is still quite enjoyable.

65

Select Few Need Apply

penncolin89 | Oct. 4, 2012 | See all penncolin89's reviews »

This game has made sure it only tailors to a small majority of gamers. From all the reviews and videos I saw (there were few critic reviews out even by release date?) did not mention how this game was basically made for mount and blade fans. If you haven't played them before (as I hadn't) you will be lost in a game that explains nothing and has a poor fighting system. The idea is interesting, but it sparingly plays out as you hope. Most of the time you get 4 on 1 teamed up on and lose automatically because there is no sprinting or getting away. Also, if you fight against a higher level players (as many reviews lament) you will basically die because they are fully armored and the only way to hurt them is to hit them with a straight jab to the face, all the while you have little armor. It makes the fighting tedious as you circle and use the same attack button, which usually just hits armor. In 1 minute of blocking and parrying (1 on 1 fights take about as long) I hit nothing but armor. The poorly done attack system compounds the problem, as you try to swing one way but always swing a different way due to poor feedback. The archery system is well done. There are also few modes, and the single player is the worst excuse for a tutorial I have ever seen, as you just spend 15 min fighting constantly respawning enemies by yourself until you give up like I did. Most of those that play the game are mount and blade fanboys, as you can tell from 10 min into playing online. If you liked those game pick it up.

80

Unique Multiplayer Game- Not for Everyone

BillyMays14 | Oct. 3, 2012 | See all BillyMays14's reviews »

War of the Roses is a unique 64 player online medieval combat game. It is mostly melee and it's gameplay is closest mirrored by the Mount & Blade series. It's a chaotic game with difficult to grasp controls and a steep learning curve. However, if you can get past that you will find a deep and unique multiplayer game that has the potential to last for a very long time.