Reviews for Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year -

90

Great game for my Batcomputer

swabja | May 30, 2013 | See all swabja's reviews »

Just like Batman Arkham Asylum this is a great game. I'm a bit fan of this type of combat that manages to be both simple and yet you can apply strategy to it as opposed to the usual button mashing. Brilliant voice acting just as before and so much variety in the game. I have completed the main story but there is still so much left to do! I always like games that have a nice balance of action and story and this fulfills both of these. The game looks beautiful even on my modest gaming laptop.

Now please make an awesome Superman game Rocksteady thanks! :)

95

sand box batman game? yes please...

nicomarcho | May 29, 2013 | See all nicomarcho's reviews »

when i heard rocksteady was making a sequel for batman arkham asylum, i thought, well this is going to be bad..... boy i was glad to be so wrong! if you like hero games, buy it, if you like sand box games, buy it, if you like complex storyline, get it.... you just cant go wrong with arkham city...

100

One of the best games of all time

Crazy4ever | May 27, 2013 | See all Crazy4ever's reviews »

Batman arkham city has everything a good game should have. The graphics are stunning and all the characters look really good. Faces and facial expressions are brilliantly made. The characters are memorable and you really get to know them and remember them. It has a very satisfiing gameplay; the fighting mechanics are great and are in a way what the Assassins Creed fighting could have been and has tried to be. Also, it has a good balance between action and the occasional detective-mode, which at first is quite difficult, but you really feel as if you develop and understand how to solv puzzles throughout the game, and after the second half you ARE batman! The story is longer than most game-stories, and is one of the best stories I have played. Its one of those stories you remember for a long time after, and that really effects you, especially when you are getting closer to the end, and especially the last few sequences of the game keep you glued to the screen, and when its all over it will be one of your favourite games. Also it has many extra-missions you can play, and quite a few smaller stories so you can keep playing and exploring Arkham City. I think it is worth paying the extra for the full game of the year edition, so you know you haven't missed out on anything in this great game.

97

Nearly Perfect

cevana | May 26, 2013 | See all cevana's reviews »

With the game of the year edition out, there is no excuse not to play Arkham City if you have any interest. The combat (as it was in Asylum) is perfect in its simplicity, offering a real challenge to those who put in the effort to master the rhythms of a perfect blow (invest in a controller for this game). An adventure game, merged with an old school-brawler, plus some truly immersive puzzles.

Some claim that the plot is inferior to the less ambitious and more focused Arkham -- I found the large cast of characters and diverse goals to be nothing but an improvement. People often said that Asylum made you "feel like Batman." I never felt it in that game, but I constantly did while prowling the rooftops of Gotham in Arkham City.

Pros: - Takes everything that Asylum did, and betters it - Gorgeous in design and graphics - DLC included in GOTY edition is a smash for Batman fans

Cons: - They still haven't quite nailed boss fights. But that's hardly a mark against it, since the most fun battles are against hordes of thugs. - Still runs GFWL

90

Best one yet :D

Dixie_Normus | May 25, 2013 | See all Dixie_Normus's reviews »

Sequel to one of the best Batman games ever. Arkham city takes what Arkham Asylum had and makes it so much better. Everything in this game is now bigger and better than anything before with the GOTY edition with all of the dlc for the game in one great package. A must buy for batman fans.

100

GOTY 2011, best batman title

Ganerumo | May 20, 2013 | See all Ganerumo's reviews »

What is there to say about Arkham City that has not already been said ? It's got an amazing atmosphere, amazing characters, stunning graphics for an UE3 game, the best third person fighting mechanics I've seen in a while, and the original voice actors from the animated series for Batman and Joker. Even the story is amazing. AC is exactly what a sequel should be and more than that what a licensed game should be.

The one kind-of-bad thing about it is that the Harley Quinn DLC was kind of a letdown and the online pass to get critical sections of the game when playing as Catwoman forcing players to buy the game new caused quite a stir. The actual dlcs that add new characters to play with are amazing though.

90

Better then most games

yhgsag | May 10, 2013 | See all yhgsag's reviews »

Batman: Arkham City isn't perfect, but listing the little things I didn't like gets in the way of all the stuff I adored. The voice acting, the challenges, the amazing opening, the unbelievable ending and the feeling of being the Dark Knight -- these are the things that standout looking back. I've beaten this thing twice and still want to call in sick and chase Riddler Trophies.

Batman: Arkham City isn't just better than Batman: Arkham Asylum, it's better than most games on the market.

93

When you think it's over, theres still more!

TheDeathKiller | May 7, 2013 | See all TheDeathKiller's reviews »

Loved Arkham Asylum so I knew I couldn't go wrong with this, everything is simply better than the first game, harder too. the bonus content is well worth the extra bit of cash.

The game can be a bit overwhelming at first but once you get in the flow and get used to beating the day lights out of all the cronies it becomes seriously fun, you can roam and explore as you wish to complete the Riddler's challenges or get familiar with the area or complete the side and story missions. sandbox with enough direction to keep you interested. Absolutely worth a buy.

99

WOO BATMAN!

lazygamer559 | May 5, 2013 | See all lazygamer559's reviews »

Well this was my game of the year, after Arkham Asylum they had a lot of pressure to make a game as good, and they succeeded in making a better one.

Fantastic gameplay, punching people feels like your punching people. The combat is easy enough to pick up and can still be hard on game plus. Gamplay wise it's perfect I'd say.

This game looks really pretty if you can run it on very high or extreme. Only downside is that DirectX 11 lags for me no matter what I do.

It being a batman story meant that batman was going to "save the day". That asides though it was a very good, especially if you listen to the audio tape that you find for picking up Riddler's trpphies. It does a good job for making you feel more sorry for the villains rather then hate them.

Over all this is an amazing game, it's one of my favrote games of all time.

97

Great Game

DPiddy69 | April 30, 2013 | See all DPiddy69's reviews »

I was really looking forward to this game after playing the hell out of Arkham Asylum. I was not disappointed. Not only did they bring back the constant cameo appearances from a variety of Batman villains, but they maintained the high standard of combat from the first game. The story is very rich and interactive and definitely worth a playthrough. New game plus also gives you another opportunity to play it, but with more challenges. The challenge maps are quite fun, as are the dlc. Excellent game.

83

Batman Fans, Buy This!

blacklightofday | April 27, 2013 | See all blacklightofday's reviews »

Arkham City is a great open-world game with a lot to do in it. Whether you are trying to find out the mysteries of Arkham City in the main missions, speeding to answer the phones or someone dies, or just gliding around collecting riddler trophies, this game is going to keep you occupied for quite a while. And that's when not counting the different types of challenges, which also have leaderboards and the Harley's Revenge DLC, which add even more hours to what can be a very long adventure through the streets of Arkham. It can also be very short, but that would mena you are playing it wrong. Visuals are great, voice acting is top notch, and we get to see a lot of our favourite DC villains and heores (also some not-so-famous ones). Absolutely great game.

95

Best game of 2012

LaBoiteAGogo | April 19, 2013 | See all LaBoiteAGogo's reviews »

No doubt, this "Game of the Year" edition deserves its name. If Arkham Asylum was a already a great game, this sequel is the game all Batman fans have been expecting.

The map is full of things to do, riddles to answer, enemies to defeat, vilains to capture.. Batman is strong, heavy, the combat system is perfect, fast and beautiful. The gameplay as Catwoman is slightly different, lighter and very pleasant to play.

A great experience for anyone who likes Batman or who wants to discover his universe.

100

Everything a sequel should be and more

mugaro | April 6, 2013 | See all mugaro's reviews »

Arkham Asylum was a great game, and this takes everything that was great about it and improves on it while still retaining the basic formula that made the first game great. It doesn't stray too far to confuse you if you played the first but it definitely takes the game in a different enough direction that you don't feel like you're playing a rehash called Arkham Asylum 1.5.

A bigger, longer game from the first with a much improved story, some good plot twists, a more conventional 3 act story and still has the great moments and voice acting from the first.

The Riddler challenges in the first game were fun to do, and they've been improved drastically here. They can be wildly different from the first game and quite hard to figure out, but well worth the time doing so.

The Catwoman sections are a lot of fun too. She plays different enough from Batman but you don't feel like you're weaker than him. In fact, I liked playing as Catwoman more than I did Batman. Her takedowns are slower and she climbs up buildings differently and it can take a bit to get the hang of, but it added to the game a lot.

The Harley Quinn DLC was very short, but most DLCs are. It was fun, it was different and geniunely added to the experience. You spend a lot of time playing as Robin and he plays a little more like Batman but with some different moves on him.

The challenges include Batman, Catwoman, Robin & Nightwing (formerly the first Robin) and they all play different from one another but still have the same moves overall, just different actions, different power and different speed.

This was an amazing game and easily recommended to anyone who likes action games.

85

Better Than the First

ROKET | March 31, 2013 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I want to start by saying that this game was really good. It is very well the best Batman game or hero game ever made and RockSteady did well.

Story: Believe it or not I think that this is the weakest part of the game. As you play through the story really starts to get lost in the city and everything slows down. The sense of urgency really starts to decay at times and while it was still good - you still didnt feel like you were doing anything important in the end.

Gameplay: I have yet to play an action game that feels as good as this game. The combat is spectacular and nothing beats thrashing through a massive group of enemies with nothing but your fists. The DLC you get with this game also gives you access to 3 or so other characters that you can use in arena style horde modes and man...such a satisfying mode to play. Nightwing is one hell of a fighter and Robin is freakin ruthless.

Presentaiton: This game has frame rate issues if you want to run it at max-ish settings. I have a great system and an overclocked processor and still the game had annoying frame rate issues. I couldnt understand it. Aside from that the voice acting is great and the game is actually quite beautiful.

An okay 85/100

90

Perfect sequel.

DeeCodex | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all DeeCodex's reviews »

Batman: Arkham City has an awesome open-world with a combat system that no other game can beat. It's so meaty and just pretty to watch while playing. The Story was as good as the Story of Arkham Asylum in my opinion and i just loved to fly around the city as Batman and jumping from roof to roof with Catwoman. Catwoman is a very good implemented character in the Story. You just need to buy this, if not just for this ending!!!

91

The Dark Knight

Guardian412 | Jan. 28, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Batman: The Arkham City continues the plot of Batman: Arkham Asylum, and while the sequel improves the already great game to the next level, and everything seems great, it has one great flow; the storyline, which was my greatest problem with Arkham City. It is the same problem what I've felt during that overhyped second Nolan movie, The Dark Knight. It is weaker than the storyline of Arkham Asylum, so as TDK's storyline is weaker than Batman Begins, and the reason is; both wants to show way too much, with too many protagonists and none of their storylines get enough time. While the primary storyline has some great twists, I felt it shorter and less complex than the storyline of Arkham Asylum, mostly because it is trying to focus on so many secondary plots and villains.

As the title of the game says, it's been set to Arkham City, which have turned the game to an open world game with plenty things to discover, dozens of side missions to complete and of course the Riddler's Riddles are came back with an overwhelming number. The action, the gadgets have been greately improved, so as the stunning music - foremost the main theme, which is much more memorable than the theme or any of the tracks of Arkham Asylum. With the exception of Arleen Soarkin who have played Harley Quinn in Arkham Asylum, every great voice actor have returned for this game, including Kevin Conroy as Batman and Mark Hamill as The Joker.

While I consider Batman: Arkham City as a really-really great game what I can highly recommend to everyone, because of the weaker storyline, I still consider Arkham Asylum as the better game. But I also prefer Batman Begins over The Dark Knight. And in this video game series, in my eyes, this game is the The Dark Knight, which is a great improvement in many things, but it want to tell way too much, want to focus on so many things and it is making the storytelling much weaker.

95

This is how you make a sequel

orb_outrider | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all orb_outrider's reviews »

It is a Batman fan's dream: to become the Bat. This game not only allows you to be the Bat, it's also doing a pretty damn good doing it. Probably the best feature would be the combat. Never have I played a video game with such fluid and fast-paced combat system. If you think Asylum's got the perfect combat, play this game. It's faster and definitely more exciting. The voice acting is top notch. Mark Hamill steals the show as everyone's favorite psychotic clown. The story is also well-written. We're talking about a city here, so expect a LOT of villains, so expect lots of twists and turns in the story. It's like watching a comic book unfold before you, better than a movie, it's a video game. You interact with the world. The game is large than the previous with all the things you can do. Trophies and riddles, phonecalls and other sidequests will keep you hooked. Again, the stealth gameplay is also making a comeback. These levels are the best parts. This game is a must buy. Buy it now. It's the best money you could ever spend.

100

Hours of Gameplay

ssjason | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all ssjason's reviews »

I love this game. It is a tad bit better than Arkham Asylum. The fighting is very smooth. Even with a mouse and keyboard. This isn't a crappy port like most games tend to be. Then again it it a GFWL title. The story line is intense and makes you think. I like how you have to use Batman and Catwoman together to solve things. Even the side missions are fun and give you a challenge. I give the game a solid 10.

100

Best Superhero Game by a stretch

jaded86 | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all jaded86's reviews »

I've play many superhero games, until this point Spiderman 2 was the best ( tie with Batman AA), but from the moment i entered Arkham City i knew this was something different. The atmosphere, the beautiful graphics, the great story, all combines to make one of the best games ever. For the first time beat a endless group is not a tedious job, everytime feels diferent and between the epic fights and the more stealth options the game never feels boring. Without spoilers the only thing i can say is the ending is one of the most satisfying i ever see, what's best, a secondary mission leaves the door open for another sequel. I can't wait the next Rocksteady's Batman. I can't recommend this game enough, especially on GMG where is sooo cheap.

It's an adventure you don't want it to end.

100

One of my fav games with the amazing combat system

mkolp0 | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all mkolp0's reviews »

When I played the first game, I thought it was so great that it would be difficult to improve upon it, yet here we are, with such a masterpiece that utterly blows my mind. With a bigger open world, improved combat system, more gadgets, and a greater sense of being the caped crusader, almost everything has been improved. This is most likely the best superhero game out right now. The combat is as smooth as silk, with highly detailed sounds and textures that make you feel like you're actually fighting. Also, beyond the main quest, there are plenty of side quests to partake in, plenty of time required to play it all! The dlc are cool, but not really necessary, the main game is perfect as it is. I look forward to the next installment!

94

Best combat system in a game

Razzon | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all Razzon's reviews »

A sequel to the awesome Batman:Arkham Asylum, Arkam city takes place in a more detailed, open world setting, with a lot of stuff to do besides the main story (collecting riddlet trophies, sidequests, doing challenges). You can easily spend more than 20+ hours playing the game, absolutely worth the money.

The combat is amazing, the countering, comboing works perfectly, no other game has done that yet.

There are a lot of familiar faces in the game, for example Catwoman (you can also play as her for a few missions), Mr Freeze, Penguin and of course Joker just to name a few.

The game is visually stunning, the physics are excellent. If you have a GeForce card, you can turn on PhysX which adds additional effects.

The only thing that isn't done as well as in the first game is the narrative, but that may be because of the open world nature of the game.

100

The best superhero game

Stebsis | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

If I could give this better score than Arkham Asylum, I would but both are definitely perfect 100 games. This is definitely a game made for Batman fans, and even if you're not, you will be after playing this. The best part about AC are the villains, and there are tons of them. Joker, Two-Face, Penguin, Deadshot, Harley Quinn, Mr. Freeze(my favorite), Bane, Hugo Strange, Solomon Grundy and some others I won't spoil as they're pretty surprising. One of the best things is of course Joker, once again voiced by Mark Hamill who said this'll be his last role as Joker. Batman isn't really the main thing here, we don't learn anything about his past or him as Bruce Wayne, he's just there to progress the story forward and to beat bad guys. The villains are the star here, and of course the place you'll be in, Arkham City.

This city isn't nearly as big as, say, even Vice City from the PS2 GTA, but AC is packed with little things that make the city feel big and tons of stuff. Almost everywhere there's some kind of fan service and reference to some Batman related stuff, and if you're big fan you'll be thrilled to find everything there is.

Combat is a big part of AC, and you really feel like Batman when taking down bad guys. Batman isn't any magical being or alien like Superman, so Batman can't take that much hit, especially not from bullets. You need to use your gadgets and plan out a bit what you'll do and which bad guys you'll take out first, because there're ones who can take lots of punches, can shield from attacks, have knifes and some others and they all need bit of a different tactic to beat. It's so satisfying to glide with your cape in the middle of bad guys and take one down with glide kick and others just scream "Look out, it's the Batman!" and you start taking them down. There's real weight in the punches and they look and sound like they hurt, with spines cracking and all that.

Batman is a game definitely aimed for Batman fans, and it doesn't try to dumb it down, it's not exactly a game for newcomers as there's lots of stuff and charm that you'll miss, but this might be a perfect introduction to Batman universe too, take it for what it is, awesome action/stealth game with some of the best villains ever. Definitely 100 material, and the best superhero game ever made.

100

The best

captainstark | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

So I am a huge Batman villain fan. More so than is probably good for my health. So when I saw all the villain trailers that were being released, I got super amp. And once I saw all the perfect scores it was getting, I was even more excited. And did it live up to all the hype? 99.9% yes. The possible only flaw was that the campaign seems a bit too quick (took me around 12 hours to beat, without side missions). Other than that, it's more Batman butt kicking, and mind blowing plot lines. If you thought Inception played mind games, then this will blow you away. Not buying this would be a disservice to yourself. It's that good. And although I called the ending, it's like I said: I'm a freak. I was playing with my friend online when he got to the end, and he was freaking out and not knowing what was happening. It's. That. Big.

98

One of my favorite games

Jray264 | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all Jray264's reviews »

Batman is back and better than ever. Arkham City manages to be better than it's predecessor in almost every way possible. The combat and stealth has been perfected, the boss fights are no longer uninspired and tedious, and the world is bigger and better. However, it is not entirely flawless. The story loses focus sometimes because there are so many villains. But that's pretty much the only flaw. It just falls short of perfection.

96

Batman takes it up 10 notches!

backslashio | Jan. 21, 2013 | See all backslashio's reviews »

If you thought the original was good, well then imagine that game x10 and you'll have Batman Arkham City with a freeroam city! The combat itself has evolved to a state where a whole range of combinations is possible and feels much more fluid, not to mention kickass drool worthy! Besides the traditional new range of gadgets & the return of some classics you'll also get to look forward to playing as Catwoman who has her own particular fastnfurious style and can crawl upside down on the ceiling or use her whip to take out thugs from all angles!

The story has a bit of an Avengers movie theme tied to it which basically throws as many different Batman colleagues and villains as it can, leading to optional sidemissions (riddles, puzzles, phonecalls, hostages, popping balloons, flying missions) which helps give the game a whole variety of different types of gameplay. From start to finish this game is an "edge of your seat" moment and you won't want to stop until you've completed every bit. Highly recommended!

97

One of the best batman games ever

Mikagee | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all Mikagee's reviews »

This game is better than arkham asylum. It is a free roam game with a great story and fighting moves and techniques. The game is error and bug free which is great. The game play style is a bit quicker and smoother than arkham asylum and that's what we all want. The voices of all the characters are outstanding, the graphics are great too and i do not experience and frame rate drops at all during the game. I would definetlly recommend this game to a friend.

The story is long and exciting until the very end. People who love batman would love this game

75

Excellent gameplay, uneven story, terrible DRM

Lunk | Jan. 16, 2013 | See all Lunk's reviews »

Arkham City promised three things I love in a game: fluid, almost cinematic melee combat, quality stealth mechanics, and Batman. It delivers in all three cases, providing a great gameplay experience. In many ways, it reminded me of the Assassin's Creed series: traversing the city's rooftops, incapacitating unsuspecting enemies from above or below, similar combat styles, and a handy selection of gadgets to deal with or escape sticky situations.

While I loved the action, I found the story (and storytelling) to be a bit hit-and-miss. The first half of the game felt really scatter-shot, and it seemed like the developers felt the need to make sure they included as many villains from the Batman universe as possible. At one point I stopped to count and realized I had already run into over a dozen of them playing meaningful roles in the plot, and I'm sure I forgot a few. Their presence can certainly be explained by the game's setting, but it made the narrative feel disjointed and each individual character underutilized because there were just too many to focus on. The Catwoman segments woven into the story didn't help, as they felt really extraneous and hurt the pacing of the main plot. Fortunately, in the second half the story coalesced around a few specific characters and was much easier to get immersed in. The Harley Quinn DLC that followed the base game worked well as a part of the story, too.

From a technical standpoint, I was really impressed with how the game ran. On a Radeon 4850 video card and a Phenom II 720 processor, which were mid-range options when I got them over 3 years ago, I was able to run the game at 1080p with some of the eye candy turned on at a perfectly playable frame rate without any noticeable stuttering. I didn't expect a game that features a big, open-world area, relatively few loading screens, and stunning graphics to run nearly as smoothly as it did.

Unfortunately, there's one other issue that needs to be addressed: the DRM. In addition to the Steam and GFWL requirements listed in the product description, Arkham City also employs a particularly onerous form of SecuROM that not only restricts how many different systems you can install it on (5, ever), but also places a cap on how many times you're allowed to reinstall the game on those systems. To make matters worse, there's no revocation tool like the one that Arkham Asylum came with that would allow you to reset activations, so once you use up your original allotment you're out of luck. The best way to delay that is probably to just leave the game installed, but that's hardly a perfect solution when you're talking about a game that takes up 19 gigs of space (and still doesn't account for unplanned data loss). I don't consider myself an anti-DRM zealot, but piling on three different forms of DRM including one that can leave the game completely unplayable through fairly normal usage is an insult to paying customers and something you should keep in mind if you're the kind of person who likes to revisit a game from time to time.

There's plenty of playtime in the game, with the main story clocking in at around 15 hours plus optional side quests, tons of hidden collectibles, a new game+ mode, and multiple challenge modes with a whole bunch of maps. I wish the story had grabbed me a lot earlier than it did, but I did really enjoy my time with Arkham City and expect to put a lot more time into it in the future... until SecuROM locks me out of it, anyway.

95

When you thought that Arkham Asylum was perfect...

abelfs | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

...arrives this sequel and blow out any bad expectations. Batman: Arkham City took everything that made the first game excellent and expanded on it tenfold: brilliant story, improved combat system, a second (even a third) playable character a new range of enemies from the Batman universe, new locations and a new set of Riddler games for collectibles. This game is a great title from 2011 and should be part the collection of any gamer.

90

A fitting sequel to Arkham Asylum

Antix | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all Antix's reviews »

It's everything the first game was, but expanded. More enemy types, more gadgets, more upgrades, more Riddler puzzles, more classic villains, bigger area to roam in, etc. An absolute must for anyone who liked Arkham Asylum.

80

The perfect sequel, but still has its problems

Scorpy | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Batman: Arkham City's biggest flaw is that it tries to fool you. Arkham City is technically not a city at all. My biggest problem with the game was that I was really hoping I'd be able to fly about an entire living, breathing city as the caped crusader. However, this game's setting is very disappointing. Arkham City is dirty, lifeless and bland. The story is somewhat decent, and does a lot of fan service to comic book afficionados. The gameplay and combat is as good as ever, really adding bulk to the game where the other parts fail. It's great looking but not fantastic, and the music is decent.

Arkham City is the best sequel you can make. Somewhat bigger than Arkham Asylum and much more refined, Arkham City's biggest problem is that it's not nearly big enough to warrant more than 10-15 hours worth of play.

90

Everything that a great sequel should be

boris73 | Dec. 31, 2012 | See all boris73's reviews »

This game maintains the incredibly high standards of the original. Visually, its a stunning game to look at. The voice acting is among the finest you will find in a video-game, and all of the dialogue is fantastic. One of the best things about the original, was the combat, and its satisfying to see that its not just as good as the first, but the developers managed to improve on it. It is more fluid and the range of moves (allowing for multiple enemy interactions simultaneously) have been expanded upon without becoming overbearing. This is easily some of the most satisfying combat you will find in a game. The boss fights are fantastic as well, creating some very memorable moments (I loved the clayface battle, but they were all exceptional!).

The addition of an open world at first seems a bit overwhelming, but you soon get used to it, and making your way through the environment through grappling and gliding is a lot of fun. There is also the fun riddler trophies and puzzles to find and solve, which is a highly enjoyable diversion from the main quests.

And speaking of the main story... I feel this is where the game is at its weakest. It is still very good, and I really enjoyed the Joker storyline, but I feel that in opening the world up and making it free-roam, the game loses some of its tighter focus that made the first games story so satisfying and engrossing. But this is a minor gripe, the storyline for Arkham City is still a lot of fun and very well written.

Overall, this is a great looking game, with tight and intuitive controls, fantastically satisfying combat, great characters, voice acting, dialogue and story... and above all, a hell of a lot of fun that will really give you your moneys worth. This is definately a game anyone who loves action and adventure games should have in their gaming catalogue.

94

Continuation of the best game ever released on a superhero.

anonimokun | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all anonimokun's reviews »

The game is very detailed, with beautiful graphics. The city manages to convey your gloomy weather and foul, besides having very striking environments. The combat system has improved a lot compared to the first game. There are many more combos in the game, now it is possible to use Batman's gadgets during fights. This provides many new aspects to the gameplay An almost perfect game, missed little to get there. And thanks to the Riddler challenges, which are much more challenging and compelxos, and the New Game + mode the replay factor is very high, useful fo you back playing after finishing the game.

95

You Are The Night! You Are Batman!

CrimsonWizard | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Batman: Arkham City is the sequel to the highly praised Arkham Asylum. AC had a high bar to reach from AA's fantastic experience and it exceeds on all accounts.

Arkham City is built around a chunk of Gotham City being sectioned off into a prison town where prisoners along with political protesters and dissidents are thrown in at the dead of winter, left to fend for themselves. While the scenario evokes Escape from New York, you're not Snake, you're Batman, and the city does a far better job of letting you act out that role. Swinging through the Gotham skyline is really satisfying, with the graphics detailing a gritty, decaying world rife with thugs eager for a shot at Batman.

The game is also very respectful of Batman's many incarnations. The story is very dark and thrilling like the current Batman movies, but also has some of the fantastic voice acting of the Bruce Timm cartoons, and nods to comics such as The Killing Joke for it's story. Keep in mind though, the Arkham games are their own universe, events might not play out as you would imagine.

Arkham City pays more than homage though. Rocksteady worked to improve some of the flaws of Asylum. There is more variety in the boss fights such as the Mr. Freeze fight, who learns throughout the fight and defends against your techniques, requiring you to learn and adapt in order to succeed. In fact, another improvement is that nearly all of the major characters of the Batman universe appear, either as their own side-quest or as part of the violent power struggle over Arkham City.

Ultimately, Arkham City is a glorious spectacle and a fun time. Hours upon hours of gameplay are offered between the plot, side stories, and the various Riddler challenges. Rocksteady kept what was good in the first game such as look, voice acting, combat system, exploration,and gadgets, but improved by expanding the game world for Batman and throwing more of his villainous foils into the mix. Whether you're a Batman fan, a fan of sandbox games, or just someone look for a fun game to pass some time, Arkham City won't disappoint you.

90

Perfect! Just like the first one!

Queiroz | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Queiroz's reviews »

I was really worried about the sequel because they have made such a great game with the Batman Arkham Asylum and to be honest i thought they wouldn't make a sequel in the same league of the first one. I was wrong, this game is absolutely amazing, they've improved the gameplay, graphics, and innovate even more with this sequel. I hope they make a third one and now i am sure that they won't fail.

96

I am Batman!

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Greatest comic book to videogame conversion EVER. If you've played Arkham Asylum and you were wondering how it would even be possible to make a better Batman video game given the constraints of today's graphics engines and hardware, well you wouldn't be alone. Somehow, WB have done themselves proud and not only improved the combat mechanics, stealth mechanics and core gameplay mechanics, but they've also come out with a much more thorough and amazing plot. This game has to be experienced. Once I started this game I couldn't stop and had to keep playing for the 20 hours it took me to finish the main storyline and about half of the side missions (took another 6 hours to finish all the riddler missions). You will get sucked in. You will become batman. You will laugh, you will cry, you will even begin to question whether Batman is doing the right thing. Simply put, this is the single must play for 2011 probably only losing to the Witcher 2 in required gaming. Also the catwoman extra missions and change in combat mechanics are great and work seamlessly with the storyline. 9.6/10. Cannot wait for the next iteration.

96

Very good sequel

oginer | Dec. 28, 2012 | See all oginer's reviews »

If Arkham Asylum was an awesome game, this one is even better. The combat got some improvements, the city is quite bigger than what the asylum island was, and much more detailed. The game is also less linear. If you liked the first one you'll love this.

The only drawback is that you need a really powerful card to run it in DX11 mode, although the difference with DX9 is not that big, it has some nice graphic additions.

Highly recommended, a very good example of how a sequel must be done.

100

The greatest superhero game so far!

alexxkkapricorn | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all alexxkkapricorn's reviews »

After Batman: Arkham Asylum, gamers' hope on well made hero games was back, but I don't think any of us believed games could be better than that one! At most, we expected something of the same level, or maybe just a little worse; but Rocksteady did an impressive job with the follow up, Batman: Arkham City. Once again taking the role of the Dark Knight, gamers had at their hands the chance to fight crime - and supervillains such as the Joker himself - and use even more gadgets than the previous game allowed us to. Also, not only several amazing Bat-toys were given, but the new set - a whole Gotham City district, known as the Arkham City prision - even granted us with the ability to glide from building to building, feeling deeply how it is to take the role of the dark vigilante. With extremely well responsive controllers, the combat system kept itself as great as previously, but with some new tweaks, such as the use of new gadgets, like the freeze granade, which just enhanced the whole experience. Platforming is also great, due to the awesome controls. As for the story itself, Rocksteady did a great job. Enticing, the plot dives deep within the darkest places of Arkham City, allowing us to play even with characters such as Catwoman and Robin - the last one only on the Harley Quinn's DLC pack. This is a great game that neither fans of the bat or of action games can just let it pass. So, don't take any longer: go and play it!

90

Best Batman Game

DukePaul | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Arkham City was the game of the year for me, Rocksteady Studios did a good job with his universe and giving him all the things that make Batman one of the best superheros of all time.

The gameplay is like a little sandbox game, you need to do missions in a district ruled by the Hugo Strange, the streets are full of criminals and to combat against them you have all the famous gadgets from Batman and of course a great set of combos, but remember Batman is better when he is hide in the shadows, so this is a stealth game too.

If you like this hero from DC, you need to play this game.

90

One of the best Action-adventure games ever!

fable2 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

There have been many superhero games over the years. Some great and some not so great. In 2009, Batman Arkham Asylum blew us away with excellent gameplay, excellent story, and excellent graphics. So there were high expectations for its sequel, Arkham City. Those expectations were meet! Arkham City adds to the fun gameplay along with a rich city and enough side missions to make it far more addicting than its predecessor!

Story- 8.5: Arkham City's story is great but is also its weak area, only because everything else is so great. The story is very intriguing. All of Gotham's criminals having been thrown into a district of Gotham now turned into a super prison run by Hugo Strange. Hugo has something special planned for Arkham City. Along with that Joker has his own grand scheme. Throughout the story you will run across many villans including Penguin, Mr. Freeze, Ras' Al Gul, Bane, Deadshot, Solomon Grundy, and more! The story is great, but it isn't as good as Arkham Asylum's. Specifically, the climax and conclusion were disappointing, especially when compared to the previous game. It feels like their are two climaxes, one with Hugo and followed by one with Joker. The climax with Hugo was excellent! It was intense and with a expected but yet awesome surprise. I would have been satisfied if it ended then. But it is then followed by a climax with Joker. It was good, but not great. There is a fun boss fight and a strange twist, but having right after another climax. One climax is all a story needs. Don't forget that the story is still great!

Gameplay- 9.5: The gameplay is excellent!!! Combat is intense and varied, stealth requires skill and careful planning, and simply the ability to fly around a atmospheric, dark playground that is Arkham City! The entire gameplay requires skill and brains. Combat is difficult and you have to act fast. For stealth, you need to plan your attack carefully and die if you make a mistake. And their are plenty of Riddler challenges to test your mind. There are some really great boss fights! The most memorable for me were Mr. Freeze, the final boss, and Ras' Al Gul.

Graphics- 9.5: The city is visually stunning!! It is one of the most atmospheric worlds ever created! The animation is excellent! And there are almost no glitches! That is very rare!

Overall- 9.0: Batman Arkham City is one of the best action-adventure games ever made! This is a must play! "Do you know why? Because It's Batman!!"

97

An amazing lesson about how a sequel must be!

hannibal_king | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all hannibal_king's reviews »

Arkham Asylum was a great game, it looked almost amazing. And Arkham City showed us how they can improve that amazing game to a higher level. This is the best Batman game ever and the best superhero game ever. As we are Batman to have a open world game is just a Batman fun could ever want. I just can't imagine what it would be like if Rocksteady make a third Batman game. I hope they decide to do!

90

Batman!

Angeluzian | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all Angeluzian's reviews »

You are Batman. You are Badass. This is by far the best batman game there is. I really love this game, the fighting, everything! It looks very good and has well made gameplay mechanics. A must have for any batman fan.

95

Simply Awesome

atik12 | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all atik12's reviews »

It's the great example of challenging gameplay. Not like other games where difficulty only changes damage you deal or you can take. It changes whole gameplay experience. Side missions, Riddler trophies and even DLCs are well designed and rewarding. Arkham City is worth every cent and it's a must buy game.

90

This game should set the standard for every super hero game!

Uledrenn | Dec. 19, 2012 | See all Uledrenn's reviews »

An outstanding game. Like asylum, this time with more gadgets and even better combos. Use more advanced technologies to your advantage. Riddle Secrets are back again and this time its not only with critical thinking but you also have to use your gadgets.The individual components of Arkham City are crafted and beautifully polished. The mouse and keyboard control is brilliant and well implemented for those of us that don't like gamepads. Presentation and artwork is fantastic and a real experience. The freedom of movement offered is also escellent for an action game and this game can be recommended to people who don't usually go for action games. This game is simply amazing, even if you are not a Batman fan, it's worth it.

95

This game rocks

jbjmed | Dec. 16, 2012 | See all jbjmed's reviews »

As said in other reviews, this is a great sequel to a great game. Batman Arkham City is a lot of fun to play have racked up close to 60 hours just roaming around and doing all the side quests. The story line, just like AA is great and all the villains have their place. Can't wait for the next one this is one franchise that I will continue to follow.

93

An adventure you would not want to miss

Madafix | Dec. 14, 2012 | See all Madafix's reviews »

How often does one find an opportunity to solve crimes and riddles just like a world class detective would? Not that much, really. In fact almost every video game that is based on a comic book series is doomed to fail. That changed when Batman Arkham Asylum was published. Is the next Batman game worth a try?

That's a silly question, really. Of course Arkham City is worth it. Everything that made Asylum great has been implemented in AC as well. It's a definite 'must buy' for every fan of Batman series. In fact these two video games are more Batman-ish than Christopher Nolan's The Dark Knight trilogy.

In Arkham City there is so much to do. Aside from story missions you can save citizens from criminals, solve Riddler's puzzles and so much more. And if you thought that the base game had it all, then GOTY version will surprise you with more challenges, story based missions and so on.

Arkham City allows the players to step into the shoes of our beloved caped crusader. And for that alone it is a grand experience.

95

Best Superhero-Action game

Xibalba | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

explore the new city of Arkham, use the famous gadgets of the bat-detective,affronts the best villains of the DC world of batman, nice and stunning combat animation with combo system. a must have game for all lovers of the bat and for action game

97

Awesome game so far

insane11 | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all insane11's reviews »

This was one of those games I knew would be amazing before I even played it. Following on from Arkham Asylum I thought that Rocksteady studios might have a hard time trying to teach an old dog new tricks. However they managed to up the ante and create one of the most stunning game worlds I've ever been a part of... That's why the Arkham Asylum and City are GOTY's :-)

90

The good and the bad

zengenn | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all zengenn's reviews »

The game is stellar. The gameplay is very diverse and rewarding. The level design is awesome and the transition from free roam to a location is very well done. The sound and voice acting is incredible. The story is engaging . Graphics and character models are good looking.

The bad: -Game for Windows LIVE ...yes, it's that bad. Activation problems, Win 8 incompabillity (there is a solution, though) -Game crushing bugs (eg: Steel Mill grey screen after fight ..spoilers so beware..I could not pass it and continue the game, and tried the solutions from the official forum. Maybe it was bad luck ) -No real solutions for those bugs from the developers

Conclusion : Well worth it. A great gaming experience . And with some luck the bad aspects will not show :)

89

My first Batman game

PAAAUUULLOOOH | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all PAAAUUULLOOOH's reviews »

I think Batman Arkham City is a good game good graphics and a big game with a lot of gameplay hours i cant say to much but what ican say is buy the game on greenmangaming! and have a lot of fun with this awesome Game.

97

One of the most satisfying gaming experiences ever made

MalekTaktak | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all MalekTaktak's reviews »

I have never been really a fan of Superhero games like Spiderman, Wolverine or Superman from Marvel but this.. this is one of the most elaborated, fun, smartest and greatest games that have been ever released.

You play as Batman, Catwoman or Robin. (depending on your advancement in the story) The first thing you'll notice about this game is that it is free roam based in Arkham City, an abandoned part of Gotham, which differs from the usual linear settings in superhero games.

You'll be able to use lots of Sophisticated Gadgets and tools whether you're solving a puzzle, infiltrating a or fighting some bandits, that are unlocked over time, but a portion is fairly available from the start. You'll also be able to take down enemies while in Predator Mode and driving them insane!

Detective Mode also helps in Riddler's Puzzles, or to detect enemies/hiding places/tech stuff to break.

I won't talk about the Story since there's lots of speculation and spoilers, so let's talk about:

The voices: The actors have really surpassed themselves, whether in a cutscene or in gameplay, you'll feel like watching a movie.

The music: One of the best factors; the soundtrack sort of makes the game, well-composed, sometimes adrenaline-rising, captivating and fitting with the nature of the Caped Crusader's Adventures.

The characters: Each character has his own traits, description, perks and specialities, and the different personalities/behaviors of each make them act so alive and interesting unlike what we would have seen in some other game. Going from the Joker, The Penguin, passing by Poison Ivy, Harley Quinn until Two Face and Mr.Freeze. They'll all here, and even hidden/new ones.

What should have been a depressing and sad ambience turns into action-driven drama pretty fast.

Overall, this is a must-buy for everyone (over 18) since it feels a lot more mature than your average superhero kiddy game and involves, despite the looks, a lot of reflexion and frustration. I have skipped Arkham Asylum first, then I realized that this one was ultimately better.

I am surprised by how unknown this game is to the general gaming community.

94

Best sandbox game.

julio77777 | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all julio77777's reviews »

After the excellent Arkham Asylum it was difficult to imagine how they would top that, and yet they did. They did an amazing job in creating a game where you are the Batman in a city infested with criminals. You are free to explore the infamous Arkham City the way you want. Combat system is as fun as ever and the svilain casting is impressive. If you like sandbox games or Batman this is a must buy.

92

Best superhero game

Takeshi_K | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Takeshi_K's reviews »

Batman: Arkham City has it all.

An amazing storyline. Really feels like something out of Batman: The Animated Series - just 10x. Great gameplay, flying around AC is just super fun. Charatcers and voice acting - this is where the game really excels. So many interesting characters and sooo good voice acting. Delicious for a TAS fan.

I personally felt like a kid on Christmas when I was playing this game when it got out on October last year. One of the best experiences playing a video game.

80

A Great Sequel

Jayse | Nov. 27, 2012 | See all Jayse's reviews »

After the success of the original they have taken feedback from the uses and improved the game with an "open world" type experience, lots of gadgets and familiar characters. Definitely worth the buy if you feel Asylum didn't satisfy all your caped crusader needs. If you have yet to try Arkham Asylum then you can still dive right in here, though you are missing an also great game so make sure to try it out at some point.

92

Superhero Series Opinion

Madalin18 | Nov. 20, 2012 | See all Madalin18's reviews »

Batman Arkham Asylum is the first in the series of the Batman Arkham games and unlike most games based on a superhero series it does justice to the Batman series. The gameplay of the game has various different aspects to it to keep you busy, you'll spend most of the game fighting enemies which uses a Freeflow Combat system which means you have to get as my hits on enemies as you can without them hitting you back which is fairly simple to start with as all the enemies can be taken down by punching them until they fall over but later on in the game this doesn't work as the enemies change (E.g. They gain armor meaning you have to stun them before you can attack) The game also includes plenty of climbing up and around buildings to get to objectives as well as detective sections where you have to find evidence within a scene to help you find the next goal. The controls for this game are simple to understand and the game lasts plenty of time so you get a lot of game for your money.

90

Batman !!!!!!!!!!

Bolo | Nov. 19, 2012 | See all Bolo's reviews »

I'd heard a lot of good things about this game so when I saw it on sale I decided to give it a try. The graphics are great and I was surprised how well it ran on my computer (I have a low-mid range graphics card). Gameplay wise it's a combination of stealth, fighting and metroidvania style exploration and it really makes you feel like Batman - you have to plan how you are going to take out a room full of enemies, or you will die quickly. My one gripe is that detective mode, which is used to track enemies and solve puzzles, is almost to useful to turn off, and as a result I spent much of the game looking and almost entirely blue environments

95

A fantastic sequel

Cavalieroscuro | Nov. 15, 2012 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Batman Arkham City takes all the good things from Arkham Asylum and enhanced them with new elements. First,now you can explore a whole, new city (instead the Asylum), full of secrets (like the Riddler's trophies you can collect, each one represent a challenge for the player),you have new gadget (but you can use all the old ones, of course) and there are also many side-quests, like the Azrael and Hush ones, that are very nice to play. Graphic is pretty much the same (but on PC,thanks to DX 11, is much better then consolle version), the soundtrack is very good with some epic themes like the ones of Nolan's movies and there are also a lot of extra stuff in this Goty edition. You can beat the challenge using Nightwing and Robin, or you can confront Harley Quinn right after the end of the game on the new DLC (it's only two hours long, by the way). Arkham City is a great game even for people which hate Batman character....otherwise,if you loved the first game,buy this one,it's much better!