Reviews for Stellar Impact

85

A good game, but the lobbies are empty

Traldera | Jan. 29, 2014 | See all Traldera's reviews »

MOBAs are all the rage these days, but as they all follow the same formula they can get a little stale. Stellar Impact solves this by adding a much more in depth customization system and by adding more elements to the maps. Ships can be customized with equipment, 'structures' including weapons are built on the surface of a ship in a grid system much like RTS base building. There are also different kinds of ships that have different roles. Battles take place on a large map with many different aspects including asteroids and nebulas, all of which have tactical significance. As well as the main base there are stations for each team which act as secondary targets. Losing one can turn the tide of battle. Overall this is a great game, with a fantastic community. Unfortunately, that community is tiny. If you can get into a game, you will most definitely enjoy it. That is however quite a big if. Expect long waiting times.

92

Support Indie Games - always!

jediwoman | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all jediwoman's reviews »

This game is a sweet little indie game! If you are a fan of space games this is a great buy for the price. HOWEVER - the big drawback is common to other indie MMO's - there are not a lot of other players around so it can be a real drag.

The graphics are nice - IMHO better than what can be expected from the run of the mill space games. I didn't have a lot of issues with controlling my ship or combat, but I play a lot of space combat games. If you can buy this along with a group of others - as in on Steam - you are golden. Otherwise, as others have pointed out - there aren't enough people playing to present a challenge. (Which is no fault of the game). I see this becoming less of a problem as more people become familiar with the game.

Overall - though - this is certainly worth the money if you love space games.

88

great potential but not many players arround

chakad | July 14, 2013 | See all chakad's reviews »

for those of you who like space battles strategy with other players - this could be your game! only 1 drawback - take some time to find game (not much players) but when you do find one - it worth it!

so if you don't mind waiting a bit before each match and you like space strategy combat games then do the following:

1.get the game with friends (so you can find a game faster) 2.try to build or join for game community so you have more friends pool to play with 3, have fun

90

Very cool indie game.

arimajeen | July 8, 2013 | See all arimajeen's reviews »

Great game, very fluid gameplay, basically DOTA 2 in space. If you like DOTA style games and space, this one is defiantly recommended. The only problem is its low playerbase :)

80

Good game

the_human_oreo | July 7, 2013 | See all the_human_oreo's reviews »

A fun little space based game, only multiplayer which isn't the best due to the lack of players, you can customise your ships abilities and stats to fit your playstyle and the community is generally nice and helpful.

75

I miss this game.

Shalnoy | July 6, 2013 | See all Shalnoy's reviews »

The graphics are good for these intense space battles and ship to ship combat is easy and fun to play, you will need a few hours to control the maneuverability of your ship but after that the only thing you need to do is cooperate with other players and be smart in your strategies.

70

An interesting space MOBA

AndyMadness | July 4, 2013 | See all AndyMadness's reviews »

A good attempt at fusing Space Naval warfare and Moba-style game play. The result is a nice little budget-price game with a good amount of depth, some tasty customization and some fantastic game play elements. That's not to say it isn't flawed, sometimes collision detection gets a bit weird and quite often matches can go beyond the 40-60 minute mark. Another problem i had is the lack of players meaning i couldn't get a game but hopefully the free copies, courtesy of GMG, there will be more. I think you should wait for a bit for more player or grab it at a discount to justify any doubt since it is already at a reasonable price.

80

I miss this game.

TGAlan | July 3, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

Really sucks that I can't find a game anymore. This game was AWESOME and had so much potential and if it was only advertised a bit more it could have been a sleeper hit. Me and my friend played this often together. WTB Stellar Impact 2.

77

Space Combat

DukePaul | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Stellar Impact is a nice mix between a Real Time Strategy game similar to "Homeworld" and a MOBA.

The game doesn't have a single player mode and is based on a multiplayer experience with a lot teamwork needed because of the multiple objetives you need to do, be a lone wolf in this game is not possible if you want the the victory.

The graphics are good for these intense space battles and ship to ship combat is easy and fun to play, you will need a few hours to control the maneuverability of your ship but after that the only thing you need to do is cooperate with other players and be smart in your strategies.

If you want a different multiplayer experience this game deserves a try.