Reviews for Rocksmith™

100

If you have a guitar you NEED this.

SinisterDragon | March 15, 2014 | See all SinisterDragon's reviews »

Rocksmith is one of those games that comes along once every few years that completely changes the idea of what a video game be. I had wanted to learn guitar for a long time but didn't want to pay for and go to a tutor and the internet can only teach you so much so when this game was announced I followed every piece of news about it I could find. It teaches you step by step everything you need to know about your guitar and then teaches you Guitar Hero style how to play a number of famous songs and slowly increases the difficulty as you begin to score higher points in each mode.

I still have a lot to learn before I can join a band but Rocksmith has thought me so much and I am having a lot of fun learning through it and would recommend it not just to people looking to learn guitar for the first time but also to those who just want to improve.

83

Great way to make you learn guitar

gforcesa | Dec. 28, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

This game is AWESOME.If you really want to learn how to play a guitar this is an easier way to do so.If you have played the Guitar Hero games you will really love this one.Plug your electrical guitar and start playing.Of course it will take some time to learn but its definitely worth the try.

75

A good first attempt at changing rhythm games

csnyman | Nov. 22, 2013 | See all csnyman's reviews »

Plug in your electric or bass guitar and start picking those strings. This game attempts to change the way we approach rhythm games by allowing you to play with real instruments. The RealTone cable makes installation a breeze and gets you going in no time at all. The game has a good selection of popular songs and the game dynamically adjusts the difficulty based on your accuracy. This is a very good way to learn to play guitar, but can be infuriating at times if you are a complete novice. Many DLCs have been released which contain music for various artists. All in all this is a solid game which will keep you entertained for a long time. Just keep in mind that this is not the easiest of games for beginners.

80

A nice learning tool

Bliddo | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all Bliddo's reviews »

Rocksmith is definitely not a game per se, it's more of a learning tool, and as a learning tool can stand on its feet if you don't expect too much from it. You start by playing a small amount of notes, and little by little the game engine keeps adding notes to each section of the songs. It's a clever way to avoid frustration. One thing to note: it doesn't really teach you how to play guitar in general, but it teaches you how to play certain songs on the guitar. There's no music theory behind, so it's not a tool for guitarist, but it sure is fun to learn your favourite song.

80

Amazing!

Plasros | June 18, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Game of the Year! Finally a game that translates into real-world benefits. While it might not make you a rockstar outside the game, it's teaching you all about the fundamentals, movements and coordination in a very fun way, I took guitar lessons 10 years ago and after 6 months I didn't feel like progress was made so I quite. In just 4 hours of Rocksmith play, I feel like I know more about Guitar then in those 6 months of lessons. I'm a firm believer that music education should NOT start with theory, music lessons, reading music... that's an excellent way to bore someone to death... Start with just playing, keep them interested and then learn/refine your skills years down the road. Rocksmith delivers on this perfectly. A+ on the dynamic difficulty and track selection. I'd like to ding a point for cost of downloadable content ($3 per song) but I've got months or work to do before I master the decent sized library already. I have zero lag and the guitar tuning, effects and overall sound is fantastic... I'm impressed and the last time that happened with a PC game was probably Valve's original Portal game 10 years ago.

96

Game of the year!

DanielZo0 | June 10, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Game of the Year! Finally a game that translates into real-world benefits. While it might not make you a rockstar outside the game, it's teaching you all about the fundamentals, movements and coordination in a very fun way, I took guitar lessons 10 years ago and after 6 months I didn't feel like progress was made so I quite. In just 4 hours of Rocksmith play, I feel like I know more about Guitar then in those 6 months of lessons. I'm a firm believer that music education should NOT start with theory, music lessons, reading music... that's an excellent way to bore someone to death... Start with just playing, keep them interested and then learn/refine your skills years down the road. Rocksmith delivers on this perfectly. A+ on the dynamic difficulty and track selection. I'd like to ding a point for cost of downloadable content ($3 per song) but I've got months or work to do before I master the decent sized library already. I have zero lag and the guitar tuning, effects and overall sound is fantastic... I'm impressed and the last time that happened with a PC game was probably Valve's original Portal game 10 years ago

89

A must have for every guitarist or guitarist wannabe!

Liverpool1971 | May 29, 2013 | See all Liverpool1971's reviews »

This title takes gaming to a whole different level. Here you can really learn something. Nobody can say that you are wasting your time playing it. Practising on guitar can be repetitive and boring, but not here! Every technique is well explained. And finally there is that nice colletion of songs and mini-games that you can't stop playing to get better and better. It is simply a must have!

82

The evolution of music

DukePaul | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Rocksmith is a step foward in the future of the musical games, this game allows you to plug a real guitar and it gives you enough tools to learn how to be a real guitarist once you get used to the note reading system, but of course the most importat thing is you will have fun learning.

The game offers minigames to improve your play, with practice and perserverance you will find this is a refreshing experience if you compare it with other musical games.

The standard tracklist can be better but the game has a lot of DLC songs.

In my opinion Rocksmith is one of the best games of the year, It doesn't matter if you never played the guitar before, this title is for new players and experts.