Reviews for Laxius Force

100

Wonderful game!!

robinvanvooren1 | April 16, 2014 | See all robinvanvooren1's reviews »

I love retro rpgs and this one is a winner. Its fun, and easy to learn. I like the larger print-easy on the eyes and that I don't have to push six buttons rapid fire to do something. Its a game I can play easily one handed. The story is rich and well done, the sounds play great, the graphics are perfect for the 8-bit era and there is no glitches, lag or crashes. It plays perfectly.

82

A surprise indeed

Reinhaert | July 7, 2013 | See all Reinhaert's reviews »

JRPGs are becoming a rarity nowadays. A good friend says it well: it's become a niche genre. I'm glad things like this still pop up. The fighting mechanics are good, even if they don't look very amazing and while the dungeoning can be a bit... annoying at the start, don't give up on it. It comes back and hits you in the face with amazing vigor.

90

Surprised!

fiddy187 | July 3, 2013 | See all fiddy187's reviews »

I picked up Laaxius Force at a very cheap price following a surprisingly high rating from it's players. Considering it's price, it wasn't much of a risk. If I was to judge it by it's screenshots, I would have passed this up in a heart-beat. Thankfully, I looked passed it, to discover an amazing game!

The game reminds me of the Pokemon series in a way. Top down, simple graphics, 8-bit sounds, etc, etc. However, it has a mix of Final Fantasy in terms of it's fighting style. Very hard to imagine, but I must say, it works well in this game!

The story is a very interesting one. The story of two warriors if you will, fighting against "The Order" - One being "Kratin" a skeleton, who has been cursed, and the " Djarma".

I have never previously heard of this series of games, so it was a welcome surprise to find such a gem at a cheap price. Currently, I haven't put much time into the game, but I plan on really sinking my teeth into this. The story, and characters already have me captured. Add to that it's interesting gameplay style, and funky, old-school graphics and sound, I'm very excited to see what this game has for me!

Well worth a purchase, not matter what price!

90

A great anime RPG

drafek | July 2, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

Laxius force is a clasic anime RPG. The art style is really good, it's anime. The story is long, you can get over 110+ hours of gameplay. The controls are easy to learn, but you've to focus. This is one of the only good anime RPG's on pc these days. Sound is great, price is good. Worth full price!

93

Anime!

drafek | June 20, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This game is a JRPG or just a RPG with anime elements. The gameplay is done really well, the story does have some nice twists which I really liked and didn't expect. The anime is done well, normally I aren't really a fan of anime in video games but this is done well. The music is addictive, it's made well. You'll get some hours out of this game! Pick it up!

92

Stunning!

Plasros | June 10, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Laxius Force is the first part of a stunning trilogy. It's a game full of excitement, thrill, fun and also tragedy. As a player you're not only playing this game, you're more and more living it as the story proceeds. In addition to the well developed main quest there are loads of sidequests to do and your party is constantly growing. It's a huge game that provides hours and hours and hours of fun and it's extremely addictive. People who love RPG games should definitely not miss that one! This is a very big game with a nice presentation and a great story. The pixel art is beautiful and the character artworks definitely add to the uniqueness of the game.

80

A good jrpg

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Except for Shining Force and fanmade games, there aren't many good jrpgs on PC. Laxius Force is one of them, so prepare yourself for hours of fighting, exploration and, sometimes, grinding to beat some bosses. The story isn't nothing special but is good enough to proceed through the game.

100

Amazing, outstanding, brilliant

DariaVento | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all DariaVento's reviews »

And a complete steal at the price. One of the biggest and most exciting adventure I've ever come accross, and I've played lots. Laxius Force is up there with Final Fantasy, if the dated graphics do not turn you off.

98

Absolutely brilliant!

Mazzellino | Jan. 9, 2013 | See all Mazzellino's reviews »

As far as old-school RPG go, this is easily one of the best. The advertising is true, the adventure IS truly epic and you'll get easily 100 hours of gameplay for the price it charges.

100

Amazing experience

oraenus | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all oraenus's reviews »

I love anime, and this game has all the anime I need. The art style alone made me buy this game a while back, and has kept me hooked. Great RPG mechanics along with art everyone could love. A perfect game, in my opinion.

90

An epic RPG

Carter83 | Oct. 31, 2012 | See all Carter83's reviews »

There may be better looking games, but if you are willing to invest the time and effort into Laxius Force, you will be rewarded by an absolutely epic and thrilling story, enjoyable gameplay and good replay value. There are many interesting characters, something like 100 quests, huge dungeons and plenty of turn-based battles and I don't think I could name many other games that are similar in scope. If you are up to the challenge, it's really worth playing. Just be warned, the Laxius Force saga is a trilogy of games, and together they can easily last for over 200 hours (probably much more in the end, because of all the replaying as one is trying to make a "perfect playthrough"), so experiencing the game to its full potential requires plenty of spare time...

95

Great game and not to be missed

ksjp17 | Oct. 31, 2012 | See all ksjp17's reviews »

The term "epic" is over-used, but it's hard to think of another one for this game. It has a gripping story which draws you in and characters which over the course of the game grow and develop. The game description says 80 hours of game play; it can easily be more than that if you do all the 100+ side quests and search out all the secret places. Every map rewards exploration and contributes to the overall plot/character development - no padding for the sake of it. Game play is varied, and paying attention to the specif qualities of weapons/gear will give a great strategic advantage in battles. Replay value is very high, and even on my 4th play through I still found something new. If 2D RPGs are your thing, then this is a 'must-have'.

80

Great JRPG

DukePaul | Oct. 31, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Laxius Force is like those console rpgs from the 16-bit era, with 2D colorful graphics and only text dialogues, a group of young people will save their world and a combat system based in turns.

This is the first game of the trilogy and the story is very interesting but also you have a lot of sidequests if you want to take a break from the main plot, I believe there are almost 100 quests or more so this will give you a lot of hours of fun, even the game has secrets that you will not discover in your first run.

If you want a game with memorable characters and a great story like the old Final Fantasy games, get this.