Reviews for WRC 3

80

Third time's the charm!

Obsessor | Aug. 5, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

So... Take WRC 2, fix the most annoying things, ad some polish(alas not enough... again). Looks like guys from Milestone are finally getting the hang of this racing games business.

Cars handle nicely, graphics are ok(still not awesome, but this series wasn't known of having graphics above the "ok" level), music... well, I never notice it, I'm too busy trying(and failing)to stay on the track. I don't know why people sneer at career. I liked it in WRC 2, like it in third part.

To sum up, WRC series is doing fine. It's not a great AAA game to get all the hype and love of teenagers weeping "mommy pls." But it's certainly fun to play it

86

WRC 3 is fun to everyone, a little bit less alone..

XGpredator | Jan. 3, 2014 | See all XGpredator's reviews »

WRC 3 has much in common with WRC 2. Milestone developers have fixed a bunch of aberrations and finally offer a real rally game. Not without some glaring flaws, such as its career mode which is particularly mediocre, this third episode finally puts the series back on track. But i'd say, investing in WRC 3 is a good idea but with one condition, playing the multiplayer , a mode in which it excels.

82

Currently the best Rallye game

Kradath | July 14, 2013 | See all Kradath's reviews »

As the Dirt series diverted away from the core rallye gameplay I was on the lookout for an alternative. At first I thought there wasn't actually any to the dirt series, until I found this one.

It not only covers all the current WRC cars and drivers, but the atmosphere is simply great, the cars handle good. There are some minor issues with it like the lack of staggered starts, which are quite important, night races or changeable weather conditions.

Nevertheless, there currently is no better racing game and if they improve upon this title in WRC4 the series will flourish even more in the future.

71

YES!

Shykon | May 24, 2013 | See all Shykon's reviews »

I really can't imagine anythin better than this, great game!

80

Not perfect, but a good alternative to DiRT

rossa14 | April 17, 2013 | See all rossa14's reviews »

Do you like rally games, but think the DiRT series isn't quite what you are looking for these days? Well this game might be for you.

I played the first WRC from these guys and at that time you could tell they were fairly new to this type of game; as a whole, there wasn't much there to get excited about. Fast forward to WRC3 and they are now doing quite a good job at hitting the sweet spot for what makes a good rally game (in terms of how it plays [Car physics, ect...]). The graphics still aren't amazing, but are far from what you could call terrible; at the same time though, the engine seems to hold up well without any major issues or slowdowns. The audio is also quite good, ranging from the music in the menus and loading screens, down to the pace notes (which by the way can be tuned to be called out later or earlier than normal depending on preference).

Overall, it's not bad for a developer that mostly does motorbike games, and it's a game that does a good job of recreating the official FIA championship as it stands today. Well worth checking out for rally fans.

61

Why Not Get DiRT 3 Instead?

Tubbzie | March 31, 2013 | See all Tubbzie's reviews »

I decided to give this game it's Metacritic score purely because I thought that although it didn't deserve higher, it certainly doesn't deserve lower. Pound for pound, it doesn't stack up against DiRT 3 in pretty much any area of play; graphics, audio, style, level design, control, overall DiRT 3 is just more of a solid game. That doesn't mean there isn't anything here though - if you aren't interested in all the drift-styled gymkhana that DiRT 3 shoves in your face rather unwillingly, and are looking for a 'true rallying game' then this is the closest you're going to find out of all the modern 'rallying' thoroughbred games. The control scheme is competent and the career mode, if sometimes tantalizingly basic, and entertaining play. Overall, if you're looking a for the overall rally experience, head over to DiRT 3 for more bang for you buck - but if you're looking for something deeper, maybe a true representation of hurtling through Finland at 80mph half an inch away from the nearest treeline, then this is the closest thing you can buy this side of 2009.

75

A good arcade rally game

Lekes | Feb. 17, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Career mode is quite fun and I never got tired of it unlike in previous WRC games, which were a bit too long sometimes. Music is surprisingly great and match the game's atmosphere as well as all the sounds. On the other hand, tracks are pretty bad. First of all they are all pretty much the same length. Second, each country has only 2 original tracks with swapped direction or different sections. Third, there are way too many hairpins and conveniently placed crap around hard corners. Fourth, notepaces could use some work as it's pretty common that a corner is slighty different than you're being told. Sometimes even by 2 degrees. All in all this is a very good game for rally fans and good for the rest.

90

Loved

DarkMavrik | Jan. 10, 2013 | See all DarkMavrik's reviews »

Besides below par graphics it is a great game. So much to do in game and the tuning with the cars is set to where some one new to racing to some one whos a pro can adjust the settings. The realism in the game in driving is on par with that of the Dirt 2, since the other dirts have all gone arcade since then.

99

I love this game!

psychicparrot | Dec. 4, 2012 | See all psychicparrot's reviews »

Plenty of events, awesome graphics, beautiful physics.. just wow. I love this game. Better rally action than any of the Dirt games and better physics, too. If you like racing, you should have this game!

71

Awesome Rally Game

Leathersoup | Oct. 17, 2012 | See all Leathersoup's reviews »

I live in Canada so the number of true rally games that show up on store shelves here are few and far between. This is also one of the reasons I'm so grateful to Green Man Gaming for selling to North America. The driving is very technical and enjoyable. There are several assist added to the game for someone new to these sorts of games. One of the things I'm a bit saddened by is the amount of reuse in tracks. DiRT 3 started it with their rally stages where they'd create 3 or 4 intersecting roads per country and have each stage be a combination of the various routes generated by the intersections. By the time you've finished a rally it seems as though you've driven the same road 8 times.

75

recommend

cristiano171 | Oct. 5, 2012 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

Famous riders such as, Sebastien Loeb, Kimi Räikkönen, Petter Solberg and Ken Block are among the characters WRC3, gamer and can even play as any of them, besides others. The game features a campaign mode and also supports multiplayer matches for up to 16 players. There are several game modes available, incidentally: Single Rally, Championship, Time Attack, where you can "meet" their own "ghost" or "ghost" of other players, Rally Academy, a real school where you can learn various techniques piloting, and Road to the WRC, a mode that simulates a career, where the player will have to deal with contracts and things including the tipo.Trata is a very interesting game with beautiful graphics well, and the MSRP is much more that cool. I recommend