Reviews for Worms: Revolution

70

Quickly becomes frustrating without anyone to play it with

kubqo | July 3, 2013 | See all kubqo's reviews »

First couple of hours in singleplayer are great deal of fun and a little bit of brain is involved as well. However, difficulty curve gets insane after a while which makes it kind of a try-fail puzzle game. I could not find a multiplayer game in a new shopping mod (which is great addition) even in the launch week.

86

Worms Rev - Must have.

milktea | July 3, 2013 | See all milktea's reviews »

This Worms is a lot different from the old traditional 2D Worms. The water mechanic brings in more strategic approach to the game. Each Worm has their own classes with their own sets of advantages and disadvantages. Some Worms can do heavy damage but slow in mobility. While others can take advantage of the mobility but have weak weapon strength. The voiceover is a huge improvement and made me laugh a bit here and there. The game's single campaign is essentially the same as the older Worms.

91

Great! Amazing!

drafek | July 1, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

After the 3D worm version they go back to 2D again! Which is good in my opinion, I liked the 3D version too, but worms started 2D so it should be 2D, this version does have some 3D elements though. The game is different then the other worms, the water can used as weapon, the worms do also have classes which is great. The campaign does have hilarious voice-acting. Worth full price!

85

Must have for those special doddery and funny moments.

montybay | June 6, 2013 | See all montybay's reviews »

Worms is a cult game and has to be part of anyone's game collection. For me there is no other game which guarantees that density of funny and "idiotic" moments in only one game session with your friends. Played over 60+ hours and it never gets boring. Simply a must have!

75

Fun with friends

viBe | May 27, 2013 | See all viBe's reviews »

As always, Worms charms you with equal parts challenge and humour. This iteration maintains all of the core Worms features, if perhaps overcomplicated the game with the classes and customisation.

Fantastic for a quick blast in the evenings with friends, gain if it is on sale.

85

Fun quirky worms gameplay

wildster30 | May 24, 2013 | See all wildster30's reviews »

The same amazing fun gameplay that all worms games feature with added twists such as worm classes and the 2.5d graphics. Basically if you've ever played a worms game and enjoyed it then you'll love this one, if you haven't ever played a worms then you're missing out!

85

A good mix between hilarity and skill, as always.

Sarkames | May 21, 2013 | See all Sarkames's reviews »

Ever since playing my first Worms game I've enjoyed the bizarre themes and the odd characters, and with each new installment I look forward to the newest weapons of destruction.

Definitely a game that can't be played with a serious attitude, for the most part. It's fun, crazy and hilarious if you're playing it with a friend and want to mess around and have a good time. This one is no different and between the crazy weapons, the customization options and the gametypes, it has kept me busy for many hours so far and across the entire series I've played for days.

The spawn-placement isn't always the fairest gameplay-wise, the game has a high learning curve in terms of weapon usage and the online multiplayer can occasionally be interrupted by periods of waiting if a lot of water physics are in motion for a certain turn.

All in all, this installment stays true to the original and offers 2D gameplay on a 3D plane, many weapons to get technical with and you're going to fly off cliffs often if your luck is anything like mine. The gameplay is smooth and there's definitely a fine line between skill and attempt, but a novice can chain-link explosions together and cause mass calamity if they play smart enough. -85/100.

90

The best 2d worms so far

Matt_hXc | May 20, 2013 | See all Matt_hXc's reviews »

When i first saw this game i thought it was just another worms rehash that will be just like the last one but after playing it for a while i was very wrong.

They have actually put a lot more into this than previous entries such as dynamic water that can be used as a weapon, worm classes that each have their own uses and graphics that blow other worms games out of the water!!

Not to mention Matt Berry's voice overs for the campaign are just hilarious and make it worth the price of admission alone.

If you're a fan of worms and wondering if this game is worth it i definitely recommend it and especially if you've not played worms before this is the place to start.

80

Worms joining the world of 2.5D

Fable339 | May 19, 2013 | See all Fable339's reviews »

So to begin, Worms Revolution brought new features into the turn based strategy game by introducing water and physics based effects which could literally turn the tides of battle. The game still retained its humor and narrative but felt like a much more polished game. The 3D visuals added much character to proceedings and the general ease of play made for a welcoming game for newcomers. Simply put, Revolution is the culmination of years of hard work from a dedicated team and plays extremely well. If there’s to be any criticism at all and that’s possibly due to impatience, is the general speed of the game which still crawls at a snail’s pace as players take turns. The AI can also be a little too advantaged at times, although sometimes succumbing to making silly mistakes and suicidal moves. The controls for aiming is still a little fiddly, and for beginners hit and miss at times, which might cause some frustrations especially as the AI has the potential of perfect aim.

There are still plenty of options for gamers including the campaign, puzzles, fort battles, deathmatch and classic modes of play as well as the chance to locally duke it out on custom maps or over the online airwaves. The inclusion of the Mars, Medieval and Funfair packs simply add much more to the game including new maps, puzzles, themes and worm customization options which are always good for a giggle.

Worms The Revolution is a fun and entertaining game for players of many ages and comes from a classic series that’s been around the block several times now. If you’re after a game that’s cute and offensive, then this is well worth checking out.

70

Traditional Worms with new twists

DISCOMAN | May 15, 2013 | See all DISCOMAN's reviews »

If you liked Worms games like Armageddon, you'll love this. More customizability to your worms is very good and adds a little charm to it (although I was outraged when there was no funky voice).

Classes were one thing I didn't really like to be added. I prefer that we just have the one type of worms that do one thing and do not get any bonuses or anything silly like that. Often in matches I found it to be unfair sometimes (especially with health regeneration).

However it is not too different to the other Worms games which means it does get old rather quickly. Overall a good game however.

84

Classic worms but with 3d graphics

andrewbeechwood | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all andrewbeechwood's reviews »

Oh yeah, I played with my friend and wow, that's like classic 2d worms. If you like the classics - you must buy it. Gameplay is the same but also you have multiplayer(and people's really play on Internet, not like WWP or Armageddon) and connection with steam that gives you better multiplayer gaming.

If you're fan of 2d's, you must buy it.

79

Worms Revolution - review

carlyle | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

The first thing that catches your eye, a veteran of the series, is that Team 17 is actually returned to 3D, but only for show. Worms Revolution uses a fully polygonal engine, but the action is always shooting sideways, as if the game were two-dimensional in effect. The feeling is in fact to be faced with a new generation of Worms, however, without taking the distances from proven approach and, indeed, necessary. Do not expect a real plot, mind you, as several dozen missions that often put a strain on the nerves due to supernatural and unsuited to precision artificial intelligence and the intricate, ingenious complexity of some maps. The Puzzle mode is instead a solid addition to the solitary players, who will undertake a series of challenges in which you must use wisely the environment and a few objects at your disposal to achieve some particular goals. Worms Revolution naturally shines in multiplayer mode, which offers an unprecedented ability to customize the games.

81

Very Solid Worms game.

DukePaul | Oct. 12, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

After 10 hours played, I can say its very worth it.

First, the single player is very fun wih the voice of Matt Perry introducing you into the missions, I smile with his jokes.

The single player has two modes, Campaign which are a series of deathmatches and Puzzle mode, where you need to use your brain to kill the worms (and some missions are really hard), this bring a lot of gameplay hours for only player.

But in a Worms game the core is the multiplayer and in this game is fun like all worms games but I love the new features like the dynamic water, I love make water traps (because this game has an awesome level editor) on my custom maps and I love the water weapons too, Water Strike from the Sky is awesome.

Also the classes are very important too, for example the Scientist gives you +5 health every turn, this saved me a lot of times and makes my team stronger,

The thing I did not like is the rope, its feels a bit useless but well at least Jetpack still works!

Also the graphics, well the animations on the worms look great but you need to zoom a lot for watch them.

In the end, its a very good game and a next step in the franchise.

85

Prettier Version of Worms: Not Necessarily a Bad Thing!

JonLim | Oct. 10, 2012 | See all JonLim's reviews »

Pre-ordered Worms Revolution on October 2, 2012, and downloaded it as soon as I woke up on October 10, 2012. I'm a veteran of the older games (going back to the original Worms) and so I know the ins and outs of the Worms franchise.

I've played around an hour so far, and so I'm not terribly acclimated with the game (still need to figure out classes) but I feel I can give you a perspective from an old Worms vet to let you know what's different.

The game immediately throws you into a playable intro where you navigate through a fort and take out a bunch of worms while it teaches you the keys. The jump button has been simplified (no more Backspace for straight up/flips, and Enter for forward jumps) to using the Left Shift (default) for forward jumps and flips, and you can hold a direction to affect your flip. It's a clever way to start my game, but it seems very geared towards the very new, but you get hints of what's new to the game.

In addition, there are different classes for worms. It seems to really only affect their movement (and health, I think?) but this is something I haven't really dug into all that much.

My real beef with the game: just like Worms Armageddon, Revolution does not let you touch the campaign until you've finished the training campaign.

Why it's not so bad: I breezed through most of the training campaign, but also learned about some of the minor differences in mechanics, as well as the new parts to the game (physics objects!) and new hazards (sentries!)

However, and maybe this is because I played at 7AM EDT, there was absolutely no one around. The multiplayer is pretty empty so far, and the leaderboards (even for single player missions) have only 16 entries.

I really hope more people play, this game seems to be a great successor to Worms Armageddon and Worms World Party. We won't be speaking of the fully 3D Worms franchises, because they don't exist in my world.

Conclusion: - 2.5D gameplay is awesome and reminiscent of classic Worms warfare - Training is unskippable, but might be good even for veterans to learn about the new content - Classes add a new element to the game, though still need to figure out what - Definitely a must buy for Worms vets!

76

Worms are always welcomed

danteveli | Oct. 10, 2012 | See all danteveli's reviews »

We have around 20 or more games with worms since start of the series. there were 2D & 3D titles, logic games, puzzle stuff and even golf. Still the basic game upgraded to perfection with Armageddon rocks. This is why with Revolution Team 17 decided for only small evolution. We get the same game we love with some minor addition. biggest change is really good graphics mixing 2d gameplay with 3d backgrounds. this makes the game look more like 2012 production. Other addition is the possibility of class based gameplay. this adds more tactics to game with different worms with different equipment. Its ok idea but we can still play the old way. Multiplayer is still present and if you have someone to play with you should get this ASAP.

80

Somehow it's like angry bird, but put it in better graphics ;)

leoleelok | Sept. 21, 2012 | See all leoleelok's reviews »

Gameplay If you love angry bird, you will love this game. The gameplay is simple, the only goal of the game is to eliminate all the enemy worms. However, there are some items you can use along your game. It will be fun.

Graphics U can treat this game as an improved version of Angry Bird. It's a 2D game but there are some 3D graphic effects, which you will enjoy seeing them, and it add some little more fun to the game.

Overall A nice game to spend time with. Though the price of it is a little bit expensive. And you can customize your team of worm as much as you like, again, this adds some extra funs to the game.