Reviews for UFO: Afterlight Cap

80

X-COM clone

Gojko | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

Starting game in X-COM series was UFO: Enemy Unknown, and team that made UFO: Afterlight has try to play on that card. This is the third game from UFO clone series, with decent game-play.

Although it has big similarities with X-COM serial, during play you can feel that there is something what this game lack of. If you didn't play newest X-COM, then first try this game in other any other case, this will be just bad bad unplayable game for you.

80

Tight Tactical Game

ConorEngelb | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

Afterlight bears many similarities to XCOM: Enemy Unknown; aliens, tactical shooting, requiring micro-management of resources. And it's great; tactics are essential, going in all guns blazing seldom works out.

90

Afterlight is part of the trilogy!

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

The difficulty (which from Internet searches affected a lot of users) was that the screen was the wrong size and the button to alter screen size was off the edge of the screen. An internet search and some perseverance should see the problem sorted.

Once into the game what do you get ? A squad based combat game with very great significant production and research elements. There's a decent enough tutorial that teaches you the basics of the squad combat but the production and research system is subtly different enough from other X-Com games (technically this isn't an X-Com game although apparently the team that created the original were responsible for it) to have taken me a long time to master it. In particular none of the team I think are originally deployed in the building that builds other buildings so until you spot this nothing gets built.

Character development is very significant. The main difference in this game from previous games is that there is no way to recruit new soldiers. If you lose any I anticipate that the game will make new soldiers available eventually but...

The game is a real challenge. All three Trilogy titles (Aftermath, Afterdark, Afterlight) are tricky at the outset when your squad is untrained, undermanned and poorly equipped. Other than three very nasty essential battles in Aftermath both Afterdark and Aftermath eventually had your team, if equipped and deployed correctly, enabled to massacre the opposition, sometimes without gaining a scratch. Afterlight is different in that I found that for a large section of the game getting your team healed to meet the next alien attack was a major challenge - the lack of any reinforcements being a major issue. You can build droids to join your team but until you develop armoured turrets they are ridiculously vulnerable. The battles remain very hard indeed many hours into the game. Some of your opponents are very difficult to hit, resistant to many forms of damage, and are armed with highly lethal weapons that they shoot accurately. Production is also an issue because until your team develops the capability to use your main enemy's weapons a good 80% of production time goes in producing ammunition and grenades.

I was going, with a spoiler alert, to give detailed tips but the game's surprises and developments should be enjoyed without spoilers. Just to say (1) Research heavy armour, produce it, and train your soldiers to use it as soon as you can. You won't survive long without it (2) Capture and exploit all unoccupied terrain as soon as you can (3) Be careful about swapping crews on your construction vehicles otherwise you'll end up with a partially manned vehicle that never returns to base. The only way to select build operations is to click on each zone individually - easy enough when you have six territories - not so easy when you have 40+ (3) Always have a production line running and researchers working on a project (although swapping team members out to train when you have enough is a good idea) (4) It is better to lose one territory that one experienced soldier.

Have fun. And kill the alien scum.

76

Tactical Strategy

lok0812 | July 31, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is your average tactical strategy game that are similar to the older Commandos franchise and actually feels like you are playing one of those except with the setting of sci-fi and the colorful graphic in addition to the more depth in the strategic department. Downsize are the sound quality are really below average, it doesn't feel like you are actually in combat when you really are and the storyline is acceptable compared to their previous entry. If you enjoy tactical strategy games you will feel right at home with this one as it requires more strategy and might take more time to adapt and learn.

76

Good

Bolo | July 27, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

As a fan of the X-Com series of years passed, I bought the first of the UFO series (Aftermath) the moment it hit the shelves, sight unseen. It was a good game, but a little lacking in the base management side. When UFO:Aftershock was released, I read some reviews first and bought it after some consideration. It improved on the base management of the first game but suffered some

84

Great Strategy Game!

Plasros | June 14, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

This game is awesome! After updating the game with all the latest patches, I don't have any problem with it whatsoever. The patch also improves things like automatic putting injured soldiers to the hospital so I don't have to micro-manage it. The patched AI seemed to be very challenging and sometimes I have to completely change my strategy to complete the mission. I hope that the development team will continue their good work in improving the game and at the same time put in some effort to make a sequel!

75

Nice Strategy Model

DanielZo0 | June 12, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

This game is awesome! After updating the game with all the latest patches, I don't have any problem with it whatsoever. The patch also improves things like automatic putting injured soldiers to the hospital so I don't have to micro-manage it. The patched AI seemed to be very challenging and sometimes I have to completely change my strategy to complete the mission. I hope that the development team will continue their good work in improving the game and at the same time put in some effort to make a sequel!

85

UFO: Afterlight review

RoKkie | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all RoKkie's reviews »

This is a decent strategy game in the vein of Xcom. At first the controls can be a little non-intuitive, but you get used to which mouse button to click and it all comes together. The strategy side is quite good, although it can be annoying at first when people always invade your territory. I noticed a few bugs, like I didn't receive a certain tech at some point. I enjoyed it overall though. Worth a purchase if you were a fan of the original.

70

Not as good as the earlier ones

Cooberstooge | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Being a long-time fan of the UFO series, I went into this one expecting only improvements. What I ended up finding was backwards design, buggy AI, and a strange departure from much of the series roots.

The AI have a nasty habit of getting the stupids right during key times in battle, and have more often than not cost me the game - I'd rather it was me doing the screw-ups. Soldiers ignore your orders where mere seconds ago they hung on your every command, and sometimes pull a Rambo and run headlong into the enemy. I ended up grabbing a mod after my first run through that improves the AI massively.

Graphically, for the age of it, the game looks quite good, and it's got the cool cartoony vibe so familiar to those of us who play Team Fortress 2. There's never been any lag for me during play, and the one crash was caused by me alt-tabbing out to check on something.

If you don't mind the dumb AI, and are fine with modding a title before even really getting into it, I'd say UFO Afterlight is a decent purchase.

65

The 3rd that missed the spot.

dawe | May 16, 2012 | See all dawe's reviews »

After playing the 2 earlier games my hopes where high for this game. The first turn off was the cartoony graphics, it felt out of place, made me feel like I was playing som childish flash game. The tactical battles handle real slow, maybe it's the martian atmosphere, but it never got to me. The stategical aspects did have some shiny moments, as when your crew have multiple roles of a soldier and a scientist, terraforming and building mines etc.

This game fails to live up to its predecessor, badly. I give it 65 as I like the genre,

85

A quite nice strategy

newn | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all newn's reviews »

This game can be RTS while it can be a tactical game. It can be paused. And it should be paused, because it's also a survival game! I liked these two facts, because that's what made it different from other strategies. Of course there are a lot of weapons, stuff to research, etc. which is also great. In other words - this game is full of nice features.

The game's graphics is outdated and sounds aren't too good. However if you don't care about that and like oldies as myself - it's a nice game to play. I played it for a few hours when I first got it about a month ago - it's fun, a lot of enemies to shoot, so it's a lot of action. By that said, I think that it is worth those 10€. It will give you at least a few nice hours of survival experience. Though you can wait for a discount if you really hate spending on old games, but I think it's worth what it costs.

80

Strategy fest.

GAMERamble | Aug. 8, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

I'll be honest I only purchased this game because I was a huge fan of old X-com games. This game sounded like an update and while it never really reaches the same level of awesomeness it is definitely worth playing. You get a lot of content for the price and the game will keep you busy for ages so if you are a fan of the genre then you can't go wrong with this one.

85

Satisfying tactical / strategic game

Khalan | June 22, 2011 | See all Khalan's reviews »

Plenty of different weapons and items to research, lots of aliens to kill, some great mods, good graphics, and personality, which is something lacking in some similar titles. This game concentrates on a cast of a couple of dozen characters, each individually named and voiced. Each can be used in different roles, such as soldier / scientist / engineer, and can level up in their respective fields.

Several factions exist in the game, adding a little more strategy, and it has a fairly interesting story and quite decent voicework. The environment can be mined and also terraformed, which is reflected both on the planetary display and in the missions themselves.

Tactical gameplay is satisfying; difficulty can vary quite a bit depending on skills and equipment, and of course tactics, but it's great seeing your small team move up from barely scraping by to devastating the opposition - of course stronger aliens will often be arriving, so it's never a cakewalk.

Definitely recommended.

95

a classic and a masterpiece

pazmacats | April 6, 2011 | See all pazmacats's reviews »

UFO: Afterlight is a game that will keep you very busy once you get into it.

Gameplay is split into 2 parts: Planetary development/research/production/story view and tactical battles. Both parts are real-time but can (and should) be paused by simply hitting space.

You are in command on a group of soldiers and have one main goal: to surive. Some of the soldiers are scientists, some are mechanics and some are simply soldiers but most of them are a combination of 2 of these classes.

Scientist have to research weapon techs and will continually find out more about the planet and the environment, hereby propelling the story forward.

Mechanics will build weapons, space suits, ammo and 100s of different items (all of them useful!) and they will build probes on the planet to supply the colony with resources.

Soldiers will protect these resources and can - shoot - laser - grenade - rocket launch - melee or - pistol

all kinds of aliens into pieces. Battles are fought on a tactical 3D-map by squads of 5 soldiers, RTS-turnbased-hybrid-style. You can customize your force with ca. 30 different skills and dozens of weapons and a tactical approach is required.

It's a huge game, plenty of aliens, plenty of weapons, plenty of techs and if you want to enhance the gameplay even further, you can download a mod (complete overhaul mod) that changes balance a bit and adds a bit more of everything (+ reduces the amount of alien attacks IIRC).

The game is quite old, but graphics look nice and it certainly deserves to be called a classic and masterpiece. It's one of the best tactical games available in this genre (tactical squad-based), a whole lot better than Fallout Tactics and nearly as good as Jagged Alliance 2.