Reviews for LEGO Lord of the Rings

85

The heroes are back! in a lego way..

XGpredator | Jan. 2, 2014 | See all XGpredator's reviews »

Lego Lord of the Rings is a pleasing game, allowing players to immerse themselves again, and in a great way, in this landmark universe, making us rediscover the cult film scenes. We'll find there a similar gameplay to the previous episodes, but which still allows some freedom and small innovations, including the introduction of a all new craft system and a small cute inventory, LEGO Lord of the Rings is totally worth your money and time.

77

LEGO Lord of the Rings - review

Neapolis47 | Dec. 4, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

LEGO The Lord of the Rings has a solid component free roaming far more convincing than what was seen in the adventure with the DC Comics super heroes . Middle-earth becomes a huge hub to explore in search of the next destination ( appropriately indicated by a path , customizable transparent bricks ), while between one level and another, there are the adventures of Aragorn , Frodo and their companions . The player then follows the story through a real journey . LEGO The Lord of the Rings does not merely offer a wide explorable area and eighteen levels, but also takes on the appearance of a kind of sui generis Role Playing Game with a range of extracurricular activities . Hidden a little ' everywhere hub and individual levels , often acquired by solving puzzles intuitive , the player can collect bricks in Mithril needed to forge a series of objects, such as weapons or armor that can be equipped by the various characters . Some of them enhance their skills , others give new ones, such as the ability to open passages otherwise impractical. Many of these items must be forged if only to solve the various missions entrusted by the inhabitants of Middle-earth , real "quest " RPG by requiring the finding of objects , or even before, the fundamental recipes to manufacture them. Most of the quests are completely optional , but they provide a reason to revisit the areas and levels already explored : after all, the aim of the game is always the same , namely to collect hundreds of thousands of LEGO bricks with which to unlock bonuses and new characters.

89

Great relaxing game

Exdb | Nov. 12, 2013 | See all Exdb's reviews »

Being a Lego series game fan and a Lord of the Ring fan my mouth watered at the chance to play the best of both worlds. Thankfully I was not disappointed.

The usual Lego jokes in the story line and the cute characters are well done and if you love the Lego series then this game is (if not the best) one of the best.

I feel the open expansive between missions is perhaps not as great as other Lego games for example Lego Batman 2. Additionally, like all Lego games you cannot play Co-op online which I feel is always a shame.

73

Nice tribute

rjb789 | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This game does a good job at representing the much loved Lord Of The Rings series in lego form. The expected great cut scenes are all here and it really adds to the brilliance that this game is. You work your way across many new missions and see plenty of interesting locations from the books and films. The graphics really help to boost this game's sense of realism and the fact that you are really there. However the game play, although it features good ideas, does get repetitive and you will find yourself hunting for studs more as a necessity as opposed to you actually wanting to do it for the games sake and your own gain. This game is a nice tribute, but not the best lego game out there.

75

A fun little title, nice co-op

mattpringle | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all mattpringle's reviews »

Me and a partner enjoyed playing through this co-op on the same PC. The environment and characters are very well done and the story is, well, LOTR. We enjoyed playing the main story but didn't bother with going back and finishing all of the side quests.

A good buy for fans of the film and the fact that you can co-op on the same PC is a nice little bonus.

80

Brilliant game.

JetShredz | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all JetShredz's reviews »

The LEGO games have always been known for their funny, laid back approach to gaming. Mix that with Lord of the Rings and you have an enjoyable experience of Middle Earth.

The cutscenes in the game are hilarious, no other word for it. Certain favourites include Boromir's fight against Lurtz and Gimli, people who have played the game know what I'm talking about when I mention the dwarf.

Sadly though, I came across a couple of bugs while playing which did ruin some of the fun. Such as in Osgiliath, Frodo managed to get stuck inside a piece of rubble and I couldn't progress to the next area without him. A shame really.

Even though a few bugs exist, I do recommend this game for lovers of LEGO, Lord of the Rings, or to someone looking for a nice, casual game to have a laugh on.

86

Simply pure fun

Kradath | July 15, 2013 | See all Kradath's reviews »

The lego game series has always been extremely fun in all its iterations and settings used. The newest addition is simply great and does basically all it wants perfectly.

In coop the lego games are a pure blast and the humour nearly always succeeds, even though I'm quite critical concerning humour in games.

You can travel middle earth on a nice, nearly seamless big map to all the big landsites of Middle-Earth and do the many missions portraying, somewhat, scenes from the Lord of the Ring trilogy.

Highly recommended.

96

Best Lego Game ever

Schinderhannes | July 8, 2013 | See all Schinderhannes's reviews »

Not only those who love LotR and Lego will love this amazing game, although the perspective makes especially in coop sometimes problems. I played it twice in co-op. And we laughed deep fruity laughs about these slapstick scenes.

66

A fun way to experience the LotR story...

TBTheBritish | July 6, 2013 | See all TBTheBritish's reviews »

At its best, this game is a must by for fans of the LotR film series (the game is based on the films) and fans of TT's Lego games. If you have only a passing interest in each however, you may not find this game entirely to your liking. In many ways, it drifts from the style of previous Lego games in that you don't have the opportunity to go back into previous areas with different characters and explore for secrets. Instead, this game uses an inventory system that doesn't quite seem polished yet.If you're a fan of the LotR series, you may enjoy the cutscenes but find the gameplay repetitive (as it often seems). This is why I recommend it only to fans of both

It is also important to note that this game only supports local multiplayer on the PC. No online multiplayer is available. This feature alone gives the game a huge hit to its score.

64

Ok

jaco1022 | June 13, 2013 | See all jaco1022's reviews »

Got it on steam, it fun and you should buy it if you like LEGO games

89

Great game and great fun for everyone!

britishlad | June 12, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

Just like every other game, LEGO Lord of the Rings is just plain fun and made for everyone. If you have played various other LEGO games you will realize that it is the same year after year, kind of like Call of Duty. Except LEGO games have a different story each time, with different elements that don't feel the same. This time you are playing through the entire LotR trilogy, the only downside to this is that the story length is pretty short (4-6 hours long), but that is made up for the detailed LEGO world of Middle Earth that you can free roam and find various missions, items, treasures etc. There is a lot of replay to be had with this game and I found it to be surprisingly longer than any other LEGO game I have ever played. There is also one small detail that can be a little odd. The game uses the audio and dialogue from the movies. So when the characters talk its exactly the same as from the movies. It takes you out of the game at first because it doesn't match LEGO characters, but after a while you get used to it, and forget about it. Overall this game is extremely fun and worth playing for any fan of the LEGO series or lord of the rings.

85

My favorite lego game.

CallmeTeh | June 10, 2013 | See all CallmeTeh's reviews »

You can tell Traveller's tale really put some effort into this game. It's great and very addicting. the cutscenes are very well done and it has all the quirky humor of previous lego titles. Really fun to blast through middle earth as the various characters with all their different abilities unlocking all the items and collecting blocks, only downside is i was hoping for some kind of online CO-OP but it only had split screen.

90

A fantastic journey through Middle Earth

The_Hostage | April 29, 2013 | See all The_Hostage's reviews »

If you're a fan of the previous Lego games or of Lord of the Rings, you will thoroughly enjoy this adventure. Humorous with tons to do and millions of studs to collect, the varied levels, huge open world map and loyalty to the films is outstanding. Some of the design choices, such as the jumping puzzles and the obscurity of some of the collectibles stop this game being perfect, but these are minor in comparison to what they get right. Fun, time consuming, and beautiful.

84

Best Lego Game So Far

nibbihak | April 28, 2013 | See all nibbihak's reviews »

Travelers Tales and Lego continue to pump out quality games! (even though they're liscensed) In my opinion Lego: LotR is the best Lego game so far. The visuals are fantastic and the blocks look great in the fantasy world. Gameplay is exceptional and even better with a friend. Tonnes of content and unlockables; even Tom Bombadil (who Jackson chose not to include in the films)

90

I am blown away.

ThirdMonkey | April 26, 2013 | See all ThirdMonkey's reviews »

The guys over at "Travellers Tale" sure know how to make games you instantly fall in love with. I have not seen a LOTR game which has been created with so much love for details as this one yet. They tell the original story of Frodos adventure to destroy the One Ring pretty accurately to a degree, where you could put together all the cut scenes and have a Lego LOTR movie. They really took the time to find out what makes LOTR so special and imported it in the beautifully minimalistic and cute Lego world. By using the original Audio snippets from the movies, the game feels a lot more real while being set in the Lego universe which at first feels weird but you adapt to it very fast. The humor in this game is just excellent. You will find yourself laughing in many occasions about the mostly slapstick gags the game presents.

This game was clearly made for the whole family. Even people who haven't read or watched LOTR will have a whole lot of fun with this game and also the hardcore fans will be satisfied by the detail of the game. If you are not playing this game you are really missing out on something!

72

Not bad, but grab Lego Batman 2 instead

MarkDeejay | Feb. 17, 2013 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

Well... it's mostly like Lego Batman 2. Lego LOTR uses an open world as well and follows the story of Frodo and his companions in order to destroy the One Ring. Lego Batman 2 felt fresh because it didn't try to tell a story that had already been told. We all know the story of LOTR. We've all seen the movies by now, right ? While the gameplay is shallow but fun, it's nothing groundbreaking. And might I say I'm a big LOTR fan, so you can imagine my disappointment when I started playing this. The classic Lego humor is still there, but mostly subtle though. And the gameplay is solid as always. But since it's a retelling you kinda know what to expect, making the whole thing... less exciting. Yeah yeah, there's no other way to have created this game, I agree. But still... By the way, the low quality voice acting truly bothered me. It's like they ripped the sounds straight from a DVD or something. Lego LOTR shows us that not every tale can or should be made into a Lego game (Lego Avengers does look pretty cool, however...). For now, I think you're better off playing Lego Batman 2.

78

LEGO Lord of the Rings - review

carlyle | Feb. 16, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

LEGO Lord of the Rings might seem a perfect game, but despite being the best LEGO game ever has defects: first, a certain repetitiveness of the fund, beyond the battles, spectacular excesses, the views represented are essentially the same as seen in the movie on a reduced scale and dotted here and there with objects and buildings made ​​of bricks to destroy all. Hidden a bit 'everywhere hub and individual levels, often acquired intuitive puzzle solving, the player can collect bricks in Mithril needed to forge a series of objects, such as weapons and armor that can be equipped by the various characters. Some of them enhance their skills, others give new ones, like the ability to open passages otherwise impractical. Many of these items must be forged if only to solve the various missions entrusted by the people of Middle-earth, real "quest" from RPG that require the discovery of objects or even before, the fundamental recipes to manufacture them. Most of the quests are completely optional, but they provide a reason to revisit the areas and levels already explored: after all, the purpose of the game is always the same, namely to collect hundreds of thousands of LEGO bricks to unlock bonuses and new characters.

90

One of the greatest LOTR games!

itsNicktim | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all itsNicktim's reviews »

It's really amazing game! I love lego style and especially i love LOTR world. These two things do awesome things together. It's one of the best lego games. And it's even more fun to play with a friend! The only thing i disliked is the camera. Sometimes it can be very annoying when you play with a friend. Especially the 3rd person camera, then it's very easy to lose your friend.

66

Good, but glitchy

eXistenZ | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all eXistenZ's reviews »

It is my first Lego game, after having spend years playing with the real stuff. The game is great to pass the time away, but unfortunatly a lot of glitches and some poor design fails will irritate you sometimes. I discovered a bug right at the end, preventing me from reaching 100%. The game is fun, but not so much fun that I want to do it all over again (and encounter that bug again). Not worth it at it's full price.

90

Yet the Greatest in TT's Lego Series.

DonVercetti | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

I am a huge fan of the series and followed them from the start with the Lego Star Wars games. Kudos must be given to TT for keeping up to innovate the Lego genre. The Star Wars games were awesome and so were the Harry Potter ones that followed. Now we're finally placed in Tolkien's famous world, in Lego Style. This is yet another great, if not their best title so far. Compared to the earlier games there's a little lack of characters, as the Star Wars universe for example had lots more characters. However this title is way better improved, greater looking graphics and smooth running. The levels are extremely fun and the experience is one you can not miss! Get this game!!

90

My First Lego Game!

ToRrR | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all ToRrR's reviews »

I was a little apprehensive when purchasing this game as the Lego games seem to advertise towards a younger age group than the games I’m used to playing. However, I’m very happy with my purchase and this game has been more fun than many titles I’ve played this year.

Firstly, I would recommend purchasing this game on the PC. Originally I purchased this game on my PS3 and was instantly put off with the frame rate. The PC has better graphics and no sluggish framerate that seems to be frequent on the consoles. Secondly, I strongly recommend disabling “Depth of Field” under the Effects settings, as this will remove the blurry effect from far away textures.

The game itself is great fun to play, there are short cut scenes scattered throughout the game which are essential small parts of the movies with a little humour thrown in. The sound is excellent as the voices and soundtrack used are taken from the films. The best part of this game however, is that it’s FUN to play! Collecting Lego blocks and meeting all of the LOTR characters in lego format and using their special powers is amusing and enjoyable.

There are a couple of negative points. There is a constant “connect second player” icon that flashes in the top right corner of the screen. There is no way to disable this and as I’m playing solo and have no intention of playing with a second player, it’s quite distracting. The controls with keyboard and mouse are quite difficult to play with, make sure you play this game with an Xbox controller as it is a lot easier. There are also quite a few bugs present, it’s clear that the game was rushed slightly so as to release it before Christmas. I’ve not encountered any groundbreaking bugs yet, however you may wish to note other players have reported system lock-ups whilst playing.

Overall as a big LOTR fan, it’s a great little game. I haven’t read the books or watched the films for a while and as a result I’m enjoying the ride down memory lane. I’m glad this was not released near the films as I fear it may have been LOTR overkill!

85

Fantastic Lord of the Rings game

Moskibear | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all Moskibear's reviews »

The game is child-friendly, but at the same time quite challenging and such a great trip for any Lord of the Rings fan. If you don't like Lego games, this one may change your mind, don't pass up on it if you have any sort of passion for Lord of the Rings.

My only minor gripe that some parts of the Return of the King part of the game could have been done slightly better, but with the entire trilogy being presented to you in this amazing manner (including a fully explorable Middle-Earth "open world map") this is easy to forgive.

Fellow reviewers already have said what was necessary, I just wanted to add my two cents to it.

88

A good preview for The Hobbit

DukePaul | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

The Lord of the rings franchise is back, with the new film "The Hobbit" and this game from the Lego franchise.

This time we will play the first three films with all the humour that Lego gives to his games, The game has about 80 characters of the books, the films or other videogames and the massive amount of unlockables will take you tons of hours to get everything.

The new Hub is amazing because is the Middle Earth, we will need to explore this land to find all the secrets. resolve puzzles and beat the bosses.

The game is very loyal to the roots of the franchise with recognisable scenes from the films and the amazing music, the difficulty is very low but this is perfect because the game gives enough variety for experienced players and the kids can play it without frustration.

Lego Lord of the Rings is one of the best games from both franchises.

86

Greatest Lego game yet.

fable2 | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

This game's graphics are the best from any other lego game. Characters are unique and the difficulty level has been raised. Cinematics are great, with the authentic voice of the actors. The are various funny moments on the game, but the main idea is the action and the attempt to follow the movies' path, which is done perfectly. The player's hub is Middle-Earth (the whole of it) and the quests you have to accomplish, the riddles you have to solve and the lego items to destroy are unlimited. Each character has his very own inventory where he stores items and weapons. An important point of the game is the blacksmith. You can find models for items in the Middle-Earth and then you can craft them there. These items can be used by any of the characters. For many of these characters there are more than one weapon from the very beginning of the game. Legolas' for example has both daggers and bow and Gandalf his sword and his staff.

I would recommend Lego: Lord of the rings to anyone and i can guarantee than not only you will not get bored, but as soon as you will have finished the game, you'll go straight to explore Middle-Earth as in any other Lord of The Rings video game.