Reviews for Awesomenauts

100

Hell of a fun MOBA platformer. :)

hateah | July 22, 2014 | See all hateah's reviews »

This game is amazing. It's one of the best in it's genres. It has multiplayer and singel-player. I prefer the multiplayer tho because its much more fun, it has a lot of classes between you can choose after you unlock them of course. You start with nothing basically when u respawn. You buy everything from the store and then for earning money for more items and upgrades you can either farm and kill minions or start chasing the other team champions and try killing them although that's hard,because you can easily get out of the situation by jumping few times and getting into ur base. The aim is to destroy the opponent's base which is being protected by 3 towers on it's way. The minions are starting from your base and going to the enemy's towers, the enemy minions does the same and they usually fight at the middle, whoever of the side minions wins the fight continues to the tower, you gotta stay behind the minions in order to kill the tower otherwise it will attack you. There is something like mini boss which u can kill for gaining health a lot, or little monsters which also gives u health,less but they are much weaker than the boss. You can also lvl up by killing champions and minions. I recommend the new DLC the developers made. It's much more fun, but don't buy it until you learn the basics of the game. Hell of a indie platformer game is Awesomenauts:) Oh yea you also got a rank in your profile which is getting higher and by that u unlock more champions.

80

Great Moba

kawette | June 19, 2014 | See all kawette's reviews »

I was a bit skeptical about a 2D moba but I still bought it. After my first game I was impressed by the gameplay, even if it is in 2D it doesn't mean that there's no strategic and no possibility to surprise the enemies.

Like all moba there are diferent classes : support, pusher, Tank, Healer...

But the better thing in my opinion is that the leavers are replaced by other players during the game. So you are not condemned to the defeat if someone leave the game.

I was surprised by the quality of the game and I hope you'll also be.

100

Yay, platformer & MOBA together!

grhakerck | June 18, 2014 | See all grhakerck's reviews »

I am really impressed at this game. When I first entered the game, I was astonished by absolutely fantastic visuals. Then, a bunch of characters appeared that are ALL fun to play! None of them is super overpowered, each of them has special abilities. After a while, I have figured out that this will be a game that I will play a lot. And I did. The only negative side has appeared when the Starstorm expansion was released. Now, some of the functions are locked. Still, this game is great to play and if you manage to get Starstorm for a discounted price, even better.

85

The only 2D MOBA game that is worth playing.

Furrek | May 19, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

There are two big MOBA games, that everyone played, or at least heard about them. It's DOTA 2 and League od Legends. In my opinion, those two games are best in this genre. But this game is best MOBA in 2D. To be honest never heard of any other, but well... nevermind. It's really enjoyable title. There is no such a thing like "pressure". Almost every player play this game to simply have fun. Sure, there is a ranking with best players etc. but it's not so stressful like in LoL or DOTA. I find this game to be a nice break from big MOBA games. It's really nice platformer 2D MOBA game.

100

Great MOBA

GinoBales | May 19, 2014 | See all GinoBales's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a great game. The matches are a little simpler and shorter than a classical moba, but the developers use 2D to bring a refreshing twist to a burgeoning genre. The champions cover the standard archtypes but don't feel stale. The maps are also well designed for 2D by using the vertical space much more than the classic moba. Overall, Awesomenauts has a great community, innovative maps, and a varied and fun champion pool.

40

If you like indie platformers you may like this game

BlockAgent | May 17, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

If you are a big time fan of indie 2D platformers, then this game will probably bring you alot of enjoyment. I however, don't find them that much fun as I am used to AAA games such as Far Cry 3, Skyrim, and Call of Duty. I found this game to be boring and like most other indie platformers, like a game that could have been made for super nintendo. So this game is great for some, terrible for others.

70

2d arcade style moba

drakso | May 15, 2014 | See all drakso's reviews »

When you hear MOBA you usually think of spells builds heroes roles etc. Well, this game has all of that but in a very simple, small and easy to learn package. Awesomenauts is a very easy to learn and fun game. It has a very different progression system and that is what makes it that much cooler. The heroes in the game can level up while you play and you can buy upgrades for them. But there is a different preset for every hero according to the upgrades witch the player makes before the round starts. And by playing games you level up and unlock new upgrades for the preset and also new heroes. The matches are also very quick and fun because there are no cool downs on the abilities and respawn time is not really long. A casual game worth looking in to.

75

Casual MOBA

Jackassman | May 1, 2014 | See all Jackassman's reviews »

There are lots of MOBA games out there, and you can't really show new features anymore in this genre, but Awesomenauts could. And one if it is the 2D perspective, which is really cool. The game has some balancing issues, and there is only a few maps, which makes it boring, but the devs working hard, adding new characters and trying to fix the balance. It is worth the trying, despite the bad matchmaking, it is a fun game, and if you don't like hardcore MOBA games, this is for you.

77

Pretty Awesome, indeed!

OverkillerlSRBl | April 30, 2014 | See all OverkillerlSRBl's reviews »

You'd be dead wrong to overlook this game as a time-killer or think it is simple just because it is 2d, it however packs a decent amount of complexity and content to keep you playing, and playing, and playing.

First off the basics : It is a 3v3 MOBA, the goal is to destroy the opponents drill. To do that you will have to destroy towers, for which you need your minions.

You have a variety of character choices, each with his own quite original and unique abilities, there is a "jungle" with creeps that when killed give you health too.

It sounds and seems simple, but you will be amazed by how deep it is, even better when played with friends!

100

AWESOMEnauts

Some_Freak5981 | April 23, 2014 | See all Some_Freak5981's reviews »

This game is AWESOME! The gameplay is Dota-like, but it's 2D. The graphics are cute, the characters are interesting and the gameplay is well executed. There is also a split screen mode which is really well done. The game also has controller support. I've spent 70+ hours in this game and I think you should give it a try. $9.99 isnt too expensive, is it?

85

Rather Awesome!

ArjenDesign | Feb. 22, 2014 | See all ArjenDesign's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a two dimensional MOBA-type game. You can pick from a variety of characters and battle in 3 VS 3 matches.

The game's presentation is where it really shines. It takes many cues from 80s cartoons, with all characters having their own theme songs (with a remix reserved for killing sprees). The game has a great sense of humor all throughout.

The game itself is a lot of fun. Each character is unique and plays differently, and the game is a blast to play with friends online as well as locally (so many games forget the beauty of local multiplayer nowadays). The controls are simple, so any control scheme you like will work just fine.

There isn't a lot of variation in levels, and the balance between characters isn't always great. Otherwise, Awesomenauts is awesome.

95

Do you have friends, borthers or kids? Co-op Must buy game

Unbenannte | Jan. 24, 2014 | See all Unbenannte's reviews »

They complain that you get bored fast, and that might be true if you play all the time alone, but the game has a 3 local co-op mode (it’s one of the big futures). I am kind of sad because they didn’t make it a 4 player co-op, since I have 3 brothers =P. But I get it, they need something different from all the games out there. Side scrolling, nice story, awesome characters, good multiplayer, different modes for playing, nice graphics, cheap prices (DUDE it’s a 3 player game for only 9.99) and I think you can use great GMG vouchers on this and the GMG credit, you can’t find it cheaper than in this store. So if you want to play with a lot of guns, abilities, characters and have some good time (better with friends) then BUY IT. Great for little kids, just plug your gamepad and play.

Also if you feel like you have done everything you can do, then get awesome DLCs for more content. Hope this helps.

90

"Awesomenauts" is awesome

wodny | Jan. 18, 2014 | See all wodny's reviews »

I've never been into MOBA games but this title changed everything. I bought it in April 2013 and I am still playing. So far I spent like over 350 hours playing this game which for me is something unusual. Right now you have access to 14 different characters, 15 if you have "Starstorm" expansion. Every character is unique and provides different gameplay experiences. I think that this game has pretty nice learning curve so you can get very fast into action. If you like cartoon graphics, big amount of clever humour and platformer games then "Awesomenauts" is just for you.

40

Awesome nauts, pretty fun, but gets boring really fast.

Miredas | Dec. 15, 2013 | See all Miredas's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a MOBA (Multiplayer Online Battle Arena) game, the game is about you and your 3 friends is going to destroy the enemy's base to win. You got a big variety of characters. You can also level up to get new items for your characters, leveling up your character also gets you new character. The game is fun overall, but somehow, i dunt know why, you get bored of it in less than 2 weeks. I wish the game would be more varied and more things to do, I do not reccomend it, buy on your own risk

72

Awesomenauts - review

carlyle | Dec. 8, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a MOBA : The aim is to destroy the core of the Solar opponent while protecting your own. He failed to avoid the fire of the mercenaries and rivals that of the lethal gun towers that will be destroyed as well . The PC version does not deviate too much from its incarnations already been released for the console: can undoubtedly improve the uncertainties of matchmaking , this time to find challengers and playmates is easier, although it remains the problem log on to items already marked by the outcome . The control system it is very helpful to use a mouse and keyboard , which offer an unprecedented precision of the controls so going to improve the strategic possibilities of each match . Being absent an offline campaign that would probably have expanded the range and highlighted the gameplay features of the product, the soul of the game is all in the multiplayer mode , with its exaggerated tendency to repeat sessions always equal to respawn , tip more than anything else in particular to thrill fans of the MOBA : while trying with his entertaining presentation to include newcomers to the genre , for the latter Awesomenauts is likely to be a colorful source of frustration if not tackled with the right mindset .

95

Amazing game

TPCGorillaMunch | Nov. 29, 2013 | See all TPCGorillaMunch's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a MOBA style game in 2D. It can played competitively, with friends, or against bots. There are a large number of characters to choose from with more and more being released. Each character is unique in the abilities they use and the upgrades that can be purchased for them during a game.

The game involves 3 Awesomenauts vs 3 Awesomenauts fighting to destroy the other team's base protected by a number of turrets. Each team will spawn droids to help them fight and when destroyed will drop solar, the currency used to shop for upgrades.

The game is very well balanced with every character having different strengths and weaknesses. The game is constantly being updated with a large batch of new content being added very soon. The game looks nice and runs smoothly, also has great music, with each character getting a personal killing spree song.

100

A Great MOBA That Provides A Fun Experience

Treiger | Nov. 24, 2013 | See all Treiger's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a 2D Platform-style MOBA, in the same vein as games like League, though unique in its own respect. Instead of the traditional 5v5 in most MOBA games, this game has 3v3. It doesn't feature buying items for characters, but rather pick unique upgrades for them in-game. These upgrades can be unlocked as you level up, and you may choose which ones you want. You enter matches via a quick play system, so you can't select which map to play. Also, you may get matched up into a game in progress, which is sometimes undesirable. However, a plus side of this is that if a player leaves a game, another player will quickly take his place, replacing the incompetent bot on your team that will temporarily take over if a player were to leave. Other than that, there isn't much to say. The voice acting, maps, graphics and sound are all superb. It is a fun casual MOBA that will take your hours away.

71

good casual game

ruttenmurf | Nov. 20, 2013 | See all ruttenmurf's reviews »

This is a very fun game which i like to play when i am bored or i have some time to spare. It’s a good moba but not as competitive and the rounds only take up to 15min. Also the community won’t be mad at you if you do something wrong. I love how the game plays and how smooth it is. I also like the different awesomenauts but there are not to as much maps as I would want to. If you would like to play a moba but don’t like it’s competitiveness you should play awesomenauts it’s fun and casual. Also this I a good game for platform gamers.

65

Solid game that gets old really quickly

Vlady | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all Vlady's reviews »

As someone who isn't big fan of MOBA games I though that this would be nice change of pace and mechanics from typical isometric moba games like DOTA and LoL. The game sure can be fun and is definitely more accessible and easier then those big boys of moba genre, but I was bored of it rather quickly. Mechanics are something that should be familiar to veterans of these types of games, but they still require learning and adjusting. It has a nice and clean art style and music, hectic combat and should run well on your grandma's toaster, but it's rather unbalanced I can recommend this title only to die-hard fans of the genre, who got sick of their moba of choice. My point is that if you don't enjoy these games, Awesomenauts won't change your mind, and if you do, then you should go play DOTA.

100

I'm addicted to this MOBA

leodiblack | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all leodiblack's reviews »

I think that Awesomenauts deserves a +110 in rating

I never got so addicted to a MOBA in my life, the characters, the music, special and unique abilities for every character

The gameplay is simple but interesting, just after one or two rounds you will know why this indie game is taking so much force in the market, after a few hours you will be saying some quotes of your favorite characters (If i knew french i would be talking right now in french, seriously, Leon the Chameleon is so cool... I mean a Pirate Chameleon with a sword in one arm??)

Try it, enjoy it, have some fun with your friends, team up with other awesomenauts around the world... and WIN WIN WIN!

I think is time for you to take this game to your basket, so much fun for that price is illegal!

90

10/10 game that has everything games like LoL don't have.

Equinoxdawg | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all Equinoxdawg's reviews »

I tried this because I really don't like games like LoL and DotA1/2. The fact there's a practise mode is awesome, as the name suggests. Being able to unlock all the characters by practising then going onto fighting actual players is an extremely awesome feature that I really like. All the characters are unique as you'd expect and that all adds up to give the total score of an easy 90. Would be 100 if there was more content!

83

Lives up to it's name

Nigee | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all Nigee's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a moba, played out in a platformed 2-d arena with 3v3 battle. The game has no items, and instead has character unique upgrades, which you can pick before each match which upgrades you want (up to 3) to allow you to match the character to your needs. Want to go with increased slow over damage? Or how about some bonus utility to your abilities? the choice is yours. My biggest complaint is that you cannot choose which map you play on, and considering the nature of the game i am surprised there are only a few maps to play on. A great game to play with a couple of Awesomebros as teamwork trumps raw skill in this.

90

More Fun, less stress

Xuanwilliam | Nov. 10, 2013 | See all Xuanwilliam's reviews »

Awesomenauts,unlike many other moba games, has only 2 or 1 lane(s) and there is hardly any stress that you will receive from your team. This does not however, mean that the characters do not have any synergy. A good combo from any selection of a characters can burst down anyone. The fact that even when you respawn you can do something is amazing. A good game for anyone wanting to play MOBA style games but want less flaming from team mates

96

LAN what? Epic!

notmyid | Nov. 9, 2013 | See all notmyid's reviews »

Well, I'd like to tell all the 'lone-wolves' out there; I didn't play with a single LAN party, or a real life friend for that matter. Strangers, 5-year-olds, women (now that's a lie), I've seen it all. But whoever was behind that screen didn't matter, since we all came for the same epic experience.

Awesomenauts is seriously one of the most addictive and fun games I've played, it just doesn't get old (until it does)----(but that takes lots of time!), I got over 200 recorded hours (or was it 100?) on Steam, and I had the time of my life trying out different characters and strategies.

Just buy it, seriously, pass on the Frappachino-Moccacihno-Machiatto and get this game!

85

Side Scrolling MOBA

magusonline | Nov. 8, 2013 | See all magusonline's reviews »

There was a time when a large influx of MOBA themed games entered the market. Many of them were terribly hackish and lacked depth.

While it took some balancing and adjusting to play, this game has settled itself nicely and continues to recieve updates every now and then.

There are several settings for where the arena happens, which can be anywhere from a Jungle or Space. You collect yellow cubes as currency, and recall/respawn back to the base to make your upgrade purchases.

To top it off, you can set "traits" before you start your game, that give you various benefits to make each player unique.

While the game didn't stick with me long enough, it was definitely a fun game, one I would recommend to anyone because of how well executed it is.

87

The title does not lie - this game is awesome.

Luff | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all Luff's reviews »

I love this game - it's an accessible dota style game that focuses less on a painful learning curve and more on a smaller range of abilities and items.

Taking the above into consideration, do not buy this game expecting a game expecting the challenging elements of Dota, LOL and the like; the game takes the basis of the MOBA genre but makes it play more like a platformer than a strategy game. In short it makes for an easier experience that relies on skills that take less time to hone, so do not buy this game if you are looking for a game that plays just like Dota (I' would suggest Dota if you want this.

Finally, the game's saturday morning cartoon style is frankly wonderful, with player characters including a rapping frog, an underwater mobster and a butterfly magey thing.

All in all, I would highly recommend this game for a more casual MOBA experience for those who either can't get to grips with, or want a small change, from the usual suspects; if you are looking for a more challenging game that requires greater effort to learn, then I would suggest you look elsewhere however.

84

A great effort

Wiesler | Nov. 5, 2013 | See all Wiesler's reviews »

The MOBA genre is bloated and festering. The communities in general are toxic and exclusive. The market for MOBAs is now extremely crowded, and most of the entries seem content with sticking to the basics.

Awesomenauts is a very different kind of MOBA. Sidescrolling, 3v3, local co-op, hand drawn, drop-in gameplay, etc. Awesomenauts deserves applause because it tries so hard to be different. Though their community is smaller and less vocal than the bigger MOBAs, Awesomenauts' seems to have an overall healthy and polite community. Even with how accessible the game is, there is still quite a bit of challenge and learning involved. Overall, this is a solid recommendation for under $5.

100

One of the most fun games to play at LAN parties!

DHephaestus | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all DHephaestus's reviews »

This is one of the most entertaining games I have ever played. While it looks cartoony and casual at first glance, the LoL style of objectives (Pushing over towers, staying behind creeps, and destroying the base) makes Awesomenauts very competitive very quickly. The developer, Ronimo, constantly updates the game with balance changes and new characters (All for free so far). Plus sitting there with your friends, screaming bulls**t at each other about that Lonestar dynamite makes it that much better.

87

Awesome!(Nauts)

ConnorBooch | Oct. 27, 2013 | See all ConnorBooch's reviews »

This game is the type of game that you can spend little amounts of money on and have endless hours of fun. The level up system that lets you unlock characters through each passing level makes you want to sit there and unlock everyone in one sitting! For a simple game the graphics are very crisp and it handles very well if you want to use either a controller or the keyboard, the support for the controller is excellent. If you can get friends to buy this game with you (3 to a team) it can be real good game to play co op on!

90

MOBA, check. Fun, check.

Ssnowy | Oct. 27, 2013 | See all Ssnowy's reviews »

This game is a brilliantly made. The graphics of this game are not very intensive but look amazing. The gameplay is brilliantly engineered, the heroes are well balanced and the actual players themselves are very friendly. If you like MOBAs get it, if you don't like MOBAs get it anyway. To finish things off, you can basically play this game anywhere, ping basically doesn't mean anything!

80

War! What is it good for?! A good MOBA apparently.

CrimsonWizard | Oct. 14, 2013 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Awesomenauts is another in the rapidly growing genre of online battle arenas, but with the unique caveat of being in 2D, sporting a well drawn cartoony style atop all the assassin battles. So why should you play it?

Apart from those who like 2D platforming games, Awesomenauts manages to both make it simple to play for those who might be intimidated by some other MOBAs with complicated rows of keys to manage. Each character you unlock as you play gets a unique set of skills that can be earned during each round through all the coins you can find and earn as you shoot up your enemies. Like other MOBAs, you have turrets and power cores guarded by those enemies you need to take down along side the robotic mooks both sides automatically produce. The sci-fi space style is a nice plus too, giving it a different style than something medieval with death rays, insane robotic tech, and many, many alien races abound. The community is rather pleasant as well if you're looking for random matches, but with matches being 3 vs 3, it's pretty easy to fill out a roster with your friends for some fun as well.

Overall, Awesomenauts is a fun little game, especially if you enjoy 2D action, but wished there were more multiplayer games in that perspective. It's fast paced and easy to learn, but has plenty of strategies to learn thanks to all the differently skilled characters to try as well. Try it if you've been craving a new game to play with friends.

85

A MOBA lite without all the slow nonsense of regular MOBAs

DarkGolbez | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all DarkGolbez's reviews »

This game has consistently gotten free updates in characters, balancing of their attacks/power, and even a new stage with more on the way in the Starstorm DLC from Kickstarter. Every round plays out different, and whether you prefer playing online or against bots, you'll have tons of fun since it's easy to pick up and a bit harder to master. Customizable games are on the way too. The game is cheap, and you will surely get your money's worth. I advice you to go pick it up.

72

Awesomenauts - review

balbo79 | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

Awesomenauts belongs to the category of MOBA like League of Legends or Dota . Before you begin each game , the game will ask you to choose one of these bizarre characters to control. Each team will consist of three members. Once in the game, a countdown rather short we will introduce our spacecraft landing of the arena. In these few seconds of trip we will have the opportunity to control the shuttle to collect small cubes called Solar, which represent the classical game currency . Landed near the base of our team, the first thing to do is go to the " store " , the place where you have the opportunity to spend their own money to buy upgrades to use for the duration of the battle or in a longer period of limited time. The map of the arena is formed : the first half is equal to the second reversed and , for this reason, to achieve a goal will be the same way in one direction than the other . The scenario is then studded platforms , jumps, ramps, towers above all involved in the action . For all these reasons the matches were extremely dynamic : it goes on to wear down a structure of the enemies , you go back to defend our tower , you go back even further back to the store to spend new Solar gathered around the arena or obtained from killing enemies .

85

MOBA with wonderful graphic

Gojko | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

You are in the role of one of eight Awesomenauts who is fighting over the solar, galactic source of fuel. Unfortunately, another group wants Awesomenauts solar too, so you have to fight with her for control of precious resources.

Your goal is to destroy the other team's base, and at the same time you must defend your location. You get to choose from several characters with different skills. To play a game you do not need any special skills, and after a while you can get the impression that the characters is not that much different.

Graphic is 2D, and it's very nice made. Sound is cheerful, but after some time slowly begins to matter.

Sum... game is good and fun. It will keep your gaming active for at least a week...after that depends.

88

A MOBA that is easily accessable

BubbaSquare | Oct. 5, 2013 | See all BubbaSquare's reviews »

LoL and DOTA2 are daunting, as they should be. With an intimidating UI, teammates who rage at you, and where even bot's can crush you, there has to be an easier alternative to MOBA gaming. Awesomenauts is the answer. The seemingly simplistic 2D MOBA looks crisp, and is fun to play. Most importantly, however. It is easy to pick up and learn the aspects of MOBA games. This game could very well be a stepping stone towards playing DOTA or LoL, as the core mechanics are extremely similar. This game has excellent, classy gameplay, and I recommend it to anyone!

80

As title says : AWESOME

imperativa | Oct. 5, 2013 | See all imperativa's reviews »

This game is awesome. Next generation MOBA. I'am a dota player and start to loving this game. There's so many unique awesomenauts with different skills ,and still more to come that make this game has a lot of fun(did i say they have a lot of unique maps too?). Easy to learn for a MOBA game. 1 thing is sometimes you still find a lot of bot on online matches, but hey, buy this game, and more players will join,

95

Lots of fun ensured!

asiersua | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

MOBAs. They've got really popular lately, haven't they? I'm sure all of you have heard of LoL, DotA, and maybe even HoN and Smite. Awesomenauts is another MOBA, but it's unlike any other you'll see out there right now. The fast-paced, 2D-platformer gameplay makes for a great MOBA which differs from all the other games in the genre, in a great way. I can assure you you'll have loads of fun playing it, and the community, while small, is generally friendly, making it a flamer-free MOBA (which can't be said about, like, ALL of the other MOBAs which are playable currently).

75

A nice entry into the MOBA genre without the hardcore drawbacks.

Mates1500 | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all Mates1500's reviews »

Have you ever wanted to try out a MOBA, but you were discouraged by the negative community? Look no further, Awesomenauts is the game for you! While it's casual friendly, it's a nice choice for hardcore gamers, too. When compared to LoL or DotA2, it's cool to see there's also platforming involved, it adds another element into the game. There's no deep customization with thousands of item builds like in the other games, but for a good reason: this game knows what it wants to be. The matches last for about 10-15 minutes, making it much quicker than a regular MOBA's match, which is regularly 30-45 minutes. It's easy to get into. The custom themes for every single character in the game is a nice perk. The artstyle is very cool as well, I really dig it.

85

Campy as hell, but never stops being fun

astorsapolsky | Sept. 22, 2013 | See all astorsapolsky's reviews »

With tight mechanics and some bright personalities, the game is at its core incredibly fun. It features some Dota-like mechanics (pushing waves of minions, turrets, jungling), but the game's design alleviates most of the pressures of the genre. Like most ARTS/MOBA games, Awesomenauts still requires competent teammates to get the most fun out of it, but it isn't hard to find competent players.

86

Big fun

stitch123 | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all stitch123's reviews »

Awesomenauts is mix of MOBA and platform games. It has good, dynamic gameplay, lots of characters (and more to come). It's very easy to play, you'll now almost everything after playing short tutorial. I recommend to play with two other friends for massive fun!

(Sorry for my bad English)

70

It's been said, a decent 2D MOBA

zaosociety | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all zaosociety's reviews »

It is decent. The gameplay is enjoyable and it can be a load of fun for a good amount of time. That being said, the matchmaking doesn't always work properly. Sometimes you'll come into a game when it's close to a loss and everyone is very high level. Sometimes you'll get stuck with only bots on your team. Hopefully that all changes as more people continue to join the game.

70

Nice 2D MOBA game.

zhack075 | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all zhack075's reviews »

Awesomenauts is fun and has great 2D art style. Character are very differents from each others and got their own way to be played exactly like in any MOBA game.

Like in every moba game you need to learn how to play the hard way by losing a lot of games in front of more experienced players. I really dislike that but well, it's my opinion. What I really don't like is the tons of skins or even character that developpers sell...

If you like MOBA and 2D sidescrolling action games, well, you'll probably like this game.

92

Simply Awesome!!!

losado | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all losado's reviews »

This game is by far one of the best multiplier games i have played so far !! its very simple yet complex. you have many choices for the build of your character and they all seem very good you just choose whatever is best for you and the way you play these choices play the largest roles in the game whic what makes it awesome in my opinion.

86

Good fun

Dinosawrr | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all Dinosawrr's reviews »

Really fun once you grasp the key tactics on the game. But can be quite frustrating when you have a bad team.

89

A refreshing view of MOBAs

jrojas28 | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all jrojas28's reviews »

This game is really great when it comes to casual gaming. Unlike usual MOBAs wich follow the traditional Dota style, here we have a breath of fresh air with a 2D platformer like view and still the same amazing fighting and strategy Mobas provide. Games are usually 20 minutes, so as a casual gamer you'll enjoy those short matches that other MOBAs can't provide you. Also, this game has a lor of growth, it started with 6 characters and at thw moment has about 14! With 3 more already fundwd on Kickstarter!

If toy have 10 USD to spend on skins for League of Legends, or stuff in Dota, you should buy this game instead. It's worth every penny.

84

Decent 2D League of Legends

Fazbott | Sept. 7, 2013 | See all Fazbott's reviews »

Basically a dumbed-down 2D version of League of Legends, but it is a good game. I enjoy playing this game because it's easy to get the hang of and is a great pick up and play game. Awesome to play with friends and proves to satisfy a bored gamer's mind.

80

Awesomegame

RadiatorFanboy | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all RadiatorFanboy's reviews »

Very good fast paced game, nice visual style music and character designs. Some heroes are a bit annoying with their spam-able abilities but you can turn the tides even when looking at defeat. Definitely worth the price. The levelling system works in both online and against bots so it's easy to farm xp when you're not playing against people which I think should be reduced. Definite team game with specific roles as you would expect. Overall a very good game with lots of re playability.

87

Exciting.

Xillion | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all Xillion's reviews »

I got into this game not knowing it's a MOBA. I'm usually not a fan of MOBA's but this game has got me hooked. Your usual objective is to destroy the enemy's core. You can select your hero and fight your way through in order to reach your objective. There's maximum amount of 6 players online in a match (3 on each team) I highly recommend this game. It's really easy to get into.

75

Casual and easy to get into quickly

limmplimmp | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all limmplimmp's reviews »

From the beginning it may look numb, but once you get into it it's really a fun game with a long lifetime if you're into MOBA games. You have to play as a team with your 2 teammates to win the game and it is pretty skillbased, even if it is very easy to learn.

90

Casual moba

09williamsad | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all 09williamsad's reviews »

A 2D MOBA with a 90s saturday morning cartoon style. The entry level is much lower in comparison to games like LOL and DOTA 2 as the game has less of a focus on item builds and instead the skill is in platforming and aiming (if you are a ranged character).

94

Awesome game!

bashscrazy | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all bashscrazy's reviews »

Awesome MOBA! Really fun. The number of characters and maps compared to other MOBA's are much less from what I hear. I haven't exactly played LoL or Dota 2 but I can tell you that Awesomenauts is awesome! Each character has their own awesome theme song with great voice acting and they are very unique in their skills.

There are balance patches that are released fairly regularly as well that change the dynamic and the way the characters are played. Sometimes they get nerfed and sometimes they get buffed and you have to adjust your playstyle to the new changes. It can be quite annoying sometimes and sometimes it will play in your favour.

All in all the game is really fun!

93

The best casual MOBA around

Sinji | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all Sinji's reviews »

If one were to look at this from the typical standpoints of Graphics, Gameplay and Balance then they'd find the game above all in all 3, as the cartoon characters all look differently, play differently and also, in the style of most MOBAs they play balanced. In itself that should be enough to give a recommendation, because the game is worth it on the basis of it being a good game alone, but there are downsides behind it too. Matchmaking in a MOBA game is always dodgy at best if the game doesn't have a massive and active playerbase. This game has a decent playerbase, but the matchmaking is therefore dodgy aswell since the game is showing its age and seeing its playerbase dwindle. Updates remedy this on an occasional basis, and it's not a problem to find a match at all, but it can be dodgy. Besides that the game hosts a good array of different characters, which would make the game last long if one were to try all of them (14 at the moment). All in all, if you are looking for a casual moba, this is the game to get. It's nothing like the bigger games in the genre, but it is well worth the time.

77

Fun multiplayer game that you can quickly jump in and out from.

zachprkr | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all zachprkr's reviews »

Not being familiar with MOBA’s I was not sure what I was getting myself into when I bought this game. Listening to other reviews I took the dive and decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed!

Awesomenauts on the outside looks like a cute, fun game, but underneath it is a deep, competitive, and challenging game. It has taken me dozens of hours to become familiarized well enough with a few characters to be useful for my team. There are plenty of different power ups for every character that they can be played a variety of different ways to best suit the situation.

The unlocking and leveling up system keeps you wanting to play. In the beginning it was mildly annoying as many of the better characters and power ups are locked, but they become available rather shortly if you play enough games.

Overall it is really fun game that you can easy jump in and out of. It is very team based, so prepared to lose a lot as having one weak link or a bot really puts you at a disadvantage. For the low price tag, I highly recommend giving it a go!

100

Awesome little game!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

This game is at the top of my favourite side-scrolling games, which is odd because I don't really like side-scrollers. Now I love the originality this game has to offer; and considering it's playability, buying it was a smart move. Playing online is a breeze; not only is there virtually no lag, and virtually no latency issues between players, but the game doesn't feel difficult online - there's nowhere for people to 'camp' or spawn kill and matches are very quick. Personally I think this game stands out very well from other side-scrolling games; with it's top-notch graphics and objective based game-play. One fault I have found with the game is that if you're playing on a low specification computer, then it does tend to have a low frame rate (even though its 2D). Thankfully my rig is pretty good and runs this like a charm! It's worth every single penny.

60

Nice Moba

simodeso | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

I'm giving this game 60/100 only because i don't enjoy playing moba.. But everything is good in this game. Cartoon Graphics are awesome and the gameplay is funny even if the most skilled teams wins always. You can buy the costume's to unlock new characters with new abilities( each one has 3 unique abilities). You can upgrade your pg only for the match you are playing.

91

A fresh beautiful take on the MOBA genre

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all theunknowned's reviews »

The games base price tag is fairly low. You get all content updates for free. The gameplay is a 2d side scroller MOBA game. however unlike every other DOTA/Leauge clone. This one holds its own with a nice fresh original take on the genre. Kind of feels like league of legends for the super nintendo or something. The gameplay is tight and intense. The characters are mostly all very very enjoyable. If you like Arena games. You will be pleasantly surprised with this one.

75

Surprisingly Good MOBA Platformer

NucularS | Aug. 4, 2013 | See all NucularS's reviews »

Awesomenauts is much easier to pickup than other MOBA games, mostly due to simple and intuitive controls, a limited number of abilities and stats to track, and small teams/levels. At the same time, there are plenty of characters and perks to unlock, so there is plenty to do and learn. Game play is somewhat unbalanced, though, and it is often the case that one team is mercilessly dominating the other. If you are a casual gamer who just wants a quick match with silly heroes and abilities, this is definitely the MOBA for you.

70

MOBA on platforms

mahon | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

For me Awesomenauts is mostly a good and entertaining platformer, but for many it's mostly a multiplayer online battle arena, so called MOBA. It allows up to three players to team up and fight against enemies. And the cool thing is that the combat can be done in split-screen mode, which allows people to sit next to each other and spend some social time together.

The game is set in a scifi universe, represented with colorful cartoonish graphics. The gameplay is very smooth and intuitive, and playing with (and against) others makes it much more interesting (and replayable) than if you were battling computer-controlled bots all the time (which is also possible). Add to this the multitude of additional skins which are available, and you have a picture of what to expect from this game.

100

Hands down my favorite MOBA, one of the best I own on steam too.

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

Awesomenauts. A platforming MOBA. I love absolutely everything about this game. I love every single character. I love every level. I love everyone who plays Awesomenauts. I love playing with friends, I love the music, I love the abilities, I love the fluent control, I love the design and feel of the game. This game is awesome.

Awesomenauts starts you off with a couple characters, and everyone has their own special favorite. Eventually you end up unlocking all characters and at first I stuck to one person. I was afraid to try someone new and suck. But once you start trying different characters, you find out you're better with different people. You end up getting really good with nearly all the characters.

Playing 3v3 with 5 other people you know is one of the best experiences any game these days has to offer. The fun you'll have is insurmountable. Get this game. Seriously, get it right now. If you don't, you're missing out. REALLY. Get it.

83

Great game!

friendbear | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all friendbear's reviews »

This game is excellent. There are a variety of characters and moves that you can do to win the game for your team. You can play it with a friend or just complete strangers.

PROS: There are many characters to play and my moves to do. You have multiple maps and ways to win. You can play it with friends and family or with anyone one else.

CONS: Some characters are slow and some are fast. Theres no balance between them. There is not really a story behind it.

Overall, it is a great game with little cons. I would highly recommend this MOBA game to anyone who enjoys play games like DOTA 2.

89

Pleasantly Surprised

F4T4LV0iD | July 23, 2013 | See all F4T4LV0iD's reviews »

Awesomenauts was a game I typically tried to avoid, because it was often compared to DOTA2 and other MOBA games, and I am not much of a fan of those genres. I happened to pick Awesomenauts up in a bundle, and sat on it for a good while before caving in and finally giving it a go. My low expectations were quickly put to rest by the result of quite possibly the most fun MOBA I've ever encountered.

The action is fast-paced, easy to get into, and most importantly it's FUN! And rest assured newbies, there is offline practice mode with bots to hone your skills and level up your character to unlock all of the characters and additional skills.

The characters are all zany and loveable, and each one gets 3 unique abilities, but you get to customize the effect of each ability. There are characters that meet everyone's unique playstyle as well. If you like being a tank of a character with a lot of health and brute strength but not very swift on their feet, then go for Clunk. He has a self-destruct ability that damages himself, but greatly damages all nearby enemies. Or if you prefer a more defensive approach, there's always Voltar with his area healing and boost abilities for teammates. Currently 14 characters to choose from, and always the chance of more being added to the roster is always nice.

If you enjoy MOBA's, get this game! If you don't like MOBA's for the lack of get-right-in-there action, or the amount of commitment required to level up in it and get anywhere, then get this game! You won't be disappointed.

79

Mo'MOBA like this one please !

ccccp | July 23, 2013 | See all ccccp's reviews »

This game is just great. The characters are all original and they offer very different gameplays. I play a little league of legends, and not being a fan, I can say very clearly. I much prefer Awesomenauts. Though it is true that there is not a lot of levels and characters, but over time they will come probably to fill this gap. Another simply amazing feature, the ability to play split screen (even on PC) locally or online. For a game like this is it's just perfect.

70

Strategy and fun for everyone

katchouni | July 22, 2013 | See all katchouni's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a MOBA for beginners: it provides immediate fun. It’s a blast when shared with a friend to play online or local co-op. The gameplay is simple: attacking, jumping, and especially trying not to die because it gives money to the enemy camp. It's simple enough to pick up even if it takes a little time to understand all the game mechanics, the characters and maps. But you quickly get in the thing and it’s particularly addictive. The cartoon graphics are absolutely gorgeous and brings some kind of personnality to the game.

90

Truly is Awesome

GetKraven | July 10, 2013 | See all GetKraven's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a very charming Multiplayer Online Battle Arena game.

Awesomenauts pits two teams of three against each other with the sole objective of destroying the other teams base. Very few games have this much replay value to casual gamers such as myself, by far one of my favorite video games to play with friends and family. Its game mechanics are simple enough for an 8 year old to play, but entertaining enough for middle aged adult to take control of one of the very quirky and fun characters in the game.

There are 14 very distinct characters, with more to come and 4 levels. For the most part each character has 2 seperate skins that you can buy not with in game currency, but actual money.

Overall, gameplay is solid, graphics are lovely and rarely do I ever get disconected from a match. A solid game and for only $10 worth every penny.

The only drawbacks of the game are that all skins for every character are around $2.50 each. While I actually did buy one it seems like cosmetic changes to a character aren't all that worth it.

100

A wonder!

mathcat | July 7, 2013 | See all mathcat's reviews »

This game is a magnificent piece of work. The controls are good. The system is good. The graphics are good. This game is an altogether great game. It is really addictive. You will spend hours improving your kill/death ratio. Best to be played with a friend or loved one. This game is amazing.

75

great sidescrolling moba

mor0se | July 6, 2013 | See all mor0se's reviews »

its quick and easy, just what you expect. Fun and simple, a few imbalances but hardly a reason to not enjoy this game.

60

An interesting 2D take on the MOBA

Firndeloth | July 3, 2013 | See all Firndeloth's reviews »

The first thing to note about the game is how charming it is. The artwork, the sounds, the theme song snippet for every character--it's a very well composed game. The powers are interesting and play nicely together creating a well balanced composition. All in all, the came is competent. The cosmetic-only DLC is a very nice touch in a game where balance is important, too.

It doesn't quite keep me coming back though. The map design isn't especially compelling, and the unlock system is infuriating. To play more maps and more character, you need to play the same ones you already have over and over. If you unlock a character you aren't especially interested in or a map that rarely gets played, you'll have to chug along to the next unlock point before you see anything truly new. I don't understand this tendency, this forcing players to unlock weapons and characters through play in a competitive multiplayer game. Paradox's Showdown effect does the same thing only there progression is even slower and the differences between characters even slimmer. Here at least, the unlockable maps and characters are very different. The trouble with the maps is that many of them don't deliver compelling strategy or tactics.

It's cute and it's fun and I enjoyed my time with it but I have trouble recommending the game and it didn't have much staying power for me.

95

You want a casual moba that's really easy to get into?

SoftQ | June 23, 2013 | See all SoftQ's reviews »

Well worth 10 dollars!

This game is a 2D platformer moba without the a-holes from those games, I swear playing dota 2 changed me into an evil person almost, but holy crap this game is so laid back and fun, it's still competitive but fun.

To me, getting kills isn't nearly as satisfying as getting them in dota 2 but the over all game play just feel so slick.

Instead of buying items, you buy upgrades, and the abilities are pretty cool the game is well worth 10 dollars.

It does need a few balances though, but otherwise it's a solid game well worth looking

87

amazing

Greb | June 22, 2013 | See all Greb's reviews »

This game is almost as good as the 3D ARTS games,everybody should try this.

100

Coolest MOBA out there...

wiz88ard | June 21, 2013 | See all wiz88ard's reviews »

This game is one of the best i got so far, over 300 hours played and still feeling fresh. Ronimo keeps updating, balancing and introducing new characters into the game. Cool artworks, mechanics, soundtracks and amazing voice acting for the characters give a unique feel to the game. MUST BUY GAME!

90

Extremely Fun Sidescrolling MOBA

Treiger | June 21, 2013 | See all Treiger's reviews »

Awesomenauts is wonderful. It features an unique sidescrolling perspective, and 3v3 combat. The game has a couple of maps, and allows you to upgrade your characters by choosing perks they can use in game. The characters are all unique, and have different advantages. There are some imbalances, but nothing too major. It is also worth noting that matchmaking is a bit wonky. But on the bright side, it works great with a keyboard and mouse. Highly recommended, it is extremely fun.

86

Fun sidescrolling MOBA

lok0812 | June 12, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is a 2D sidescrolling version of your typical MOBA game like Dota 2 or LoL. The map is very small and quickly to navigate and only contain a maximum of 2 lanes each. Each matches consisted of 3v3 combat of awesomenauts or heroes. Currently there are more than 10 characters to choose from and each one of them have unique abilities. If anyone couldn't get into Dota 2 or LoL due to the deep learning curve, this is a must try since it is very easy to pick up. This games also have numerous amount of DLCs in the form of character skins. These are just cosmetic and serve no additional purpose so it is up to the player to get it or not. Definitely must get for fans of MOBA and people who wish to try MOBA.

100

EPIC Game!

Bbozmen | June 11, 2013 | See all Bbozmen's reviews »

This game is such an awesome platformer! You can play it online with or against your friends. Local Co-op with your friends or just solo. The game is based on 2 even sides with turrets and eventually a base which you need to destroy, whilst ofcourse your enemy tries to destroy your turrets and base. Meanwhile you can try to defeat your enemies which results in epic battles based a lot of strategy. You can't just click your attack button, no you need your different skills in order to defeat your enemies. And not only that will suffice sometimes, you need to work as a team!

Currently there are 18 characters to play which offers a lot of variety. You SHOULD buy this game!

100

a fun MOBA? what will they invent next.

Bynn | June 10, 2013 | See all Bynn's reviews »

I'm not really keen with MOBA's, playing for long periods of times, pulling and pushing, anoying teammates adn enemies, bleh. But this game, with it's simplicity and fun overall made change my mind. Having a nice (and growing) variety of characters, all with a fun backstory, interesting maps, and short rounds, you can change the tide in a matter of seconds. Play it, love it, rage quit over it, it's gonna be a good game still.

95

FUN MOBA? RIGHT HERE!

ctp94wakko | June 10, 2013 | See all ctp94wakko's reviews »

A lot of Moba's are so alike, but Awesomenauts is just SO MUCH FUN! Each character has more personality than other Moba's have in their entire game. Game play is very easy to learn and once you start, it's very difficult to stop. Game play mechanics focus around the WASD keys and the left/right/middle mouse buttons. Graphics are in a cartoon 2D manner that makes Awesomenauts as fun to play as it is competitive. With easy to learn game play mechanics, friendly and amusing graphics, Awesomenauts as a package is one of the most fun Moba's out there to date! A must try!

94

Such an awesome 2-d MOBA

Supraballs | June 8, 2013 | See all Supraballs's reviews »

I love this game. It takes the MOBA and condenses it down to 2-d graphics and gives you 3v3 rather than 5v5 combat. You get a lot of little tweaks to make to your characters which give them some style and the rest is traditional in a MOBA sense. You got your turrets, the base you destroy at the end and then crushing your opponents, naturally. It plays on the controller too if you want to go that route and runs great even on the most basic computers. This indie game deserves our support as the developers are still working on content and there are plenty more characters to come! Buy this and don't look back!

85

Extremely fun with friends

Senyx92 | June 8, 2013 | See all Senyx92's reviews »

This game is the least serious type of MOBA game you'll ever play. You unlock characters as you go, each with their own personalized theme songs and skill sets. Although, some are a bit more OP than others in my opinion. When you start the game, you get to decide 3 types of upgrades you want for each of your skills, making it a bit more customizable, such as extra damage or a slowing effect. There's a good amount of characters to choose from too, although nothing like LoL which is in its 100s and more by now. This game only has about 10 or so characters to play, but each are so unique and fun! 2D side scroller ;)

90

Easy, Addicting MOBA

thegaminglyfe | June 8, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Out of lots of MOBA games, this is probably the easiest to learn. It's really simple, it's 3 vs 3 trying to destroy the other team's turrets so you can get to their core and blow it up. The game is very addicting and you will constantly play the first couple hours just so you unlock all the characters. Each character is unique and your skill with them is all on your preference. There are giant super powered robots and agile melee-based aliens. There is an in game store where you buy power ups for your characters. If you have a high enough level, you unlock a feature where you can choose which power ups are available for you to buy in the store. Where the game is the most fun is the multiplayer. Whether its online or playing split screen, it is loads of fun! There is also an offline feature where you can play with botst. Definitely worth full price.

80

An amazingly fun little game

saintsoulja | June 7, 2013 | See all saintsoulja's reviews »

As someone who has tried the big MOBA games like LoL and dota and not enjoyed them all that much, this game drew me in very quickly. The graphics and animations are very appealing and work perfectly with the style of the game. After putting around 30 hours into the game i have found that the best way to play the game is by jumping in with a couple friends and working together to destroy towers and jumping in on unsuspecting enemies. There are quite a few unique characters you can choose to play as with completely different play styles and once you find your favourite the game becomes immensely more fun, while the matchmaking bumps you up leagues to play against better players which definitely keeps the game interesting. I would recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a game to mess around on and wind down after a long day, having the charm of an indie game while still having some of the challenges and competition of traditional MOBAs. Definitely worth the money

93

Easy to pick up and play, difficult to drop!

sennju | May 28, 2013 | See all sennju's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a great game if you are interested in MOBAs but lack the time or patience that other traditional games in this genre require. But that does not mean that is a simple game, think Smash Brothers compared with traditional fighters, it has the strategy, reflexes and action of a traditional game but without complex motions or esoteric mechanics.

Then there is the presentation, the game is filled with crazy, cartoony characters with great voice acting, dialggue and matching music that gives them tons of personality.

It has to be mentioned that the developer (RONIMO) is notable for staying in touch with the community and constantly working on the balance of the game, adding more and more unique characters full of personality and interesting skills, and being simply awesome.

The only annoyance comes from the lack of dedicated servers and the sometimes flawed matchmaking, but the last one is solved by convincing your friends (be that online or local) to form a team, it's a lot more fun this way!

In conclusion, give this game a chance, you'll thank me later :D

90

Easy to pick up and play, difficult to drop!

sennju | May 28, 2013 | See all sennju's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a great game if you are interested in MOBAs but lack the time or patience that other traditional games in this genre require. But that does not mean that is a simple game, think Smash Brothers compared with traditional fighters, it has the strategy, reflexes and action of a traditional game but without complex motions or esoteric mechanics.

Then there is the presentation, the game is filled with crazy, cartoony characters with great voice acting, dialggue and matching music that gives them tons of personality.

It has to be mentioned that the developer (RONIMO) is notable for staying in touch with the community and constantly working on the balance of the game, adding more and more unique characters full of personality and interesting skills, and being simply awesome.

The only annoyance comes from the lack of dedicated servers and the sometimes flawed matchmaking, but the last one is solved by convincing your friends (be that online or local) to form a team, it's a lot more fun this way!

In conclusion, give this game a chance, you'll thank me later :D

93

A game that is worth every penny

mutsuriini | May 25, 2013 | See all mutsuriini's reviews »

I'm not a fan of online gaming, but I accept that this game is my daily habit. guided by the opinion of a friend decided to buy, I thought it would be a waste of money, the play I realized I was wrong, this game is worth every penny. Let's start while it is a pure online also has an offline mode for those without internet access permanently, but this way only serves to train with bots and understand the mechanics of the game. In online mode you see the potential of this game and how hard it is to get a death of a member of the opposing team, where they fight with each point of life to achieve this goal and how good it feels to kill that enemy camper or troll that is always in the games, and then taunt him by ending his streak of deaths. Anyway, if you want a fun game to not get bored in a long time, buy it

90

What every Indie game should live up to

MattyLB | May 16, 2013 | See all MattyLB's reviews »

This game combines Strategy and Action and brings a brilliant MOBA game, the game has plenty of characters, be it giant missile shooting robots, or a cowboy with jet boots and space blasters, this game definitely shows its creativeness in character design! this game also has a lot of Gameplay to go through, as you play games to Unlock new Perks and Characters and rank up to the world with your scores as there are 9 "leagues" to go through. the player will progressively improve the character throughout the game, carefully choosing upgrades to upgrade weapons or perks, the player will also fight to protect the turrets and there base, teams will have to work well to destroy the turrets and the base, they also have to fend off the robots that all teams have. this game is definetly a game you should get and is well worth the money, a great title to add to your games collection!

65

Looks like a unique MOBA, has the same problems

sweetcuppincake | May 14, 2013 | See all sweetcuppincake's reviews »

Since I don't have the time to get great at LoL or Dota, I thought this might be more my style. Unfortunately, I was wrong. In the time I played, I found that the matchmaking wasn't very robust. Teams were incredibly imbalanced. The game doesn't really encourage teamwork much, and the maps were overly complicated beyond the most basic ones. I tried again a few months later and had trouble finding a game. It's a shame, because the characters and style are interesting. I don't think smaller online games like these are a good investment long-term. Especially when there's more work being done on cosmetic DLC than improving the game.

95

MOBA, in disguise.

BazookaSamurai | May 10, 2013 | See all BazookaSamurai's reviews »

There are two reactions to the MOBA, genre, either you love it, or you hate it, Awesomenauts looks to change that.

Awesomenauts is an amazing blend of the best of multiple genres. MOBA mechanics meet the fast paced play of a FPS multiplayer match, with platforming controls blended in. It's a gem of a game, and lives up to it's name, It's Awesomenauts.

Insanely accessible, charming and comical, hardcore and casual. This game is near perfect. Do yourself a favor and get this fantastic game!

99

Awesome, awesome, Awesomenauts!

conorbebe | May 5, 2013 | See all conorbebe's reviews »

Awesomenauts offers an entirely unique and original take on the moba games of today. It takes a moba game and puts it into 2D, gives it an amazing art style fits it with a cast of crazy characters to choose from and makes it much more casual for new players. Despite the low number of Awesomenauts available in comparison to other moba titles like DotA, each character feels special. Before starting a game you are asked what upgrades you want to have available to buy after the game starts which are all completely unique to your Awesomenaut! Awesomenauts is an awesome take on the moba style of game with a fun and colourful art style and dedicated developers who continue to update the game and make it, you guessed it, more awesome every patch!

90

A 3rd Person Shooter with Personality

Onefatcow | May 2, 2013 | See all Onefatcow's reviews »

Have you ever played a game and thought, darn, I wish this had american mobsters, butterflies, giant pufferfish, vikings, and monkeys? Ok, well, probably not, but you might have missed out on more than you would think. This game has all of the features above, and manages to squish them together into a 3rd person MOBA shooter. The game also features an extensive leveling system, including more than 90 different levels for a player (and you can reset that up to 10 times for those of you who like that). The game is an amazing demonstration of how Indie Games that come out of nowhere can turn out to be amazing games.

74

Great Game

blacklightofday | April 28, 2013 | See all blacklightofday's reviews »

This is a very good 2D side-scrolling MOBA arcade shooter. Like other MOBAs, you have creeps and mega creeps, you aquire money and buy items to power up your character and there are the enemy towers you have to destroy. Gameplay-wise, the biggest differense between this and other MOBA games is that it is a tad more casual and even if you do not have previous experience, you can still jump right into it. The graphics are very nice and cartoony and the music is good. Every character is unique and plays differently from the others and the all have a unique theme-song which plays when you get a killstreak. The downside are the sometimes one-sided matches due to the drop-in/drop-out mechanic.

93

A FPS Player Loves This MOBA Game

yomegA | April 28, 2013 | See all yomegA's reviews »

I usually play FPS games and was never fond of MOBA games such as Dota or LOL. However, with this game I cannot stop playing it. The community is nothing like the other MOBA games where they insult you for the littlest things. This game is fun,requires teamwork,and the characters are very interesting. The only complaint I have is that some characters such as Froggy g and Leon is kind of OP,but not unstoppable. I say pick up this game.

95

Fun, Casual, and Balanced.

Funnables | April 27, 2013 | See all Funnables's reviews »

Awesomenauts is probably one of the best games in its genre right now. Gameplay is fast, smooth, and overall very enjoyable. All the Awesomenauts are unique in their own way which creates variety for many players depending on your play style.In my opinion this game is extremely worth the 10$ USD for it, any other costs are purely cosmetic. However, Romino does and amazing job on their cosmetics, creating a new look for the Awesomenauts while at the same time making those Awsomenauts still recognizable for new players. I would say for the most part during my time the community is very nice and willing to help. Overall I say this game was 10$ well spent.

100

Casual but great fun!

krythorian | April 27, 2013 | See all krythorian's reviews »

This MOBA game is pretty much made for casual players even though it got some hardcore players.

The thing that makes me love this game is that it looks like a cartoon for kids and the characters are so cool that it's impossible to hate.

Right now most nauts are overpowered and it's very hard to get into the game as a new player but it goes fast to learn, if you're a hardcore player just go play dota 2 or something you'll probably have more fun there.

80

Good moba for the less serious player

sittinghawk10 | April 23, 2013 | See all sittinghawk10's reviews »

I like competitive online games. I just don't have the time to get into dota or lol. Awesomenauts soon came out around the time I was looking into the genre and I thought it was interesting. This is a great value game. There are some balancing issues, but overall I find the game quite fun. I have about 400 hours into it and I payed about 6 bucks. The matchmaking is more often than not horrible, but games are usually only 20-30 min at the longest. While a lot simpler than the well known mobas, there is definitely some depth to this game and a good meta game involved.

85

The only Moba I like

FreakyMuffel | April 22, 2013 | See all FreakyMuffel's reviews »

It’s the only Moba I like mainly because of the way you control you character. It’s less "left clicking until it dies" one can say. But it also has a unique and beautiful style and very creative characters.

The music is also a very big part of the game, every character comes with his own theme song and a remixed version it you get a killingspree.

The game plays really really well, each character has two skills and an auto attack. Every skill feels well designed and looks awesome.

Overall, I would say it’s really worth the 10 bucks I payed for it, well done Ronimo.

92

Oh Awesomenauts...

King11880 | April 22, 2013 | See all King11880's reviews »

184 Hours played and still having fun with it every day. if you ask me, it's definately the best Moba out there, even if it has some problems: the Matchmaking, the Leaderbords and often Lag.. However, it would take to long to describe all the good things. So go ahead and buy it. Now. And don't blame me for my English. Never.

87

Quirky, Smooth, Multiplayer with amazing developer support

Jaxsin | April 22, 2013 | See all Jaxsin's reviews »

When it comes to Awesomenauts, everything the game should do well, it does flawlessly. The Saturday morning cartoon art style holds wonderful hidden quarks in the 4 beautiful levels available while the music provides an upbeat sense of emergency in the ever present war time. The characters hold unique personalities, abilities, upgrades and wonderful alternative skins that the developers often look to the fans to make/approve. The game has a tightly knit community, constant updates to keep gameplay balanced and is easy enough to pick up, yet hard to master.

The game is perfect for devoting a competitive mindset to, or picking up a game in a spare half hour with some friends. The only thing preventing the game from being a perfect 10/10 is the reliance on other people. Awesomenauts has no single player mode to better get to understand your favorite characters, and while the matchmaking system is good for what it is, if you go into a game alone you may want to check out some forums and groups before you charge into a 3v1 battle with automated bots as your teammates. However, the people playing share your need for teammates, and you can quickly find a roster of ingame friends to fight by your side, letting you leanr new characters and combinations!

90

Incredible Addition to the MOBA Genre

Kokooka | April 20, 2013 | See all Kokooka's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a fantastic new take on the MOBA genre. With great 2D graphics and simplified skill/item system compared to other MOBA games such as LoL, HoN or DOTA, I think it's far easier to get into this game and develop your skills, especially if you're more of a casual player.

The only real downside I can find is is P2P rather than dedicated servers.

85

Best 2D Moba I have played!

CrysisX | Feb. 3, 2013 | See all CrysisX's reviews »

When I first watched the gameplay for video I thought it was boring but I was wrong! If you like playing Dota 2 or LoL then this is the game for you. The game is well balanced and you can pretty much understand how to play it after a few games with bots. Bought the 3-pack during a sale and I have no regrets plus the game has an awesome soundtrack! :D

80

Fun game

celdiruen | Feb. 2, 2013 | See all celdiruen's reviews »

Awesomenauts is another take on the MOBA genre, and it pulls it off fairly well. The game is fun to play, especially with friends. It isn't as hard to pick up and play as titles such as Dota 2, which means you'll have an easier time getting into it right from the start. It has a nice aesthetic, and is an interesting 2D take on MOBA games.

86

A Real Jewel.

kokosabre | Feb. 1, 2013 | See all kokosabre's reviews »

2D Moba game.It's so damn much fun.Once they released me and 5 more friends got 2x 3-packs in steam.No regrets.Because that game is awesome.It never gets boring,has a lot of action and and just can't say nothing bad about it.It's noobfriendly because of the bot games and if you are used to 2D games you will love it.

80

Aesthetically pleasing, with some minor faults.

alphalegion | Jan. 31, 2013 | See all alphalegion's reviews »

Awesomenauts. Look’s nice, plays nice, works nice. It’s a very simple game if I’m honest, it’s a nice idea, but basically a 2D Dota to be honest - at its core. The best part about this game is probably its art style, it is very aesthetically pleasing, and nothing short of a master piece on that.

The game plays well too, like I said, it’s a very fun 2D defence platformer, and can be very competitive at times, when you are on multiplayer with some friends in a LAN party, or even on a public server.

I’d say the only bad part about this game, is the overall design. It looks good, yes, but the character design mainly, is very comical, and not really something I personally like in a game of this sort. For example, you play as a stereotypical “space cowboy”, not exactly something I’m a great fan of. - But none the less, still a great game, and has some very pleasing parts to it.

88

Excellent 2D Moba Game

videopower77 | Jan. 31, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

Awesomenauts is easy to learn, but can be challenging to master. Unlike many Moba games, all the heros are free and the only DLC are skin packs which don't affect gameplay at all.

The graphics and sound design just ooze 1980's Saturday morning cartoon nostalgia which gives this game a unique flavor you can't find anywhere else. Each Naut comes with their own theme song which sounds straight from the 80's. A lot of details like this are all over the game which put it among the best of Moba games out there. Pick it up, it's a lot of fun!

92

More Awesome than Naut ;)

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

First thing I'll say is "buy it if you can", second thing I'll say is "why haven't you bought it yet?" and third thing is "BUY THE GAME ALREADY!!!". Why do I say these things? Because Awesomenauts is just that, AWESOME!!! It has everything that makes gaming fun, from side-scrolling action, to MOBA structure, to awesome visuals and even greater is that it's not super expensive either. Not to mention, the AN community is growing a lot and you're always guaranteed to have a great match when you play. Do it, you know you want to. ;)

85

Fun and Rewarding

aevanilla | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all aevanilla's reviews »

First, let me say that I have been playing Awesomenauts since the game released on the PS3. I have recently transitioned to PC gaming and I love the game so much that I bought it for the PC as well. Now, on to my review.

The game is pretty simple and easy to pick up and play without having pre-knowledge of MOBA style games. The brief tutorial at the beginning explains everything you need to know about how the game plays. Then, you're left to explore on your own. I suggest going into training and testing out each character until you find the play style that best suits you. Each character is vastly different from the other and may take some time to get used to. For the most part, the characters are pretty balanced and continually being tweaked by the developers, and of course some characters are natural counters against others.

Keep in mind that this is a very team oriented game. You can run around solo and just try to get some kills, but you won't win games doing just this. You need to work with your team mates in order to clear objectives and kill enemies. It can be very frustrating if you get stuck with uncooperative players or bots. Luckily though, most players I've come across are friendly and helpful.

As you keep playing, you level up unlocking more abilities and enhancements. There are many different builds for the characters and many different ways to play 1 character. When you reach max level, you get the option to "Prestige" which will give you a special medal icon but reset your level back to 1. You can "Prestige" a maximum of 10 times so there's a lot of replayability if you want to max it all out.

I highly recommend this game. It's a lot of game for the price and a terrific value. I also recommend getting a controller for this game as it makes it so much easier to play with one.

90

Great

Mikagee | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all Mikagee's reviews »

This game is really fun to play with friends. A fun 2d game that ive spent hours playing and enjoying it a lot. The songs really fit in with the retro style game. I've had no experiences of errors or problems. The game is totally worth the money and i would recommend my friends to buy it and play. After a while it while get a little bland through lack of units, but that doesn't mean i wont touch it again. Overall i think this game was worth it. The hours i spent playing this game with friends is unforgettable.

79

Highly enjoyable, but needs skill to master.

DonVercetti | Jan. 13, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

Awesomenauts for starters is an amazing title for a game. It's a newert title by Romino Games who also brought you Swords and Soldiers (HD). Which was also quite enjoyable, this new title by them is a real fun to play. It has an high variety of multiplayer option which is a big mark out in my opinion, Your pals could sit right next to you or at home. Romino Games sorted out all ways of multiplayer/coop, a large amount of playable characters and a very charming graphic style. Good job Romino!

85

fun game but very easy to make mistakes

Naviigator | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all Naviigator's reviews »

I like this game a lot. It takes the moba formula and makes it work in 2D. The matchmaking process is smooth, the game runs well on most computers and I can not complain about the mechanics. The game is a ton of fun when you are winning, but I feel like it could use 'noob' lobbies. There are botgames, but these are not the best ways to learn MOBA style games. I think this game is definetely worth the asking price. If you happen to like it, maybe the Costume Party Bundle is nice for you?

90

Awesomenauts is Simply Awesome!

DataReborn | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all DataReborn's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a game that definitively lives up to its namesake. It mixes the now growing MOBA genre with classic action platforming elements. The game consists of teams of 3 going against each other with the goal of blowing up the other team’s core. The game has a wide variety of characters to choose from. The characters range from Leon who specializes in stealthy assassinations of other awesomenauts to Voltar whose sole purpose is healing other awesomenauts. Each character offers a unique way to play the game with no clones to be seen.
Speaking of characters, the game’s style and personality is brilliant beyond belief. Personality oozes from every aspect of the game. Each character is well-designed and they all have their own personal theme song that can be heard in the character select screen. The voice acting for each character is fantastic worth mentioning as well. Overall this feeling of uniqueness that comes from each character makes the game stand out from other MOBA style games.
The gameplay is absolutely beautiful and fantastic. Don’t be fooled by the fact that the game takes elements from the MOBA genre. The matches are fast-paced and rely just as heavily on your platforming skills as it does on the items you bring into battle. When compared to other MOBA genres, the fact that all of the Awesomenauts abilities occur in real-time and have to be manually aimed by the player is a breath of fresh air. There is not auto-aiming system in place so the actual combat feels fantastic and skillful. While there is a slight advantage to the MOBA practice of “last-hitting” it isn’t a necessary skill to enjoy the game. If a creep is killed without you last hitting it, it simply drops money, or “solar”, on the ground. If you last-hit a creep the money is automatically given to you. It’s a small difference but it would rarely make a difference since a player can usually just as easily walk forward to pick up the dropped money.
The drop-in system is can be both a blessing and a curse. The fact that a teammate is instantly replaced by a bot should they drop out is generally a good thing. However, more often than not the bots prove to be far inferior in skill when compared to actual human players. While not perfect it seems to be the best solution available since it would be even more disastrous to simply leave a team missing a teammate. There is also a downside to the idea of having players drop into an ongoing game. There have been times when I been dropped onto a team that had no chance of winning (either due to large level difference or all their towers were destroyed while the other team’s wasn’t). This seems to be an unavoidable consequence of having the drop-in system, but I believe that it is worth mentioning since it can be demotivating to repeatedly be dropped into seemingly hopeless games. The game has also received updates to implement a ranking system that it was previously missing. This means that there is now a greater chance that you will be matched with players of similar skill levels. Your ranking automatically goes up or down depending on whether you win or lose matches.
In my opinion one of the key features that the game is missing for being a multiplayer MOBA-style game is the lack of in-game voice over IP. This means that the only meaningful way of communicating with your teammates is through text chat. They have implemented the use of some number keys to allow to create a waypoint on the map that your teammates see telling them to defend or attack, however this is a very limited way of instantly communicating. It’s just a disappointment to me since it means that one would have to type out any form of complex instruction or strategy to your teammates.
At the time of writing the game is still being heavily supported by the developers with new characters still being released for the low cost of nothing. The game also goes through the occasional rebalancing when certain characters are perceived to be too powerful or too weak.
Overall the game is a must-buy for those who want an action-packed MOBA style game that is filled with fun personality and variety. The price if more than reasonable and the only paid for DLC is the optional skins.

80

Fun Dota type game

lachking | Dec. 5, 2012 | See all lachking's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a fun little title that plays like a 2D Dota type game. You pick a hero and fight enemy creeps and heroes in an effort to destroy the other side’s main building. As you progress through the leader board, you unlock additional heroes to play. While the game does not have as much depth as Dota 2, it is still very fun to play and the moba style of game is implemented well in a 2D style with platforming. The graphics engine looks quite nice with a good array of colours and performs very well. The music and sound effects are also quite nice and suit the context of the game well.

86

Inspiring take on the MOBA genre

SLE | Nov. 30, 2012 | See all SLE's reviews »

I just love what they've done with the genre here. It still has the base of popular games like LoL and Dota, but the action platformer mechanics allow so much more ease of access. The characters are so inspired, all with their own personalities, themesongs, playstyles, etc. I'd recommend this to anyone just looking for a fun game. Especially if you can gather a party to bring with you.

85

Good game, worth the price

nucture | Nov. 21, 2012 | See all nucture's reviews »

Fun game, if you are into the MOBA genre and want something to have fun on without people raging over every little mistake. This is the game for you. for 9.99 you will get hours and hours of enjoyment from this title.

80

Fun Game

lachking | Nov. 19, 2012 | See all lachking's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a fun little title that essentially plays like a 2D Dota game. You pick a hero and fight enemy creeps and heroes in an effort to destroy the other side’s main building. As you progress through the leader board, you unlock additional heroes to play. While the game does not have as much depth as say Dota 2, it is still very fun to play and the moba style of game is implemented well in a 2D style with platforming. The graphics engine looks quite nice with a good array of colours and performs very smoothly. The music and sound effects are also quite nice and suit the context of the game well.

79

platform MOBA

Elwin | Nov. 13, 2012 | See all Elwin's reviews »

While this game is a MOBA styled game, it has some big differences. being a platformer, it suits perfectly for a gamepad. the matches are also usually much shorter than matches on LoL and the like, and are 3 vs 3.

the game also have much less heroes than you've come to know from other MOBA games, but they are very different and each one is cool on its own, not to mention the game's great OST, giving each character a theme of its own.

So, what else do we have here? colorful, nice graphics, that are supposed to be a throwback to the late 80's-early 90's cartoon shows, and an easy to learn gameplay, yet hard to master. it might not be very complex, but it still can be lots of fun when playing with friends. the ability to play on the same PC is a nice addition too.

recommended if you have friends to play with!

80

Great MOBA, actually FUN

brandonl | Oct. 29, 2012 | See all brandonl's reviews »

Finally, a MOBA where you dont "Left Click" to do everything, you control your character. And it's 2D with fun graphics. And there's no premium payments. No one will have better stats than you because they spent more money on the game.

Very recommended to MOBA fans looking to switch things up.

84

2D side scrolling fun.

fable2 | Oct. 27, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

The premise is simple. You have a base, and your opponents have a base on opposite sides of a perfectly symmetrical 2D battlefield. The goal is to push into the enemy base and destroy it. Both teams bases spawn a stream of little AI droids that will mindlessly push towards the enemy base on a pre-set path. It is the job of you and your team mates to work together and with your little droid army to make the push into the enemy base, and at the same time stopping the enemy team from doing the same. In this type of gaming, not being killed is often more important than getting killed yourself, and greedy attempts at picking up that extra kill can be disastrous for your team. Good team work and careful pacing will be greatly rewarded. The game plays like a 2D DOTA or League of Legends, but with a much gentler learning curve and a wackier theme. I recommend it!

63

Colorful Lobotomized 2D Moba

das_regal | Oct. 25, 2012 | See all das_regal's reviews »

Don't be fooled into thinking that this is as complex as League of Legends. Yes, there are similar ideas at play here, but they're so utterly different due to the platforming nature of this title that the end result is completely different.

This game feels somewhere between League and Super Smash Brothers. Of course, it's about as fun as neither. The simplistic, cartoon, lobotomized fights don't lend themselves very well to coordination or team work.

There are no wards, fog of war, or complicated builds. This game is a fun, short diversion. That's about it.

85

A great co-op game

TheRealMoremir | Oct. 25, 2012 | See all TheRealMoremir's reviews »

Awesomenauts is a great tower defense - MOBA game, but not like all the others.Unlike other games in this genre, it's more of a casual game. But that's one of it's greatest strenghts. Anybody who ever played a plataformer or any 2D game since SNES can play it and have a great time. This game is, above all, fun. And it has one feature wich I, as an old gamer, love: Local Co-Op. You can play it with your friends, or, as in my case, with your kids, and relive the great experience that is gather to play a game.

Besides that, it has a really good customization system that grants great replayability and different styles. And, to add more, you can, if you don't have someone to play it with, go online enter a game with strangers. Bear in mind, tough, that this is a game ment to be played with other people. You can play alone against bots, but you would be missing the real point of a good old fashioned cooperative game.

88

Awesome MOBA!

DukePaul | Oct. 24, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Awesomenauts brings the fast action of the MOBA games with 2D gameplay.

The gameplay is like a 2D platform game but with MOBA elements, the art is cartoonish and fun with six characters, three unlocked at the beginning of the game.

Every character is different, you will need to play a lot of hours if you want dominate them properly also the game is very balanced, one character can be powerful but very slow, making a good team is decisive so talk to your friends and think a clever squad!

In the game instead of buying items like other games, you buy upgrades which are really original and deep.

The bad things: only three stages and the bots are a bit dumb but is a game designed to play with friends and with online multiplayer the game will give a lot hours of fun.

If you are a MOBA fan and want something different, buy this game.