Reviews for Chaos on Deponia

90

Point-and-click games don't get much better than this!

SilverWulf86 | Dec. 5, 2013 | See all SilverWulf86's reviews »

Immediately as you fire up Deponia, you're treated to hand-crafted 2D eye-candy with so much personality and life despite the static nature of the scenes that you forget you're playing a point-and-click puzzle adventure game and just get lost in the visuals and the story. Ah, the story. I absolutely love games with deep stories and some serious think-about-it plot devices, but you won't find that here. Now, don't get ahead of me too quickly. I'm not saying the story in Deponia is bad. The truth is that the story is detailed, yet pretty much as simple as it could be, but it wears those rags like a finely crafted Italian suit, not once allowing me to tire of the plot or the development. If I had to sum it up in three words, I'd have to say "Brilliance in simplicity". If you have any love for games like Myst, Tell-Tale Games' The Walking Dead, or even those room escape games all over the internet, you'll definitely want to pick up this outstandingly witty and entertaining trilogy, but please start with the first game "Deponia" before moving on to "Chaos on Deponia" and finally wrapping up with "Goodbye Deponia".

89

P&C gold

Gojko | Oct. 7, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

Story tells fate of Rufus. The decision taken by the board to sit on the sky-city of Elysium, which tells of the destruction of a beloved hero landfill causes that must again indent to work and save Deponia.

Game is quite long, even longer than original Deponia and gives you more fun then previous one.

2D Graphic design is maintained in the cartoon-style, characteristic of the study.

Sound is very good, and in combination with graphic they form a really great composition!

Buy it, and play it to the end!

90

Return to Deponia in style!

Pradlik | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all Pradlik's reviews »

Another story of the handyman and tinkerer Rufus on the amazing planet Deponia. The story is surprisingly clever and makes you both think and laugh. The humour is another important aspect - there's even more of it and it's sometimes really clever (quantum physics), sometimes really stupid (Rufus' dialoges and songs to himself) and sometimes really dark (the game isn't really suitable for animal lovers xD) but altogether there's lots of brilliant jokes and funny scenes and the game really made me laugh out loud many times. Finally, the challenges and tasks are still difficult and tricky but not that much if you talk to characters a lot and try to think a bit. Huzzah, let's wait for part three!

85

Great Game!

Plasros | July 6, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Amazing game with lots of personality! Puzzles sometimes have illogical solutions but in hindsight I just needed to be more observant. The creators are great at adding more and more layers of depth to puzzles so the first solution you come up with is only a part of it. I love how fresh every puzzle is, they never recycle elements. More hilarious moments in this one than the first (lollipop scene is priceless). Rufus seemed like a total ass in the first one but I'm really starting to like him and root for him, even if he's still an ass. Again the only issue with this series is some mismatch between audio and subtitles but it barely takes away from the experience since it only happens once or twice, pretty good for a translated game. A real gem for adventure games.

68

Great but overpriced

drafek | June 19, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This sequel is made pretty well, the point and click system is back. The puzzles are good. The gameplay is done pretty good. The graphics are doen well. The story is interested and will you take some hours to complete. The game is good but in my opinion it should be a little cheaper. I recomment this game but also suggest picking this game up on sale.

80

A true master piece!

alphalegion | Feb. 26, 2013 | See all alphalegion's reviews »

This is an amazing sequel to the original Deponia. As people know, the first game ended with a lot of questions to be answered, however Chaos on Deponia answers everything you wanted to know and more!

The story in this sequel just excels above the first by a mile! You again follow the loveable yet dim-whited Rufus around Deponia, still embarking on his quest to seek Goal’s love.

The art style and theme of this game are spectacular alone, and really feels like a traditional point-and-click adventure. A true master piece, with an outstanding story and setting.

Certainly not one to miss if you have played the first game, and to all those thinking of buying it, I suggest playing the first game before you play this one!

100

Epic game is epic.

PM_DMNKLR | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

Hilarity, check. Fun, check. Tons of moments that make you feel like you're interacting with an episode of Family Guy, check-check-check-check-check!!! If you don't like this game, then you don't like fun, or humor, or anything that resembles fun and humor. In fact, right now it makes me want to eat a Good Humor ice cream bar, and it's Winter where I'm at. Get it, play it, and prepare your colostomy bags because you're going to laugh so much that you'll pee yourself silly!

100

The best point & click

Stebsis | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Deponia was pretty good p&c game, but it lacked one thing, the ending which wasn't bad, but it ended way too soon and too suddenly, just when things started to get interesting. Chaos on Deponia on the other hand fixes that and delivers awesome adventure game that feels and looks original. Game is your standard point and click, you talk to many colorful characters, and collect, use and combine weird and really weird things to progress forward. Story has some nice twists and is all around interesting with really likeable villains. Graphical style is great, places you visit look different and they're beautiful. Puzzles also are top notch, some of the best ever. They're quite hard, but not hard enough that you have to resort to walkthrough like with so many other p&c games which sometimes seem to go out of their way to be so damn hard. Deponia 2 puzzles are logical and it seldom comes to the point that you exhaust every possible way to do things and only then figure it out by sheer luck, you really need to think at some of the puzzles, just don't skip the mini-games because they're really fun when you finally figure them out. As for the characters, Rufus is very likeable though a bit self centered. Goal's, the heroine, mind has been split to 3 parts and you have to persuade all of them, and all of them are really funny. And the best for the last, humour. The funniest game ever. There're so many real laugh out loud moments and all around funny, sometimes horrible too, stuff happening everywhere Rufus goes. All and all, awesome game, a must own game for adventure p&c game fans, and I just can't find anything really wrong with the game.

80

A good sequel

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This is simply the second chapter od the Deponia trilogy. Graphic, sound and gameplay are pretty much the same, so if you enjoyed the first title, well, you must buy this. Puzzles are easy enough but the game is still interesting thanks to its humor. It required me about seven hours to fully complete it, but I never got bored during this.

100

Rufus is back...

ZombieSlayer200 | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all ZombieSlayer200's reviews »

And about time too, a fantastic sequel to the first of the series, Deponia, I was never really a fan of the "Point-and-Click" game genre, but after playing these two games, I'm proud to say otherwise. Funny, playful, and a tad romantic, the story picks up where Deponia left off. The Puzzles are fun, and unique, and I was never bored, but had to consult a walk-through here and there to find that last little clue I would be missing. The art styles are refreshing and pleasant to view, gameplay is superb, puzzles are fun, was never bored from start to finish, story is amazing. 10/10 from me. -Zombie

85

A Great Continuation.

fable2 | Nov. 8, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

Chaos on Deponia is the Sequel to Deponia, in which we continue the story of Rufus the dimwitted protagonist with his adventure to save Deponia. Art design is as great as the first game, you really feel that you're in a "junk" planet while gazing at the scenes the artists drew, puzzles are actually better now, they have context now and aren't too hard, unlike the first game were some puzzles were simply outrages in terms of making sense, dialog is really funny and the story gets even more dramatic in the one, i heartily recommend playing "Chaos on depona", it's great adventure game that has great character. tip: make sure to play "deponia" first.

80

A nice sequel

TheRealMoremir | Nov. 1, 2012 | See all TheRealMoremir's reviews »

Deponia was a great adventure game, that suffered the same problem that Whispered World: we are so used to fast paced, instant action games, that we have somewhat lost the patience to enjoy slow things. But like those games, in Chaos on Deponia, patience comes with a reward. They are great enjoyable games that appeal more to the people that are looking to have a nice fun time where things don't blow up every two seconds. The hand-art drawn desing, the soundtrack, the humor and puzzles, they are all superb, but require you to spend time to fully appreciate them. Chaos on Deponia is a character-humor driven adventure game, much like Monkey Island, set in a wacky steampunk world. It takes inspiration in the tradition of Discworld (if you ever played it, or if you are a fan of Pratchett's work), and Ron Gilbert's games. The good news is that you can play it without any knowledage of it's predecesor, so if you haven't played it, you can still enjoy this one in it's full extent and then go and buy the first one.