Reviews for Rochard

85

Solid platformer with aspirations of more

Lorddyran | Sept. 16, 2014 | See all Lorddyran's reviews »

Every once in a while, I got the feeling this game desperately wants to be another Portal, and it's not. That said, it is a solid, entertaining game of its own. It's funny at times, the puzzles are satisfying, if relatively easy, and the combat is serviceable.

95

A Solid Puzzle-Platformer ;)

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Rochard is a very entertaining platformer game where you can control gracity with your G-Lifter and also control the gravity in the whole room you are in. There are also other things, but I won't spoil everything here. Nevertheless, with these simple concepts a lot of fun puzzles are created in a beautiful space station environment made with the Unity engine.

The soundtrack is awesome, especially the title song. It really gets you in the mood right from the start. The story is pretty good too and it keeps you going since you want to see the end so badly.

Controls are responsive with mouse+kb, but work pretty well with a pad, too. Only the aiming is a little harder with the pad, so mouse+kb would be my recommendation.

Voice acting is also top notch and it gives the characters additional depth.

Easily recommendable to friends of platformer games. Also, it is made my a Finnish team, which give them 5 more points in my book! :)

90

Tingles your brain!

WHGH | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all WHGH's reviews »

I've played this on PS3 and PC and had fun both times! The puzzles tingle your brain and there is plenty of action too!

I grew up in the 80s and played a lot of arcade games and this game gave me the feeling that the very best arcade games did!

There are physics-based puzzle elements like gravity that you can control yourself (and sometimes you can't), and action that includes blasting with your laser gun or launching grenades!

It is somewhat short, but that's probably because the player feels like they want more of this great game!

There is always DLC if you want harder puzzles!

88

A Delightful Entry

Wiesler | Nov. 15, 2013 | See all Wiesler's reviews »

Rochard is mostly a puzzle platformer, and that is where the game truly shines. The puzzles are not incredibly difficult or cryptic. The controls, and execution of puzzles feels great. The pacing of the game is also really well done, as you will constantly be moving along, and the game doesn't really drag out.

The story is ok, but nothing to really write home about. The graphics have a nice style, but the music is really good. The mechanics of the game mess with gravity and object placement, and it is all fun. However, the developers decided to include combat into the mix, and it doesn't fit into the game very well.

Rochard is a great puzzle platformer, despite the questionable inclusion of combat. The cliff hanger ending really leaves you wanting more, but in a good game.

92

Awesome!

Oree21 | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all Oree21's reviews »

Nice ambience, good music, good story and lot of fun. I really recomend this game to the old school gamers. Rochard gives you the magic of the Mario/Sonic style, and puzzle pandemonium like portal. Basicly it is a very funny game.

85

Neat stuff

RbRt | July 5, 2013 | See all RbRt's reviews »

Rochard is a 2D puzzle/action platformer with very responsive controls and nice gameplay mechanics. You can play with gravity and switch it around, shoot enemies, throw stuff around with your gravity gun and much more!

The puzzles aren't the meanest I've ever seen, but they're quite challenging, and most of them are combined with shooting stuff, so there's some diversity to it.

The story isn't bad either, but there is nothing outstanding to it. Nevertheless you'll enjoy it. The art style is also quite fascinating, especially because of the color schemes chosen for certain levels.

Rochard is well worth your money. Overall, the game was beyond my expectations, being one of the best indie games I've ever played.

85

Pretty good game!

McDoenerKing | June 1, 2013 | See all McDoenerKing's reviews »

I finished it in about 5hours and I enjoyed every second except the ending, but oh well they made it the way it is, because they want to make a sequel.

The Good: - the puzzles are great and often challenging - the combat is fun to and at later stages not too easy - lots of different mechanics for puzzles

The Bad: - the ending is abrupt - towards the end a bit too much combat - could have been a little longer

If you like plattformer and puzzle games this wil be a perfect match for you.

77

Enjoyable, Trine-esque platformer

Lunk | Nov. 28, 2012 | See all Lunk's reviews »

Rochard is a well constructed, highly polished puzzle platformer with smooth gameplay, pretty graphics, and a soundtrack that suits the game well. In those ways, and a few others, it reminds me a lot of Trine.

The setting is obviously radically different, but despite only having one character to play as the cycling of weapons actually mimics the Trine characters pretty closely - you've got one to move and manipulate objects (wizard), one for direct ranged attacks (thief), and a melee attack that it very rarely makes any sense to use (knight).

I really enjoyed most of the 5 hours or so that the game lasted, with 2 reservations: there's an upgrade you cannot avoid getting with roughly 20% of the game left that renders the other weapons pointless and removes pretty much all of the challenge from the game, and the plot is pretty nonsensical. That said, I enjoyed the characters (including the protagonist, voiced by Jon St. John) and their interactions, so if you can just roll with the nonsense without focusing on it too much it shouldn't detract from the otherwise enjoyable experience.

83

Good Game

Bolo | Nov. 18, 2012 | See all Bolo's reviews »

Very good title India with great music. The puzzles are not too easy, are a challenge, the game itself is about 7 hours of delicious fun. I recommend nature fun platform with elements of logic.

80

A unique combination of puzzles, gravitation and shooting.

fable2 | Nov. 1, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

The great game that stands out with it's unique combination of puzzles, gravitation and enemy shooting. The story is not so deep-minded, as a game itself is short, so don't expect much of it, but gameplay will pull you in. Graphics are really nice to the eye, good animation, effects, good color mix, which suits the game story. To solve puzzles you will need to use your gravity tool all the way, thought every chapters differs with variety of puzzles and difficulty of them. But they are not that hard, when you get used to gravity tool and box moving, but they are entertaining anyway. There is only one boss fight in end game, but that is explained by the shortness of game, also voice acting of some background characters could be better. Music is average. But that are some small drawbacks of the game, so you should get it anyway, even if you are not fan of side-scrolling games, you won't be disappointed!

80

Rochard Rocks

Stefann | Oct. 4, 2012 | See all Stefann's reviews »

Amazingly good and a brilliant Indie game. The game feels very fresh and new and performs like a modern game (shooter) with that something extra (puzzles). Modern 3D-graphics and wonderful color combinations with and interesting game story. Most levels look like a piece of art rather that just a background to the game. The quality poor out and is easily recognized by anyone who plays this game. The sound effects could be a little better, but in general with the well composed background music, you probably won't even notice it

You get to toy with gravity, shoot, trow crates, play with electricity, take an elevator run around in a casino, what can one want more. When gravity is lowered - yes yo can lower it - elements in the room become lighter. A transporter, suddenly lifts higher, you stay longer in the air and even airborne robots are affected. The puzzles are challenging, but doable, it's always a pleasure to find out how to go from point A to B.

The game is never boring and very addictive, so be adviced. Once you start up your first level you know you won't stop playing. This is one of the best INDIE games I've had the pleasure of playing, it surpassed every expectation I had when I bought Rochard.

84

Good game

Zinzun | Aug. 31, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

Rochard is a good game.It's a Metroidvania,if you played Shadow Complex on Xbox 360 it's very similar.There are five chapters for a total of seven hours of gameplay,but you will redo all the area to aquire power-up,collect more stuff etc,but one problem is...there's too much combat.On a game based on exploration,the combat it's an important,maybe too important,part of it. But the game is very good,so buy it if you like the genre.

50

Good game. Bad performance.

DrHouse | Aug. 31, 2012 | See all DrHouse's reviews »

The game is overall good. Good graphics, good story, good gameplay, good sound...but a very bad performance. This is due to being build on the Unity3D engine. Because lets face it, Unity is good for simple games or platformers or a concept test, but for real games it's performance is just not good enough.

It need the more power than Crysis to render a Super Mario-like game.

So good if you have a good PC. Otherwise I would wait until the price drops.

94

Best indie platformer ever?

Cooberstooge | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Looks, sounds, characters, gameplay, and story all combine here to make what is quite possibly my favourite platform game. You can rush through Rochard, but why do that when the game environment is so awesomely detailed and loaded with nice touches?

Finally, the voice of Duke Nukem gets to appear in a very good game. Had they chosen anyone else to voice the main character, Rochard just wouldn't be the same. You'll get to see a lighter side of Jon St. John this time around, and rest assured, it's a good one.

The soundtrack is sublime, it's so good. It ties in with the action, and can easily be listened to long after completing the game. Visually, the game has that warm feeling so many space games lack, and reminds me to some extent of the graphical style of Dungeon Defenders. Everything runs nice and smooth, too, and I only ran across lag in one spot.

The gameplay is superb, and is more physics-based than anything. You'll spend much of your time manipulating gravity and tossing objects at your enemies, splattering them underneath or between such things as massively heavy cargo crates. Shooters are just so boring now, and Rochard manages to make platforming fun again.

Bug-wise, I've never run across anything, and I'm now on my third run through the game. I highly recommend this one.