Reviews for I AM ALIVE

85

Looked forward to playing it every single time

dgaml | Jan. 6, 2014 | See all dgaml's reviews »

Once in a long while, there comes a game that makes me excited to think about playing it while locked away at school or work. It gave me something to look forward to, and when I finished it, it game me something to reminisce about. I Am Alive is one of those games.

The title thrives on an engrossing storyline, atmosphere and innovative gameplay that, like many greats, doesn't lie in a single genre, but instead hops from one to the other, gathering a few select elements from each genre to deliver a whole new experience.

I give the graphics a 7/10, with a few glitches and rendering issues here and there. Sound and music are a solid 8-9. But gameplay takes it home with a perfect 10 and easily transcends any visual or audio weaknesses.

If you are looking for a mix of role-play, adventure, thriller, action and a bit of intellectual strategy, this is the game for you.

70

It's good

gforcesa | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

Let's face it,the game could have been a lot more but it's good and fun nonetheless.The one thing i didn't like about the game was that it was short.You can beat it in less than 4 hours.The gameplay is good and i really like that if you don't have any bullets in your gun and threathen someone and they can't see your bluff and you just stab them or push them off a cliff.The graphics could have been better mainly because the game is like somebody applied a black and white filter.I don't recommend that you pay full price so just wait until its on a steam sale.

60

Great atmosphere, but shoddy port

ConorEngelb | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

The monochromatic, grainy visuals of I am Alive suit its post-apocalyptic themes perfectly. There are no colours, no wow-ing sights, which enhances the atmosphere substantially. Apart from this well-done atmosphere, however, there is little to recommend the game. The controls and general gameplay suffer from its porting to PC, making it often very difficult to successfully make your way through an area. Which is unfortunate, as I really want to like this game.

78

A small imperfect pearl

MarcoCav | June 11, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

This game is a little gem. Short-term, perhaps even "incomplete" in some gameplay choices dictated by economic bad luck that the project has suffered, but fun and impactful.

75

Interesting Combat and Survival System

zhack075 | March 3, 2013 | See all zhack075's reviews »

In this game you play as a man who travel across the ruins of a city in order to go back to his family as "the event" separated them.

What I loved about this game is the survival aspect which is realistic. You have a stamina bar decreasing each time you try to climb. The longer you remain climbing, the more dangerous it get. The other aspect that is really amazing ( even if it get quite repetitive ) is the combat system based on the intimitation. The main character tells you "I have a rope and a empty gun". Well the empty gun is a really dissuasive weapon and can help you a lot as long as you enemies doesn't guess you're bluffing. This system create tension during fights which is a great point, it's not about finding ammo and shooting everything around. There isn't enough ammo anyway. Like the resources, they are very uncommon.

This is a great game for anyone who loves survival ( by the way, there are no zombies in this game. Only humans. ) and original tomb raider like.

78

100% Survival

abelfs | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

A game 100% survival. A realistic atmosphere that has very nice ideas and ooze originality in the combat. The big BUT in the game can be found in the way you control your character while climbing or fighting, very imprecise. However, it is a game that must be played if you like an adventure where the main goal is to survive.

80

Good game

Zinzun | Sept. 10, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

This game,during the initial project,will must be a full retail game,but due to some trouble it became a downloadable game only.But it is still a good game.You must survive in many dangerous zone,painted like a black and white world.There are only a few weapons and resources,so use them well,because you will need 'em if you want survive. This is,infact,simply a survival game,and if you like the genre you will enjoy it a lot.Controls sometime feel unresponsive,so use a pad to avoid the problem.

80

I Am Alive is a great game with lots of hard decisions.

fable2 | Sept. 7, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

I Am Alive is a very good game, with its originality and the way that it is played. I love the way that the resources are very low every were you go, with mostly having 1 or 2 bullets in your gun at one time, ammo and food are very scarce. This can make the game quite challenging because you have to think twice before making nearly all decisions.

In games i like the little touches, i think that's what makes a game unique to its self and I Am Alive has little touches that are special. For example when on low health it does not recover on its own unless you eat or use resources. Also, your pad vibrates to his heart beat when in low health. However, I Am Alive is quite a copy when it comes to movement. It is very much like a weaker version of Lara Croft. When you are jumping, climbing, and doing other things to survive, it feels like you have been there and done it all before.

In conclusion, i like the way that the game has made it it's own and it has a very nice atmosphere about it. Like there low resources makes the whole game be on the edge of your seat. It is a great game and i would recommend it to pretty much anyone really!