Reviews for F.E.A.R -

95

Smooth although a bit clunky at times.

Bruskorken | May 28, 2013 | See all Bruskorken's reviews »

Story: F.E.A.R (stand for First Encounter Assault Recon) is a US special forces team, you are a "Point Man" with superhuman reflexes that is supposed to investigate this "girl. The story is simple but it works. Since it's a horror it really tries to nail the gameplay and atmosphere.

Gameplay: Smart A.I (That's a welcoming feature) that set the game up at a decent challange. If you turn up or down the difficulties it also makes the A.I dumber or smarter depending on the difficulty. It's very smooth and the controls works well. The scares was and is the setpiece of this game, and it makes you feel on the egde. The main mechanic is the Slow-Motions that they executed really well which now is done by many other games.

Graphics: Albeit a bit dated still holds good. The levels have decent varity and it's well put together. The weapons looks and sounds good.

Conclution: Fatastic FPS, it's campaign is liniar but for good reason and game design. Still hold up for today. I recommed playing the first one well... first.

85

One of the first scary FPS I played

Supraballs | May 27, 2013 | See all Supraballs's reviews »

This game freaks me out at spots. Maybe it was the atmosphere, but I always found this game freaky. I think if you go look for videos online of some of the scariest games made, this one will come up somewhere. I'd recommend this for anybody who is interested in playing through the entire FEAR series and is looking to be frightened. If you want to get the full experience, play it at night with headphones. It adds a whole new element and makes the game very enjoyable. It holds up pretty well now too for being an older game. The other FEAR games are nowhere near as good as this one.

86

The original and the best

britishlad | May 12, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

This game was excellent in it's day. The combat was fantastic, The AI was amazing the story is interesting and it gripped me as I played the game. This should of been an amazing and successful franchaise but sadly the game spawn two poor expansion packs and two very average sequels.

I never once lost interest while playing at all which actually tends to happen to me a lot playing today's games. It has it's spooky moments as well if you're looking for that fear factor, trust me on that one and If you're looking for a freaky spook game that involves hardcore FPS then this is pretty much what you're looking for. You won't be fighting demons in this though, mainly just soldiers that sort of resemble half-life enemies in a way. Can't really judge it's graphics due to it's age, so I'll just say that it gets the job done for what it tries to do though the environments are bland and repetitive (prepare to see lots of warehouses and office buildings!)

Definitely worth a try if you love first person shooters

10

Disappointing

Laudes | May 4, 2013 | See all Laudes's reviews »

I'm not the biggest fan of horror games, however I did enjoy playing F.E.A.R 2, and I picked this game up aswell as the third game on some sale. This game was just disappointing for me, I can see why others like it. Atleast if they like it because of the nostalgia feel it gives them, having not played this game when it was initially released, I don't really find any reason to play this. As someone else stated before me, this game feels dated. It wasn't scary for me, mostly just creepy and annoying, I couldn't wait for the game to end. I like the second game more then this one, and that might be because that one is newer, and nothing actually scared me in this game.

97

F.e.a.r....The perfect shooter

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | See all jimsteryo2's reviews »

One of the few games I actually enjoyed playing. This is a great example of a perfect game. The ai's are so great. When they spot you, they don't stay in one spot and fight you, rather they spread out. In this game, you can't expect to come out of a gun fight without a scratch, which is due to the amazing ai's. The ai's react to your flashlight and even footseps. The slo-mo is the most memorable part of this game though. The atmosphere keeps you on the edge of your seat at all times due to the enemies and cheesy jump scares. The choice of guns you get in the game are great and it would leave anyone satisfied. Probably the best game ever, everyone should play this game at least once in their life.

90

Still One Of The Best Shooters Out There

jwh2189 | April 13, 2013 | See all jwh2189's reviews »

Monolith have proven themselves as masters of atmosphere since the likes of AVP2 and Condemned: Criminal Origins. Now comes 2005's F.E.A.R., an action shooter with horror which doesn't disappoint.

Like I said, it's all about the atmosphere and boy does this game immerse you, you've never felt quite so nervous being crouched in a darkened office complex listening to recorded phone messages or crawling through a vent hoping to God something doesn't jump out at you.

Then of course we have the shooting as this is an FPS, which is also top-notch, even putting some more current generation titles to shame, it really presents a thrilling and cinematic experience through the use of slow-motion, just so you can see the intricacies of a replica soldier being torn to shreds by your devastating shotgun or hearing and seeing the crunches and blood misting from firing automatic weapons into the heads of your foes. Each of the weapons feels different too and offers variety in the combat, you're never going to want to pass-up the penetrator though (firing large metal stakes which can impale your enemies into walls).

You've probably heard about this game's artificial intelligence (AI) and I've still yet to see a shooter which does it better 8 years later. Enemies will constantly try to flank your position, even if it means taking long routes to do so, there's frequent radio chatter from them relevant to what is happening, they'll spot your flashlight, move on formation and pretty much anything else to ruin your day. The only problem is that your slo-mo ability really hinders seeing this AI in action because of the advantage it provides you in combat.

One of the only other flaws in the game is the enemy variety, there's a few humanoid and robotic types along with some supernatural later, but nothing which significantly mixes up the combat.

This is still one of the best first person shooters I've ever played and would recommend it any day of the week, play it at night however for maximum effect.

90

A shooter gem

onewinged90 | April 13, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

Yes the game is 8 years old now, yes some may complain about the graphics of the game being too dated or bland. But until now no games could beat the action paranormal horror of this game. The textures may be old in today's standards, but I can't deny that the lighting, which is the highlight of the game really brings out the superb atmosphere of this game. While the game is mainly focused on the usage of slow-mo ability, you will tend to find yourself using it too much while in combat, which may take away the experience of a first person shooter game. The game's AI is great, enemies will try to surround and flank you strategically.

Back in the day there were no emphasis on re-generative health, like most modern shooters do so health kits are your best friend. Martial art kicks are cool compared to the "standardised" knife takedowns which normal shooters have.There is an option to upgrade your slow-mo's maximum capacity, so make sure you explore every where.

The stages of the game tend to alternate between shoot and kill stage and horror stage. Shoot and kill is where mainly the action is all about, you kill soldiers that get in your way. Horror stage is, well, where you are scared sh*tless and scream like a girl.

Want to know who Alma is, the little girl who constantly haunts you? Play the game to find out.

70

Dated

sunshine182 | Feb. 3, 2013 | See all sunshine182's reviews »

I'm sure I was one of the many who were blown away back in the day when the game first came out... Stunning visuals, solid controls, great multiplayer and spooky atmosphere. I caved in and re purchased the game while it was on sale... Sadly the game feels really dated now, when compared to new offerings. Looks like this game didn't age that well, unfortunately. Still worth getting if you've never played it before, specially if you manage to get it on sale. Have yet to play #2 or #3 or the DLC for this one. I give this game a 70/100.

85

That little girl? She's totally harmle- MY EYES ARE MELTING!

ButLeer | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all ButLeer's reviews »

One of the best single-player shooters, even to this day. What has aged in textures and models, F.E.A.R. more than makes up for in immersion and gameplay.

To this day, few games can boast an equally impressive enemy AI.

Your enemies will adapt and plan ahead, so to be able to win or even survive you will have to do the same.

Luckily you are given many tools to work with. Guns and grenades are always useful, but each weapon manages to be unique and memorable. You can slow time and and move with incredible speed and precision. You physical attacks can put down even the fiercest enemy in a few blows, with attacks ranging from flying kicks to sliding tackles.

The mood through out the game is chilling, especially during dark night with all the lights turned off. But soon you will be lost in the moment as you fight off an army of super soldiers like a modern god of war.

Also, the little girl is not a harmless OR as dangerous as she seems. Play the game and find out who she really is.

85

Fantastic horror game with great action

Lekes | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Great action, incredibly satisfying combat game, with an atmospheric horror adventure game attached. The two aspects of this game seem completely separate to me. On the one hand we have a very polished FPS, one that hits the mark on what makes shooters fun. On the other we have an admittedly derivative, but ultimately appreciable, horror narrative. The two have been mixed together into a disjointed and confused product - one that is most appropriately called a thriller. The game will give you thrills, just not in a coherent manner. It will have you wondering why you should be scared of a few ghouls when you just killed a room full of commandos, or desperately trying to change gear from a creeped out hypnosis to deal with the giant robot that just appeared. It's a fantastic horror game with great action.

85

What modern fps games are missing.

boris73 | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all boris73's reviews »

Modern shooters are pretty 'samey'. Played one, and you've generally played them all. An endless parade of similar mainstream war shooters, its up to older games like this to really deliver something thrilling, something fun, something "fresh" (as sad as it is to say)... and something raw and primal.

F.E.A.R harkens back to when shooters weren't about trying to ground you, weren't about trying to be all dry and serious; this really is a balls-to-the-wall all out assault on your senses. It's action, its horror, it throws you in the deep-end and then tosses "gritty realism" out the window in exchange for telling a thrilling sci-fi tale, dumping you into a environment oozing in dark and disturbing atmosphere and throwing wave after wave of visceral and satisfying combat your way.

By todays standards, the game looks a bit dated, with box-like rooms and ageing models and textures, but at least you should be able to fully crank up what visuals it does provide with today's average PC's; you'll still get a rather satisfying looking game, especially in the heat of combat with particle effects and debris filling your screen - its still quite marvellous to look at.

But really, all the stuff that was most important when it came out, still delivers now. The tense atmosphere filled with isolation and dread is there. The intense and thrilling fire-fights are still every bit as exciting full-on as they ever were, and the enemies are still a blast to fight. The story is still intriguing and keeps you playing just to see where it goes next, and its delivery is spot-on. Finally, the gameplay is still some of the tightest and most responsive you'll find.

Visually dated, yes, but still one of the most enriching and satisfying first person shooters you'll ever play.

85

Feel Fear

Jorgel | Jan. 3, 2013 | See all Jorgel's reviews »

Despite the base FPS elements, FEAR is settled in a well constructed horror story, taking elements from different medias, from movies to other games. The history is intriguing and the gameplay has some innovative elements that take alway the boredom of other shooter titles. But the most impressive in FEAR is what it's name sugests: you WILL be scared. The game has an awesome atsmofere, where you don't know when the next enemy or suprise will come from, making you feel anxious all the time. If you want a scary and challenging game with an good story, you will not be disappointed with FEAR

90

One of the best games of 2005?

MorphineBear | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all MorphineBear's reviews »

It's scary, a bit challenging, and a whole lot of fun. Unlike many games out there, there's an actual storyline to follow.

I would call it the scary version of Half Life 2 (FEAR seems to copy HL a lot).

It's definitely a good purchase if you don't mind the outdated graphics and high similarity to the Half Life series.

Some small things that bother me: - High recoil of guns - A couple more controls that is more than comfortable (it's uncomfortable) - Some areas are impossible to get out of (some holes in the ground with no way out so you have to restart from the last checkpoint)

90

Best F.E.A.R in the series. It's an original game and Very Scary

fable2 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

Don't let this games age fool you though, it was quite a good game for it's age and it still is. The story is interesting and it gripped me as I played the game. I never once lost interest while playing at all which actually tends to happen to me a lot playing today's games. It has it's spooky moments as well if you're looking for that fear factor, trust me on that one.

It's pretty much pure FPS old school combat and level designs. I can't believe this game came out in 2006. I still have my DOOM 3 CD's and that came out in 2004, not sure why I never played fear back then, maybe my PC was too crap back then.

If you're looking for a freaky spook game that involves hardcore FPS then this is pretty much what you're looking for. You won't be fighting demons in this though, mainly just trooper-type enemies that sort of resemble half-life enemies in a way. Can't really judge it's graphics due to it's age, so I'll just say that it gets the job done for what it tries to do. The expansion packs were just as good as the game was imo. I played straight through the main FEAR game with it's expansion packs.

Fear 3 pretty much kills the franchise though from what I can tell story-wise and gameplay wise. As far as I'm concerned it ended with Fear 2, fear 3 is a real big mishap that shouldn't have happened.

90

Very great and Scary FPS

lucasart | Dec. 14, 2012 | See all lucasart's reviews »

The shooter from Monolith is a product of great respect, combining excellent mechanical fps with the atmosphere of horror films well orchestrated. The best part is definitely the AI ​​of the enemies, able to develop different strategies for attack depending on the levels and obstacles, offering a fair degree of challenge, merit of the excellent script system. Fear is a title well constructed in each component, only flaw longevity not just wide.

82

the best FEAR

xydanus | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all xydanus's reviews »

Horror and FPS is a difficult combination, but FEAR does it right. Game is not scary, but it's dark and Alma may surprise you sometimes. Shooting is fun and weapons are interesting. In the fact gameplay is quite smooth. Key for successful horror is to have a dark, cruel world with gore(as long as it does not go too far), and FEAR has some of that. Also game takes about 15h to complete, so it's very impressive amount of gameplay.

I would recommend this game for those, who likes horror-action games.

87

Fear review

carlyle | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Fear is a fps with a horror story background, we will be the classic soldier without a name or speech, of which the plot will come backstage to define significant, though not exactly surprising or unexpected originality is not an absolute credit to this production. We find ourselves in pursuit of that Paxton Fettel, a soldier apparently created and grown in the laboratory and has the power to telepathically control a battalion of soldiers-clone. Graphically, the level is absolutely fine, the textures and the general realism of environments and characters reminiscent 'DooM 3. Special mention must animations, among the best globally and, by extension, to the summit for the FPS. The characters' movements are fluid such as water and interact seamlessly with the surrounding environment.

85

The Original is the best.

Darder | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Darder's reviews »

I played all the F.E.A.R. games, and I think the first one is still the best. When it came out, I bought it as soon as I saw it avaible in my loca store and I did not regret it.

The graphics are still sharp up to this day, the gameplay is still the same. Good, efficient, fun. The game itself will scare you more than once. When you play this game it feels like fear is just gripping you so tight and does not want to let you go! You jump on your chair literally with every apparition of Alma. Man, what a game it is!

If you like this game though, be sure to look at the second and third game. However, if it is the contrary and you only played the second or third game, then by all means quickly purchase this title! You will love it!

96

One of the best FPS ever!!

abelfs | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

And that's it. Best graphics for its age, spectacular and intuitive shoot-outs, the storyline is superb, the atmosphere is immersive and above all.......ALMA!! You will jump from your seat and scream like a little child when another little child scares you in certain points (the others will be just gripping).

80

Good mechanics, extremely repetitive

vjk | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all vjk's reviews »

FEAR is at its core about first person shooting in tight spaces using "bullet time"

It does this extremely well.

The issue I had with the game is that it is extremely repetitive. Pretty much the same environments the entire game. Also pretty easy to get lost.

Towards the end I just turned on cheats and blasted forward. I recommend you do the same.

90

If you didn't get to play this yet, BUT IT.

digitalpunk | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all digitalpunk's reviews »

I remember my experience with this game when it got released in 2005, superb atmosphere, great shooting, great story and beautiful graphics (the game looks very good even by today's standards).

It's a mix of FPS and atmospheric horror, you'll get a couple of jump scares too and as I stated before the story is great..very mysterious.

I recommand this game to every horror/mystery fan.

88

Atmospheric shooter heaven

rstokes | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all rstokes's reviews »

If your looking for a game that will scare the crap out of you look no further, Monolith does a great job utilizing lighting and shadows to genuinely make you uneasy, and there almost always seems to be something at the corner of your eye. Now keep in mind this IS a 7 year old FPS so the graphics will be dated (but effective) and the controls will feel like a 7 year old shooter, the mouse jerks a bit to much for my taste, but these negatives pale in comparison of the overall experience put out by this game.

If you love FPS games but hate horror flicks and/or games that really try hard to scare you... This may be a pass for you, as there a dozens of more modern shooters that just flat out do the whole run and gun thing better

But if you love horror and really want to play a trouser wetting game, Whether or not you enjoy FPS games this will defiantly scratch an itch video games very rarely reach.

96

The scariest FPS ever made

panz3r88 | Nov. 21, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

FEAR is better then the second and first title of the series. It's a linear FPS where the classical FPS action is sometimes interrupted by very scaring horror sequences, especially in the last levels of the base game. The first FEAR, like the other titles of this series , is characterized by a good and aggressive enemy IA, better than many other FPS. When you fight these enemies, you must pay attention to their tactics, especially on the highest level difficulty. The ability of Point Man to slow down time is really useful to survive hard fights. The game, with the two expansions Extraction Point and Perseus Mandate, is really long and it represent probably one of the best FPS ever made

90

Best F.E.A.R title

TheRealMoremir | Nov. 7, 2012 | See all TheRealMoremir's reviews »

This is, for me, the best game of the F.E.A.R. franchise. Whe I first played it, i loved it. I'm a big fan of survival horror games, like Silent Hill 1 and 2, and though F.E.A.R. is not one of those games, it shurely delivers a great atmosphere of uncertainty, aprehension, darkness and you will find yourself not wanting to go into dark corners, even though you have a shotgun with you. The story is good and compelling: you will want to find out what is happening, and it is told in a way that is organic with gameplay. Something like Half-life. The FPS aspect of the game is also great. It was one of the first games to introduce bullet-time, and to a graet result. It also has a small degree of charachter development via secret enhancements. Graphics and phisics are superb, even for today standars, as well as music and efects. This is really one of my favourite shooters AND horror games ever. If you don't belive me, wait till you get the nail gun and leave a guy hanging from a wall, just to get scared by him the next time you cross that hallway after forgetting you killed him there.

90

Great Game

lachking | Nov. 6, 2012 | See all lachking's reviews »

FEAR is a great game that combines the FPS genre with horror elements. The game’s story is solid and the levels are interesting although not hugely varied as you mostly just travel through buildings and offices. The weapons are pretty standard and include guns such as shotguns and machine guns. An element less conventional is the interesting slow time ability which gives you the ability to run and jump around bullets and move in on enemies faster than they can react. Being a horror game as well, it is often scary to play, especially at night. The way Alma appears can be a big shock. One of the scariest encounters is when you are in the offices and she appears in the lift with another person and the door closes.

The game’s presentation is great for the most part. The visuals are slick and lifelike, with high quality shaders. The sound is also quite good with bullet sounds and the way the enemy soldiers communicate to each other once they spot you adds to the atmosphere.

Overall, the game is great. Top notch graphics, crisp sound and great gameplay combine to create an engaging experience. Just don’t play this game alone at night. I’m warning you.

80

Don't F.E.A.R. from the dark!

FreeMan85 | Nov. 5, 2012 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

Many gamer says F.E.A.R. franchise is a hardcore horror FPS. But it's mostly a nicely done shooter, made by the professional Monolith team, built in to LithTech Engine JupiterEX version. And what an awesome detail! The lighting and shaders are very photo-realistic like. Not once I scared more times my own shadow or the noise what I made by push a vase or picture then the dark characters in the shadow.. Oh yeah, Havok works for an awesome physic experience! So F.E.A.R. kinda scary game, but don't reach games like Dead Space. Alma a bit scary, at least the young, the adult and naked Alma a bit... well, more like sexy then scary for me. The story is good enough, but the core game and the expansions story a bit confusing. Since Extraction Point and Perseus Mandate made by TimeGate. The voice-acting is pretty good, you may recognize a few familiar voice from previous Monolith games. The music good, gives an atmosphere. The graphics and design are outstanding even today standards. Maybe only let down of the game is the few weapons we can use and we use at once: only 3 weapon type can be carried at once. My favorite is the dual pistols, of course it's useless, but feels good shooting with it.

If you like Monolith titles or semi-horror action games with some paranormal/sci-fi elements you can't skip F.E.A.R. Also the 3 games gives you a long playtime at least 20-25 hours.