Reviews for XCOM: Enemy Unknown - Elite Soldier Pack

70

Useful, but not neccesary

Mandemon | July 17, 2014 | See all Mandemon's reviews »

Elite Soldier pack used to be a pre-order bonus, but is now sold separately. So, question is: is it worth it?

Kinda of. While it certain adds nothing mechanically, offers nothing new to the gameplay, the aesthetic changes it brings are something I find myself liking very much. Alternatives decos for armors, colors and such, they really help to build this individualized team.

It also helps in normal gameplay, surprisingly. Since you now have larger color palette to play with, you can color the soldiers so they are easier to recognize. For example, having Support class soldiers white, Assault black, Snapshot Snipers as green and Squadsigh Snipers as yeallow, Demolition Heavies as red and so forth. This helps you to quickly look over the battlefield and asses your forces and where they are.

All in all, if you had no problems with the vanilla XCOM, this DLC adds very little. If you like customizing and want something to better differentiate your soldiers, this DLC is for you. Especially if you can get it on sale.

70

Helps make the game more your own

taigatsu | Feb. 4, 2014 | See all taigatsu's reviews »

Perhaps it seems silly to spend a bit of money just so you can play dress up with your troops in XCOM, but being able to further customize the appearance of your soldiers really helps you personally invest in them. In a game where you'll be leading a small platoon of operatives and guiding them as they develop, cheering with each success and lamenting every loss, that kind of involvement goes a long way. You can easily play through the entire game without ever having to worry about how your units look, but it's surprisingly enjoyable to spend a bit of time giving everyone a bit more personality and individuality.

82

Useful and fun but a bit expensive

indinellow | Aug. 19, 2013 | See all indinellow's reviews »

The DLC makes it easier to color code your classes or to make your soldiers more personal, to give them that special something. But it is also a bit expensive for armor paint jobs and helmets. I personaly love it since I love this kind of stuff, being able to customize evrey soldier exactly how I want to. For example making the armor color of the guy who always misses pink. For people like me this is just pure awesome, but it is definitely only for those who take a special interest in their soldiers appearance, and so most of the other people can just ignore the DLC since it doesn't give new content or missions.

70

A bit over priced.

ShadowViper0010 | Aug. 17, 2013 | See all ShadowViper0010's reviews »

While it is over priced and doesn't actually effect gameplay, if you enjoy the game and get that weird attachment to certain soldiers, and want to support the developers, it's worth it. You get to add that little bit of awesome to the way a soldier looks and get that much more attached to him/her, and be that little bit more sad when he/she dies. Sure, the $5 price tag is a little expensive for something like this. But, if you still enjoy playing the game, and you want to throw the devs some cash, then this is the way to go.

71

Not Worthless

chivshiv | March 3, 2013 | See all chivshiv's reviews »

For basically the price of a coffee and muffin you get a nice customization package. Is it necessary? No. Does it add to the game? Yes, giving your squads more personality is fun and adds to immersion.

For the record I didn't find the description misleading: 1)One of your new recruits when you start the game will have the old flattop hair cut. No where do they say you'll start with an extra recruit. All recruits are "new" at the start. 2)No where do they state you'll get new armors to research/build. Only visual upgrades...like they said. 3)You some extra colors. No more, no less...like they said.

Also FYI, there's a great texture mod over at the XCOM Nexus.

It gives the soldiers a more realistic look, and its free :-) PC only though

85

Perfect for some.

BazookaSamurai | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all BazookaSamurai's reviews »

I really enjoy the Elite Soldier Pack. Character creation and customization is one of my favorite aspects of any game and XCOM: Enemy Unknown is no exception.

There are around 30 armor tints and several new armor types/tweaks that really help to define your soldier. I tend to name my troops after family members, friends and acquaintances so being able to choose colors really helps me make a stronger connection and makes me enjoy the game that much more.

My only complaint with this DLC pack is that you only get one new hairstyle and no new faces or voices. Faces you can find in the form of mods online but I would like to have more than 9 voice options for my soldiers.

Complaints aside, I really enjoy this DLC addition and recommended it to any other creation enthusiast.

20

Probably useful, but massively overpriced

NoxVenator86 | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all NoxVenator86's reviews »

I can see the benefits of being able to colour-code your troops, but charging £3.69 for that luxury? When you consider that several multiplayer DLCs were released for free for a popular recently-nominated-best-coop-game title, £3.69 is rather a lot.

80

Useful, but it's not for everyone

Guardian412 | Nov. 13, 2012 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

I got this DLC when I preordered XCom. It’s a fun thing to customize the characters and the armors, especially if your characters grow to your heart (Even if they may fall during the next mission, which is a huge possibility.). This DLC comes with about 20-30 color sets and an alternative set for most of the armors. If I recall correctly only one of them doesn't have an alternate version. This DLC actually gave me the chance to create groups, Alpha, Beta and Gamma squads and make a visible difference between the groups to easier identify the characters and the group they belong to. But that's me, as I love the details and as I said, I got this DLC for free with my preorder. It gave me fun during my 80+ hours of game and this is the reason I gave it an 80%. But would I buy it if I wouldn't have it? Honestly, I can't say for sure. This DLC gave me more freedom in the game, was very-very useful during my XCom stories, but maybe its a bit overpriced. But this is the well known curses of DLCs. In my opinion if you love XCom, and if you love to customize your soldiers for fun, or if you're a collector of great franchises and love to get every single DLCs, like this one, I bravely suggest to get it. Otherwise, maybe it’s not for you.

50

Very useful, but overpriced

dogthinker | Nov. 1, 2012 | See all dogthinker's reviews »

I think $5 to be able to tint your solider's armour is ridiculous, it's a good example of greedy DLC... That said, the tint customisation is actually one of the features that I wish was in the original games. An example of usage: rookie soldiers in red armour (more expendable, have a greater need to pick up kills for experience,) psi-ops soldiers in yellow. The result is less time figuring out who is who, more time having fun. I'm glad I got it for free with the pre-order. I'd be kind of annoyed if I had to choose between not having the feature, or being burned $5 for such a minor DLC.

71

Not really worth it

das_regal | Oct. 24, 2012 | See all das_regal's reviews »

The options here are purely visual. You are paying for some skins for troops that could die at any moment and need to be replaced. I got this from pre-ordering and didn't use it, because I saw no point in changing how a character appears who could take a bullet in the head and die for good at any point in time.

But, if you really like X-Com (and I do) it isn't a bad idea to buy this to show some support for Firaxis for making such an amazing game.