Reviews for Borderlands 2: Captain Scarlett & her Pirate's Booty

95

Cool loot

lajvjjajajaaaa | Sept. 13, 2014 | See all lajvjjajajaaaa's reviews »

Maybe the best DLC for Borderlands 2. It adds lot of gameplay to the game and a lot of fun. Cool mobs and bosses. The best NPCs are here the captain her self and a crazy lone man. It's the easiest way to get gold items and it even have glitch for a lot more. Worth the money and even better on sale. If you don't have it yet BUY IT!

35

Less than decent.

Furrek | Sept. 2, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

Not very much enjoyable DLC. So, what's good? Captain Scarlett character. That's all. Everything other is nothing special and nothing good compared to other DLCs for Borderlands 2. You are getting some vehicle, which suggest at first that it will be able to fly but it's not. Whole DLC is much easier, I did played it on high difficult setting but still there was no challenge. Some enemies you already fought in main game, boss fights are sad - same as the ending of this DLC. While it's understable for Tiny Tina's DLC, it's not for Captain Scarlett. When you will play it you will se what I'm talking about. This is DLC for biggest fans of Borderlands 2, if you are not one then there is nothing you are missing.

85

Good Pirate Fun

Rcoder97 | July 3, 2014 | See all Rcoder97's reviews »

This is Captain Scarlett & her Pirate's Booty the first story expansion to Borderlands 2. This dlc takes you to Oasis, a pirate wasteland full of worms and skeletons. The story is not the longest but it's a good length for a dlc that came out a month after the game launched. There are lots of side missions too. The characters in this dlc were particularly memorable and the environments are lovely. There are 2 raid bosses, each require a different strategy to conquer. The final boss is very fun too. The side missions are also very funny. With treasure everywhere I don't see why someone shouldn't get this dlc!

75

Fun but Short.

coolronz | Jan. 26, 2014 | See all coolronz's reviews »

Interesting story, hilarious bad guys! But surprisingly short. Borderlands 2 in general has tons of side missions and time wasters. Felt more like a $5 DLC... Pretty sure I got in on sale for $5, or would be worth it if you went and bought the GOTY edition. I did really enjoy it, it was just really short, like 2 level ups to finish the campaign. Its a rating of 85 for $5, but for $10, its just not worth it due to being so short.

77

Jack of all trades but master of none.

JetStreamJam | Dec. 29, 2013 | See all JetStreamJam's reviews »

with Captain Scarlett and her Pirate’s Booty: This DLC is so-and –so. It is not bad but it’s also not that great. The pirate theme was carried in the entire DLC and was a nice touch. However, the mobs and the quests get stale just too quickly. The voice over is still top notch since this is Borderlands.

85

Witty Dialogue and New Guns...What more do you want?

TCass29 | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all TCass29's reviews »

Captain Scarlett is a great character. Sassy, sarcastic, and swashbuckling, she is the guiding force for the whole DLC and it works really well.

Of the 4 main 'story-based' DLCs, I'd say this is 3/4 behind TTAoDK and Torgue's, but it's still great. There are tons of new guns, enemies, easter eggs, environments, and quests to be shot, killed, found, explored, and conquered. It adds hours and content to an already superb game.

77

It works fine and do its job

thresher3253 | Oct. 12, 2013 | See all thresher3253's reviews »

This DLC does its job like it should: extend the life of Borderlands 2 by adding new areas, new enemies and a decent storyline while not being too much boring and repetitive than other similar additional contents, like the Mad Moxxi DLC for the first game. Plus the new bosses can be farmed for some really powerful and expensive loot and visuals are pretty good in some areas. Also, the new vehicle is very fun to use.

89

New weapons, a new storyline, more Borderlands 2!

asiersua | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

This DLC is just what you'd expect: new enemies, areas to discover, and epic weapons to loot! With new quests and a brand new storyline, this DLC will get you hooked to Borderlands 2 for a few more hours after you're done with the normal storyline. It also has some great humor, with references all around, and even a new kind of car! What are you waiting for? Come join the hunt for new treasure and loot!

76

A Long Voyage with Treasure as Far as the Eye can See...Maybe

CrimsonWizard | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

You've tackled demented robots, mutated creatures, and common bandits, but now you face a new deadly foe...pirates! Not the most inspired of enemies, but they provide a different flavor of combat over your usual psychopaths in the base Borderlands 2 game. As you run over the hapless foes, you'll eventually come across the titular character of the DLC, Captain Scarlet. Honestly, I found her the weakest of the headline characters for these expansions, but she still provides a few chuckles, fitting with the general dark comedy that pervades Pandora.

As for the story, not much to tell, it's a treasure hunt of sorts, but thankfully the developers keep it interesting by giving you a nice variety of environments to overcome, and some new unique weapons and loot flavored to the pirate theme. Thankfully, there's a lot more than sand oceans as you spelunk through oasis filled caves, scale once grand ships, and maybe even mow down a pirate fortress. It's a decent enough DLC all in all, but I personally recommend getting this as part of the fantastic Season Pass instead.

70

Disappointing compared to BL1 DLC

nightassassin1 | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

This DLC was ok, but not what I expected. Gearbox released amazing, unique, and humorous DLC packs for Borderlands 1 with every one of them being unique and amazing so I expected the same for Borderlands 2, sadly this was not the case. This DLC is unique and interesting, but it is not as humorous as I expected. There are some parts of the game that are quite funny, but not nearly enough to compare to Borderlands 1 DLC packs.

This pirate pack adds a new vehicle, the harpoon boat, which is quite fun to play with and a new large area to roam and complete missions on, but the low humor really hurts the DLC since it is supposed to complement a comic shooter. The beginning of the DLC is great and as it goes it gets less and less humorous. This is the worst DLC for BL2 in my opinion.

94

Pretty awesome

DanJamesStone12 | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all DanJamesStone12's reviews »

This DLC provides loads more playtime to the original BL2 game, hours more fun and entertainment and adventure- along with more weapons and quests. If you love Borderlands 2, you need to get this.

80

First DLC to the massive shooting game

lok0812 | May 21, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is the first DLC from the season pass. It brings players to a new zone and hunt for treasures. Similar formulas as the core game, pick up quests and complete them for rewards and progress through the story. Many humors exists in this one as well as a acceptable storyline. This DLC also adds raid boss for players to challenge similar to Terromorphus in the core game. A must get for all Borderlands 2 fans, unless already owned the season pass.

78

Good, but not great.

simpkinscm | May 15, 2013 | See all simpkinscm's reviews »

Captain Scarlett & her Pirate's Booty is an all-around great DLC. It provides enough game-play and content to provide additional hours of play to an already great game. Personally, I found that the bosses in this DLC are both more difficult and more fun than the ones provided by the base game. One downside to this DLC is the story-line. Though I really enjoyed playing, I found myself disappointed by the lack of a real closure. That being said, there are still a lot of great plot points to this DLC. I would recommend this DLC to anyone looking to add to their play-time of Borderland 2.

75

Pretty good!

schroff | Feb. 4, 2013 | See all schroff's reviews »

This DLC was not received with the enthusiasm of the base game when it was released. Some of the complaints were valid but don't let the negativity get in the way .. it is just as fun as the base game. If you like the base game, chances are you will like this add on as well. I was initially worried that the Oasis theme would be an excuse to create dull sandy environments but that's not the case thankfully. The music is very atmospheric and adds to the experience, I might not have enjoyed playing it without it. The bandits have received a reskin with a pirate theme but a few of them have new tricks, particularly the Goliath (but he doesn't rage if he is headshot). Please do the side quests - the ones given by Censor Bot were a highlight for me in this DLC! I found the animations to be lacking in the new characters .. they're not stiff or sloppy but they simply don't exist. The worst example is Shade. If you're not playing this in true vault hunter mode everyone is capped at level 30/31 which made everyone including the final boss a push over at level 36. Loot drops were unremarkable thanks to the level cap. Over all pretty good but they could've done so much better! Lasts around 6-7 hours if you do everything except the raid bosses in normal mode.

85

Good like other Borderlands DLC

panz3r88 | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Captain Scarlett & her Pirate's Booty is a good DLC for Borderlands 2. The structure of this additional content is similar to the other one released for this game: you will have access to many new weapons and to a new area full of new missions. The story told in the add-on is not important, but as usual you will meet new crazy characters and you can really have fun defeating hordes of enemies in co-op with your friends

80

Yo Ho Ho

Xkhaoz | Nov. 4, 2012 | See all Xkhaoz's reviews »

When I bought the Borderlands 2 Season Pass, I was slightly worried that we would get lackluster DLCs like some other games do. But luckily, Captain Scarlett is a good sign for BL2 DLCs. A good length campaign, plenty of sidequests, new invincible bosses, and even more guns to add to the bazillions, you've got your self a DLC worth the sandy socks.My only complaint is the end boss, which was pretty lackluster compared to other bosses in the game.

83

A solid DLC.

Casm | Oct. 20, 2012 | See all Casm's reviews »

Nothing paradigm shifting about this DLC, but it is really fun and entertaining. The new characters introduced are great, full of personality. The new enemies are rather interesting and most are pirate themed. The zones are gorgeous, especially the oasis looking zone under the town, which is IMO the absolute best looking area to ever grace the Borderlands franchise.

We get an introduction to our first new vehicle this expansion, the hovercraft. It is quite easily my favorite vehicle hands down.

The 2 new raid style bosses or 'the Invincible' bosses are extremely difficult to defeat (without somehow cheesing the fight). They can only be fought once a day and drop a currency that can be used to purchase a brand new quality of gear, "Seraph" gear. It's pretty interesting and fun.

I do have some issues with the DLC though.

The primary issue is that for whatever reason, there's framerate problems through many portions of the DLC (at least on the PC). After some digging, this isn't an isolated issue as many players are experiencing it with computers more than capable of playing the game smoothly. This is something I'm hoping they'll patch up at a later date or will be addressed with upcoming video card drivers, but as of this review, it's a glaring problem that seems to crop up when you fight a lot of pirates shooting at the same time, making playthrough 2.5 very very difficult and annoying to play.

Other issues I have are pretty minor but somewhat worth mentioning. For instance, the new hovercraft, while entirely awesome, is restricted to the expansion content only. Another is that many of the side-quests you receive feel less awesome and more like busywork. For instance, forcing you to travel across the majority of the expansion in order to hunt down and kill specific pirates in various zones. Zones that you've pretty much completed but are forced to return too, complete with new spawns to fight through. It seems like many of these quests were designed with mindset of dragging out the content as much as possible.

Though I may rant on about the issues, they are mostly very minor. Aside from the framerate being a problem in certain areas, the DLC is mostly solid and a great addition to the game. Once the framerate issues get fixed, either from their end or from an updated graphics driver, the DLC will be deserving of a higher rating. Even with the issues though, it's a solid buy and worth having! I completely recommend it.

85

Nice

das_regal | Oct. 16, 2012 | See all das_regal's reviews »

This content pack features raid-like bosses, a new level of loot rarity, tons of new items, a new vehicle, and a hilarious storyline. I especially love riding in the new Star Wars style Landspeeder and murdering things with explosive harpoons.

You can buy this piece of content individually or get it 25% off (essentially) as part of the Borderlands 2 Season Pass. And if the rest of the content is this high quality, that's a much better decision.

This is a great addition to an already great game. My only disappointment is that they didn't raise the level cap.