Reviews for Hell Yeah! Wrath of the Dead Rabbit

91

Hell rabbit yeah!

yuppy | June 14, 2014 | See all yuppy's reviews »

What to say about this game... You play as death rabbit with really a lot of weapons to kill a lot of enemies!! The graphics is really good. Funny story, good music make you want to play in it.

20

Worth playing? Hell NO!

thejadefalcon | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all thejadefalcon's reviews »

Well, this game started off feeling very low-budget and not in the good way, but that was the high point of my experience with it. The platforming is mediocre at best. Half of the time, it can be difficult to see what exactly is dangerous and what isn't, something that's immediately obvious from the first level where you, the so-called Prince of Hell, walk through flames without harm, except for those ones, which look virtually identical, especially in Hell which is composed of fire. Those flames will damage you, except for the ones that don't, got that? The story seems to start halfway through, like I missed a few levels or something, but no, it's just bad writing, the one consistent thing throughout the entire game. The jokes barely raised more than a weak smile at their best, which is rare. The landing a jump can be about as pixel perfect at times as Super Meat Boy, which would be okay a) you didn't slide everywhere like the ground was made of ice and b) if the levels weren't cluttered with useless junk as, unlike SMB's clean visuals, the cartoonish graphics throw everything but the kitchen sink into the background, foreground, every ledge, every trap.

Speaking of SMB, let's talk about respawning. How fast could you respawn in SMB? Instantly. Do you know why? Because a game in which you die that amount would get infinitely frustrating if you had to wait even a second to keep playing. Now, Hell Yeah is a game in which you can be stunlocked and die in just a few seconds as punishment for missing one of those pixel perfect landings or making a small error with it's clunky feeling controls. How long does it take to respawn? Well, the boss that made me just quit the game killed me in a method that took about five seconds before I actually died (I can't move or do anything during this period of time), another second or two for the death screen, another three seconds to respawn and then made me rewatch the boss's unskippable introduction cutscene. This happens every time. And because of the previous platforming issues, I have died quite a number of times on this boss.

A previous boss required me to kill it with its own trap. Except how you do that is such a screwup of game design, I actually went into the next area searching for a way to kill it, killed an entirely different boss which was so painfully simple (make it run into a wall) and then had to go back to kill the first one. The way back was guarded by spotlights which signalled another unavoidable, stupidly long death. They were easy to avoid on the way down, but the way back up was hampered by the awful controls and the fact that these spotlights haven't even got any form of pattern to them. One of them literally stopped and zigzagged across the tiny platform I needed to get to for over half a minute. When it got off, I immediately jumped up, only to find the spotlight suddenly rush back to see me and I die. Again. And respawn at the bottom. Again. When I finally got back to the boss, I found how you were meant to kill it and immediately found another checkpoint (the one thing this game mostly gets right) so I didn't have to climb up the tower of doom again. I jump up to the trap to set it off and have it track me to target the boss. I mess up, die, that's fine, my bad. I start again, jump up... and immediately die to the trap because, for no reason whatsoever, it's set up in a different way this time. It pointed in a random direction every time I respawned, half of which were instant death because of the stunlock meaning I get thrown immediately into another source of heavy damage.

The writing is boring, with no reason for anything other than your Facebook pictures got leaked or something, I feel like all of my motive was in a prequel game to this (if there is one, I'm not actually aware of it). The jokes lack any punchline half the time beyond "lol, the skeleton rabbit is naked, isn't this amusing? Why aren't you laughing? Maybe I'll tell it again three more times, that should get a laugh!" Everything wants to kill you for some reason, except the times they don't but you want to kill them for some reason. When (if) you do kill a boss, you get "rewarded" with a minigame, which are either stupidly simple, annoyingly finnicky, QTEs or simple "mash this button until you get RSI!". At first I was okay with it as it looked like each boss got its own unique game, but when they started repeating, my interest dropped further.

Do not buy this game. It's not worth £9.99 ($14.99), it's not even worth picking up on a sale. Wait until it's in a bundle with some more interesting games.

20

Worth playing? Hell NO!

thejadefalcon | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all thejadefalcon's reviews »

Well, this game started off feeling very low-budget and not in the good way, but that was the high point of my experience with it. The platforming is mediocre at best. Half of the time, it can be difficult to see what exactly is dangerous and what isn't, something that's immediately obvious from the first level where you, the so-called Prince of Hell, walk through flames without harm, except for those ones, which look virtually identical, especially in Hell which is composed of fire. Those flames will damage you, except for the ones that don't, got that? The story seems to start halfway through, like I missed a few levels or something, but no, it's just bad writing, the one consistent thing throughout the entire game. The jokes barely raised more than a weak smile at their best, which is rare. The landing a jump can be about as pixel perfect at times as Super Meat Boy, which would be okay a) you didn't slide everywhere like the ground was made of ice and b) if the levels weren't cluttered with useless junk as, unlike SMB's clean visuals, the cartoonish graphics throw everything but the kitchen sink into the background, foreground, every ledge, every trap.

Speaking of SMB, let's talk about respawning. How fast could you respawn in SMB? Instantly. Do you know why? Because a game in which you die that amount would get infinitely frustrating if you had to wait even a second to keep playing. Now, Hell Yeah is a game in which you can be stunlocked and die in just a few seconds as punishment for missing one of those pixel perfect landings or making a small error with it's clunky feeling controls. How long does it take to respawn? Well, the boss that made me just quit the game killed me in a method that took about five seconds before I actually died (I can't move or do anything during this period of time), another second or two for the death screen, another three seconds to respawn and then made me rewatch the boss's unskippable introduction cutscene. This happens every time. And because of the previous platforming issues, I have died quite a number of times on this boss.

A previous boss required me to kill it with its own trap. Except how you do that is such a screwup of game design, I actually went into the next area searching for a way to kill it, killed an entirely different boss which was so painfully simple (make it run into a wall) and then had to go back to kill the first one. The way back was guarded by spotlights which signalled another unavoidable, stupidly long death. They were easy to avoid on the way down, but the way back up was hampered by the awful controls and the fact that these spotlights haven't even got any form of pattern to them. One of them literally stopped and zigzagged across the tiny platform I needed to get to for over half a minute. When it got off, I immediately jumped up, only to find the spotlight suddenly rush back to see me and I die. Again. And respawn at the bottom. Again. When I finally got back to the boss, I found how you were meant to kill it and immediately found another checkpoint (the one thing this game mostly gets right) so I didn't have to climb up the tower of doom again. I jump up to the trap to set it off and have it track me to target the boss. I mess up, die, that's fine, my bad. I start again, jump up... and immediately die to the trap because, for no reason whatsoever, it's set up in a different way this time. It pointed in a random direction every time I respawned, half of which were instant death because of the stunlock meaning I get thrown immediately into another source of heavy damage.

The writing is boring, with no reason for anything other than your Facebook pictures got leaked or something, I feel like all of my motive was in a prequel game to this (if there is one, I'm not actually aware of it). The jokes lack any punchline half the time beyond "lol, the skeleton rabbit is naked, isn't this amusing? Why aren't you laughing? Maybe I'll tell it again three more times, that should get a laugh!" Everything wants to kill you for some reason, except the times they don't but you want to kill them for some reason. When (if) you do kill a boss, you get "rewarded" with a minigame, which are either stupidly simple, annoyingly finnicky, QTEs or simple "mash this button until you get RSI!". At first I was okay with it as it looked like each boss got its own unique game, but when they started repeating, my interest dropped further.

Do not buy this game. It's not worth £9.99 ($14.99), it's not even worth picking up on a sale. Wait until it's in a bundle with some more interesting games.

75

Lot of fun

Demilisz | Jan. 31, 2014 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

This games can give you a lot of fun and enjoyment, but only if you play it slow. Trying to rush it all at once only makes things worse as Hell Yeah! is repetitive. The minigames (required to defeat minor bosses) are nice, but there is no much of them - around ten or even less. And there are 100 monsters to take down in total so it don;t take long for minigames to repeat themselves. But of you play this nice and slow, taking a break between session, this is a good game and worth the price.

75

Fun, even though it gets repetitive

cremvursti | July 25, 2013 | See all cremvursti's reviews »

A decent, whacky platformer with a lot of tongue-in-cheek humour. The mini-games that trigger at each of the 100 mini-bosses kills are pretty fun, tough they start repeating themselves quite quickly. All in all, Hell Yeah! is a good way to spend some of your spare time without having to squeeze your brain too hard.

80

Fun old school game

nucture | July 4, 2013 | See all nucture's reviews »

Try it out if you're into games like castlevania and others like that. It has a lot of things to do and can be very funny at time, buy it on sale if you're not sure. Great game.

80

Who said that the rabbits were innocent?

abelfs | July 3, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

Very decent platformer with a delirious background: the main character is a rabbit that is the prince of hell who got caught by paparazzi being a "plastic-duckphile". Too bad it is not really that long. It has some nice platforming, varied worlds and ways of killing the target monsters, lots of shooting, pretty 2d graphics and chuckle-worthy humour. I can't say I'm disappointed after its purchased with a 50% price drop.

87

Good Fun, Good Challenge

decemberfate | June 3, 2013 | See all decemberfate's reviews »

Hell Yeah!, was the first thing I said when this came out as to pronounce its name and to express my feelings at that moment. Hell Yeah! Wrath of the Dead Rabbit is an awesome action platformer that is both challenging and enjoying at the same time, making it a worth purchase right out of the digital box, and with it starting to get discounted along with its DLCs, becomes a no-brainer to pick it up and see it for yourself. Overall, the game itself isn't the best game of the year, but in my opinion, by defying the trend for the year, surely comes close to it.

90

Fun and Funny

MikeK47 | June 3, 2013 | See all MikeK47's reviews »

This game is just enjoyment and ridiculousness. When I was thrown into this game I didn't really know what was going on but once acclimated I loved it. The basic premise of the game is you go through levels finding bosses to kill. Once you do that there is a little mini game to finish them off. If you are turned off by mini games then don't worry, these are awesome. They take only a couple seconds and are hilarious. Get this game and just have fun tearing through your enemies as the devil bunny.

85

This game is batshit insane

Ganerumo | May 20, 2013 | See all Ganerumo's reviews »

This game is nuts. 9/10.

What, you go more indepth ? The entire game makes no sense but it's fun as all hell. You are a naked rabbit, lord of hell, looking for compromising pictures of him in a bathtub with a rubber ducky, and the whole game is about killing absolutely everything and sending them to a private island to work for you until you can get these pictures back.

Still not convinced ? You spend the game riding a giant circular blade and shooting rockets at everyone. Now go buy it.

90

Flat-out fun!

toecutter3095 | March 29, 2013 | See all toecutter3095's reviews »

This is such a fun game that you would not great purchasing it. Completely over-the-top violence and intentionally corny humor make this very enjoyable. Another reviewer likened it to the sort of violence you'd see in a cartoon, and they're right. This is just like Wile Coyote getting boulders or anvils dropped on him, and just as you laughed then, you should be laughing now.

I played it with a controller, so I can't vouch for keyboard play, but if you're struggling with it, then just go buy a controller as well rather than giving up on the game and enjoy it to its fullest.

I actually pre-ordered this because it looked like a fun game and I'm more than happy with the money I spent, so you'd be crazy to pass this up if you ever see this on sale.

88

Great Game A Lot of Cartoon Violence and Fun

Fatdude | March 2, 2013 | See all Fatdude's reviews »

First of all, this game is great.Go buy it!It will be worth every penny you spend

Game is about a dead rabbit destroying cute! critters in very violancy ways.It has fun boss battles and minigames.Platforming side of the game is really basic but with the great human and weird storyline this game will suck you in.

88

Joy!

Tebeku | Feb. 26, 2013 | See all Tebeku's reviews »

This game is bloody fantastic (with emphasis on the "bloody"). It's over the top, funny and gory. Hell Yeah! is a well designed platform game with Wario Ware-esque mini-games incorporated into it, and it always makes me smile.

80

Great Over-The-Top Game

bobicus880 | Feb. 6, 2013 | See all bobicus880's reviews »

Everything about this game is extreme. From the customization options, to the blood and gore. Even the music is over the top. When visiting a store you are met with gangster rap playing in the background. When you kill one of the monsters (your main objective), you are met with intense music. I think the level design is wonderful as well. The levels are creative and, like the rest of the game, extremely overblown. The game isn't that hard, but there are parts that will challenge you. Overall, my only gripe is due to the games graphics stuttering at times. This is due to my integrated graphics card, most people should have no problem.

85

Hell Yeah!

Naviigator | Jan. 8, 2013 | See all Naviigator's reviews »

I was pointed in the direction because of TotalBiscuit. He seemed to like the game a lot. I am a fan of over the top action and graphical weirdness. This game provides just that. The graphics are cartoony but with enough blood and splatter. Every 'boss' you kill gets killed in an extreme fashion (some examples are: stung to death by wasps, laser beam, wrestling takedown,...)

The biggest complaint I have about this game is that when you die, the dialogue you had with a boss will come back. This is kind of annoying, since you can't skip it either.

94

Worth buying

Winn | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all Winn's reviews »

The graphic of this game is absolutely awesome, you'll want to start this game just to see it. Keyboard control is fine for ordinary people (= not for me), I didn't try a gamepad. It also offers loads of humour. Overall this game is really great and the price during sale is amazing.

77

Good game for castlevania lovers

nucture | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all nucture's reviews »

This is a good game for it's sale price. I wouldn't recommend paying full price, but when it's on sale it is well worth the buy. It has an hilarious story and a simple gameplay that will keep you spending tons of time on the game without knowing it :).

96

One of the best platformers I've ever played

rulzmaker | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all rulzmaker's reviews »

Sure, I loved Rayman and Jazz Jackrabbit back in the day, but there had to be a new one and Hell Yeah! is exactly that. A great recreation of amazing games from an outstanding genre. The game brings new and intuitive gameplay instead of being just another rip-off like many others out there. It has a really excellent, fast paced, all over the map gameplay which you could use in your advantage. You could just race through the game or stay a while and explore, either way you'll be pleased. If you haven't got it already, then it's time!

93

Jazz Jackrabbit would be proud...

soad667 | Oct. 5, 2012 | See all soad667's reviews »

...Rayman too.

Hell Yeah is an awesome platform game with beautiful graphics, over the top humor and cartoon violence, metroid-like exploration, lots of stuff to unlock and play. Really, a true gem for its genre.

95

Awesome.

jeyko | Sept. 27, 2012 | See all jeyko's reviews »

First thing you will notice in Hell Yeah! Wrath of the Dead Rabbit is the graphics. They are beautifully drawn. Everything is really detailed and beautiful. Even the little things in the background are detailed. It's a treat to the eyes. The controls are really responsive and tight, and the occasional puzzles are satisfying and fun to do. I can't really say anything bad about Hell Yeah! It's just great.