Reviews for Painkiller: Hell & Damnation

82

Bloody Action Remade

Azrael360 | Sept. 26, 2014 | See all Azrael360's reviews »

It's a remake of the first game in the series, but shorter, because not all the levels were included. But it looks so great and the action is so frantic, that you can pass over that and just enjoy it. Good control and options, gamepad support, excellent effects and music, and very bloody. Highly recommended for the single player campaign to the fans of the series. The multiplayer as always, is just a bonus.

82

Bloody Action Remade

Azrael360 | Sept. 24, 2014 | See all Azrael360's reviews »

It's a remake of the first game in the series, but shorter, because not all the levels were included. But it looks so great and the action is so frantic, that you can pass over that and just enjoy it. Good control and options, gamepad support, excellent effects and music, and very bloody. Highly recommended for the single player campaign to the fans of the series. The multiplayer as always, is just a bonus.

70

Get back into Painkiller with a Friend on your side

Ebo | March 21, 2014 | See all Ebo's reviews »

It's not gonna win any Game of the Year Awards and it might even have a few technical problems (some framerate issues here and there, and other strange occurrences that I'm not even going to mention), but if you came for Painkiller, then Painkiller is what you get. Mindless shooting of hordes of enemies with a cool set of weapons, each unique in their own way (not just bullets) and for the first time in the series, CO-OP.

Yes, a friend can join on the carnage, unfortunately only a single one can. It's 2 player co-op only, so keep that in mind if you're buying this.

But really, this is more or less a remake of the original Painkiller and its expansion, so if you plan on buying Hell & Damnation, also grab a second copy for a friend. Unless you're here for the co-op, I recommend sticking to Painkiller: Black Edition, which has a lot more levels but is single player only.

I'd say you get at least 5 hours of co-op fun out of playing the 4 main chapters that the game comes with. If you haven't had enough and want more, there are loads of extra levels available as dlc.

80

A Hell of a lot of fun

wetsoks | Nov. 11, 2013 | See all wetsoks's reviews »

A modern "old-school" shooter with amazing visuals, frantic game-play, epic boss fights, and sweet weapons. The enemies and weapons are greatly varied, keeping the game fresh as well. The only set-back is the story and voice acting, which, only happens during cut-scenes. All-in-all, if you're a "game-play over story" kind of person, this game is for you.

72

Painkiller: Hell & Damnation - review

balbo79 | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

The original Painkiller by People Can Fly was released several years ago and, despite belonging to a niche genre, has managed to achieve great success, enough to make the publisher DreamCatcher to finance several other projects, often of dubious quality. 2013 is the year of Hell & Damnation, a sort of re-release in HD with the Unreal Engine 3 of the original Painkiller. The element that distinguishes Painkiller by the great mass of the FPS is its frenetic, in fact the game looks like an old school shooter "ignorant" and violent, in which we will have to slay enemies, making full use of our vast arsenal which boasts, among various weapons, one shootgun, a huge machine gun that can be used as a machine gun and rocket launcher / flamethrower. For the duration of the adventure we continually shoot everything that moves and constantly moving to stay alive. Hell & Damnation reaches its highest point with spectacular boss fight, during which we have to face giant monsters, always using different tactics to understand their weaknesses. The neophytes may not withstand the extreme repetitiveness and the lack of variety or lack of game vehicles.

76

Calming the pain, one bullet at a time

kalil | June 8, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Painkiller returns, this time with more blood and funs. After so many years back to purgatory to try to escape from it and restore our beloved, but that we go over all devils, ghosts and other creatures that we will make the task any easier.

Gameplay: Playable, this title is equal to the previous painkiller. It consists mainly of running and killing. No complicated patterns or esenario interaction. The enemies are varied and have different skills. Each weapon has 2 types of ammunition, to help us in our task. Moreover, to improve our combos, we may use and equip ourselves with the "tarot", for example, causes more damage inflinjamos given weapon or receive less damage.

Technology: Hell & Damnation working with the Unreal Engine 3, which is a bit old, but good graphics Sudan him.

Graphics: The configuration optimization is quite precarious and does not change much from the options low, medium and high. But still the graphics are pretty good, especially after having played the previous titles in the series.

Sound: The sound of the enemies not good. Many of the Devils make the same noise when attacking or "growl". Weapons have good sound, with each type of ammo you can hear a different sound in general.

Innovation: You could say that there is not much innovation in this title, as well as another in the series or as individual play. As I said, consists only of running and gunning.

In short, it is a good game for fans of the "old school". Muho Remember the old "DooM" and Duke Nukem. And for those not familiar with this series, is a good start.

71

Hi-Def & Co-op

lehemake | May 8, 2013 | See all lehemake's reviews »

I really liked the original Painkiller game and its expansion Battle Out Of Hell. Fast paced, crazy, gory shooter like Doom and Quake were in old days. There are challenging secrets to find and a tarot card system which gives nice boosts. This remake is a mixed bag. Main improvements consists of shiny Unreal Engine 3 graphics and two player co-op mode. Also comes with lots of steam achievements to hunt. Sadly, there aren't much levels to play though more comes with DLCs. Co-op is welcome addition but has some frustating issues. Tarot cards cannot be used and unlocked. There's no location indicator for you partner. After dying you must wait some time to respawn but if you both get killed you must start level from the beginning. However playing with friend is a fun experience. Not recommended for die hard single player fans of original Painkiller but its ok new players and those who want to try co-op.

72

Return of the mindless shooter

MarkDeejay | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

I'm done with shooters like Painkiller and Serious Sam. I like mindless game as much as the next guy, but I also like a deeper experience at the same time. Painkiller couldn't offer me this. If you want to turn off your brain and shoot at everything that moves, this game is for you. The weapons are fun to use, the graphics are sharp, there's enemy variety, the boss fights are kinda cool and epic and the HUD is clumsy. What ? The HUD is clumsy. Maybe I wasn't paying too much attention to it but I had no idea where to look for my health, souls or ammo until a few hours into the game. That can't be right. Yeah yeah, 'Enough about the HUD already !' I hear you yell. And I agree. In fact, I'll stop talking about this game altogether.

To sum things up: Yay = if you like mindless shooters Nay = if you dislike mindless shooters

60

A simple remake

Lekes | Jan. 28, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

I'm not calling myself a Painkiller fan but I had some fun with it and official add-on back in it's release days. Howevever, Hell & Damnation feels like a let down. Few levels which follows in mostly random sequence, level design stuck in 2004 and visuals have no changes at all exept for updated engine and some texture work. Good-looking weapons, John St. John as voice actor and better textures on enmies are good but they do not outweigh overall dissatisfaction from the game. Also, it's like uber short and single player took me 5 hours on Nighmare to beat with plenty of checkpoint restarts and few secrets found. It feels good at times, but nothing more.

81

Classic old school fun.

fable2 | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

To be honest this game is what I expected to be; fast paced old-school violence. A lot of the reviews I'm seeing complain about the AI being stupid but fail to realize this was done on purpose. It's the AI you'll find in this type of classic shooter. What other kind of AI would you want? Think of this as Quake, Doom and Unreal bottled up. I LOVE how the AI are overly aggressive, run directly straight for you with weapons swinging. It's just the style of game play they went for. Not to mention there are HORDES of them, some with shields which makes attention to aiming a must. The graphics are polished which adds to the gloomy ambiance to the levels and monsters (AI). I couldn't have asked anything more for this classic shooter. If you don't "get" this game, then you'll probably think the same thing as the crappy reviews. Complaining about stuff which was intentional. This is a game is for die hard fans of old-school shooter, So if you are a fan of this genre you can not miss this one.

90

Underrated

captainstark | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

I really, really do not understand why people are rating it so low. Painkiller was an amazing game, and this is a great remake. It is intended for hardcore FPS gamers, if you liked Serious Sam, then this is the game for you. The story isn't that good, and it's understandable, since I wasn't really expecting it to be focused on a solid storyline. This game has beautiful graphics, physics and the gameplay is excellent.

86

A Worthy Remake

videopower77 | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

Although the game has less levels than the original, it is packed with much more content with DLC support, Co-Op campaign, co-op survival mode, and the essential multiplayer game modes. The game is fairly short but there is plenty of incentives to go back and improve your score so you can be atop the Steam leaderboards!

70

Hehehe KILL time!!!

crazyspike | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all crazyspike's reviews »

This game is for one ting only KILL in very different ways! If you remember games like DOOM or Wolfenstine this is a mix of those games witch Awesome graphic! Single player take about 6-8h, if you want max out everything about 20-25h. Fps with lots of fun. Have multi-player coop mode and achievements system. At the end: i can say its a Classic FPS with good graphic and much playable!

85

Back to Purgatory

V2lentin | Nov. 2, 2012 | See all V2lentin's reviews »

Painkiller H&D is a modern remake of the original Painkiller and Painkiller Battle Out of Hell, with up-to-date graphics and new additions. At its core, Painkiller is an old school FPS, with classic gameplay, but the mindless shooting will please everyone. This time, Daniel, the main character of the first games, is stuck in Purgatory and he makes a deal with Death in order to be reunited with his wife. The story is here only to give us a reason to kill demons and let our inner maniac have some fun. As in the original, Daniel, has to clear up arenas filled with demons in order to progress through levels and reach the final bosses. The enemies are not very smart and they only charge at you or use their ranged attacks, but they can overcome you withe their numbers or kill you when you are not paying attention to them. There's no healh regeneration like in the modern shooters, so some players might feel they are at disadvantage. What you'll love about Painkiller H&A are the weapons. Even though there's only one new weapon, the old ones will make you love them. The guns you can shoot different ammo and each one has its unique alternate firing mode: stake shooting weapons that can shoot grenades or shurikens and electric shocks are only 2 of them. Of course, the claw is back too, letting you dismember enemies like a madman. The graphic engine is Unreal 3 now, which translates in a better looking game and enemies. Everything looks fresher, with new HD textures and nice lighting effects and shadows. The soundtrack consists mostly of rock tracks, which is to be expected from such a gory and bloody game. You'll almost feel an urge to kill demons when you'll hear the music. There has been added a co-op mode which is a very good idea. Dismembering ghouls and witches sure feels a lot better while having a friend to lend you a hand. There are the classic multiplayer modes too: team deathmatch, classic deathmatch and capture the flag. Even though it's a very short game, with about 5 hours of playtime, Painkiller H&D can be a lot of fun, especially if you haven't played the original at its time. If you did, it would probably better to wait for a massive sale, as this game's only new features are up-to-date graphics and co-op.