Reviews for King's Bounty: The Legend

88

Now I know why some people are hooked to HoMM!

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Because this game is a remake of the game that started the genre before HoMM was created and you can call me captured!

You control a royal treasure searcher who goes around the world doing quests and gathering armies while making sure there would be peace in all the corners of the land.

The skill trees are well made and the fights are challenging. There are a lot of environments to look around and many places where you will be challenged in your skill even later in the game. The graphics are a bit cartoony and very pleasant to look at. The quests are well thought out and don't feel like unnecessary chores. There are even quests which you can solve without using violence which is always a plus in my book.

Everything in this game is made to immerse you in its game world and if you like these kind of games even a bit it will likely hold you firmly in its grasp till the early morning hours.

Highly recommended!

85

Not quite as good as HoMM, but solid.

Lunarsilkdragon | Oct. 27, 2013 | See all Lunarsilkdragon's reviews »

If you've played a lot of Heroes of Might and Magic and are looking for something similar, this is the game for you. It's the best HoMM clone I have seen so far. I you have not played ane of the HoMM-games, I recommend you play them first and then move on to this.

Now don't get me wrong, this is a solid game, although the universe and atmosphere won't drag you in like HoMM did. The graphics are good, and I have not noticed any bugs. The writing is mediocre and could use some work, but I don't feel like the story is that important in this game, as you will be mostly fighting.

That brings me to the best part of the game: The Combat! The combat is as solid as solid can be. A great variety of creatures to command, great UI, great magic system (especially the "Chest of Rage", but you will find out more about that if you play the game), reasonably good AI that can challenge you and overall combat goodness.

Although the rest of the game just feels a bit like ride to the next battle, they make it worth and once you get started with the fights, it's hard to put down the game.

94

Royal Treasure Hunter Wanted!

Guardian412 | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

King's Bounty: The Legend is one of the finest remake of it's time and it is a well polished game with great replay value. It is a game what people of every age, - people with a young soul -, may love as it has a true fairy tale charm which is capable to grab you right from the beginning with its art and music, and then addictive gameplay, to then never let you go. A hero (a.k.a. Royal Treasure Hunter), a long fantasy fairy tale adventure (a.k.a. the Quest), dark woods, caves and icy plains to discover, a brave tiny army and hundres of evil enemies to face in a great Turn Based Strategy / chess-like game. The game itself is very long one with plenty areas to discover and dozens or even a hundred quests to complete. There's a lot to like in King's Bounty: The Legend as it is highly entertaining and a very-very-very addictive strategy and adventure game, which is successfully mixing the 21st century values with the design elements and atmosphere of the games of the 1990s.

97

Just wow

insanegentlemen | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all insanegentlemen's reviews »

So I got this game on one of the humble weekly deals and i was seriously surprised by how great and entertaining it is not only that but how clever it is, playing through this RPG/ tactic strategy which keeps amazing me at all the new features that keep popping up. The units are all great in there own special way but one of my favourite features has to be the chest of rage it improved and even changed my whole view on a game I loved even before I could use it. This is a well worth your money game which will not let you get bored I look forward to completing it and playing the rest because it is a giant game as well as great.

96

One of the greater strategy RPGs I got played!

chakad | July 31, 2013 | See all chakad's reviews »

was a bit skeptical of it (im a fan of heroes of m&m) but as i started to play it - i loved every part of it ^^ already finished it once (as paladin) now playing it again as mage!

the ai of the game is quit good (if you play on the hardest lvl) and the story is excellent! so id the music and graphics!

easy and fun to play interface and a lot of development option.

simple to say if you love strategy + rpg - you better get this one ^^

90

Never looked back to HoMM again

mahon | July 27, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

I bought it when I wanted something similar to the Heroes of Might and Magic series, and I think I found a decent alternative. Even just the number of hours spent playing this game vouches for its playability! The general concept is very similar to the HoMM series, but you don't expand your empire, don't conquer castles. You travel the land (well, many lands and islands), meet various NPCs, pursue various quests and battle countless enemies. And this all is accompanied by pleasant music and colorful nice 3D graphics.

I must say that since I found this one, I never looked back to the HoMM series. If the base game (very long, which is good for somebody who enjoyed it) is not enough, there are expansions adding new storylines and characters. Great game for a great price!

90

“Just one more battle!”

NucularS | July 21, 2013 | See all NucularS's reviews »

King’s Bounty: The Legend is one of those games you simply cannot put down. There is such a sheer bounty of creatures, army combinations, and battle strategies that you just cannot stop playing until all of the monsters that inhabit this colorful and humorous world are defeated. Oddly, the biggest problem with the game is that it is too long. When you think you have beaten the game, a whole new world unfurls, and then another and another. A single playthrough (hardest difficulty, 100% completion with all side quests) took me 160 hours – time well spent.

95

It's worth your money

prostbroj | June 18, 2013 | See all prostbroj's reviews »

As a fan of TBS games also as HoMM, this is the game I enjoyed all the way. Long story with tons of side quests and it won't get boring since they are all different. Lots of different troops, spells, massive world and my favorite, chest of rage. Only downside to this game is that at some point, it has to end. On normal difficulty it took me around 50 hours to complete it 100%, and for what I paid for, it's worth it. I recommend this to all TBS fans as must play game!

90

That's how you make remakes

Demilisz | June 11, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

Original King's Bounty was made long time ago and is actual precedesor for famous HoMM series. At first Katauri was making "King's Bounty like" game as they was a fans, but then 1C manage to buy rights for title and they could make their dreams true. And they show the world how you make a remakes.

KB: Legends is almost everything original was and even more. The only thing lacking is hunting wanted criminals, but you get much more in return. You can get married and have kids, you have four powerful rage spirits at your disposal, the world may not be open, but is large and game won't end quickly. And you can command practically every single man, elf, dwarf or creature you met. Be it noble knight, poisonous snake, pirate, powerful vampire or demon - you can recruit it for your army. You wander around the world in real time, you take and completes quests much like in cRPG.

When you encounter an enemy game switches to turn base tactical mode, vbery similiar to HoMM III, only in 3D and with free camera. And don't forget about boss battles with giant turtle, Spider Queen or a Kraken. Truly a great game and adventure.

84

All the quality of King's Bounty

mutsuriini | June 7, 2013 | See all mutsuriini's reviews »

Simply put, a great game. Hands down one of the better fantasy strategy RPGs I have played. I have invested many hours in this game I feel none of them were wasted. The pacing feels good, aside from a few points in the game where I wish there was a slightly faster means of travel, the pace the game sets is good as you explore and battle your way across the map. You will always be steadily growing stronger as the game progresses, as you acquire more armies, better gear and stats but unlike many games of this type you will always find a challenge, never reaching the point where you march a godlike army through all that oppose you.

The pace and the challenge are what make this game feel really good. You won't get bored with your battles. The constantly changing scenery of the game will pit you against different opponents and the vastly different unit types and battlegrounds will keep you on your toes as you will find that one stratagem won't be effective in all situations.

My one major issue with the game is the lack of multiplayer, pitting your armies against your friends would, in my opinion make this game better than it's HoMM counter parts. But even without a multiplayer component this game is on my list of favorites.

80

A TBS RPG

ROKET | April 1, 2013 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I want to start by saying this game is crazy hard. I couldnt to save my life progress or earn enough cash to consistently move forward in the game and while I did have fun and loved the exploration and combat - I still felt the difficulty could have been trimmed a tad.

Story: I cant say the story is very important in the game and while it IS there and you do get some voice work and a main quest - it all gets lost as you go through the world and game. Not exactly the high point.

Gameplay: Most of you time will be spent exploring the map with your main character saddled on a horse and galloping across the fantasy land the game is set in. You encounter hostile creatures and find different bits of treasure as you explore and there is definitely a sense of tension as you try to pic and choose your battles. The TBS chess like combat segments are fun but again - I have to elaborate on how difficult the game can be. The AI is ruthless and most stacks still receive a good beating after each battle.

Presentation: The game is pretty and stylized. You dont have spectacular detail or massive maps but you do get crisp character models and pleasant cartoonish graphics that give you something relaxing to look at as you explore.

Overall the game is alright but very hard. Also - it has a really hard time running on Windows 7.

80/100

83

A great strategy RPG.

Crazee | Feb. 21, 2013 | See all Crazee's reviews »

This game has elements of RTS in the main map and travel. Allowing you to avoid potential battles and get to treasures when needed.

It has a large amount of turn-based strategy, as this is how combat works. You can select up to five groups of units, from strong warriors to machines, ferocious creatures, the undead and many more. There is a lot of unit diversity, with each bringing their own skill-sets. The amount of creatures you can have in each unit is determined by your leadership, which is upgradeable as the game goes on, allowing you to build a huge army!

Combat takes place on a hex grid, which sometimes can have obstructions or treasures to keep things interesting. Each unit has it's own initiative, and the ability to delay its turn until everyone else has taken theirs. You have the ability to cast spells, which use up mana. You also have some extra abilities from your 'Chest of Rage', which grow in power as the game develops. These abilities us Rage as a resource, which is built up by participating in combat.

The player can level up, and has a skill tree which can be used by consuming runes. There are three different types of runes, one focusing on building a strong and vast army, one centred around intensifying your magical ability, and the other being a hybrid of the two.

The total gametime can be anything up to 70 hours. There is a massive world to explore. Unfortunately it can get slightly repetitive as the game goes on, but it does have an addictive, "just one more battle" quality to it.

Bottom Line: A solid Strategy RPG, that has the potential to entertain for a very long time.

80

Great choice for fans of the genre

Antix | Jan. 9, 2013 | See all Antix's reviews »

The Disciples and the Heroes of Might & Magic franchises were the two great pillars of fantasy turn-based strategies. Now you can count King's Bounty among them, too. The combat has the depth you'd expect the aforementioned games to have, the overworld however, is different. You traverse in real time and you don't have to worry about logistics and town management, making this a much faster paced and battle-oriented title. The writing is quirky and humorous, with the art style falling in line with that. You can pick between three character classes and they are different enough to alter your playstyle depending on which you pick. Beating the game on normal difficulty will take about 40 hours. All in all an excellent package that is highly recommended to any TBS fan.

80

Weird and addictive.Give it a chance.

fable2 | Jan. 2, 2013 | See all fable2's reviews »

This game has a weird kind of charm that really grows on you. At a glance it simply looks like a throwback to the Heroes of Might and Magic series which is a fair assessment. But there's a good deal more hiding beneath the surface.

The game is filled with enough RPG elements and funny quirks that it held my interest from beginning to end. I really enjoyed investing points (i.e. Runes) into my hero's talent trees and seeing the results in and out of battle. Managing spells and inventory items was also fun and always a simple task.

What really kept my interest though was the overall style of this game. The graphics were by no means groundbreaking, but they put forth a big and bright cartoonish style that really brought your army and game characters to life. Environments were exquisitely detailed and really gave a sense of being meticulously hand crafted. The story and characters you meet throughout the journey are usually pretty quirky and odd. You can even take a wife, have children, leave your wife and get a new one if you're into that kind of thing. I also found much hilarity in some of the dialog which I can only imagine was a result of the translation into English. Some dialog is just too ridiculous and nonsensical otherwise.

I enjoyed combat throughout the game but admittedly a little less toward the end. By that time my Mage was so powerful I could simply decimate the enemy before the first round was over and this caused me to want to rush through that content. That said I did spend 30-35 hours playing this game, and I probably won't play it again.

Get this game for cheap and enjoy it. Embrace its quirks, its odd and sometimes flawed dialog, and have fun with it. Now I'm on to to the sequel!

81

An interesting mix of RPG and RTS

panz3r88 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

King's Bounty: The Legend is an interesting mix of RPG and RTS. The player can't directly fight in battles, but uses some squadron and assist them using magic and spells. The player can choose the ability and the skills of the character in order to adjust its gameplay strategy. Thisgame is really deep and well done and it's really good for everyone who wants to try a good challenge

80

A solid revival and a good game in its own right.

nairume | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all nairume's reviews »

King's Bounty: The Legend is a fantastic revival of an older game that streamlines much of its mechanics into a game that is much easier to pick up and play than its ancestor. The tactical combat, the game's core mechanic, is simple, yet deep, allowing for infinite combinations of squads and tactics. The world exploration is also very well done, providing players with a really expansive world to explore, and numerous quests to discover and complete along the way. On the downside, while the writing is often supposed to be self-aware humor, it is poorly translated and ends up being a bit confused. This leaves much of the game's plot to be a bit of a drag, requiring the player to just roll with it and explore the world, do quests, and have fun with it regardless. King's Bounty is, overall, an effective game and, while not great, is good at what it set out to do.

71

Return of a classic

oginer | Nov. 7, 2012 | See all oginer's reviews »

If you enjoy Heroes of Might and Magic games you'll enjoy this game without any doubt. Keep in mind it's a single player only game, though. Overal it plays like HoMM with the big difference that moving through the world map is not turn based.

You'll see the combat is similar to the classic HoMM games (1-4), with an hex-based map (which I find better than the square based maps of HoMM 5 and 6). The game is hard, very hard. This is probably its main problem, since it feels quite unbalanced. You'll find yourself travelling back and forth looking for the next enemy you should kill, without much clue if you can beat a certain troop or not. So there's going to be a lot of trial and error there, since the designed path you should follow is not linear. This can get very frustrating.

Graphics are ok, although a bit generic. It feels quite generic.

Nice game overall, but there are better alternatives nowadays.