Reviews for Train Simulator 2013

80

best train sim but costly to run

o0spyder0o | Sept. 23, 2013 | See all o0spyder0o's reviews »

Pity there's no real competition because the dlc for this game are too expensive. You can get whole games for what it costs to buy a route or train and on sales they selectively choose stuff that's been sitting still for a while. That said it is the best sim of its genre, even though that's because it's a two horse race really. Good game but be prepared to through money at it.

65

A great quality simulator, not for everyone

Mates1500 | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all Mates1500's reviews »

As a hardcore gamer, I didn't quit enjoy this as a "game", there's not a whole lot of stuff for you to do, it's more about enjoying the scenery and stuff, the graphics outside of the trains are not exactly top notch either. I think this is the number one choice for train fans, but as a harcore/regular gamer with no special interest in trains, do yourself a favor and avoid this.

90

Really fantastic simulator.

momoster69 | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all momoster69's reviews »

I enjoyed this simulator alot, especially the physics and graphics have improved in this game. Its entertaining and enjoyable. It initially came with three routes and enough missions to satisfy you for weeks!, I highly recommend this game to any train and simulator fans. :)

92

Great Simulator

con24 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all con24's reviews »

Very high quality game. Every new game: Better

Rail Simulator/Railworks make this game great every time they make a new game. The cabs of the trains are detailed and must have taken time to make. When it rains, the windows get covered with a rain texture and wipers only wash off the parts that are in it's path.

However, DLC is very expensive, even in sales it only goes down to around £4.97. The DLC trains are quite good, but saying it only comes with a few liveries it is a bit expensive. But that isn't GMG's fault. It's how much Rail Simulator want to sell it for.

95

Great Game

jd1088 | June 3, 2013 | See all jd1088's reviews »

To get the most out of this game, make sure you have a gaming PC. However, even playing on lower settings doesn't take away from gameplay. There are trains from just about every era of railroading across multiple continents. There is plenty of DLC to go along with the game as well.

If you love trains, this game is for you.

79

A good simulator

atze_md | May 4, 2013 | See all atze_md's reviews »

Well I'm not really into trains, but I like simulators in general and a friend recommended this game to me. First I was a bit scared by all the DLC, but the base game was available for a reasonable price, so I thought why not give it a try.

First thing I noticed, it wasnt rly playable with a controller alone. Okay, a train has many levers and things to press, I can live with that. It is okay to control everything with mouse only. The graphics are quite fancy for a simulator. Nothing astounding though. Now the gameplay... Well, it's a very good and accurate simulator. But I think it isn't my kinda of game cause I got bored pretty fast by it.

Overall I rate this a 79. Good simulator, but quite boring and an overwhelming amount of overpriced dlc.

98

Great Simulator

Arthor | Jan. 28, 2013 | See all Arthor's reviews »

I have always loved trains. If could travel by train I did, I collected HO trains and now that I can no longer do either of those I was lucky to try Railworks 3, If you ever wanted too be an engineer now is your chance. This simulation is a satisfying and immersive experience. You can use trains from any era. The controls can be simple or complex you decide. Test yourself on career scenarios or relax n a free roam. You decide. There is also a very large and helpful community and many providers of additional downloadable content.

85

High quality simulation

DukePaul | Jan. 28, 2013 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

This game gets better every year and this last version is good enough to purchase it even if you don't like trains but beware because you need time to adapt, Train Simulator is a very hard game that requires from the player.

Also the graphics are incredible realistic, if you have a powerful PC to run the game in maximum graphics settings is like to see real trains.

The variety of trains and tracks are huge, It will be hard to get bored.

For this awesome price in Greenmangaming, I highly recommend this game to anyone.

91

Excellent train simulator

oginer | Nov. 10, 2012 | See all oginer's reviews »

If you like trains, this game is awesome. Beware that this game is hard, even the easier scenarios require concentration and good skill. Graphically is beautiful, with very detailed scenarios, and very well done trains.

The only thing it still needs some improvement is the control with the mouse, since it's hard to fine-tune the levers.

95

Excellent

MasterInvader | Oct. 15, 2012 | See all MasterInvader's reviews »

Train Simulator 2013 is surprisingly fun to play.

It demands a powerful PC to play at the highest-quality settings, but the superb audio means you'll enjoy the game even on an average system.

There's plenty of interest for UK train fans thanks to a wealth of DLC beyond the London to Brighton and Isle of Wight, if you've ever wanted to drive a train, now's your chance.

92

A Must Buy

sng7 | Oct. 15, 2012 | See all sng7's reviews »

Train simulator 2013 is a good improvement to the existing series keeping all the positives, such as the realism and variety and improves it, by adding features such as Quick Drive which allows you to place a combination of various locomotives and carriages or wagons on a selection of routes and adds the computer controlled locomotives as well giving you the ability to drive where you want even if a scenario doesn't exist for it. Also Train Simulator 2013 add Relay Play which allows you and you're friends to complete a scenario by working together, these features along with steam workshop integration which makes it easy to download extra scenarios for free, make Train Simulator 2013 a must for anyone with even a vague interest in train simulation. If Yoe Haven't already this is a must buy.