Reviews for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim - Hearthfire Nexway

90

There is a lot to it

Bonder22 | April 8, 2013 | See all Bonder22's reviews »

Hearthfire adds countless - countless hours of customizing, tinkering, and gameplay possibilities to your Skyrim experience. It's not so much about quests or lore but buliding a home, finding people to fill it with, and protecting it becomes an integral and well-woven part of the game. You may go to every city and province before finding children youd like to adopt. You have new things to harvest and craft. You have choices, choices, choices regarding your manor. And if you mod and / or know how to place custom objects, well, the possibilities are endless.

Of course, if you have no imagination and just spam build the whole house, and put no thought into it, it probably won't seem like much, then again your life probably doesnt seem like much either. You have to try a little, and this dlc gives back a lot. It's five bucks, and a huge and non-intrusive overall upgrade to vanilla Skyrim.

70

Not a lot to it

Endyo | March 13, 2013 | See all Endyo's reviews »

Hearthfire is a strange addition to the base game of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. It’s odd to me that something so mundane actually costs money, albeit the cost was pretty insignificant even at release. For all of the epic quest lines and lore driven scenarios and individuals, Hearthfire offers a sort of distraction from what you’d normally encounter in the game. It doesn’t do anything spectacular or give you any sort of special powers or crazy weapons, but I suppose it does add just a tiny bit more of a realistic feeling to a fantasy game.

The core element of Hearthfire is that you can build yourself a house. It doesn’t cost all that much (less than a house you’d buy in a town) to simply get it constructed, although it seems to be as large or larger than the most expensive houses in Skyrim. Even furnishing it can be done for around the same amount if you play your cards right. What you end up with after a lot of time and effort is a house with pretty much all the tools you need as a world-class adventurer and plenty more to boot. First, of course, you have to build the house itself, which is done modularly, and using materials gathered from your local environment (for free) and plenty of iron to make things like nails and hinges via blacksmithing. Once you complete the gathering process (all of 20 minutes) you can build the complete structure pretty much instantly. Of course that’s the easy part. Then you get to build all of the furniture and random junk inside. This of course requires more of the free building materials, and of course iron, as well as a wide assortment of already existing and newly added materials like metals, glass, skins, straw, and so on. It can be kind of an unnecessary burden to deal with considering you’re supposed to be saving Skyrim and all, and often all the materials you need to carry can put unnecessary load on your inventory.

A simple way to skip this is to get a steward, which is essentially just someone who takes care of your house. A follower can be assigned to do this, though I’m unsure of any requirements for that individual. I used one of my many thanes. Stewards let you buy furniture to fill a room as well as other luxuries like a cart with a driver, a horse, and a cow (for some reason). The steward basically lets you skip a lot of the bothersome hauling of junk to finish your interior. It might be a cop out, but they probably should have made the process of obtaining goods a bit more entertaining if they actually wanted me to do it.

Hearthfire also allows you to adopt an orphan child because apparently even if you’re married, you can’t be bothered to create your own little Dovababy. I didn’t actually do this because I never got married (who has time? Dragons man…) and I felt it would be improper to leave an orphan child in a massive house without parental guidance. Regardless, it is just another thing Hearthfire offers that doesn’t seem all that spectacular.

This DLC is one that you can skip without feeling like you’re neglecting something important. Building a house doesn’t do much to change the way you look at the game, especially when you have a house in every major city already built and most likely holding all the junk you wanted to keep. It is nice to have a place to go that doesn’t require loading a whole city and of course the house is probably the best one in the game pretty clearly, but it’s not enough for me to say that Hearthfire is important for anyone but the most committed group of Skyrim fans. If you do get it, it will be a moderately entertaining experience for a bit, but there’s just not a lot to it.

80

Surprisingly relaxing to play around with

schroff | March 6, 2013 | See all schroff's reviews »

This DLC is easy to hate if all you do is read the description as most people believe it adds nothing to the main game and houses are already available in the base game. Getting the DLC from Bethesda has its own advantages as you won't have to worry about mundane things like breaking other mods or load order. I found this DLC to be quite relaxing to play around with and a nice diversion from the quests in the game which allows the game to remain fresh and not become tedious. I've almost built up my own manor in Falkreath and it was nice to build - you can even add a carriage to the home which lets you travel to places very quickly (just like fast travel but you can visit places you haven't discovered yet, immensely useful!). Now all I have to do is shift my adopted child here and get a wife for my Dragonborn! :D

80

It's not as bad as most people think

nkahoang | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all nkahoang's reviews »

Well, I have been reading quite lots of negative reviews on this DLCs. Some says that it does not deliver much and tons of freely available mod does exactly what the DLC has.

I was lucky enough to purchase it with 35% off. It is not that bad as most people think it is.

1) Some Mods takes assets and resources (models, scripts, etc) from this DLC so if you want to play those, you must have Hearthfire. Double the point that if you are a modder yourself.

2) You gets to buy and design your own house from scratch instead of buying a pre-built in main fort. It may be a bit boring collecting materials but may buy you some times from killing monster and dungeons.

3) With 35% off, this DLC is a no-brainer. While it is true that you may subscribe and download free mods that do the same jobs, I can't guarantee that those mods are as quality as this official one

80

Worth the few bucks

Mechafury | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Mechafury's reviews »

I bought this thinking on steam wondering if this was worth it.

it really is worth the 5 dollars you pay, you get a Home were you can adopt children, make a very nice trophy room to display all your conquests and treasure. :)

I always love walking into my bedroom to my shelves of all my rare collected gems jewels and cools stuff from my journeys across skyrim

must have for any skyrim player !

76

Good DLC.

Darder | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Darder's reviews »

Adds the little element that was missing in Skyrim. Fun to play in, and really adds to the global immersion of the game. It makes alot of change to instead of fighting monsters, building a house and settling your life there. Good addition, worth the 5 $

65

Worth a few dollars

Sam04956 | Dec. 3, 2012 | See all Sam04956's reviews »

I got this for 25% off and I don't regret it, but don't expect too much from it. It is nice to be able to build your own house and adopt children, but really you could probably just download mods that allow you to do this better for free; I just like that this is official, so hopefully less buggy and "intended" to be there. There are some useful things like being able to adopt a pet dog if you have children, which means that it will always be in your house (it's just a bit more convenient). I liked being able to hire people to work at your houses, eg. carriage drivers and bards. Also you cannot adopt Aventus Arentino unfortunately.

Anyway the DLC pretty much does what it says, if you see it on sale it might be worth getting if you feel like playing Skyrim again.

80

Minor DLC, great addtion

lok0812 | Dec. 2, 2012 | See all lok0812's reviews »

You will be able to purchase a land to build a house, decorate the exterior and interior, hire NPC, and eventually adopt children. It is not a must to get Hearthfire right away unless you have nothing left to do in the world of Skyrim since most of the activities in Hearthfire can get repetitive quick since it will only require you to gather materials so you can build/decorate your house.

Definitely do get this DLC if you enjoy some time off from killing monsters and exploring dungeons. Overall, it is a nice pace away from the usual story quest DLC.

70

Minor DLC

lok0812 | Nov. 29, 2012 | See all lok0812's reviews »

As the title said, this is a really minor addon for a legendary game. You will be able to purchase a land to build a house, decorate the exterior and interior, hire NPC, and eventually adopt children. It is not a must to get Hearthfire right away unless you have nothing left to do in the world of Skyrim since most of the activities in Hearthfire can get repetitive quick since it will only require you to gather materials so you can build/decorate your house.

Definitely do get this DLC if you enjoy some time off from killing monsters and exploring dungeons. Overall, it is a nice pace away from the usual story quest DLC.

70

Minor addon to a huge game

lok0812 | Nov. 27, 2012 | See all lok0812's reviews »

As the title said, this is a really minor addon for a legendary game. You will be able to purchase a land to build a house, decorate the exterior and interior, hire NPC, and eventually adopt children. It is not a must to get Hearthfire right away unless you have nothing left to do in the world of Skyrim since most of the activities in Hearthfire can get repetitive quick since it will only require you to gather materials so you can build/decorate your house.

Definitely do get this DLC if you enjoy some time off from killing monsters and exploring dungeons. Overall, it is a nice pace away from the usual story quest DLC.

80

Reviewing for the 4th times

lok0812 | Nov. 21, 2012 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Hearthfire is an excellent DLC to add Skyrim into a more immerse world. It gives you the ability to buy 3 plots of land to build a house on, the towns that previously did not offer a house when you became the Thane. In addition, the DLC allow you to adopt up to 2 children which you can interact with. Overall, this DLC is a nice addition to Skyrim fans as it gives them more things to do like collecting materials for your houses.

75

Great addition to the world of Skyrim

lok0812 | Nov. 17, 2012 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This small DLC will add the ability to build houses on three available plot of lands, the small towns that did not give you the option to buy the house when you are become the Thane. This DLC will require you to collect materials like woods, stones, leathers, etc. to build the exterior and interior of your house. You will also have the ability to adopt up to 2 children and have them move into the house with you. Occasionally, you will need to defend against invaders to protect your house. All in all, this will be a great addition to have for Skyrim fans.

76

Hearthfire is worth the money

fable2 | Oct. 10, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

Hearthfire is a good DLC as it gives you a bit more freedom. My thoughts on the ability to build your own house in Morthal, Dawnstar and Falkreath is what I said earlier is gives you a bit more freedom as you can choose what to have in it. You could choose to have an alchemy lab, storage room, kitchen, bedroom and more but the thing is that you are only allowed 3 of those.

The best feature by far for me is the ability to adopt children but you can only adopt 2 children so choose wisely. Yes some people will say "Why can't we just make our own children." You tell me how your going to do that because remember you can have same-sex marriages in Skyrim. You can buy your children clothes, sweets and toys. Once I came home to find my two children cussing each other so I told them off -_-

However overall I think Hearthfire is a great addition to an already brilliant game.