Reviews for Assassin's Creed III: Deluxe Edition DNS

90

Stealth Action at its best!

Snuggly | July 5, 2013 | See all Snuggly's reviews »

I've been with the Assassin's Creed series since the beginning but I have to admit, after Assassin's Creed 2 I got alittle tired of the series. That's why I was scared when they anounced a full sequell. I thought it would be as boring and repetetive as the 2 last games. Boy was I wrong! This game is one of the best games i've played in a long time. It was just the thing this series needed. The gameplay is great, graphics is amazing, the open world is vast and filled with things to do. The only downside to this game is that it has some minor framerate drops here and there and it also has some minor bugs. If it were not for those minor things (that doesn't even draw you out of the experience) this game would have had a solid 100!

81

It fell short compared to the previous ones

kalil | June 17, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

The game is good, but seriously lost the essence, The creed of the murderers made ​​sense as a group that was camouflaged, silent murderers that went unnoticed, but mixing a Native American in full revolution in American cities, because I can not imagine how to do it more striking, the only person hood, bow, arrow and tomahawk, not even used for camouflage colors!, worst of all, no match in camouflage and with the Indians, and with the Americans. Second and most important a game is to have fun but when the missions are boring or very extensive without ever getting tired ends as something concrete, for the rest the game is good, wide variety of missions scenarios, the most fun because obviously the naval battles, the character movements in the trees is great and maintains or improves some graphical aspects, little innovation, but appreciated the sound and text in Spanish language, the sound quality creates a good atmosphere even so expecting more than promised, maybe so fell short, however if you played the previous play this.

95

Great addition to Assassin's Creed!

lFlapjackl | April 18, 2013 | See all lFlapjackl's reviews »

Assassin's Creed III is a great addition to the franchise. Not only does it continue the story, but add entirely new settings and characters too. With engaging music, and upgraded graphics, you can tell they put a lot of thought into the setting. You can go hunting, and experience spectacular ship battles, of which could be a game of itself if they wanted. Money is also harder to come by so it's a challenge to upgrade your character but when you do it is satisfying. All in all, if you enjoyed the previous Assassin's Creed games, then you should enjoy this one just as much if not more with all the great new additions they have added. If the developers stay this path in their future games, I'm sure to be a return buyer and you should too. Come and experience what it means to be a true assassin in this new sequel!

97

Am I the only one

youknowwho77 | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all youknowwho77's reviews »

Well, I liked the game very much, it was interesting to play, the story was interesting. I liked how they showed us a new hero. Ratohnhake:ton. The gameplay is very fluid, and the new DX11 graphics feel right in place. The game world is extremely beautiful as I enjoyed exploring every part of it, doing missions, hunting animals, or collecting the game's treasures. The combat system is changed, but is not a problem to learn the new controls, and I like it. The naval missions are an interesting addition, and are very enjoyable to play. The only thing I didn't liked was the optimization of the game. The game runs like hell on a medium-end PC, and the player will have to upgrade his PC to play the game, although it won't run like heaven.

70

Somewhat disappointing

Antix | Feb. 9, 2013 | See all Antix's reviews »

At first glance, Assassin's Creed III does what a sequel should do: improve over its predecessors. You'll immediately notice how much easier it is to control your character. He wades through crowds effortlessly, only requiring one button to run. You no longer have to bother with locking on in combat, and the combat moves themselves just feel smoother overall. Assassin recruits now have unique appearance and personalities and aren't just random people. If you liked the optional objectives from Brotherhood onwards, you'll be glad to know that you can restart from checkpoints now even if you blew it. There are no longer countless treasure chests scattered around cities, now there are only a few, but with worthwile contents inside; while collectathon junkies can still look toward the mostly pointless feathers and almanach pages. Feels like the developers did their homework. However, that sensation quickly wears off.

You start the game with a fellow named Haytham. He is charismatic, ambitious and confident. After the agonizingly long prologue ends though, you'll take control of adult Connor. The bait and switch only serves to reinforce what a weak character Connor is. He is an incredibly naive and often downright annoying guy, who sometimes just gets pushed around by his father like some lapdog. Another thing that will become apparent as soon as you are left to your own devices, is that the settting Ubisoft picked this time around is extremely lackluster. Instead of awe-inspiring cities with grandiose landmarks, you get small and boring towns. Adding insult to injury is that now you have to play a tedious underground maze exploration minigame to unlock their fast travel points.

Where the Ezio games were packed to the brim with optional content, Assassin's Creed III feels barebones in comparison. There's just not much to do in towns after you liberate them. Gone are the loads of faction missions and activities, you'll only get a few boring fetch quests and assassinations are dumbed down to just random people who walk among crowds instead of being unique scenarios. There are some hunting missions in the wilderness, but these are 2 minute affairs padded by the fact that you have to just travel through the big, empty and boring place that is the frontier to your destination each time. Most of your optional content will come from your home ranch where you solve the problems of the locals but it feels like a Little House on the Prairie feature game rather than Assassin's Creed. Money doesn't come in spades like it used to; you will have to earn it by selling the produce of your ranch. However, you do that via one of the most awful and cumbersome UIs ever designed. A final saving grace to the side content in the game is the naval minigame. This is one of the better minigames not just in AC, but in any game, but alone it does little to salvage this aspect of the game.

Where the main attraction in previous games were the amazing cities and the wealth of side activities, this sequel, despite improvements to controls and some mechanics, seems to strip down the franchise right where it matters. Still a decent open world game in its own right, as a sequel, it is somewhat disappointing. And as a final note the game was incredibly buggy. I ran into a bugy almost every 5 minutes. From NPCs spawning in walls, to UI elements disappearing or Connor flying up in the sky after grabbing a ledge, this was the glitchiest AC game to date.

80

Kill American History: Deluxe Edition

Sayoblade | Jan. 30, 2013 | See all Sayoblade's reviews »

Ok, first off, this is a fun game.

The movement and combat remind me a lot of Batman AC, and this is one of the highest praises I can give a game. Graphics are amazing, controls are smooth and the story... well that depends.

If you an American brought up on American history you'll get a kick out of all the locals and the characters, not to mention the little twists everywhere giving you the "true" history. If you not an American (yes there are people out there, trust me) you'll be bombarded with names and event that the games makes you feel like you SHOULD know and not really know why they are significant, making you feel like your out of the loop on the story.

Story... well, its kind of "pulled-by-the-nose" row of missions where YOU highhandedly change the fate of the USA, even if you get the feeling your really on the wrong path 3 minutes into the game, no choice you CHARACTER thinks its a good idea, your just along for the fights...

So, FUN game, great controls, great graphics... Mhhh story and characters.

35

Very disappointed..

MalekTaktak | Jan. 28, 2013 | See all MalekTaktak's reviews »

This game promises a lot and yet only offers huge letdowns:

First, there's the new combat system, which is ridiculously easy to handle and requires little to no effort to get rid of an entire army rather than stealth kill every single one of the soldiers since they just go chivalrous and attack on a one time basis.

Then there's the story elements, the main protagonist has no character at ALL, the whole plot feels flushed down and lifeless and really bores you the first few hours of the game, you'll find yourself just going around the map and killing mooks randomly rather than go by the poorly elaborated storyline, plus the characters, who don't feel the same as they did in AC2, you will not actually feel any likeness or hatred towards any of the good/bad guys, since they are total robots merely being there to fill in the gaps and perform the tasks required to advance the plot. There is no appeal or fun factor here.

Also, the crafting system, to make it harder, the developers thought it would be a brilliant idea to increase the prices as the game goes and the protagonist gets richer, wrong: paying a ridiculous amount of money ($500) for a barrel or some apples, where's the consistency?

I must also mention that the developers removed the ability to grapple and hurt civilians, where's the fun of just one hit killing guards and not being able to slaughter dirty peasants or beat them to death?

Despite this, the game has a few good sides, there's a new weather system, animal entities, children NPCs, pretty decent graphics, a hunting system, naval fights and new weapons.. But this doesn't really compensate.

After going through the first sequences of the game, I was really depressed and lost all faith in the AC franchise, I refuse to acknowledge this opus even exists, why is it there in the first place?

68

American Revolution

Xibalba | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

Slightly better then Revelations, declining story, bugs and broken mechanics. I really thought it was going to be turned around with this latest installment but I was very disappointed. the combat seems much more simplified, great graphic and artistic recreation of the american revolution, really arcade and funny Naval quests ( better of the tower defence from revelation)

95

whow... just whow!

Naviigator | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all Naviigator's reviews »

I played most previous assassin's creed games. I liked the combat, you feel like a total badass. I didn't like how the combat felt completely different from the parkour / free climbing parts. Assassin's creed 3 fixes this issue nicely. The combat feels more mobile, probably due to the running assassinations (you run, kill someone and keep running after the kill). The combat is still very rewarding, making it easy for players to pull off some great moves. I do think the game is rather easy, you can kill 25 soldiers who wield bajonets without even losing half your health. The setting is quite nice, I like it how you can make money by just hunting animals.

My graphics card (nvidia 200 series) had an issue with the character hair in several cutscenes. After I updated to the newest beta driver it was fixed however. (or maybe later in the game this issue does not appear anymore).

Overall I would like to recommend this game to any player who likes a game with a nice story, good action, nice graphics, and a lot of things to do.