Reviews for Freedom Force vs. the Third Reich

77

Make your own Avengers!

AkiMatti | April 15, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

I've always liked superheroes, so buying a game about controlling them was a non-issue. I dove in it straight and started playing. The game had some humor to it, and the ability to use some of the environment in fighting is awesome.

There are plenty different powers to control, too. Unfortunately, there is no way to customize your heroes like in City of Heroes, for example. But at least you can name them the way you like.

The game is pretty hard, too. After getting stuck in a mission pretty early on, I've all but given up with the game. I've moved along to other games. It could probably give good enjoyment still, but I just haven't been able to pick it up again.

Worth a try but only if you don't have other games on the side. And you like superheroes.

70

Superheroes to rescue!

Mandemon | Dec. 9, 2013 | See all Mandemon's reviews »

Freedom Force vs. The Third Reich is a sequel to the original Freedom Force and is quite similar to it. It is a tactical RPG, you lead your group of heroes through a series of mission and try to use their skill to their best extend.

Graphics wise, the game is weird mix of "dated" and "stylized". It's stylized so that it's not a bad game to look at, but you can clearly see it's an old game at the same time.

Gameplay is real time tactics. You have one to four heroes in your team, each with different abilities. You can also make your own heroes. These heroes are, in general, expies of other comic book heroes.

Story is a cliche fest. However, for this game, it works. This mainly due to game acting as if it was Silver Age superhero game, with all the cheese, ham and weird science.

Game has it's problems, it has weird difficult curve. One mission, you are beating everything and in the next, you are restarting for the 10th time.

You don't need to play the original game to enjoy this, I certainly didn't, but if you haven't then the plot near the end might become confusing.

Still, for it's price, it is a good fun.

75

Freedom Fighters fight for justice

xghosts | July 2, 2013 | See all xghosts's reviews »

If you like super-heroes and real time strategy, this game is for you. Sometimes a parody, sometimes a tribute, the game is one of the best comic book inspired game I have ever played. Great scenario, funny characters with great voice acting, parodic musics... everything is done for comic book fans to feel at ease ! So bring with you some of your favorites heroes and go kick the Third Reich butt ! You won't regret it !

67

Glad I found this.

drafek | June 21, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

When I started playing this game I was suprised that I haven't seen this game before. The AI is done well, they're pretty good but not super hard. The graphics are a little disappointed, they could be a lot more detailed. The game itself does have some nice gameplay, but it does get boring after sometime, I recommend playing it during a break or something like that. The game didn't really feel like a RPG for me, I just played the story. The story is alright but it does get boring fast. I would pick this game up on a 75% off sale.

70

Good but with some problems.

Sharptap | Sept. 24, 2012 | See all Sharptap's reviews »

One problem I had with the original Freedom Force was the constant managment of your characters during battle. Third Reich solves this problem by improving the A.I. of your allies. So from now, you will no longer see one of your guys motionless while being pummled by enemies. Another (minor) problem I had in the original was the fact that some unlockable characters had zero involvment in the game's story. Third Reich changes this by giving those characters an inclusion to Third Reich's story (albeit a minor one).The graphics have been improved as well. The characters in the game (PC and NPC) now have real-time shadows along with sunlight reflecting off their bodies.The Audio remians pretty unchanged, which is both good and lacking (I don't really need to explain).Third Reich is also a pretty short game compared to the original. Now, judging by the ending (which I will humbly, not spoil), there should be plans for another sequel to this new trilogy. This game is a must-buy for the fans.

86

A title that was perpetually overlooked

Fkpuz | Sept. 8, 2012 | See all Fkpuz's reviews »

The Freedom Force series as a whole was overlooked even from the day it came out but they were (and still are) a BLAST. This particular iteration of the Freedom Force series is a little short but it is worth well more than what it normally gets charged for. The graphics are dated but the art style is not and the gameplay is very innovative.

Character customization in this game is in a world of its own as well. You can create your very own super hero with its own customized abilities. For instance, if you wanted to make a super juggernaut type of character who can punch someone to another block you can do that. If you wanted said character to throw a car from the world at an enemy, you can do that too (if he/she has enough strength).

85

Nice oldie

newn | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all newn's reviews »

This game is quite old but it's still interesting to play. It reminds you of comic books. The graphics are quite good, probably because they are comic graphics. The sounds are only average in my opinion. But the main thing is the gameplay - every character has got it's own skills which are very unique. Neither of them are over or under powered, which makes them all fun. And I say that this is the main feature because there are so many games which have 3 characters, one of them is underpowered, one overpowered and the third is simply an average Joe. In these games - you will likely play only with the overpowered character, never with the underpowered one and from time to time - with the average one. And in Freedom Force - you play with all of them, and they all are extremely fun!

This game is worth every cent, and besides - it's cheap. It's a bit short though, but you will still have at lease a few hours of nice and pleasurable gaming, especially if you like comic books.

81

Fight for your right to freeeedom!

GAMERamble | Aug. 8, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

Irrational Games made some pretty awesome games back in the day but the original Freedom Force is still one of my favorites. Freedom Force vs. the Third Reich was over a little too soon for my liking but I definitely had fun while it lasted. The comic book style visuals, wacky characters and good voice acting makes this a great game to add to any collection.

78

Fun, excellent UI, but it's over pretty quickly

acare84 | July 29, 2011 | See all acare84's reviews »

I was pleasantly surprised by this game. The control interface is pretty quick to learn, and each of the characters has very unique skill sets that make them either overpowered or practically useless, depending on the enemies they are up against. It's all combat-focused, aside from the intermissions that keep the story going in authentic comic book campy style. Great voice acting as well. My only complaint is that the game ends almost as soon as you get really invested in it. It's linear progression, mission after mission, so you can't really stretch it out. If you don't have to repeat any missions, you could easily finish this game in a single all-day playing session. I haven't checked out any fan-made mods yet, but even if they aren't still available, the game is worth a look.

90

Old But Classic

leadshadow | July 9, 2011 | See all leadshadow's reviews »

Thanks to it's unique comic book art style and polished gameplay. Freedom Force has aged very well over the years. A great party system, campaign, characters, and fun super powers make this one of gaming's many hidden gems. Freedom Force is a great classic and worth every penny.

90

Forced to fight for freedom

nurz | April 7, 2011 | See all nurz's reviews »

It's really not much to say: more Freedom Force on the way! Nice sequel to great game - nothing new but still tastes delicious. It has aged well not only due to comic-style graphics but also thanks to good gameplay mechanics and entertaining story. For all superhero & strategy fans.