Reviews for Sine Mora

67

Beatiful shmup.

Furrek | Sept. 17, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

Every shoot-em-up game I have ever played were simply - some had flashy effects but that's all. Sine Mora is probably first game that have so beatiful graphics. Every plane, every missile, every stage and boss is well made. What's even more amazing, developers didn't focused only on making a good looking game - Sine Mora is a really hard game and you will need to spent many hours to perfect some things, and even more to unlock every possible achievement. Even though there aren't many levels, you won't get bored with them. I'd like to say, it's a must have for shmup fans. Just remember one thing, that you will need a decent mouse or gamepad for this game. I had hard times playing it on my 5 years old mouse (it was too slow for game like this) so I had to play it with gamepad.

68

Some old school fun

darkyhbk | June 19, 2014 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Sine Mora in itself is a very enjoyable, old school-ish bullet hell game. The biggest plus is, by far, the graphic design: absolutely gorgeous. The colour palette is chosen with great taste, the environment design is top notch, with some very artistic touches, while effects such as explosions are delightful to the eye. The levels are also quite fun for the most part, and the boss battles are intense and rewarding. Some sections are extremely hard and annoying, and require a lot of trial and error, but once you get over that, the terrible, Hungarian only voice acting and the excuse of a story, you'll have a lot of fun playing this. It's short and action packed, just the way it should be.

95

Fight not only bad guys, but time. LIKE, LOVE, BUY NOW.

Unbenannte | Jan. 31, 2014 | See all Unbenannte's reviews »

It’s a very good game, I would say the developers did some great innovation. For the genre (horizontal shoot’em up type) they kind of smashed all the games out there, at least in my opinion. The design, the graphics, the idea, it’s all amazing, really gives a twist to this kind of games. The story makes sense, one of the best things is having to combat with time, that’s not new, but it makes less easy the game, and more fun. Lots of weapons, lots of levels, arcade mode, bosses, and lots more. If you like the genre, then buy it NOW, you won’t be disappointed! If it’s your first game of this type, then you couldn’t be in the better place. It’s cheap, and worth it, use you GMG credit and get a discount. Hope you like it.

90

Space Bison

Myzery | Jan. 7, 2014 | See all Myzery's reviews »

This is a fantastic Shmup with gorgeous visuals. The main thing that stands out about this game though is being a shmup it has well crafted story. Fans of the genre know the games aren't about story so I was pleasantly surprised. I'd recommend it to any fan of the genre.

80

Gorgeous shmup with a dark story and stiff challenge

DashKrimson | Dec. 6, 2013 | See all DashKrimson's reviews »

I'm always up for a new arcade-style shoot-'em-up - Jamestown and Raiden Legacy, as well as far too many MAME games, in my backlog can attest to that. So, when Sine Mora was announced, I decided to take a close look at the PC version when it released. What I found was a really pretty game with a forgiving difficulty curve on Normal difficulty, a weirdly dark and gritty war story populated by furry (but the good kind of furry - don't worry, you'll understand when you play it) characters cussing each other out in Hungarian, and unfortunately, an uninspired weapon upgrade system, enlivened somewhat by the ability to control the flow of time in-game - you can slow down the rest of the game, including bullet movement, while leaving your ship at normal speed, allowing you to dodge almost anything with ease, but only for a limited time.

Also of note is the way that the story mode progresses - it doesn't follow a linear path through the story's timeline, instead joining different pilots and their missions at different points in the story, presumably as a way to get you to use all of the ships rather than just a hastily-chosen default all the way through. However, most of the ships have similar firing patterns and upgrade paths, with only their limited-quantity secondary weapons distinguishing them from each other, and it can be hard to see their hitboxes in the fiery midst of combat. Furthermore, the way that the graphics have been done, lovely though they are, tend to blend the foreground and background too much - especially bad when foreground elements can kill you - and enemy bullets can get lost in all the chaos, leading to some unfair deaths. Also, power-ups and bonus tokens that appear when certain enemies are killed can and will just as easily disappear before they can be collected, which is troublesome because you lose weapons powerups when you get hit, and have to re-collect it before it vanishes off the screen edge, often leading to you getting hit again, or colliding with the foreground obstacles, causing you to lose more powerups, making you chase them again...sometimes, it becomes a loop of death that you can't escape from, leading to some cheap deaths at the worst times (like, during boss fights).

I don't mean to be overly negative here, though - whatever the game does wrong, it does a variety of things right, like those graphics - yup, they really are that yummy. The gameplay is satisfying, with even your intital peashooter feeling powerful, some loud and flashy explosions, and secondary weapons that don't just look good, but do lots of that good damage. Plus, slowing down time makes the game look even more beautiful, as enemy bullets fan out in gorgeous danmaku patterns - we ain't talking Touhou standards here, more like Cave, but it's still a sight to behold sometimes.

Yeah, the game is (sometimes unfairly) punishing. Yeah, the loveliness of the graphics sometimes makes the game more difficult. But, when put aside the game's positive qualities - its involved, surprisingly emotional story of ethnic cleansing and revenge, its smoothness and satisfyingly bombastic effects and sounds, its sheer graphical fidelity and stunning set-pieces - these are mere trifles that shouldn't deter you from spending good money on this game and blowing everything away with glee!

85

Sine me up!

syclonix | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all syclonix's reviews »

I don't love bullet hell games, but I downloaded the Sine Mora demo and had such a good time playing it that I bought it. The gameplay is difficult and challenging to say the least, but it is really fun and you feel a good sense of accomplishment every time you beat (or merely squeak by) a level. The best thing about Sine Mora is that it keeps things fresh and interesting. You never know what's coming around the next corner, except that it will be difficult. The bosses are imaginative, have a great sense of scale to make you really feel outmatched, and often surprise you in the way they change tactics just when you thought you had them pinned down. Moreover, I LOVE the environments! So many of these types of games look the same and have the same feel (Jamestown is another great exception) but Sine Mora has a wonderful and colorful sci-fi-meets-fantasy aesthetic that blends together really well with all the other elements of the game.

My only complaint about Sine Mora and the reason for docking points off the score is that it is punishing. I can be very difficult even on the easiest level, especially for new players. And while that's great for regulars of bullet hell games, it may alienate a lot of less experienced people and believe me, I want more and more people to be able to experience the delightful gem that is Sine Mora!

79

Well made, taking and replayable

SayEstLow | Sept. 14, 2013 | See all SayEstLow's reviews »

A modern shot'em up with horizontal scrolling. It's pretty, the story give a good rythm and the difficulty is well proportionned. If you're nostalgic of the old R-Type games, this one could provide you a bit of remembrance.

However, the nice graphics can make its readability difficult.

74

Very pretty and well made.

alexshopping | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all alexshopping's reviews »

This game has really well designed visuals that seamlessly merge the foreground and background. The can can be very difficult, but the "story mode" offers a difficulty level that is useful for those new to the shoot em up genre. The story is actually kind of interesting, and the Hungarian voice acting makes the world feel mysterious. I also like that when you are hit, you loose time (like in Time Crisis) instead of health.

86

Fun yet incredibly hard

TGloryGaming | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all TGloryGaming's reviews »

This game is as HARD as it gets. It is entirely unforgiving and just pure difficult. The story is weird and difficult to follow but that's not the point. The game beautiful mixes multiple genres and ideas into one game. I suggest you play the game if you are looking for a cheap challenge. Absolutely worth full price.

85

Ambitious, beatable, and really fun

scoi007 | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all scoi007's reviews »

Sine Mora is ambitious. It takes the shoot-em-up (shmup) genre and does some interesting things with it.

It puts story at the front of the campaign, with interesting and different character design, a complex (though somewhat confusing) time-travel storyline, and a lot of background of the world and characters that are optionally there if the player wishes to dig into them. The voiceovers are fantastic, the game visuals are gorgeous, and there are moments of actual surprise and emotion, which I never expected in a shmup.

The shooting and dodging is also pretty fun. Going through the story on normal (the easiest difficulty) is doable for just about anyone - even players new to shmups - and this is how it should be. The challenge comes from beating it again on harder difficulties or engaging with one of the other harder modes (arcade or score attack). There are only a few negatives to the experience: it's hard to tell what is background and what is foreground sometimes (dangerous when running into foreground will damage you) and it can be hard to learn the hitbox of your ship.

At the end of the day, Sine Mora achieves at least one of its ambitious goals: it allowed me - someone who before has almost never found anything but frustration with shmups - to have fun playing one.

90

Superb shoot em' up

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

Loving this game for something quick to jump into. May not be the best Shmup ever made but it has a few interesting ideas, like the ability to slow time in order to avoid catastrophe or grab an extra power up before it floats off the screen. Definitely suited to a controller and very easy to pick up. Graphics are great and stages are varied and interesting. A range of different craft with different sub weapons are also a nice touch. Boss battles are very frequent and there is an option to practice against bosses you have unlocked outside the normal game mode. Four difficulty settings will keep casual gamers and hardcore enthusiasts happy. The story line is very dark and adult which added substance for me. You can skip or fast forward if you're not interested or on your 12th play through. Worth the money for any fan of the genre.

90

Sine Mora - Don't miss it.

milktea | July 3, 2013 | See all milktea's reviews »

Shoot em up's have been staggering over the years. They simply haven't evolved in the gameplay department. However, Sine Mora is a amazing addition to this genre. The new mechanic of implementing time and not health. If you get hit you lose time that is needed to complete the stage. Once time runs it's game over. So it's very important to rush and dodge to obtain the high score and survival.

Also, you get to choose difficulty routes which gives newcomers and hardcore gamers a choice to play the game.

Overall, a worthwhile purchase for such a amazing price.

90

Well made and challenging.

jonvondom | June 23, 2013 | See all jonvondom's reviews »

Make no bones, this is a game that will kick your teeth in at times. This is ok as it's never cheap about it and will push you to improve your skill. The graphics and art design are both fantastic. the controls are incredibly tight, I never once found myself blaming the controls for my failure. The story is very interesting if not sometimes silly. For being "just a shooter" it has a lot of mythology to it's world. The music and sound design are pretty terrific as well.

80

Great game ships and shooting action combined

KellinCore | June 6, 2013 | See all KellinCore's reviews »

It really is a great memory for some ships and shooting games everywhere, enjoy those great moments. Enjoy it as it should be and really have a great game here

80

Great arcade

Demilisz | May 31, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

If you loved shhot em up games from the times you was asking dad for "one more coin" - you will love Sine Mora. Graphics is beautifull, time bending mechanic works flaweleslyy and even plot is quiet interesting. And when you complete game first time there is always another diffiuculty level that alters narration. Short, hard and worth the maney.

85

Simply Great

Emirasol | May 25, 2013 | See all Emirasol's reviews »

Sine Mora is a side-scrolling shoot em up/bullet hell, and a pretty good one to say the least. It re-imagines the genre, and makes it appealing to the newcomer, but also to the hardcore fan. No, it's not a piece of cake. At all.

It introduces a set of mechanics that work perfectly, the soundtrack is downright amazing, the graphics and the art style are gorgeous, and on top of it all, it has a great, dark, gritty story.

Yes, it has its fair share of problems, but the experience is absolutely worth the price.

Digital Reality and Grasshopper Manufacture did and amazing job with this game.

It's simply Great.

68

Nice game but nothing extraordinary

albero78 | May 17, 2013 | See all albero78's reviews »

I find that old-style shoot-em-'up are something that is really missing nowadays. When I saw this game on sale I though: ok let's give it a try. I have to say that I played it the first day and then left it. The game is fine, graphics are really ok, but it doesn't give you this sense of achievement and "I'll try once more" which was typical with this kind of games. Also the power-up and weapons upgrade are not as elaborate as I'd like.

So if you buy it, you might have few hours of fun, but don't expect much.

86

Awesomely hard and intriguing story

Chrisray | May 14, 2013 | See all Chrisray's reviews »

I absolutely love this game. Cheap as all hell, interesting if not screwed up character with deep flaws dealing with greater evils in spite of themselves. When you dodge round some of the levels in this game it can be very satisfying.

70

A hypnotizing side-scroller

Forceflow | May 13, 2013 | See all Forceflow's reviews »

This was one of the first side-scroller / 2.5D games I bought, and it was a pleasant surprise. The game is pretty brutal on higher difficulty curves, but that's what it's all about.

The action is fast-paced, and you've got a couple of secondary weapons to light your opponent up real quick - your health also functions as a time limit: get hit, lose time to get to the next checkpoint. It works well and really forces you to focus.

Some nagging about the checkpoint system though: some checkpoints are waaaay to far apart, which often makes for some frustrating replays.

What really shines is the environment design during the levels - the background details are amazing, and when the camera turns for a next action sequence, you really get to appreciate the work that went into the steampunk-inspired world

Also of note are the boss designs - you meet an average of 2=3 bosses per level, and they really range from great mechanical beasts to angry-looking trains. Lovely.

A recommendation, even if you're just starting in the side-scrolling shoot-em-up world.

80

Sine Mora - Not your typical SHMUP!

mungchung | May 11, 2013 | See all mungchung's reviews »

Fun twist to the shoot 'em up genre. Time bending mechanics work well to tone down the difficulty but this game is no way a walk in the park. Very challenging and big boss battles with multiple stages to defeating it. Any fan of this genre should pick this up! Took me 5 or so hours to complete the campaign and has good replay value with different game modes. Higher difficulty levels are a killer yet rewarding when completed. Sine Mora is a breath of fresh air to this genre.

76

It's A Good Shmup

ronburgundy | May 11, 2013 | See all ronburgundy's reviews »

This game is quite the fun little shmup. On PC, you are not going to get a better one right now, and if you are a fan of the genre, then this is a definite must. I would not suggest playing with the keyboard, for obvious reasons, so if you own a good gamepad, then this game will be exponentially more enjoyable. It introduces some neat ideas, such as "no-lives" where you just use time, and must complete the level before it runs out. It's a bullet heaven game, and be prepared to dodge a whole bunch of dots, but you already know that if you're a shmup fan.

80

Sine Mora brings back old memories.

codenamesky | May 4, 2013 | See all codenamesky's reviews »

Sine Mora is the poster child of all the video games we loved, praised and grew up with. its innocent, its fun, and it doesn't get bold and over itself. its a 2.5D shoot em up with a heart, and who doesn't like shooting things fast pace in the sky. I never played a game in this genre with bullet time so that is making it even more enjoyable. the enemies are various and the bosses are epic and crazily big, they occupy the screen with their massive arms and weapons and you feel the adrenaline rush flowing in you if you give this game enough time to get to you.

80

Fun shoot-em-up

joel_calderon | April 28, 2013 | See all joel_calderon's reviews »

The game, though not entirely unique, does provide a few hours of fun. It's one of those classic-esque shoot-em-up that forgoes deep, well-thought of story/plot in favor of unadulterated joy of blowing things up senseless. In other words, this is more like Serious Sam than Half-Life.

81

Shmups + Time abilities = Fun

kaj100 | April 5, 2013 | See all kaj100's reviews »

First, let's get the story out of the way. You don't play shmups for deep stories, this one tries to force one on you but it's not interesting, rather dark and pointless. Yes, dark with anthropomorphic characters doesn't seem to fit. The audio is kind of annoying, I don't like the sound of Hungarian, just a personal preference.

Now, the interesting part. Gameplay. Very good. I'd highly suggest a controller, it fits perfectly. I think it plays fantastically, very smooth and the mechanics available are not gimmicky. This added to the beautiful backgrounds and stunning areas, does make the experience very enjoyable.

Overall, I'd play this game just for the gameplay and skip the cinematics, you'll enjoy it much more.

84

Sine Mora - review

carlyle | Feb. 3, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

The gameplay that leaves part of the traditional style of the shooter to focus almost exclusively on the concept of time. The player will not have a predetermined number of lives to complete a level, nor an energy bar destined to fade under the lead opponent. The only discriminating between success and failure is the time to end the current scenario, an amount that increases gradually reaping havoc among the enemy ranks, but at the same time, decreases in proportion to the damage suffered. Each game will require so to find the right balance between "security" and the time available, where to proceed with a more sedate pace will save us from annoying yes contingencies, but inexorably consume precious seconds. Not enough, damage upgrades will lose offensive collected and reset the score multiplier.

83

Old school shoot'em up!

praggi93 | Jan. 24, 2013 | See all praggi93's reviews »

Sine Mora is in many ways a unique game with with great shooting mechanics like many other old school shoot'em up's. Great graphics, variety of ships and difficulty will lead you to stay with this game till the end. What makes this game unique however is the interesting use of the time bar- to stay alive you will have to kill enemies. The game offers lots of fun and interesting bossfights in its short gamespan, but offers some re-playability due to its varied difficulty. All in all, a great game worth your buck.

90

Unique Shoot-Em-Up

Hotspud | Jan. 12, 2013 | See all Hotspud's reviews »

If you're like me you miss the old school shoot-em-up games like Ikaruga. Sine Mora ("out of time" in Hungarian) is the modern embodiment of an excellent shoot-em-up. It has excellent graphics, variety of difficulty modes, different ships, and interesting game mechanics - instead of having a life-bar you have a time bar which gradually depletes. To stay alive you must keep destroying enemies. There are several stages, and lots of interesting and varied bosses. The game is not super long, but has much re playability with different difficulty levels and ship load-outs. A comprehensive leader board system helps you keep track of your progress.

Highly recommend this game for steam big picture and controller. Even at full price this is a steal and something that will last you quite a while. The only downside I can think of is the story might be intense for some people (there are some very mature themes and it is generally confusing) - but the story itself is far beyond anything you'd expect in games like these.

50

Great looking game, bad story

absro | Jan. 6, 2013 | See all absro's reviews »

The game looks really GREAT. However, I believe they were on some bad drugs when they wrote the story... you get bounced from one character to another, everything changes every 5 minutes, you can't understand anything. And sorry to say that, but the Hungarian language (for the audio) is one of the most horrifying things I ever heard. I can't play more than 40 minutes, because I start to have headaches :). I know that they wanted to make it sound different, but honestly I'd prefer Klingon or Orkish. 100 for the visuals, 40 for the story (at least they tried), 10 for the audio (the SFX aren't that bad)...

60

OK GAME

btc54051 | Jan. 5, 2013 | See all btc54051's reviews »

NOT IN ENGLISH, but for the price its a good game. its more like a game that was made 20 years ago but a good one. did not like the fact that it was not in English. I tried to look for an option to change to English but couldn't find it. it does however have sub text in english.

92

Buy this game now before it gets sold out again

Mufausa | Jan. 5, 2013 | See all Mufausa's reviews »

I must say, this is practically Suda 51's first PC game, even though his team worked with a european dev. I really hope that people can support this so that Grasshopper can see that PC gamers enjoy their games and hopefully in the future we can get other amazing Suda 51 games on PC.

90

They still make great shoot'em up games!

Queiroz | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Queiroz's reviews »

I bought this game for just a few bucks here on GreenMan and i wasn't expecting much of it because of the price paid for it but man, i was wrong, this game is awesome! They have made an excellent shoot'em up which in my honest opnion is a must-have for all old style shoot'em up lovers and new players. The graphics are amazing and they were able to innovate with this game with some realy cool features. Sophisticated story and a grim narrative. Buy this ASAP.

80

Innovative Shmup

Jorgel | Dec. 27, 2012 | See all Jorgel's reviews »

Lots of bullets, various ships and weapons upgrades. Those are the basic elements of almost every Shoot'em up game, but Sine Mora add some more new aspects that fit in it very well. With some very nice new ideas in gameplay, beatifull and immersive graphics, lots of enemies and a surprising good and quiet deep history (what is rare in this genre) Sine Mora is a very very nice and challenging game. The only con is the short campaing(about 2 to 3 hours), which is compensate by the others game styles, where you can spend many more hours trying to get some achievments.

81

Good old style shooter

panz3r88 | Dec. 17, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Sine More is a good horizontal shoot'em up that reminded me the good old times when I played these kind of games in the arcade cabinets. This game is quite simple and fun , you simply have to destroy all the enemies and avoid to be killed. The graphic is good and the levels are full of enemies. Like in classical shoot'em up you will always try a level many times to achieve an higher score

70

First impressions

stavmixer | Nov. 19, 2012 | See all stavmixer's reviews »

After seeing some trailers of the console version some time ago I was pretty hyped about the game. The graphics are beautiful and the art direction makes it very interesting. The Hungarian voices gives the game a distinctive feeling, which I personally love. But some things in the gameplay ticks me off and are worthy of consideration before purchase. First off, there's some walls in the game (which damages you on touch) that blend in very well with the background and the only way to actually know if some parts of the background are walls or not is to run into them first and then remember it. Secondly, the bullets in the game (patterns and amount) are very "bullet hell-ish" but the game generally plays out like a normal shot 'em up. This is pretty weird in itself and can be frustrating due to a sick amount of bullets coming at you with no real way to actually dodge them all. Thank god that you don't die by a single hit in the game. If you think you have no problem with this, do consider getting it.

89

Pick this one up if you are a fan of shoot em up.

fable2 | Nov. 15, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

A great shooter with an interesting mechanic. I've been playing these types of games since the 1980's, and it's always nice when a new entry like this comes along and makes the genre feel fresh again.

You have the ability to slow time here, which is nothing new, and the power up system is nothing too original either, but it's still fun and it works well within the game's well designed stages. What is interesting is how you handle damage. There is a timer that continuously goes down, and destroying enemies adds more seconds to it, while getting hit removes seconds. It pretty much forces you to engage with enemies, because if you just avoid them your timer will eventually run out.

Graphics are great(2d gameplay with 3d objects) , controls are simple and responsive. The story is ambiguous and difficult to understand at first, but this doesn't get in the way of enjoying the game. In fact it adds an extra layer of mystery which I enjoyed.

This is one of my favorite games of 2012 so far.

80

A solid, but short, shoot 'em up

MarkDeejay | Nov. 12, 2012 | See all MarkDeejay's reviews »

Gorgeous looking game with confusing storytelling. The voice overs are Japanese (I'm sure they can be switched to English, but I like to play games in the way they're intended) and the text is English so you have to pay attention to the subtitles in order to understand at least something of the story. But even then, it's extremely confusing, with all the different characters and the constant switching between them. It seems rather deep for a shoot 'em up, and who knows... it might actually be true. Sine Mora is a shoot 'em up, llke many other games out there. But it uses a time aspect, meaning you get extra time for killing enemies. Get hit and you'll lose time. It's a solid idea that works very well. You can also slow time down to guide your aircraft between tens of bullets safely. So, as you can see, it mixes things up a little. Enemies will drop points, subweapons and weapon upgrades as well. The environments are beautiful with some nice little touches and the game offers plenty of boss battles. It also runs at a solid 60FPS which helps add to the immersion of it all. But it's short. I finished it in 2,5 hours. After that you can try and go for the achievements. The achievement system is actually something I'd like to see more often in games. Here, you have to complete several objectives before getting awarded an achievement. So there's a high replay value if you're into that sort of stuff. If you like shoot 'em ups you should get this no matter what. But if you enjoy them from time to time I suggest waiting for a price drop. The price is a bit steep and it's still on the short side.

90

Classic shoot 'em up

Dean_Demon | Nov. 10, 2012 | See all Dean_Demon's reviews »

If you loved classic side scrolling shoot em up's of the past such as R Type or Nemesis/Gradius then you will certainly love this version, right from the start you see the beautiful rendered scenes, animation that is ultra smooth but for me the sound is the best thing with it's superb music which is magical and has classic sound effects and the control scheme also works very well indeed and this game perfectly suits a gamepad.

Story mode really sets the scene for the game but it's the arcade modes that really brings out the gamer in you,it can get very chaotic very quickly and there are loads of power up's and upgrades and then there are online leaderboards just to see how good you are against other players, it's just so nice to see a modern shoot em up done well in the classic 80's style and this should keep you entertained for many weeks to come, pure class !!

85

Modern shoot'em up action.

DukePaul | Oct. 31, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Finally this game is coming to PC, I played on consoles and I can say this shoot'em up it's totally a blast if you like the genre.

The graphics are wonderful, they don't feel dated like others shoot'em ups, the bosses are big and they look like a real threat, the only bad thing is there are a lot of cutscenes but only for the Story mode that feels like a tutorial, the real core of the game is the Arcade Mode and the Score Attack, in this modes is when the real game begins.

The game also offers a lot of unlockables like ships and weapons, you can buy upgrades like slowing time or invincible shields for your ship.

Grab this title when you can, because if you like this kind of games you will love it.