Reviews for A Game of Dwarves

70

Fun little DK lookalike

boesgaard | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all boesgaard's reviews »

Its a neat little casual game. I find that i miss being able to structure the dungeons better and the building quickly becomes a digging for resources where ever they are. Storywise it dosnt really have that much to offer. Game mechanics are decent. You'll play this game for a while and then move on. If you're looking for a casual fun game to spend some hours playing you've come to the right place. Good fun for your buck.

65

A lot of potential.

Quibb | July 6, 2013 | See all Quibb's reviews »

A game of dwarves is a charming game that is filled with many laughs and enjoyable scenes. The game features enough levels to keep you playing for hours and then a sandbox mode for those looking for more. Despite this however, the game is lacking in gameplay. Although there is plenty of content, most of the levels play out generally the same and require you to spend much of your time simply waiting for more research and your dwarves to level up. The levels aren't challenging, but simply time consuming. decorating your dwarven settlement to make it look pretty can be enjoyable, but the benefit for it is next to nothing. I enjoyed the game, but feel it had too many levels for how much actual gameplay there is in those levels.

72

Casual

DanielZo0 | June 12, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

This game is really great for its price and is basically a updated version of Dwarfs Fortress. Its really easy to get into and is very casual. The game also requires an activation for it on steam and the total download is about 1.4 GB/s. The game is really enjoyable and I can casually play it while doing other things at the same time. Also if you buy it now there's additional free content in the in-game shop which is pretty nice. The art style is interesting and the story is very humorous. This game is definatly worth the 10$ and i love it. There were some minor AI issues but its easy to overcome them and for such a cheap game its not that big of a deal. Definatly get this game if you're into games such as minecraft and strategy/management games.

75

It is similiar to Dungeon Keeper, but don't expect DK!

McDoenerKing | June 6, 2013 | See all McDoenerKing's reviews »

I bought it one late night and suddenly it was noon... what happened? I got addicted to this game! It has simple but yet good looking graphics. Its gameplay is easy to understand and is fun. Unlike DK, where you could only dig in one level, you are able to dig deeper into the ground more similiar to Dwarf Fortress. There are a lot of different rooms to be built and units to try out. So it never gets boring. The huge issue I have with the title is, that it is flooded with DLCs. Some DLCs are purchasable in online stores like GMG or Steam, but most of them are only available via their ingame store. Personally I'd say make your mind up if it is not against your principles. If not you got yourself a fun addictive game!

When reading comments about this game keep in mind, that most people expected a Dungeon Keeper or a Dwarf Fortress and are made that it isn't. So do not have false expectation and enjoy this game for what it is. ;)

89

Fun and Casual

draculrosu12 | March 3, 2013 | See all draculrosu12's reviews »

This game is really great for its price and is basically a updated version of Dwarfs Fortress. Its really easy to get into and is very casual. The game is really enjoyable and I can casually play it while doing other things at the same time. Also if you buy it now there's additional free content in the in-game shop which is pretty nice. The art style is interesting and the story is very humorous. This game is definatly worth the price and i love it. There were some minor AI issues but its easy to overcome them and for such a cheap game its not that big of a deal. Definatly get this game if you're into games such as minecraft and strategy/management games.

70

Dig and build

igzaustion | Jan. 8, 2013 | See all igzaustion's reviews »

AGoD is really fun to play. If you like games like Dwarf Fortress and Dungeon Keeper, the gameplay is engaging and entertaining. Even the graphics are fun. At the same time, you quickly run out of things to do in this game. Dig a lot, fight a few monsters, build a nice base, dig a little more, expand your base and you're done. It seems the developers will keep adding to the game for a while, and it won't cost you too much, so overall this game is worth buying, but it won't be your favorite game, at least not for long.

84

Very addictive

oginer | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all oginer's reviews »

I found myself playing for hours the first day I got it, unable to stop. I haven't experienced that in a game in a lot of time.

The idea is very interesting, it reminds me of Dwarf Fortress, although more simplified. You basically have to mine and build stuff to progress through each level (each level can take several hours to complete).

Dwarves AI is sometimes not the best, but it's tolerable, nothing game breaking, and enemies can cheat by teleporting, those would be the 2 worst things of the game.

Overall a very fun game, highly recommended.

85

Very fun game

dla911 | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all dla911's reviews »

If you like Sims plus city building, then you will love this and just love the cute little dwarfs then your in the right place. The game has a lot of depth, with the many levels you can build on and expand your city, Very fun game and will keep you playing it for hours. the camera takes time to learn but as soon as you know it and understand it you will love it.

77

I love to Dig!

Wizardino | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Wizardino's reviews »

Who dont like to dig and build? In this game you are a Dwarf prince, and your objective during the campaign it's to build an happy underground realm for your dwarves, with food, decoration, traps... In some ways this game reminds me Dungeon Keeper (well here you are the Good), and this is a good point; but the are some mechanics there are not very well implemented, for example the possibility to dig "up and down" and not only at the same level of your base. Another problem it's an excessive micromanagement: your dwarves need to eat, but they are not so intelligent to return to your base when they are hungry: if you dont build a table near them when they are far away, the death it's inevitable. But for 9 euro it's a good purchase

75

An awesome evolution of Dwarf fortress.

DukePaul | Oct. 30, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

If you played Dwarf Fortress, this game is the same but with better graphics, the 3D gives the game a new dimension.

The game is like a city building management sim focused in the depths, the home of these Dwarves.

You will have to dig, collect gold and build structures and of course, fight, there are various job classes that your dwarves can be assigned like workers to harvest food, builders to craft furniture, and scholars to research new technologies and the fighters will learn their skills on practice dummies but you need to build them first, becase you need to have strong fighters against orcs, goblins and more.

I highly recommend this game.