Reviews for Borderlands 2 (NA) DNS

85

Addictive, can't stop playing until you suddenly... stop.

i6ix | March 15, 2013 | See all i6ix's reviews »

This game is intense. If you had any positive feelings towards the first, this one surely steps up it's game. It has a much more polished feel, completed feel to it.

The graphics are great, the characters are funny and fun to play. My favorite is the Siren ;)

My friends and I literally played this daily for a least a month. By that point, we had all pretty much maxed out our potential. Unfortunately, we were able to walk through some of the expansion content without much challenge, so it stopped there for us.

However, this title is surely worth the price, I recommend it to anyone who wants a fps/rpg combined feel. It's fast, fun, and pretty.

70

Worth it

baneil | Feb. 2, 2013 | See all baneil's reviews »

I have spent about 100+ Hours in this game not including the dlc. Not only do the end game bosses have some challenging mechanics the game is both filled with humor of its own and references to other games and internet culture although its not for those used to a good FoV because you cant adjust that.

85

Good game singleplayer or Co-op

Bigshrimp | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all Bigshrimp's reviews »

I like the game a lot, it has a lot of the same as the first Borderlands. The protagonist is awesome and the voice actor that plays him is really good at portraying him as a maniacal evil overlord. Great humor and action all around, and very well polished.

If you like loot driven shooters, this is the game to get. You will love playing with friends and it also bumps the challenge up the more players are in your co-op game. I would recommend this to anyone that loves a good challenge and lots of loot.

90

Same but different, in all the right ways.

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

I'll be honest, BL2 is a great and fun game to play, especially if you know the people you're playing against/with. It's designed to be like the first one for a good reason: the formula works, but they've made some nice changes to it that make it extra-flavorful and a sweet treat to boot. Buy it, install it, play it and then make sweet, sweet gamer love to it because it's just that good of a game.

90

A lot of fun

mturner0708 | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all mturner0708's reviews »

This game is great. It is very similar to the first Borderlands so if you didn't enjoy the first one you probably will not like this one. The story in this game is much better than in the original. All the characters are fun to play and the guns are awesome. There are so many different guns. If you have friends who play it is amazing but even alone it is pretty great. I highly recommend this game to fans of the original and to people who plan on playing co-op. As a one player game it is still very satisfying.

95

THE Co-op Game

starjack20 | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all starjack20's reviews »

Simply put, a must play for lovers of both the shooter and RPG genres. It perfectly blends the two into an almost flawless experience. The graphics are one-of-a-kind, and are part of the reasons Borderlands is such an unique experience. There are an innumerable amount of guns in the game, and the chances of getting the exact same gun are slim. If you are playing with friends, this game WILL be one of the best times you will have, and it only gets more fun with even more people present. However, there is a snag in this near-perfect game, that being the single-player. It is still fun, but nowhere near as much as co-op. Some parts in the game can be purely rage-inducing alone, but if you invest enough time into grinding and getting the right guns for your class, it will still be an amazing experience.

70

Pretty fun with friends

GordonFreechmen | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all GordonFreechmen's reviews »

First off don't even think of getting this game if you didn't like the first. While it improves on a lot of things the feel is pretty much the same.

Now onto the review, the weapons are about as diverse as they were in the first game in terms of how much about things about them change, however the changes themselves are bigger. So while I wouldn't say there are more guns like they advertised, the games actually feel different which is a very good thing. It makes the game feel more rewarding. The gameplay is more of the same, though the classes are a lot different so you will have to get used to them. One thing about the game is it is easy to become overpowered. With any class using certain items, so you might have to limit yourselves to make the game fun if you find too powerful of items.

If you are a fan of the first you will definitely enjoy this.

85

The Second

alecslo | Dec. 27, 2012 | See all alecslo's reviews »

Overall I find there to be little major difference between this and the first, it simply is more Borderlands, if you liked the first, you'll like this. Things of note include a vastly improved item management and weapon visual style variety. I thoroughly enjoyed my first play through while I found some parts of my second a bit tedious to get to the level cap. The same humor which was present in the first is still there, but some attempts land flat.

80

More of the same

seejaypeeko | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all seejaypeeko's reviews »

Borderlands 2 is a great game -- don't get me wrong -- but not much has changed.

Of course, character customization is better this time around. There are more vehicles, and they're minimally customizable as well. Pandora is a lot better looking this time. The guns are more-or-less what you'd expect, though some of the manufacturers are gimmicky and generally worthless.

Point is... while co-op is a blast, the story is much better, it's still the same Borderlands we all played years ago. If you had fun, and you wanted more, get it.

90

Excellent Game

AppleMuffin | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all AppleMuffin's reviews »

Borderlands 2 is, simply put, an excellent game. Whereas Borderlands 1 was sort of funny, had lots of randomized weapons and had good game-play, Borderlands 2 improves on every single aspect. Few times have I ever laughed out loud at a game, but thanks to Anthony Burch (lead writer of Borderlands 2 and co-star of Hey Ash Whatcha Playing), Borderlands 2 is one of the truly funniest games I have ever played. The weapon randomization is much more broad, and with the new features added to the engine like Physx, the action is simply awesome. Highly recommended.

98

Game of the year

derangedboar | Dec. 18, 2012 | See all derangedboar's reviews »

I bought borderlands 2 when it came out on release day. I like the original one but it got boring after awhile. Borderlands 2 does not do that. Its most likely my game of the year, and i own about 300 games that i got this year. Its a wonderful game because of all the randomly generated guns and co-op. It also has about 40 hours of gameplay if you do everything. Its got everything you could want, besides a girl. :D

95

Borderlands 2

wulffman | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all wulffman's reviews »

STORY: The story of Borderlands 2 is one I was iffy about at first, as I wasn't sure how much I'd like the new characters. Being a huge fan of the first game, I got attached to the characters in that game. However, Borderlands 2 really stepped up on this one and making the characters from the first a part of the story-telling aspect of the game really worked out well. The writing is a nice mix of epic and hilarious. The villain is just an obnoxiously mean guy early on, and over the course of the game becomes someone you truly despise.

GAMEPLAY: The controls are spot on and even tighter than the first go 'round. Enemies AI is a bit more unpredictable than in the first game as well, which provides a new challenge, along with more variations amongst enemy types. Gun collecting is still a primary objective, but for me that's almost half the fun. There's more exploration left to the player in this one, as well, with easter eggs and secrets tucked away nicely just out of sight. The game is really more fun to play with others, but I quite enjoy solo too. Hard to deny the increase of a good time while playing with friends, though.

VISUALS: The graphics are a massive step up in this game. The aesthetic is still the same, just with more vibrant colors and variation in locations. If you've got a video card that can make use of NVidia's PhysX engine, and do it well, the debris will be /everywhere/.

SOUND: The acting in this game is excellent, save for some NPC extras dialogue - some of those are cheesy and downright terrible acting. All the music fits in very nicely and all of the sound effects sound just right. Solid in almost every way, here.

OVERALL: If you liked the first game, you'll love this one. A few things have changed, but everything that is different was absolutely an improvement. I would definitely recommend getting this game, particularly if you've got friends who have it or want it. You won't be disappointed.

95

Back to the Borderlands!

Dsc | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all Dsc's reviews »

Borderlands 2 is an amazing game.

Gearbox basically took Borderlands 1 and just improved it in every way for the sequel. It plays the same but with little things here and there that go a long way towards a great experience.

The plot this time around is simple amazing. You can tell that Gearbox really worked it alongside the actual development of the game unlike the first time around. In Borderlands, honestly, the plot felt very much like an afterthought, which isn't so bad since the gameplay was amazing. Borderlands 2 though, wow. The story is great but the best part is the characters. We get to see the cast of the first game with interesting personalities and a huge array of all new characters that you can actually care about. Handsome Jack, for example, is probably one of the best Video Game Antagonists in years.

All in all, the game is great fun by yourself or with friends, though I'd definitely recommend it with friends.

93

To buy or not to buy...

temckeehan | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all temckeehan's reviews »

To be honest, I debated purchasing this game when it first came out. Having burned myself out on the first title, I wasn't sure I would enjoy it. My friend however picked it up, so I took the opportunity to try it out for free. Needless to say, within the week, I owned my own copy. This game is very enjoyable, and it rekindled my love for the series. The gameplay is spot on, and I had little problems with the controls, or searching the menus. Everything seemed to be pretty intuitive. The story line is awesome, and very funny. The only downside I had with this game was the multiplayer loot system. You have to be quick to pick stuff up when you play with your friends if they are the same class, and it takes the focus away from enjoying the game and more about trying to get to the loot first. I prefer the loot systems where each player gets his or her own loot. My only other complaint is the talent system was the same, and while I don't mind the talent system, it would have been nice to see something more fresh, or just a little different. I did enjoy the Badass points though.

Overall, its a must have game for any gamers collection, and I am glad I purchased my copy. If you found yourself bored with the first one, as I did, I would suggest giving it a shot, especially as it starts to fall in price, I bought mine for 59.99 and was happy with my purchase.

98

Just buy it.

masterenric0 | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all masterenric0's reviews »

Borderlands 2 is amazing. It improves on everything the original did and makes it 10 times better! Overall, there is tons of re-playability and lots carnage to cause on Pandora.

Buy Borderlands 2, you won't regret it.

95

1000000000x Better than Borderlands

gewgles | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all gewgles's reviews »

I played the first one and I thought it was great, but after playing this one i realized how bad the first one was in comparison. This game fixes much of the problems that were prevalent in Borderlands. The biggest example I can think of is varying missions. Borderlands consisted of go here and get this and come back. Borderlands never had a dull moment for me. The best way to play this game is with a group of friends. I don't have any experience with the online matchmaking, because I had two other friends go through the story with me.

95

My GOTY for 2012

KalebKJC | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all KalebKJC's reviews »

Borderlands 2 wastes no time dropping you in to the wasteland known as Pandora and I can say that after 36 hours of playing the game, I'm far from being finished with it. I'm currently on my second playthrough and it's just as good the second time around.

85

Much of the same

BeBenNova | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all BeBenNova's reviews »

Not much has changed in the way the game controls and feels but this time around the story is worth going through and paying attention to

Multiplayer at high level is still the same number of enemies being bullet sponges but the game being made for PC first makes it an incredible PC game optimization wise

Recommend at discounted price for the FPS fans

85

Worth it

jack11101 | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all jack11101's reviews »

After playing the first Borderlands I was definitely excited when they announced the second one. It's a lot like the first as you are still on Pandora but you play as different people (although you can meet the old characters,) and the plot is new. You still get claptrap and a lot of other characters that were in the first Borderlands. Co-Op is great as four people can play through the campaign which really makes it a lot more fun. Everything being said, at times it can get monotonous and repetitive especially when playing by yourself but overall it's worth it!

70

Loot-filled and addictive... to a certain degree

Scorpy | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Borderlands 2 is what you'd expect: a lot of content with no real purpose. The massive amounts of guns are present, however most of them are useless.

The story is hard to follow and uninteresting. The events that take place and the things that happen have both no emotional impact and most importantly no reason to exist.

The gameplay is the same as the first, with different abilities and perks. Guns are fun to shoot, and there are many, so buckle up!

The writing is where this game really shines. Witty, unforgiving and just plain deadpan, the writing in Borderlands 2 is a step in the right direction. It gives the game a much-needed personality boost that was missing in the first.

The multiplayer aspect is the same as the first, nothing changed.

If you like loot-filled, stat-grinding multiplayer games then this might just be your holy grail. Anybody else looking for a fun time filled with variety, story and twists should wait until this one drops in price -- it may disappoint.

93

Probably the funniest game I've played

Abomb7894 | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all Abomb7894's reviews »

Whether its handsome jack being his usual funny evil self, or claptrap being the usual loser he is, this game is hilarious. With a whole second mode to play through and several classes to play, this game offers plenty of content. The big draw to this game is the multi-player with a friend. Me and my roommate both bought this game and had so much fun playing it. He spends hours and hours farming legendaries, meanwhile I just laugh at all the jokes and easter eggs hidden in the game. In all honesty, I felt the actual game was fairly short, even when I beat all the side quests, and I didn't want to play through it a second time too much, as nothing really changed except enemy strengths. That could just be me. All in all, a good game, and definitely pick it up and play with some friends.

95

Gearbox Listened - Brilliant Game

ROKET | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

Quality: Exellent Game Length: 47+ hours (Main Quest + Tons of Side Quests)

Story: The story was wonderful and fulfilling - despite SOME pacing issues. I loved the presentation, the dialogue was utterly hilarious and could take it down a few notches to semi serious when needed. Gearbox put a lot of love into the dialogue and easter eggs were EVERYWHERE.

Gameplay: Faster paced and gritty but smooth and fun. I didnt like back tracking or having to walk on larger maps but otherwise the overall gameplay was VERY VERY solid. I loved the satisfaction of destroying those robots. Also the game - even on normal - was very challenging. One mission got me killed SOOOO many times. One note though - pace your play. I was grinding near the end until the final missions - those made it SOO worth it.

Presentation: BEAUTIFUL. I loved how the game looked. They kept it simple but put detail into everything. It was like playing a very sexy looking comic. Freakin amazing. Remember to turn on PhysiX if you can AND used SweetFX. It makes the game look soooo nice. SO SO nice.

Verdict: Get this game damn it. I finished the game and now Im very willing to get the DLC. lol. Next sale...next sale.

95/100

95

Immense fun

Adrian_Moriarti | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all Adrian_Moriarti's reviews »

If you're a fan of the first Borderlands, this is a must-have. The game brings you back to the quirky world of Pandora, with brand new classes and skills to boot. The gun customization is seemingly endless; everyone will be able to find a gun and class to match their play style. Not to mention the varied skill trees with each class. The possibilities are quite vast, and offer extreme re-play value. Playing online with friends or strangers offers the opportunity to defeat harder foes and loot stronger weapons. The unique humor the world offers had me holding my sides from time to time. Trust me, you will not regret this one!

95

Focused improvements over Borderlands 1

telexen | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all telexen's reviews »

If you liked Borderlands, but found yourself annoyed with small mechanics in the game - this game will not disappoint.

From automatic pickup of cash/ammo, to improved inventory management, throw in more diverse guntypes and a more immersive story...Borderlands 2 keeps the fun co-op loot heavy action of the first game but takes into account a lot of the criticism of the first game and improves itself in a lot of areas.

94

One of the best this year

spitfiremk87 | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all spitfiremk87's reviews »

There are three things you need to know about Borderlands 2:

1.) It improves on every aspect of the first game(which was already great). 2.) Gives you an extremely high bang-for-buck ratio. Lots and lots of play time. 3.) It will feed your loot addiction like nothing else.

93

96.5% More Wub Wub!!!

crashdummy35 | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all crashdummy35's reviews »

Excellent game. Beautiful. Intense. Hilarious. Cannot recommend this game enough. Buy it. Play it. Enjoy it now and forever.

94

Borderlands 2: wub so worth it

Xkhaoz | Nov. 4, 2012 | See all Xkhaoz's reviews »

I don't buy many games at full price. But Borderlands 2 was one of the first in awhile to break that streak. And was it worth it. They improved every single aspect of BL1, and then some. Better story, better gameplay, its all there. Take my advice. If you loved BL1, get BL2. even if you didn't, get BL2. Its amazing.

97

It's really hard not to love this game.

Tuttlebat | Oct. 31, 2012 | See all Tuttlebat's reviews »

I clocked a good 120 hours in the first Borderlands or so, and I was anticipating the release of this game for a very long time. I hoped that the sequel would be just as good, if not better. And it honestly feels better in every respect. In a car, driving over something no longer kills it immediately, the guns on the cars aren't useless and feel so incredibly satisfying to use, there's more variety in everything, and the fun just never stops. I've played the game for 20 hours and I'm still nowhere near finishing because there's so much to do. The classes all feel like an improvement and the DLC that's slowly being released is going to increase the replayability of this game even more. I cannot recommend this game enough.

97

Borderlands 2 does not fail to disappoint!

blade416 | Oct. 22, 2012 | See all blade416's reviews »

Borderlands 2

(This review is copied from my blog)

One of my most anticipated games of 2012 does not fail to disappoint!

The game starts out with a bang and continues on from there with non-stop action, hilarious characters, and laugh out loud quests! The game starts out by giving you 4 different class options for the player to choose from (5 if you've purchased the Mechromancer pack) ~ the Commando, whose able to deploy a turret the Siren, whose able to freeze enemies in place; the Gunzerker class, whose able to fire 2 weapons at once in short bursts, and finally, the Assassin who can disappear for short bursts of time.

For my first play-through I opted to use the Assassin, due to my love of sniper rifles. The game starts out with some pretty standard missions, 'Find your way to this person", "Do a few side quests for that person" but after that, it picks up considerably quickly. The action in this game is very well implemented, if you like games where you only fight one or two people at once, this game is not for you! At various points in the game I would find myself stacked up against fifteen to twenty enemies at once. The game's chaos and randomness is one of its highest qualities.

The story line in this game seems to be much better and consistent than in the original Borderlands. The characters have an emotional side to them, as well as active character development throughout the game, which adds to the entire plot line. The humor that is interlaced with the story line is very funny! I found myself laughing from the beginning of some quests all the way to the end. Yes! It is that funny!

As far as graphics go, this is a very good looking game. It's cell-shaded, in a similar manner to the original Borderlands, but I found the graphics in this to be tweaked to a much higher level. The textures on the weapons in particular are very good. I also enjoyed the levels themselves, as they were very open and amazing looking!

I had no issues with stability in this game. Everything worked as it was supposed to, with no crashes.

Now, this was based so far only on the single player aspect of the game. You can play the entire game all the through with a total of four people. The difficulty and quality of the loot drops is significantly higher depending on how many friends you have in the same game. The multiplayer is truly where this game shines. Everything that is awesome in the single player, is made even more awesome in the multiplayer!

As far as replayability goes, this game has a decent amount to replay through. There are a total of five classes with the DLC, so playthroughs will have very different play styles, which is a plus for sure.

I would highly recommend this game to anyone who likes first person shooters and RPGs.

99

Everything Borderlands was and beyond.

sonicntales | Oct. 19, 2012 | See all sonicntales's reviews »

If the original borderlands managed to eat a lot of your time like it did mine then this game is for you. it's the base borderlands formula but it improves on many downfalls of the first. Specifically online play with friends! It has improved to the point where I don't even notice i'm playing online at times. The first suffered heavy lag issues, so if that was an issue, it's not one anymore.

The only con that I can think of is the lack of variety in early game, you'll mostly come across many pistols, all being somewhat similar. It gets better mid-game, but the true variety starts after the first play-through.

This game also gave me lot's of laughs and overall it's a definite buy if you liked the first one in any way, shape or form.

98

My favorite game this year :)

CrimsonessCross | Oct. 15, 2012 | See all CrimsonessCross's reviews »

This is by far better than the first game (and I LOVED the first game), because it builds upon that one and improves itself. I am still playing this game and intend to for quite a long time so that I can max out every character. The one downside I am not too much of a fan of, but doesn't impact the game, is the golden keys for the chest in Sanctuary. They give you some decent items (sometimes) depending on your level but you can always venture out and get something just as amazing if not better.

The story was something that kept me moving forward as to find out what happens next; the same thing happened with the side-mission and I couldn't stop until I finished all of those and then I would move onto the story missions. I am not going to spoil anything with any mission because each one is fun and has a charm of their own :)

The characters are, of course, different in their own ways. Although you can use any gun for any character now (which is awesome, and they did away with weapon proficiency) they have their own way that they play out, just as in the first. The mechromancer at the moment is my favorite one besides Maya. I love tearing through enemies and picking them up so they aren't able to do anything! :)

The loot is definitely much more diverse than the first one was. You can find almost anything in almost all the containers (although there are still a couple or a few containers I can think of that solely contain ammo).

The vehicles handle just like how the vehicles in Halo do as you push forward and look the way you want to go and then turn the camera the way you want to go and the vehicle will turn and do what it needs to to head that direction.

The humor of course might be hit and miss at times, but the game doesn't take itself too seriously which is refreshing just as the first one was. Jack is such a great villain surrounding Borderlands 2 and the world.

The DLC looks to be promising but there isn't much to say about it at this point because it isn't even out yet. I already purchased the season pass because by the sounds of the new rarity, and the new raid-like boss fights and the pirate DLC I will be putting more than 10 hours (as stated it contains) into it.

98

Damn is Salvador short

rstokes | Oct. 15, 2012 | See all rstokes's reviews »

It's finally out and its better than i could have ever imagined. The graphics are breathtaking and every last detail looks hand drawn. The classes all feel sufficiently different while not holding a monopoly with a specific type of gun like borderlands 2 did like SMGs with Lilith or Assault rifles with Roland. The antagonist Handsome Jack quickly becomes a character you want to kill and that urge only increases as the story unfolds and you learn more about him. The story of borderlands 1 felt secondary to the looting and killing, but 2 feels like while they not only improved on the killing and looting (more on that in a bit) they made the story surpass even that. The game is shockingly dark and takes a few rather unexpected twists that will stick with me for a long time. The gun system used in the first game has been completely overhauled, giving a much more diverse set of tools to murder the denseness of pandora with. I dont feel like there are as many useless guns in this game as there were in the first. Some guns you honestly just have to shoot once or twice to see the weird way they fire, bullets bounce, fly slow, break apart, explode, behave like stick bombs, or countless other varieties of projectiles used. Its not as clear which gun is better by looking at stats alone, which can be seen as a negative but i rather enjoy running to marcus's shop to fire a few rounds at the bandit tied to a gun target to see how a gun fires and what kind of damage i can expect with it (This is really helpful btw dont ignore the fact that he's there)

I could go on for hours about how great this game is. Great graphics, amazing blend of first person shooter, diablo loot, and action rpg mechanics, a memorable story, and as the slogan says "Bazillions of guns". So in short BUY THIS GAME

85

More Borderlands but Better

deltahawk22 | Oct. 13, 2012 | See all deltahawk22's reviews »

For people new to the series, don't let the over-the-top violence fool you. Under all of the gore and guns lies a great story with very memorable characters. This is far more than just another brainless shooter.

For people returning to the series, this is the same borderlands you played in 2009, with slight but significant tweaks. Developer Gearbox has decided to play it safe and not take any big risks with the gameplay style and that's fine. Not every sequel or game needs to innovate. That isn't to say that Borderlands 2 is a carbon copy of the original, Gearbox hasn't deviated from the borderlands formula very much but what little changes they have made do make this a much better game than the original. The largest change comes in the form of the story. Whereas the original Borderlands's story was weak and heavily lacking in substance, this game really surprised me with how well thought out every act was. I won’t write much to avoid spoiling anything but Handsome Jack is a very memorable character and a great villain. Besides the story, several other features of the game have been tweaked. Guns have been tweaked to have unique feels and, rather than randomizing stats and colors on the same model, randomization of guns has been improved to give each other a more unique look. The classes archetypes have been altered slightly as well and the classes feel more balanced than those in the first game. The environments the game will take place in have also been overhauled and most do look quite stunning, especially for someone who’s last memory of borderlands was the dry deserts of the first game. The game does start off a bit slow but bear with it and you will find an amazing game that’s very engaging, largely due to the story, to play in both single player and in cooperative mode. For people new to the game, yes, you can play through the entire game with 3 of your friends. Borderlands 2 doesn’t attempt to innovate or largely change the series formula but, as the saying goes, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.”

95

What the first Borderlands should have been.

Damien_Azreal | Oct. 10, 2012 | See all Damien_Azreal's reviews »

While the first game was fun, it was flawed and felt as if certain elements weren't fully realized. Borderlands 2 realizes this. The full vision of what Gearbox originally wanted to accomplish.

From the story and NPC interaction, gun variety and the brand differences between the weapons. Level variety... enemy variety. Gearbox fixed and improved upon basically everything from the first one. The art style is gorgeous, while not technically amazing, the visual look of the game is stunning.

My only complaint falls into the vehicle controls. I'm firmly against the "mouse to steer" control style. A game on PC should always use the keyboard to steer, allowing you to aim your weapon with your mouse.

But, if you liked Borderlands, you'll love Borderlands 2. Get it, buy it, play it... love it.

94

Fantastic game, Improving on the original in most ways

Casm | Oct. 4, 2012 | See all Casm's reviews »

For those of you that played the original BL, there's a very important question you must ask yourself before considering BL2. "Did I derive any amount of enjoyment from the first game?" If the answer is yes, then you should really consider picking up BL2, especially from GMG with the already discounted price and a % off voucher when available. It's a really great game that you'll definitely get your 35-40 bucks worth out of. If the answer is no, then regardless of how much the sequel improves over the first one, the style is similar enough that you probably will still not enjoy it.

Borderlands 2 offers a great story with plenty of side-missions to keep you busy for hours at a time. It retains the same offensive style sense of humor that was present in the first game, filled with plenty of scenarios and situations that will have you laughing. It also brings a sense of true drama that the original game failed to deliver and the gameplay, while very similar to the original, has been polished and improved upon to make the gameplay experience quite enjoyable.

The multiplayer aspect is really where this game is at though. In my opinion, the entertainment value of the game increases exponentially when you can play with friends.

The class system provides an excellent way to bring a unique feel to the game, depending on the class you play and the way you spend your skill points. Every class feels different from one another and each spec can dramatically change how a class is played.

It's not a game without flaws however, at least on the PC. The ongoing connection issues with Steam can lead to some very frustrating multiplayer issues. While this has somewhat improved since release, it is still a problem.

Finishing missions with multiple completion choices is poorly handled in multiplayer games, where once someone makes a choice, that choice is automatically locked in for everyone else in the current game.

The option of being able to re-listen to audio that was present in the first game is disappointingly missing here in BL2. Having an important piece of the storyline be interrupted and ultimately lost because Claptrap wants to tell you something completely pointless and irrelevant can be very irritating. This problem is compounded in multiplayer when your teammates force story progression by proceeding in the game or otherwise interrupt the story by any number of other means without allowing the current bit of story to finish it's telling. A problem which would not have had any lasting impact on the game had Gearbox simply retained the ability to re-listen to unlocked audio the player discovered at their own convenience. An option I very much hope is brought back with one of the upcoming DLCs planned for the game.

However, the issues this game has are far outweighed by the entertainment value you receive in return. The game is challenging, entertaining, exciting, hilarious and simply put, fun to play. Borderlands 2 is a perfect example of what every video game sequel should strive to be. Add friends into the mix and you have yourself a phenomenal game that's hard to beat.

96

Amazing successor to the original

m3flow | Oct. 2, 2012 | See all m3flow's reviews »

If you enjoyed the original Borderlands you will love this game. Borderlands 2 keeps all the great aspects from the first game and adds onto it in a way that sequels should. BL2 doesn't stray too far from the original formula (which is an amazing one) but makes the game feel fresh new and improved. This sequel brings new: Character classes + skill trees, some jaw-droppingly beautiful zones, more unique weapon/gear types, and of course a new plot that takes place not long after where the first game left off. Staying true to the original this game has hilarious writing that can involve some dark humor. All this mixed with the enthralling and original art style makes this game a definite buy.

89

Gearbox Gets Rid Of The Asterisk At The End Of 18 Bazillion Guns

das_regal | Oct. 2, 2012 | See all das_regal's reviews »

I was a huge fan of the original Borderlands. I leveled each class to 50 and a couple to the new cap of 69 after all of the content packs (which I purchased) were released. The more I played however, the more the magic leaked out of the experience.

Eventually it felt pretty soulless as I intuitively came to understand that for each weapon type the supposed millions of weapons really fit into one or two archetypes. Is it a full-auto or a burst machine gun? Revolver or weak full-auto pistol or burst pistol?

Elements didn't even add that much of variety, you could kill damn near anything in the game with an acid or fire weapon. And don't even get me started on how boring shields and grenade mods got by the end of the game. Past a certain point I used transfusion grenades for the healing effect because everything else was just pathetic.

Enter Borderlands 2, and in the first 3 hours I saw more variety than I did in all of first game. Launchers are actually worthwhile. Grenades and shields are hugely varied with some neat passive effects. I haven't gotten a single epic rarity weapon yet and only 2 purples, and I've seen some truly amazing effects. My favorite weapon so far is a pistol that launches homing darts that attach to the enemy then light them on fire in a miniature explosion.

The weapons are a good metaphor for the rest of the game. The story, environments, writing, and enemies are similarly improved.

70

Misses some key ARPG things, still good in its own right

pipalex | Oct. 2, 2012 | See all pipalex's reviews »

As a fan of the original borderlands, Borderlands 2 is somewhat of a step-up from the original. The writing is "better" but is plagued by memetic jokes and references that didn't need to be there in the first place and serve only to annoy, not entertain. The game-play doesn't feel as fluid, action-packed, or as deep as an action rpg mainly due to the fact that this is a multi-platform release and not developed specifically for the pc where it could have worked much better (i.e. not fighting with terrible menus, more than one active skill, deeper character building). For the 36 dollars I got it for from Greenman Gaming, I find it was worth the money for what it is.

92

Hits the right notes

dbluewillow | Sept. 27, 2012 | See all dbluewillow's reviews »

Almost everything is done correctly... or is excusable. Sure, the graphical fidelity of this game is not exactly top notch, and neither is the driving, but that's about as negative as I can get. The game has a stylized, lively world and a distinct playstyle that will draw new players in and keep vets glued. It may be fifty bucks, but its a fifty well spent.

90

Borderlands 2 improves on its predecessor in every way.

flowersmang | Sept. 27, 2012 | See all flowersmang's reviews »

Borderlands 2 is a fantastic experience that improves on Borderlands in every way. Improved story, improved combat, more guns. The writing in the game is the most well-done funny writing since Portal 2. Borderlands 2 has some of the most memorable characters in recent history. If you liked Borderlands, Borderlands 2 is something you're going to want to play.

88

Bigger and Better

BillyMays14 | Sept. 26, 2012 | See all BillyMays14's reviews »

This game is a great example of the iterative process used for sequels that help polish a pretty good game into a pretty great game. Addresses several issues from the first game ranging from environment variation to story. The story-by Anthony Burch of HAWP- is much improved. My favorite addition is the short dialogue exchanges from Claptrap but overall this one of the funnier games out this year.

I have a couple small issues. Gore was turned down (no dismemberment or heads exploding) though there is lots of blood, which removes some of the satisfaction from sniper shots or shotgun blasts. Also, some parts are tuned too much for co-op which forces some grinding if you're going solo. A great game overall, do not miss out.

98

Perfect harmony of play-ability and dirty humor.

nightassassin1 | Sept. 25, 2012 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

Gearbox is one of those companies who knows boundaries. They know just how far they can go without offending or overdoing the crazy stuff other companies are terrified to touch. The first one was great, but of course it had its issues, most of which were on PC. This new one is even better and they actually tied in the old story line even though you are still a vault hunter after the vault was opened. They have some amazing writers and know exactly how far they can go without overdoing the profanity and crazy dialog. A perfect combination of play-ability and dirty humor. The only reason it has a 98 is the badass points system can be farmed and seems to make it a bit too easy. Having done 3 characters with a few thousand badass level, you have to try to kill yourself on a new character to die. It only lost a few points for its easiness because this is meant to be a laid back game. Best game ever.

80

Not perfect, but a step up from the original

Layton | Sept. 25, 2012 | See all Layton's reviews »

Borderlands 2 is a game that is very similar to Borderlands 1 in many ways. The gun variety is still not as impressive as it is advertised to be, the jump-in co-op is still full of flaws (like quests counting as being completed universally - if you join a friend's game and they finish a quest, you can't do that quest anymore in your own save file and you miss out on the rewards unless your friend is particularly generous), and leveling up still doesn't feel quite as exciting as it should, due to you having to buy 5 levels of perks in a single level of a single skill tree before you unlock the ability to buy (meaning you really only get a true perk every 5 levels). However, the parts where the game improves over its predecessor make up for all of these. The game is far more graphically impressive and colorful, and the graphics are much crisper and smoother - gone is the noticeable texture "pop-in" that plagued the first game at release. The story is considerably better, and features characters both old and new, with a new villain who can be absolutely hilarious at one moment and almost disturbing the next. The gameplay as well has received minor tweaks here and there, such as the ability to move slowly while in Fight For Your Life mode (in which you have to get a kill in order to revive yourself). Overall, Borderlands 2 is, for the most part, a hilarious and entertaining FPS-RPG.

96

Borderlands on steroids

rstokes | Sept. 23, 2012 | See all rstokes's reviews »

I did not expect a whole lot from this game for some reason, but I was totally blown away by the variety of items and the versatility of the classes in this game. If you think their "bazillion guns" comment was just PR, you sir are wrong. The gun and just about every other item for that reason is highly randomized, and not just stats. Were talking different projectiles, Different skins, dozens of effects, much more so than the previous borderlands. A+ game

96

AMAZING

redcat528 | Sept. 22, 2012 | See all redcat528's reviews »

I don't even know why I'm taking the time to write this review... Borderlands 2 is AMAZING to me it even tops skyrim which I have logged over 800 hours on. go on the GMG blog to find a promo bringing this game down to only 43 dollars :)

89

Impressive atmosphere

lqdboard | Sept. 18, 2012 | See all lqdboard's reviews »

If the size of the game's arsenal sounds impressive, you should get a load of its environment. To put it bluntly, Pandora feels even bigger and more varied than it did in the first Borderlands. Whether players are ploughing through icy tundra, driving across a desert, picking their way through a goop-filled cavern or blasting through a gang's blood-daubed hideout, Borderlands 2 feels consistently fresh. This is a world to lose yourself in – and thanks to the addictive quality of the game's loot-drops, it's likely many players will do just that. It's not just the size and scope of the place that is likely to seduce them, however, it's the fact that this time round, Pandora feels more like an actual place than a virtual battleground, thanks to Gearbox's attention to detail in this game.